DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Abstract
3. The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Oath Declaration
4. The Oath complies with all the requirements set forth in MPEP 602 and therefore is accepted.
Drawings
5. The drawings received on 01/22/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The references listed in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2024 & 05/14/2024 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO- 1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 11,146,290 B1)"herein after as Xiong" in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0143836 A1) "herein after as Zhang."
As per claims 1, 8, and 15:
Xiong substantially teaches or discloses a method comprising: receiving a codeword from a memory device (see abstract, column 1, lines 35-36, herein a system for decoding a received LDPC codeword may be provided, and Fig. 4 step 405), wherein the codeword includes a plurality of bits (see column 1, lines 43-44, herein the received LDPC codeword including a plurality of bits) and decoding the codeword includes flipping one or more bits over multiple iterations of bit flipping decoding; selecting a current bit of the plurality of bits in a current iteration of bit flipping (see column 1, lines 46-58, herein decoding the received LDPC codeword by estimating values with respect to the LDPC codeword at the plurality of bit nodes and the plurality of check nodes in an iterative process including one or more iterations. At least one iteration of the one or more iterations may include: determining a syndrome weight based on current values of the plurality of bit nodes and the parity check matrix; determining whether the syndrome weight is equal to zero; in response to determining that the syndrome weight is not equal to zero, determining one or more flipping reliabilities of the plurality of bit nodes, each flipping reliability representing a reliability of a flipping operation on one of the plurality of bit nodes); determining the current bit satisfies a bit flipping criterion (see column 6, lines 46-50, herein A conventional bit-flipping method usually decides whether to flip a bit node simply based on the flipping energy. For example, if the flipping energy is greater than a threshold, the hard decision of the bit node is flipped; otherwise, the hard decision of the bit node is not flipped); detecting a risk of a stall condition in the multiple iterations (see column 1, lines 52-56, herein determining a syndrome weight based on current values of the plurality of bit nodes and the parity check matrix; determining whether the syndrome weight is equal to zero; in response to determining that the syndrome weight is not equal to zero; and column 9, lines 18-22); determining the current bit was flipped in a previous iteration of bit flipping in response to detecting the risk of the stall condition and further in response to determining the current bit satisfies the bit flipping criterion (see column 1, lines 55-59, herein in response to determining that the syndrome weight is not equal to zero, determining one or more flipping reliabilities of the plurality of bit nodes, each flipping reliability representing a reliability of a flipping operation on one of the plurality of bit nodes; and column 2, lines 22-25, herein in response to determining that the syndrome weight is greater than the syndrome weight threshold, designating a preset flipping reliability as the one or more flipping reliabilities of the plurality of bit nodes). Xiong does not explicitly teach bypassing flipping of the current bit in response to determining the current bit was flipped in the previous iteration. However, Zhang in the same the field of endeavor teaches bypassing flipping of the current bit in response to determining the current bit was flipped in the previous iteration (see paragraph [0075], herein the conditional bit-flipping is followed by recomputing the syndrome (s_new) and the checksum value © 820. If the checksum value is equal to zero (operation 825), then the bit-flipping decoder is stopped since the received codeword has been correctly decoded. If the checksum is not equal to zero, then the syndrome and checksum values are updated 830, and the threshold is updated 835. In an example, the threshold is updated based on the iteration number, the number of unsatisfied check nodes of the previous iteration, and/or the number of variable nodes flipped in the previous iteration, and Fig. 8 steps 820 &825). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Xiong with the teachings of Zhang by bypassing flipping of the current bit in response to determining the current bit was flipped in the previous iteration.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the bypassing flipping of the current bit in response to determining the current bit was flipped in the previous iteration would have improved the convergence of a bit-flipping decoder (see paragraph [0074] of Zhang).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18:
Zhang teaches that setting the current bit to a next bit of the plurality of bits; determining the current bit was not flipped in a previous iteration of bit flipping in response to determining the current bit satisfies the bit flipping criterion; and flipping the current bit in response to determining the current bit satisfies the bit flipping criterion and was not flipped in the previous iteration (see paragraph [0075], herein the conditional bit-flipping is followed by recomputing the syndrome (s_new) and the checksum value (C) 820. If the checksum value is equal to zero (operation 825), then the bit-flipping decoder is stopped since the received codeword has been correctly decoded. If the checksum is not equal to zero, then the syndrome and checksum values are updated 830, and the threshold is updated 835. In an example, the threshold is updated based on the iteration number, the number of unsatisfied check nodes of the previous iteration, and/or the number of variable nodes flipped in the previous iteration, and Fig. 8 steps 820 &825).
As per claims 7 and 14:
Xiong teaches that wherein detecting the risk of the stall condition includes determining that an iteration count of the multiple iterations satisfies an iteration count threshold (see column 2, lines 19-25, herein the determining one or more flipping reliabilities of the plurality of bit nodes may include: determining whether the syndrome weight is greater than a syndrome weight threshold; and in response to determining that the syndrome weight is greater than the syndrome weight threshold, designating a preset flipping reliability as the one or more flipping reliabilities of the plurality of bit nodes).
8. Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 11,146,290 B1)"herein after as Xiong" in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0143836 A1) "herein after as Zhang" in further view of Pele et al. (US 11,838,032 B1) "herein after as Pele."
As per claims 2, 9, and 16:
Xiong-Zhang as combined does not teach removing the indication in the bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to bypassing flipping of the current bit. However, Pele in the same the field of endeavor teaches removing the indication in the bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to bypassing flipping of the current bit (see column 10, lines 47-58, herein FIG. 4C illustrates a third state 440 of error correcting code according to at least one example. After the second bit 405 and its connected error code bits 410 in the second state 420 (shown in FIG. 4B) are flipped, the system reaches the third decoding state 440. At this point, the first bit 405 is still in error from the first state 400 (shown in FIG. 4A) and the two error code bits 410 connected to the first bit 405 are set to one. Since the two error code bits 410 for the first data bit 405 are set to one, the system selects the first data bit 405 and its two connected error code bits 410 to be flipped. After these bits are flipped, then the system has removed all of the errors and returned to the first state 400). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Xiong-Zhang as combined with the teachings of Pele by removing the indication in the bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to bypassing flipping of the current bit.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the removing the indication in the bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to bypassing flipping of the current bit improved the system performance.
As per claims 3, 10, and 17:
Xiong-Zhang as combined setting the current bit to a next bit of the plurality of bits; and removing an indication in a bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to determining the current bit does not satisfy the bit flipping criterion. However, Pele in the same the field of endeavor teaches removing the indication in the bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to bypassing flipping of the current bit (see column 10, lines 47-58, herein FIG. 4C illustrates a third state 440 of error correcting code according to at least one example. After the second bit 405 and its connected error code bits 410 in the second state 420 (shown in FIG. 4B) are flipped, the system reaches the third decoding state 440. At this point, the first bit 405 is still in error from the first state 400 (shown in FIG. 4A) and the two error code bits 410 connected to the first bit 405 are set to one. Since the two error code bits 410 for the first data bit 405 are set to one, the system selects the first data bit 405 and its two connected error code bits 410 to be flipped. After these bits are flipped, then the system has removed all of the errors and returned to the first state 400). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Xiong-Zhang as combined with the teachings of Pele by setting the current bit to a next bit of the plurality of bits; and removing an indication in a bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to determining the current bit does not satisfy the bit flipping criterion.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the setting the current bit to a next bit of the plurality of bits; and removing an indication in a bit flipping memory the current bit was previously flipped in response to determining the current bit does not satisfy the bit flipping criterion improved the system performance.
As per claims 5, 12, and 19:
Pele teaches that adding an indication in a bit flipping memory that the current bit was flipped, wherein the indication is one of a plurality of indications in the bit flipping memory evaluated in a subsequent iteration of bit flipping decoding to determine if a subsequent current bit in the subsequent iteration was previously flipped (see column 13, lines 15-19, herein if the current clock is less than the maximum clock, the system determines (525) the current SW for the simulation episode by adding together all of the error code bits (e.g., error code bits 410 (FIG. 4A)) or counting the number of error code bits that are not zero).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20:
Pele teaches that removing an oldest indication in the bit flipping memory in response to determining there is insufficient storage for the indication that the current bit was flipped (see column 10, lines 52-59, herein the first bit 405 is still in error from the first state 400 (shown in FIG. 4A) and the two error code bits 410 connected to the first bit 405 are set to one. Since the two error code bits 410 for the first data bit 405 are set to one, the system selects the first data bit 405 and its two connected error code bits 410 to be flipped. After these bits are flipped, then the system has removed all of the errors and returned to the first state 400, and column 13, lines 32-44).
Examiner Notes
9. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
10. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSMAN ALSHACK whose telephone number is (571)272-2069. The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALBERT DECADY can be reached on 5712723819. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OSMAN M ALSHACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2112