Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 14-15, 19 and 21-24 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith (EP 3042763) in view of Fletcher et al. (PG Pub. 2010/0304041).
Regarding claim 1, Keith teaches a ceramic matrix composite sandwich comprising a ceramic honeycomb core [Title, 0022 and Fig. 2] having oppositely disposed first and second surfaces [Fig. 7]. A first facesheet (16) is taught on the first surface of the honeycomb ceramic core structure and a second facesheet (14) is taught on the second surface of the honeycomb ceramic core structure [Fig, 2]. Keith teaches an interface sheet disposed between the ceramic honeycomb structure and at least one of the first facesheet and the second facesheet as Keith teaches first and second facesheets can be made of one or more prepreg layers wherein one prepreg layer can be construed as the interface layer and the other can be construed as the first or second facesheet [0014]. [0007]. The first facesheet or the second facesheet comprise a ceramic matrix composite [0005]. The interface layer comprises chopped ceramic fibers (short ceramic fibers are taught) [0014]. Keith is silent regarding the interface layer being derived from a paste. However, Fletcher et al. teaches a paste as an interface layer in order to provide one thicker coating layer in less layers without dripping. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the paste in the interface layer of Fletcher et al. in Keith in order to provide one thicker coating layer in less layers without dripping and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Keith teaches the fibers are oxides ceramics [0017] and the matrix is composed of oxide ceramics [0014] and therefore is an oxide-oxide ceramic material. Paragraph 0022 states “the core 12 may be formed from a CMC having the same or similar chemical composition (i.e., the same filament and matrix composition) as the first facesheet 14 and the second facesheet 16.” and therefore the ceramic honeycomb core structure is also an oxide-oxide ceramic material.
Regarding claim 5, Keith is silent regarding the claimed stabilized compression strength. However, the present claim recites a broad range of stabilized compressive strength and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed stabilized compressive strength to improve the strength of the ceramic honeycomb structure core.
Regarding claim 6, the ceramic matrix composite comprises a sintered oxide-oxide ceramic matrix composite [0026].
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith (EP 3042763) in view of Fletcher et al. (PG Pub. 2010/0304041) in view of Petrisko et al. (US Pat. 5,851,403).
Regarding claims 3-4, The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed nominal cell size and density of the ceramic honeycomb core structure. However, Petrisko et al. teaches ceramic honeycomb core structure with a nominal cell size and density in the claimed range in order to tailor and control mechanical and electrical and chemical properties needed in the end use product. Further, Petrisko et al. teaches the cell size and density as results effective variables that affect the mechanical and electrical and chemical properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed nominal cell size and density of the ceramic honeycomb structure core in order to tailor the mechanical and electrical and chemical properties to the end use requirements through routine experimentation and arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the nominal cell size and density of the ceramic honeycomb core structure of Petrisko et al. in the previous combination in order to tailor mechanical and electrical and chemical properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Art Not Cited but Relevant
US Pat. 5,632,834 teaches a sandwich structure with a honeycomb core and facesheets applied to the core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Keith does not teach the claimed paste. However, newly cited Fletcher teaches the claimed paste in the interlayer. Therefore, the present claims are not allowable. Claims 7-11, 14-15, 19 and 21-24 h.ve been found to be allowable.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789