Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 14-15, 19 and 21-24 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keith (EP 3042763).
Regarding claim 1, Keith teaches a ceramic matrix composite sandwich comprising a ceramic honeycomb core [Title, 0022 and Fig. 2] having oppositely disposed first and second surfaces [Fig. 7]. A first facesheet (16) is taught on the first surface of the honeycomb ceramic core structure and a second facesheet (14) is taught on the second surface of the honeycomb ceramic core structure [Fig, 2]. Keith teaches an interface sheet disposed between the ceramic honeycomb structure and at least one of the first facesheet and the second facesheet as Keith teaches first and second facesheets can be made of one or more prepreg layers wherein one prepreg layer can be construed as the interface layer and the other can be construed as the first or second facesheet [0014]. [0007].The first facesheet or the second facesheet comprise a ceramic matrix composite [0005]. The interface layer comprises chopped ceramic fibers (short ceramic fibers are taught) [0014].
Regarding claim 2, Keith teaches the fibers are oxides ceramics [0017] and the matrix is composed of oxide ceramics [0014] and therefore is an oxide-oxide ceramic material. Paragraph 0022 states “the core 12 may be formed from a CMC having the same or similar chemical composition (i.e., the same filament and matrix composition) as the first facesheet 14 and the second facesheet 16.” and therefore the ceramic honeycomb core structure is also an oxide-oxide ceramic material.
Regarding claim 6, the ceramic matrix composite comprises a sintered oxide-oxide ceramic matrix composite [0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith (EP 3042763).
Regarding claim 5, Keith is silent regarding the claimed stabilized compression strength. However, the present claim recites a broad range of stabilized compressive strength and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed stabilized compressive strength to improve the strength of the ceramic honeycomb structure core.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith (EP 3042763) in view of Petrisko et al. (US Pat. 5,851,403).
Regarding claims 3-4, Keith is silent regarding the claimed nominal cell size and density of the ceramic honeycomb core structure. However, Petrisko et al. teaches ceramic honeycomb core structure with a nominal cell size and density in the claimed range in order to tailor and control mechanical and electrical and chemical properties needed in the end use product. Further, Petrisko et al. teaches the cell size and density as results effective variables that affect the mechanical and electrical and chemical properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed nominal cell size and density of the ceramic honeycomb structure core in order to tailor the mechanical and electrical and chemical properties to the end use requirements through routine experimentation and arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the nominal cell size and density of the ceramic honeycomb core structure of Petrisko et al. in Keith in order to tailor mechanical and electrical and chemical properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Art Not Cited but Relevant
US Pat. 5,632,834 teaches a sandwich structure with a honeycomb core and facesheets applied to the core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 7-11, 14-15, 19 and 21-24 h.ve been found to be allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789