DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0184746 A1) (hereinafter as Park).
Regarding Claim 1. Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
one or more memories (par [0072] discloses memory); and
one or more processors (par [0071] discloses one or more processors), coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to:
transmit mechanical displacement information that indicates an expected amount of time to mechanically displace at least one antenna panel in the wireless device (a BS 105 may transmit SSBs by sweeping across a set of predefined beam directions and may repeat the SSB transmissions at a certain time interval in the set of beam directions to allow a UE 115 to perform initial network access, par [0061]);
receive a configuration for a set of beam failure reference signals (BFRSs) that are associated with the mechanical displacement information (Upon detecting a beam failure, the UE 115 may perform a BFR with the BS 105 to request for communication over a different beam direction, par [0061]); and
receive the set of BFRSs in accordance with the configuration (if all beams in the RS set (402-408, 412-418) fail, then node 315 may perform BFR/BFD, which may include sending a beam failure recovery request via PRACH on a selected candidate beam. BS 305 may then transmit a recovered RS set that includes a replacement wide beam corresponding to the candidate beam, par [0069]).
Regarding Claim 4. Park further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expected amount of time is for a rotational displacement of the antenna panel (a BS 105 may transmit SSBs by sweeping across a set of predefined beam directions and may repeat the SSB transmissions at a certain time interval in the set of beam directions to allow a UE 115 to perform initial network access, par [0061]).
Regarding Claim 5. Park further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates an amount of time to prepare to receive the set of BFRSs (a BS 105 may transmit SSBs by sweeping across a set of predefined beam directions and may repeat the SSB transmissions at a certain time interval in the set of beam directions to allow a UE 115 to perform initial network access, par [0061], After the UE monitors the beam identification reference signal (RS) set to find a new candidate beam, the beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) is transmitted to the BS via physical random access channel (PRACH) on the selected candidate beam. This beam failure detection and beam failure recovery (BFD/BFR), par [0038]).
Regarding Claim 6. Park further teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein to receive the set of BFRSs, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to prepare to receive the set of BFRSs the indicated amount of time after receiving the configuration, the indicated amount of time after a last BFRS (a BS 105 may transmit SSBs by sweeping across a set of predefined beam directions and may repeat the SSB transmissions at a certain time interval in the set of beam directions to allow a UE 115 to perform initial network access, par [0061], After the UE monitors the beam identification reference signal (RS) set to find a new candidate beam, the beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) is transmitted to the BS via physical random access channel (PRACH) on the selected candidate beam. This beam failure detection and beam failure recovery (BFD/BFR), par [0038]), or the indicated amount of time after receiving a command (receive a beam switch command from the BS, and/or perform a beam switch based on a beam switch command, par [0074]).
Regarding Claim 7. Park further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates an amount of time for a beam switch to occur after a beam switch command has been indicated ( subset of failed beams are switched to other candidate beams before all the serving control beams fail in order to avoid full BFD/BFR. When a UE detects a beam failure, it may send a partial beam recovery request (also called the beam switching request) to the BS via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) on one or more of the active beams. The partial beam recovery method can reduce the number of BFD/BFR events and avoid the frequent use of RACH for BFRQ, par [0038] and receive a beam switch command from the BS, and/or perform a beam switch based on a beam switch command, par [0074]).
Regarding Claim 8. Park further teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to receive the beam switch command (receive a beam switch command from the BS, and/or perform a beam switch based on a beam switch command, par [0074]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 12-14, these apparatus claims comprise limitations substantially the same, as those discussed in claims 1, 4-8 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable. Park further teaches a network entity (base station, see pars [0008-0009]).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY MEJIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451