Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/09/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 14-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 20220014305) in view of Ina et al. (US 20240340957).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated with an AP MLD in a wireless network, the non-AP MLD comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry; and memory storing instructions (Wi-Fi MLD 102 includes a processor 112, a memory 114, a control circuit 116, a receive (RX) circuit 118, a transmit (TX) circuit 120, and multiple antennas 122. MLD 102 is a non-AP STA and the Wi-Fi MLD 104 is an AP, the control circuit 116 controls the TX circuit 120 to deal with uplink (UL) traffic between AP and non-AP STA, and controls the RX circuit 118 to deal with downlink (DL) traffic between AP and non-AP STA. TX circuit 120 includes multiple TX chains, and the RX circuit 118 includes multiple RX chains; [0025]),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the non-AP MLD to:
communicate with the AP MLD on a plurality of links established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD (Wi-Fi MLD 104 may be an AP, the Wi-Fi MLD 102 may be a non-AP STA, and the Wi-Fi MLD 102 on a link may set a default transmit (TX) NSS=1 and a maximum TX NSS=4. On each link, the Wi-Fi MLD 102 operates under a default mode listening to the channel; [0036]);
generate a notification to update at least one operation parameter for one or more links of the plurality of links established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD (Fig. 2, RTS frame is received based on a default operation mode parameter (e.g., RX NSS=1). CTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of RX NSS=2; [0033].
Fig. 3, inquiry frame received based on a default operation mode parameter (e.g., RX NSS=1). Response frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of RX NSS=4; [0034].
Fig. 5, RTS frame is transmitted based on the default operation mode parameter (e.g., TX NSS=1). RTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of TX NSS=2; [0036].
Fig. 6, Wi-Fi MLD 102 on a link may set a default TX NSS=1 and a maximum TX NSS=4. Wi-Fi MLD 102 operates under a default mode listening to the channel. After the CTS frame is received by the RX circuit 118, the control circuit 116 controls the TX circuit 120 to transmit an announcement frame that is used to announce operation mode change for the following period of the TXOP on the link. Announcement frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of TX NSS=2; [0037]);
wherein the at least one operation parameter comprises a maximum number of spatial streams supported by the one or more links (maximum RX NSS=4. maximum TX NSS=4; [0033-0037]);
transmit, to the AP MLD, a request frame including the notification to update the at least one operation parameter (CTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of RX NSS=2; [0033].
Response frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of RX NSS=4; [0034].
RTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of TX NSS=2; [0036].
Announcement frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of TX NSS=2; [0037]); and
initiate radio reconfiguration on the one or more links using the updated at least one operation parameter (control circuit 116 controls the TX circuit 120 to operate under a changed operation mode parameter (e.g., TX NSS=2) and other unchanged parameters, and transmit one or more UL PPDUs on the link during a remaining period of the TXOP. Hence, during the remaining period of the TXOP, UL PPDU(s) can be transmitted by TX NSS=2; [0036]).
Hsu does not expressly disclose wherein the notification is included in one or more link information fields of a reconfiguration multi-link element included in the request frame.
In an analogous art, Ina discloses wherein the notification is included in one or more link information fields of a reconfiguration multi-link element included in the request frame (FIG. 5A shows a Basic variant Multi-Link element in an Association Request frame. Basic variant Multi-Link element can be included in an Association Request frame when establishing a Multi-Link, a Probe request frame, a Probe response frame, an Association response frame, a Beacon frame, or the like. Common Info field includes EMLMR Capabilities subfields, as shown in FIG. 5B. Among the EMLMR Capabilities subfields shown in FIG. 5B, an EMLMR Supported MCS And NSS Set subfield stores the maximum number of spatial streams when transmitting/receiving a PPDU during the EMLMR operation; [0049-0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ina into the system of Hsu in order increase the number of spatial streams in a link, thereby implementing efficient communication (Ina; [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Ina discloses wherein the at least one operation parameter further comprises a maximum modulation and coding scheme supported by the one or more links (Among the EMLMR Capabilities subfields shown in FIG. 5B, an EMLMR Supported MCS And NSS Set subfield stores the maximum number of spatial streams when transmitting/receiving a PPDU during the EMLMR operation; [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ina into the system of Hsu in order increase the number of spatial streams in a link, thereby implementing efficient communication (Ina; [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Hsu discloses receive, from the AP MLD, a response frame in response to the request frame (CTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of RX NSS=2. receive one or more DL PPDUs on the link during a remaining period of the TXOP; [0033]); and
initiate, after receiving the response frame, the radio reconfiguration on the one or more links using the updated at least one operation parameter (during the remaining period of the TXOP, DL PPDU(s) can be received by RX NSS=2. At an end of the TXOP, the control circuit 116 controls the RX circuit 118 to resume the default operation mode parameter (e.g., RX NSS=1) on the link; [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Ina discloses wherein the reconfiguration multi-link element includes at least one of (i) a first field indicating a type of update for the one or more links, (ii) a second field indicating the one or more links, and (iii) one or more third fields, each third field indicating the notification to update the at least one operation parameter (multilink control field; Fig. 5A; [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ina into the system of Hsu in order increase the number of spatial streams in a link, thereby implementing efficient communication (Ina; [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Ina discloses wherein the reconfiguration multi-link element includes a fourth field indicating when the updated maximum number of spatial streams is applicable on the respective link (Fig. 5B, EMLMR Delay; [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ina into the system of Hsu in order increase the number of spatial streams in a link, thereby implementing efficient communication (Ina; [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Hsu discloses wherein the notification indicates a decrease in the maximum number of spatial streams supported by a first link established between a first ST A affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD (Wi-Fi MLD 104 may be an AP, the Wi-Fi MLD 102 may be a non-AP STA, and the Wi-Fi MLD 102 on a link may set a maximum RX NSS=4. CTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of RX NSS=2, and also carries an RX chain bitmap BMP; [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Hsu discloses after the radio reconfiguration is completed, transmit, to the AP MLD, another frame including a notification indicating an increase in the maximum number of spatial streams supported by a second link established between a second STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD (RTS frame is transmitted based on the default operation mode parameter (e.g., TX NSS=1). In this embodiment, the RTS frame carries indication IND of operation mode parameter change that specifies the use of TX NSS=2. In other words, the Wi-Fi MLD 102 will control the TX circuit 120 to switch another TX chain to the link for enhancing the TX NSS capability. The RX circuit 118 receives a CTS frame responsive to the RTS frame from Wi-Fi MLD (which is an AP) 104 on the same link, where the RTS/CTS mechanism claims a TXOP for frame exchange. After the CTS frame is received by the RX circuit 118, the control circuit 116 controls the TX circuit 120 to operate under a changed operation mode parameter (e.g., TX NSS=2); [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Hsu discloses wherein the frame is a broadcast frame (the initial Control frame of the frame exchange sequence that is initiated by the AP MLD may be a trigger frame, such as a multi-user request to send (MU-RTS) frame or a buffer status report poll (BSRP) frame; [0042]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Hsu discloses wherein the frame is an individually addressed frame (an AP MLD uses an RTS frame as an initial Control frame of a frame exchange sequence; [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Hsu and Ina, particularly Ina discloses receive, from the AP MLD, an indication that the AP MLD supports receiving the reconfiguration multi-link element including the notification to update at least one operation parameter for the one or more links (the number of spatial streams can be decided by an EHT Capabilities element or an EHT Operation element included in a frame used by the Non-AP MLD to declare to the AP MLD that it supports EHT. For example, the number of spatial streams can be decided based on the value of a Supported EHT-MCS And NSS Set field included in the EHT Capabilities element or the EHT Operation element. Alternatively, the number of spatial streams may be decided based on the value of a Basic EHT-MCS And NSS Set field included in each of these information elements; [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ina into the system of Hsu in order increase the number of spatial streams in a link, thereby implementing efficient communication (Ina; [0004]).
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 20220014305) in view of Ina et al. (US 20240340957) and in view of Chu et al. (US 20220330366).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hsu and Ina does not expressly disclose receive, from the AP MLD, a basic multi-link element including a transition timeout duration; and initiate the radio reconfiguration on the one or more links using the updated at least one operation parameter upon expiration of the transition timeout duration.
In an analogous art, Chu discloses receive, from the AP MLD, a basic multi-link element including a transition timeout duration; and initiate the radio reconfiguration on the one or more links using the updated at least one operation parameter upon expiration of the transition timeout duration (after a link is added (and the MLD's link number increases from one to two) or removed (and the MLD's link number decreases from two to one), the MLD may be changed to support eMLSR or eMLMR. As such, the Common Info field 310 of the Reconfiguration ML IE 300 may need to include an enhanced eMLSR capability announcement or an enhanced eMLMR capability announcement. The enhanced eMLSR capability announcement or the enhanced eMLMR capability announcement indicates, for example, links that support an eMLSR mode or an eMLMR mode, a delay time of a radio switch, an EHT Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) (EHT-MCS) supported by the eMLSR mode or the eMLMR mode, and a Number of spatial streams (Nss) supported by the eMLSR mode or the eMLMR mode; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Chu into the system of Hsu and Ina in order to enable exchange of ML configuration action frame according to the operating capability of the associated link, so that the number of active links can be negotiated in an effective manner (Chu; [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 20220014305) in view of Ina et al. (US 20240340957) and in view of Kwon et al. (US 20220104261).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hsu and Ina does not expressly disclose wherein the notification includes a timer information indicating when the radio reconfiguration is initiated.
In an analogous art, Kwon discloses wherein the notification includes a timer information indicating when the radio reconfiguration is initiated (non-AP MLD may need to switch its Radio Frequency (RF) chains to operate on a link that is included in a set of links in less than a first time (e.g., T1) after receiving an initial frame from an AP MLD on the link. As an example, the first time may be indicated to the AP MLD as part of the non-AP MLD's capabilities, or the first time may be a value that is determined by a standard (e.g., the EHT communication protocol, the HE communication protocol, etc.); [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kwon into the system of Hsu and Ina in order to enable exchange of frames in multi-link communications in environments with MLDs with different capabilities (Kwon; [0006]).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 20220014305) in view of Ina et al. (US 20240340957), and in view of Kang et al. (US 20130010664).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hsu and Ina does not expressly disclose transition the first STA to a doze state when the maximum number of spatial streams for the first STA is updated to zero.
In an analogous art, Kang discloses transition the first STA to a doze state when the maximum number of spatial streams for the first STA is updated to zero (step of entering the doze state until the end of the TXOP may include determining whether the wireless device is a member of the group of recipients identified by the group ID, determining the number of spatial stream transmitted to the wireless device if the wireless device is not the member of the group of recipients and entering the doze state until the end of the TXOP if the power saving indicator indicates an allowance of entering the doze state and the number of spatial streams transmitted to the wireless device is zero; [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kang into the system of Hsu and Ina in order to enable non access point stations to perform power saving in transmission opportunity according to characteristic of data frame transmitted from AP and transmission target non-AP station group allocated by the AP (Kang; [0019]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 9.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 20220014305) in view of Ina et al. (US 20240340957), and in view of Yang et al. (US 20240187168).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hsu and Ina does not expressly disclose coordinate that the first AP transmits a clear to send (CTS) frame when the number of supported spatial streams for the first AP is updated to zero, wherein a receiver address in the CTS frame is equal to an address of the first AP.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses coordinate that the first AP transmits a clear to send (CTS) frame when the number of supported spatial streams for the first AP is updated to zero, wherein a receiver address in the CTS frame is equal to an address of the first AP (non-AP MLD that supports the EMLSR switches a spatial stream/antenna on another link (which refers to the second link herein) to the first link, to perform the frame exchange with the AP. After switching, there are a plurality of spatial streams on the first link. When the EMLSR non-AP MLD determines that any preset condition in the preset condition set is met, the EMLSR non-AP MLD switches some spatial streams/antennas on the first link back to the second link, and performs the listening operation on each of the first link and the second link. the PPDU is not a frame sent to the station in a unicast manner, a trigger frame indicated by a user information (User Info) field and sent to the station, a CTS-to-self frame sent by the AP (associated with the station); [0424-0425]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Yang into the system of Hsu and Ina in order to enable the AP simultaneous service of STA, thus improving the communication efficiency (Yang; [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US 20230164634), “TRANSMISSION OF CAPABILITY INFORMATION ABOUT LINK.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413