CTNF 18/419,080 CTNF 87703 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 5, 12, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the edge of the screw head” should read “an edge of the screw head” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-7, 15-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Buchanan et al. (US 4,900,210) . With regard to claim 1 , Buchanan discloses a screw (10) comprising: a head (12); and a threaded cylindrical shaft (16) mechanically coupled to the head (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.) such that an axis of the threaded cylindrical shaft extends from the head (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc. the primary longitudinal axis thereof), wherein the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread (18 including 18a-d) configured to: sufficiently deform when a mechanical force drives the screw into a threaded insert due to mechanical interaction of the helical thread with a thread of the threaded insert (as disclosed in the abstract, col. 1 lines 26-43, as seen in Fig. 3, etc. the thread is clearly configured for such a use by virtue of its construction and material as such is actually explicitly disclosed in Buchanan. Additionally Examiner notes elements such as the threaded insert are recited as part of the intended use/capabilities of the screw); and sufficiently engage with the thread of the threaded insert (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. the thread is clearly configured for such a use by virtue of its construction and material as such is actually explicitly disclosed in Buchanan). With regard to claim 2 , Buchanan discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft is partially threaded (as seen in Figs., 1, 3, etc.). With regard to claim 3 , Buchanan discloses that a non-threaded portion (e.g. between the bottom of the tread and 30) of the partially threaded cylindrical shaft is configured to fit securely within the threaded insert (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. it has such a configuration as it is securely located therein via being smaller than the bore of the insert and by the thread aiding in such locating. Additionally as this limitation is a capability of the shaft and does not require a specific insert for infringement/anticipation to occur it could be used with inserts where there is a reduced diameter that is closer to the shaft). With regard to claim 4 , Buchanan discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft further comprises at least one discontinuity (20, 22, 24, 26) in the helical thread (as seen in Figs. 1-3). With regard to claim 6 , Buchanan discloses that the driving mechanical force comprises applying a linear force to the screw (Examiner notes this is a further narrowing of the above intended use/capability of the screw that the screw of Buchanan is clearly capable of, as the abstract, col. 1 lines 26-46, etc. explicitly describe such). With regard to claim 7 , Buchanan discloses that a top surface (the portion including 14 as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.) of the head comprises at least one feature (14) for facilitating engagement of a tool head to facilitate removal of the screw from the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 3, described in col. 2 lines 39-50, etc. the feature is capable of such a use). With regard to claim 15 , Buchanan discloses a method comprising: mechanically coupling a head (12) of a screw (10) to a threaded cylindrical shaft (16) (mechanically coupled to the head as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.) such that an axis of the threaded cylindrical shaft extends from the head (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc. the primary longitudinal axis thereof), wherein the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread (18 including 18a-d) configured to: sufficiently deform when a mechanical force drives the screw into a threaded insert due to mechanical interaction of the helical thread with a thread of the threaded insert (as disclosed in the abstract, col. 1 lines 26-43, as seen in Fig. 3, etc. the thread is clearly configured for such a use by virtue of its construction and material as such is actually explicitly disclosed in Buchanan. Additionally Examiner notes elements such as the threaded insert are recited as part of the intended use/capabilities of the screw); and sufficiently engage with the thread of the threaded insert (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. the thread is clearly configured for such a use by virtue of its construction and material as such is actually explicitly disclosed in Buchanan). With regard to claim 16 , Buchanan discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft is partially threaded (as seen in Figs., 1, 3, etc.). With regard to claim 17 , Buchanan discloses that a non-threaded portion (e.g. between the bottom of the tread and 30) of the partially threaded cylindrical shaft is configured to fit securely within the threaded insert (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. it has such a configuration as it is securely located therein via being smaller than the bore of the insert and by the thread aiding in such locating. Additionally as this limitation is a capability of the shaft and does not require a specific insert for infringement/anticipation to occur it could be used with inserts where there is a reduced diameter that is closer to the shaft). With regard to claim 18 , Buchanan discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft further comprises at least one discontinuity (20, 22, 24, 26) in the helical thread (as seen in Figs. 1-3). With regard to claim 20 , Buchanan discloses that the driving mechanical force comprises applying a linear force to the screw (Examiner notes this is a further narrowing of the above intended use/capability of the screw that the screw of Buchanan is clearly capable of, as the abstract, col. 1 lines 26-46, etc. explicitly describe such). With regard to claim 20 , Buchanan discloses that a top surface (the portion including 14 as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.) of the head comprises at least one feature (14) for facilitating engagement of a tool head to facilitate removal of the screw from the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 3, described in col. 2 lines 39-50, etc. the feature is capable of such a use) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 8-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchanan et al. (US 4,900,210) alone . With regard to claim 5 , Buchanan discloses that a bottom surface (i.e. the under head portion) of the screw head adjacent to the cylindrical shaft (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.), but fails to disclose that it tapers from the edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the screw of Buchanan such that the bottom surface of the screw head tapers from the edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of similar push in type fasteners where at least a portion of a bottom surface of a screw head tapers from an edge of the screw head to a cylindrical shaft of the screw. Such a modification provides the expected benefit of reducing stress concentrations where the shaft meets the head, lowering manufacturing costs, providing the ability to easily countersink the screw, etc. With regard to claim 8 , Buchanan discloses a screw (10) comprising: a head (12); and a threaded cylindrical shaft (16) mechanically coupled to the head (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.) such that an axis of the threaded cylindrical shaft extends from the head (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc. the primary longitudinal axis thereof), wherein the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread (18 including 18a-d) configured to: sufficiently deform when a mechanical force drives the screw into a threaded insert due to mechanical interaction of the helical thread with a thread of the threaded insert (as disclosed in the abstract, col. 1 lines 26-43, as seen in Fig. 3, etc. the thread is clearly configured for such a use by virtue of its construction and material as such is actually explicitly disclosed in Buchanan. Additionally Examiner notes elements such as the threaded insert are recited as part of the intended use/capabilities of the screw); and sufficiently engage with the thread of the threaded insert (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. the thread is clearly configured for such a use by virtue of its construction and material as such is actually explicitly disclosed in Buchanan), and the screw for mechanically coupling an information handling resource to the carrier (i.e. as Examiner notes that this is an intended use limitation that the screw of Buchanan is capable of). Buchanan is silent as to what device the screw is used in and thus fails to disclose an information handling system comprising: an information handling resource; a carrier configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource; and the screw mechanically coupling the information handling resource to the carrier. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have used the screw of Buchanan in an information handling system to mechanically couple an information handling resource to a carrier configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with information handling system to mechanically couple an information handling resource to a carrier configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource and a screw mechanically coupling the information handling resource to the carrier (e.g. any of the plethora of well-known hdds, ssds, io drives, etc. that screwed to a carrier). With regard to claim 9 , Buchanan discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft is partially threaded (as seen in Figs., 1, 3, etc.). With regard to claim 10 , Buchanan discloses that a non-threaded portion (e.g. between the bottom of the tread and 30) of the partially threaded cylindrical shaft is configured to fit securely within the threaded insert (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. it has such a configuration as it is securely located therein via being smaller than the bore of the insert and by the thread aiding in such locating. Additionally as this limitation is a capability of the shaft and does not require a specific insert for infringement/anticipation to occur it could be used with inserts where there is a reduced diameter that is closer to the shaft). With regard to claim 11 , Buchanan discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft further comprises at least one discontinuity (20, 22, 24, 26) in the helical thread (as seen in Figs. 1-3). With regard to claim 12 , Buchanan discloses that a bottom surface (i.e. the under head portion) of the screw head adjacent to the cylindrical shaft (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.), but fails to disclose that it tapers from the edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the screw of Buchanan such that the bottom surface of the screw head tapers from the edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of similar push in type fasteners where at least a portion of a bottom surface of a screw head tapers from an edge of the screw head to a cylindrical shaft of the screw. Such a modification provides the expected benefit of reducing stress concentrations where the shaft meets the head, lowering manufacturing costs, providing the ability to easily countersink the screw, etc. With regard to claim 13 , Buchanan discloses that the driving mechanical force comprises applying a linear force to the screw (Examiner notes this is a further narrowing of the above intended use/capability of the screw that the screw of Buchanan is clearly capable of, as the abstract, col. 1 lines 26-46, etc. explicitly describe such). With regard to claim 14 , Buchanan discloses that a top surface (the portion including 14 as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.) of the head comprises at least one feature (14) for facilitating engagement of a tool head to facilitate removal of the screw from the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 3, described in col. 2 lines 39-50, etc. the feature is capable of such a use). With regard to claim 19 , Buchanan discloses that a bottom surface (i.e. the under head portion) of the screw head adjacent to the cylindrical shaft (as seen in Figs. 1, 3, etc.), but fails to disclose that it tapers from the edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the screw of Buchanan such that the bottom surface of the screw head tapers from the edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of similar push in type fasteners where at least a portion of a bottom surface of a screw head tapers from an edge of the screw head to a cylindrical shaft of the screw. Such a modification provides the expected benefit of reducing stress concentrations where the shaft meets the head, lowering manufacturing costs, providing the ability to easily countersink the screw, etc. Examiner’s Recommendations In the interest of compact prosecution Examiner recommends claiming, in the independent claim that the mechanical force is a “linear mechanical force” (and canceling claims 6, 13, and 20) and that “wherein a bottom most portion of the helical threads join a flat bottom surface of the of the threaded cylindrical shaft”. As a practitioner was listed in the application but no power of attorney has been filed, Examiner was unable to propose the above amendment via a telephonic interview. If Applicant desires to discuss the above proposed amendments (or any other issues) Examiner is available for a telephonic interview, but Applicant should first file a power of attorney . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides additional examples of deformable push type screws/fasteners . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICHOLAS L FOSTER whose telephone number is (571)270-5354. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kristina Fulton can be reached at (571) 272-7376. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 2 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 3 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 4 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 5 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 6 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 7 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 8 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/419,080 Page 9 Art Unit: 3675