DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 9/8/26 (hereinafter “Response) including claim amendments, a replacement specification, and a replacement drawing sheet have been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1, 6, 8 – 10, 14, 15, and 17 – 19 have been amended. Claims 1 – 20 remain pending in the Application.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings raised in the non-final office action (hereinafter “Office Action”) are withdrawn based on the amendments to the drawings and specification submitted in the Response. However, a new objection is raised based on the drawings submitted on 9/8/26.
The drawings are objected to because:
Reference characters “151A” and “151B” in Figure 5 have been used to designate “the second end of rods”. “151A” and “151B” in Figure 5 will be interpreted as “551A” and “551B”, respectively, which is consistent with the Response, including paragraph 0040 of the specification.
The drawings are further objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “deviating channel” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification objection raised in the Office Action is withdrawn based on the specification amendments included in the Response.
Claim Objections
The claim objections raised in the Office Action are withdrawn based on the claim amendments included in the Response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection to the claims under 35 USC 112(b) raised in the Office Action is withdrawn based on the claim amendments included in the Response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,892,072 A to Nabors in view of US 2017/0297390 A1 to McDevitt.
Regarding claim 1, Nabors discloses [an articulating fifth wheel fixation device (6)] (Pg.1, lines 64 -66 & 74 – 75; Figs. 1 and 3) comprising:
[a tube (11) attached to a fifth wheel top plate (7)] (Fig. 3; pg. 1, lines 75 – 83) comprising:
[a slot (16 – Side A in Annotated Fig. 3, below) disposed along a length of the tube] (pg. 1, lines 90 – 91);
[a shaft (13 – Side A, Ann. Fig. 3) positioned inside a hollow portion of the tube] (pg. 1, lines 82 – 86; the hollow portion of the tube on Side A, Ann. Fig. 3) comprising:
[a handle (15 – Side A, Ann. Fig. 3) attached to a first end of the shaft] (the first end of the shaft on Side A of Ann. Fig. 3 wherein the handle is attached thereto);
wherein [the handle attached to the shaft extends outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the tube through the slot] (Fig. 4), however Nabors does not appear to explicitly disclose a deviating channel.
McDevitt discloses [a fixation device] (complete assembly shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
[a tube (13);
a slot (29) disposed along a length of the tube;
a shaft (11) positioned inside a hollow portion of the tube comprising:
a handle (31) attached to a first end (27) of the shaft;
wherein the handle attached to the shaft extends outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the tube through the slot] (Figs. 1, 2; paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0022), and
[wherein the slot includes a deviating channel (33) extending in a direction different from the length of the tube (e.g., the deviating channel extends in a perpendicular direction to the length of the tube)] (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5; paragraph 0021), [the deviating channel configured to maintain the handle in one of a stowed position and an actuated position] (paragraph 0033 – e.g., the stowed position being when the handle is in the deviating channel and the actuated position being the handle sliding to the opposite end of the slot from the deviating channel).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nabors in view of McDevitt to include the deviating slot of McDevitt using known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One skilled in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination of Nabors and McDevitt were predictable and would appreciate the deviating slot of McDevitt advantageously provides for a stowed position of Nabor’s handle.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Nabors
Regarding claim 2, Nabors further discloses [a second shaft (13 – Side B, Ann. Fig. 3) positioned inside a hollow portion of the tube] (pg. 1, lines 82 – 86; the hollow portion of the tube on side B in Ann. Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Nabors further discloses the tube further comprises: [a second slot (16 – Side B, Ann. Fig. 3) disposed along the length of the tube] (pg. 1, lines 90 – 91).
Regarding claim 4, Nabors further discloses [both slots are positioned in line with one another] (Ann. Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Nabors further discloses the second shaft comprises:
[a handle (15 – Side B, Ann. Fig. 3) attached to a first end of the second shaft] (the first end of the second shaft on Side B of Ann. Fig. 3 wherein the handle is attached thereto).
Regarding claim 6, Nabors further discloses [when the fixation device is activated the handles are moved in opposite directions from one another] (pg. 2, lines 1 – 3 & 61 – 65; Ann. Fig. 3; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Nabors further discloses [when the fixation device is deactivated the handles are moved towards one another] (pg. 2, lines 1 – 3 & 36 – 37).
Regarding claim 8, Nabors further discloses the handles further comprise: [locking points (LP – Ann. Fig. 3, e.g., surfaces of the handles in contact with respective elements 20, 21 described on pg. 2 in lines 1 – 3).
Regarding claim 9, Nabors further discloses the articulating fifth wheel fixation device of claim 8, further comprises: [attachment pins (AP) that are sized to be placed in the locking points when the handles are positioned in a deactivated position] (Ann. Fig. 3; pg. 2, lines 91 – 96).
Claims 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabors in view of US Pat. 5,516,138 to Fontaine, US 2018/0354326 A1 to Keatley et al (hereinafter Keatley), and McDevitt.
Regarding claim 10, Nabors discloses a fifth wheel fixation system comprising:
[a tube (11) attached to a fifth wheel top plate (7)] (Fig. 3; pg. 1, lines 75 – 83) comprising:
[a slot (16 – Side A in Annotated Fig. 3, below) disposed along a length of the tube] (pg. 1, lines 90 – 91);
[a shaft (13 – Side A, Ann. Fig. 3) positioned inside a hollow portion of the tube] (pg. 1, lines 82 – 86; the hollow portion of the tube on Side A, Ann. Fig. 3) comprising:
[a handle (15 – Side A, Ann. Fig. 3) attached to a first end of the shaft] (the first end of the shaft on Side A of Ann. Fig. 3 wherein the handle is attached thereto); wherein
[the handle attached to the shaft extends outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the tube through the slot] (Fig. 4), however Nabors does not disclose a pneumatic cylinder connected to a compressor or a deviating channel.
Fontaine discloses [a fifth wheel mechanism comprising a pneumatic cylinder (362) and Fontaine further discloses the pneumatic cylinder is attached to a handle of the fifth wheel mechanism] (Fig. 17; col. 8, lines 27 – 33).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the pneumatic cylinder of Fontaine with the fifth wheel fixation system of Nabors to create a pneumatic fifth wheel fixation system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to attach the pneumatic cylinder to one of the two handles of the Nabors/Fontaine system.
Further still, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to duplicate the pneumatic cylinder from Fontaine to incorporate a second pneumatic cylinder and attach the second pneumatic cylinder to the other of the two handles of the pneumatic fifth wheel fixation system of Nabors. Doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results, and would allow easier and remote activation/deactivation of the Nabors/Fontaine system. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); see also MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B) “Duplication of Parts”).
Nabors as modified by Fontaine above does not expressly include a compressor or a deviating channel.
Keatley discloses a fifth wheel coupling/uncoupling arrangement comprising [a pneumatic cylinder connected to a compressor (500)] (Figs. 7 and 24; paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the compressor of Keatley into the Nabors/Fontaine system such that the pneumatic cylinder of the Nabors/Fontaine system is connected to the compressor of Keatley. Doing so could be done without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results and would advantageously provide air pressure to operate the pneumatic cylinder of the Nabors/Fontaine/Keatley system. The modified combination of Nabors/Fontaine/Keatley does not appear to explicitly disclose a deviating channel.
McDevitt discloses [a fixation device] (complete assembly shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
[a tube (13);
a slot (29) disposed along a length of the tube;
a shaft (11) positioned inside a hollow portion of the tube comprising:
a handle (31) attached to a first end (27) of the shaft;
wherein the handle attached to the shaft extends outward beyond an outer circumferential edge of the tube through the slot] (Figs. 1, 2; paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0022), and
[wherein the slot includes a deviating channel (33) extending in a direction different from the length of the tube (e.g., the deviating channel extends in a perpendicular direction to the length of the tube)] (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5; paragraph 0021), [the deviating channel configured to maintain the handle in one of a stowed position and an actuated position] (paragraph 0033 – e.g., the stowed position being when the handle is in the deviating channel and the actuated position being the handle sliding to the opposite end of the slot from the deviating channel).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the deviating slot of McDevitt into the modified combination of Nabors/Fontaine/Keatley using known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One skilled in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and would appreciate the deviating slot of McDevitt advantageously provides for a stowed position of the handles.
Regarding claim 11 (see rejection for claim 2), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 11. Claim 11 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 12 (see rejection for claim 3), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 12. Claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding claim 13 (see rejection for claim 4), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 13. Claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding claim 14 (see rejection for claim 5), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 14. Claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding claim 15 (see rejection for claim 6), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 15. Claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding claim 16 (see rejection for claim 7), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 16. Claim 16 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding claim 17 (see rejection for claim 8), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 17. Claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding claim 18 (see rejection for claim 9), Nabors discloses all limitations of claim 18. Claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 9.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the Nabors/Fontaine/Keatley/McDevitt pneumatic fifth wheel fixation system discloses all limitations of claims 19 and 20 (see rejection for claim 10, above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 9 rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claims 10 – 20 rejected under 35 USC 103 on pages 3 – 4 of the Response have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0251505 A1 – discloses a fixation device including a deviating channel
US 2014/0312627 A1 – discloses a fixation device including a deviating channel.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Valentin Neacsu can be reached at 571-272-6265. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611