DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-24, 29-30, 32-33, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7,380,684 to Reed et al. (Reed).
Regarding claim 18, Reed discloses a container lid (110) comprising a floor (112), a lip (138) and an inner wall extending from the floor to the lip, the inner wall comprising a first convex portion (137), a second convex portion (130), a first concave portion (134), a second concave portion (124), wherein the first concave portion (134) is positioned between the first convex portion (137) and second concave portion (124) (Fig 1), wherein the first concave portion (134) has a larger radius (r6) than a radius of the first and second convex portions (r7, r4).
Regarding claim 19, Reed further discloses the lip (138) comprising a top portion (A, Fig 1 below), the first convex portion (137) extending from the lip top portion (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, Reed further discloses the second concave portion (124) extends from container lid floor (112).
Regarding claim 21, Reed further discloses first concave portion (134) has a larger diameter (r6) than diameter (r2) of second concave portion (124).
Regarding claim 22, Reed further discloses first concave portion (134) extends from first convex portion (137).
Regarding claim 23, Reed further discloses the second convex portion (130) extending between the first concave portion (134) and second concave portion (124).
Regarding claim 24, Reed further discloses inner wall tapered outwardly as inner wall extends toward the lip (138).
Regarding claim 29, Reed further discloses container lid (110) capable of being hermetically sealed to a container since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 30, Reed discloses a container lid comprising a floor (112), a lip (138) and an inner wall extending between the floor and lip, the inner wall comprising rounded portions (137, 132, 134) that can accommodate pressure as recited since it has the structure as recited, the rounded portions are located in the inner wall and comprise a first convex portion (137), a second convex portion (130), a first concave portion (134) between the convex portions, wherein the first concave portion (134) has a larger diameter (r6) than a radius of the first and second convex portions (r7, r4).
Regarding claim 32, Reed further discloses inner wall comprising four rounded portions (137, 124, 134, 132).
Regarding claim 33, Reed further discloses first rounded portion (124) is integral with the floor (112) and second rounded portion (137) integral with the lip (138).
Regarding claim 35, Reed further discloses an associated radii of the rounded portions (r2, r6, r7) that provide flexibility in the lid to function as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 36, Reed further discloses the rounded portions configured to absorb pressure as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed in view of US Patent No. 4,189,060 to Trotman, III (Trotman).
Regarding claim 25, Reed teaches the lid of claim 18 but does not teach an opening and removable tab. However, Trotman discloses a container lid (Fig 2) and in particular discloses the lid comprising an opening (14) and a removable tab (18), the opening formed through the floor (12), the removable tab fixed to the floor, covers the opening and is in sealing contact with the floor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an opening and tab to Reed as suggested by Trotman in order to facilitate pouring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that Reed does not teach the recited relationships of the claimed radii. This is not persuasive because r6 (.02 to .06 inch) is greater than r7 (.04 to .09 inch) and r4 (.03 to .07 inch).
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735