DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-5, & 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claim 1 recites "perform calculation to obtain tippers....", "perform calculation to obtain impedance, Cagniard apparent resistivity and fitted apparent resistivity....", perform inversion," and so forth. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of "magnetic field sensor", "electric field sensor", and "processor" appear to be well understood, routine, and conventional elements that are recited generically only to obtain the data required to implement the abstract idea and therefore neither integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor amount to significantly more. The other listed claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they only address well-known types of sensors or other common elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wojniak (Wojniak, Wayne Stanley. "A magnetotelluric sounding at the Tucson magnetic and seismological observatory." (1979).).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Wojniak teaches:
An apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, comprising:
a magnetic field sensor for acquiring magnetic field response data (Pages 1 & 2 of introduction reproduced below.);
an electric field sensor for acquiring electric field response data (Pages 1 & 2 of introduction reproduced below.); and
a processor (See pages 64-66 of Chapter 4 titled Data processing wherein the Fortran programs are discussed. A computer processor was necessarily used.), wherein the magnetic field sensor and the electric field sensor each are connected to the processor, and the processor is configured to perform calculation to obtain tippers (See pages 11-12, 32, & 140.) according to the magnetic field response data, perform calculation to obtain impedance (See pages 22-26, 79-83, & elsewhere throughout the paper.), Cagniard apparent resistivity (See pages 64-65 of Chapter 4 titled Data processing wherein the Cagniard and apparent resistivities are disclosed being calculated. See Fig. 5.25.) and fitted apparent resistivity (See pages 64-65 of Chapter 4 titled Data processing wherein the Cagniard and apparent resistivities are disclosed being calculated. See also page 84 wherein the apparent resistivity is exclusively addressed. See Fig. 5.24) according to the magnetic field response data and the electric field response data, and perform inversion (See page 4 as highlighted below. See also page 140 highlighted below.) according to one or more kinds of data of the tippers, the fitted apparent resistivity, the impedance and the Cagniard apparent resistivity to obtain underground resistivity (See Abstract and the topic of this paper.).
Regarding claim 4, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches the electric field sensor is arranged outside an annulus of a receiving coil (See pages 1-2 wherein the two sensors are disclosed. The magnetometer has a coil and is necessarily outside of the electric field sensor.).
Regarding claim 5, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches the magnetic field response data is three-component magnetic field response data, and the electric field response data is two-component electric field response data (See page 30 highlighted below.).
Regarding claim 6, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches the processor calculates fitted apparent resistivity on the basis of the horizontal electric field response data of a single x direction and the magnetic field response data of a single vertical component (See pages 64-65 of Chapter 4 titled Data processing wherein the Cagniard and apparent resistivities are disclosed being calculated. See Fig. 5.25.); the processor calculates impedance (See pages 22-26, 79-83, & elsewhere throughout the paper.) and Cagniard apparent resistivity in x and y directions on the basis of the electric field response data in a horizontal direction and the magnetic field response data in the horizontal direction (See pages 64-65 of Chapter 4 titled Data processing wherein the Cagniard and apparent resistivities are disclosed being calculated. See Fig. 5.25.); and the processor calculates tippers on the basis of the magnetic field response data utilizing three components (See pages 11-12, 32, & 140.).
Regarding claim 7, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches the electric field sensor is a spherical capacitive electric field sensor or a box type capacitive electric field sensor (Pages 1 & 2 of introduction reproduced below wherein a voltmeter is a box with capacitors.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13-15, & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojniak (Wojniak, Wayne Stanley. "A magnetotelluric sounding at the Tucson magnetic and seismological observatory." (1979).) in view of Zhang et al (Zhang, Jifeng, Rihua Huang, and Bing Feng. "A synthetic aperture for land controlled-source electromagnetic surveys." Journal of Applied Geophysics 174 (2020): 103945.).
Regarding claim 8, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claims 1.
Zhang teaches an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claims 1 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Regarding claim 13, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches the electric field sensor is a spherical capacitive electric field sensor or a box type capacitive electric field sensor (Pages 1 & 2 of introduction reproduced below wherein a voltmeter is a box with capacitors.).
Wojniak does not explicitly teach the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 4.
Zhang teaches the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 4 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Regarding claim 14, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches the electric field sensor is a spherical capacitive electric field sensor or a box type capacitive electric field sensor (Pages 1 & 2 of introduction reproduced below wherein a voltmeter is a box with capacitors.).
Wojniak does not explicitly teach the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 5.
Zhang teaches the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 5 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Regarding claim 15, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak teaches wherein the electric field sensor is a spherical capacitive electric field sensor or a box type capacitive electric field sensor (Pages 1 & 2 of introduction reproduced below wherein a voltmeter is a box with capacitors.).
Wojniak does not explicitly teach the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 6.
Zhang teaches the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 6 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Regarding claim 18, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 4.
Zhang teaches an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 4 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Regarding claim 19, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 5.
Zhang teaches apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 5 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Regarding claim 20, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 6.
Zhang teaches an apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 6 (See Introduction page 2 column 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wojniak such that an apparent resistivity measuring method uses a semi-airborne electromagnetic method because this a well-know, reliable technique which allows one to gather subsurface imaging information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-12, & 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 2, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach the electric field sensor comprises: a sensing unit comprising two capacitance modules symmetrically distributed and having the same size, wherein capacitance is calculated by measuring voltages of the two capacitance modules, and the electric field response data is calculated and obtained by means of the capacitance; and a readout unit comprising an integration module and an amplifier, wherein the integration module is configured to condition a frequency response curve of the electric field sensor into a flat straight line.
Regarding claim 3, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach the electric field sensor further comprises: a gyroscope for detecting an attitude deflection angle of the electric field sensor.
Regarding claim 9,
The apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 8, comprising acquiring magnetic field response data; acquiring electric field response data; and performing calculation to obtain tippers according to the magnetic field response data, performing calculation to obtain impedance, Cagniard apparent resistivity and fitted apparent resistivity according to the magnetic field response data and the electric field response data, and performing inversion according to one or more kinds of data of the tippers, the fitted apparent resistivity, the impedance and the Cagniard apparent resistivity to obtain underground resistivity.
Regarding claim 10,
The apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 9, comprising acquiring the three-component magnetic field response data; acquiring the two-component electric field response data; calculating fitted apparent resistivity on the basis of horizontal electric field response data of a single x direction and magnetic field response data of a single vertical component; calculating impedance and Cagniard apparent resistivity in both x and y directions on the basis of the electric field response data in a horizontal direction and the magnetic field response data in the horizontal direction; calculating tippers on the basis of the magnetic field response data utilizing three components; and performing inversion according to one or more kinds of data of the tippers, the fitted apparent resistivity, the impedance and the Cagniard apparent resistivity to obtain underground resistivity.
Regarding claim 11,
The apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 2, wherein the electric field sensor is a spherical capacitive electric field sensor or a box type capacitive electric field sensor.
Regarding claim 12, Wojniak teaches all elements of claim 3, upon which this claim depends.
Wojniak does not explicitly teach the apparent resistivity measuring system using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method according to claim 3, wherein the electric field sensor is a spherical capacitive electric field sensor or a box type capacitive electric field sensor.
Regarding claim 16,
An apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 2.
Regarding claim 17,
An apparent resistivity measuring method using a semi-airborne electromagnetic method, wherein measurement is performed by using the measuring system according to claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858