DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao Yue-Jiang (CN 105737244 A), hereinafter “Gao”, in view of Wan Wei-Wei et.al (CN 112040573 A) and hereinafter “Wan”.
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a heating apparatus (heating device, FIG.1), comprising:
an outer case (front cover shell 2, fear cover shell 3, see FIG.1);
a fan received in the outer case (fan 11 received in the front and rear cover shells, see FIG.1); and
an integrated heating unit (heater body 1, see FIG.1) which is received in the outer case (the heater body 1 is located inside the front and rear cover shells (0025 and see FIG.1)), and comprises a heating device and a control module integrally connected to the heating device (the heater body 1 comprises a PTC heaters 9 is fixed on the heat dissipation fins 5 and an electrical control board is fixed inside the cover, (0025 and FIG.1))
Gao does not explicitly teach the PTC heater and control board are integrally connected the without using an electrical wire.
However, Wan that relates to PTC heater assembly structure (0002), also discusses the main power electrodes of the PTC heater are directly inserted into the control box shell and directly electrically connected to the controller, (0018 and 0027). Wan further states that the direct connection of PTC terminals and controller provides the benefits of simplifying the heater assembly structure and greatly improving overall production efficiency of the PTC heater assembly, (0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection between the PTC heater and control board of Gao to be a direct insertion of the terminals into the control board integrally connected without wires as such connection simplifies the heater assembly structure and improves production efficiency as taught in Wan.
Regarding claim 2, Gao in view of Wan teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 1, wherein the heating device (the heater body 1, see Gao FIG.1) comprises a supporting frame (heat dissipation fins 5, see Gao FIG.1(the heat dissipation fins 5 are shown as a support frame for the PTC heaters in FIG.1), and a plurality of positive temperature coefficient heating elements mounted on the supporting frame (a plurally of PTC heaters 9 is fixed on the heat dissipation fins 5, Gao (0025 and FIG.1)), the positive temperature coefficient heating elements being arranged in an array on the supporting frame to form at least one heating assembly (the PTC heaters 9 are arranged in an array on the heat dissipation fin 5 to form a heating assembly, Gao (0025 and FIG.1 shows four heating assemblies))
Regarding claim 3, Gao in view of Wan teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 2, wherein the heating assembly comprises a connecting terminal connecting to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements, the connecting terminal extending from the supporting frame and electrically connecting to the control module without using the electrical wire (the positive temperature coefficient heating core 3 has a positive and negative electrodes extending from the heating assembly housing and directly electrically connected to a controller inside the control box shell 8, Wan (0027 and see FIG.1)).
Regarding claim 4, Gao in view of Wan teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 3, wherein the control module comprises a control circuit board, a control circuitry implementing on the control circuit board, and a thermostat electrically connected to the control circuitry and implemented on the control circuity board (a control circuit board fixed inside the cover connected to a temperature control button 15 and fan control button 16 controlling heating of PTC thermistor ceramic heaters 9 and the rotation of the fan, Gao (0025, 0030 and FIG.1)).
Regarding claim 8, Gao in view of Wan teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 4, wherein the heating apparatus further comprises at least one connecting adapter welded to the control circuit board (the busbar 5 welded to the positive and negative electrodes (terminals) of the PTC core is an adaptor connecting the terminals to the control circuit board, (0027 and see FIG.1 and 3)), wherein the connecting terminal is arranged to insert to the connecting adapter for connecting to the control circuit board through the connecting adapter, (the positive and negative electrodes (terminals) of the heating element are inserted and welded to the busbar 5 and directly electrically connected to annular openings (ports) of the controller inside the control box shell 8, Wan (0027, 0031, 0033, see FIG.1 and 3).
Claim(s) 5 – 7 and 9 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Wan in further view of Kato, Kenichi (JP 2002270336 A) and hereinafter “Kato”.
Regarding claim 5, Gao in view of Wan teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 4.
Gao in view of Wan does not explicitly teach that the control circuitry comprises a control processor, an overheat protector, and a relay, the control processor being configured to process temperature data collected from the overheat protector, and control the electrical current supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements through the relay, the overheat protector being configured as a temperature sensor.
However, Kato that relates to a control device for controlling a PTC heater (0001), also teaches the control circuitry (see FIG.3) comprises a control processor (Central Processing Unit (CPU) 32, (0023 and see FIG.3)), an overheat protector (a temperature sensor 36, (0023 and see FIG.3)), and a relay (a relay circuit 34, (0023 and see FIG.3)), the control processor being configured to process temperature data collected from the overheat protector (the CPU 32 is configured to process the temperature of the PTC heater detected by the temperature sensor 36, (0032 and FIG.3)), and control the electrical current supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements through the relay (the CPU 32 controls the current to supplied to the PTC heater via the relay drive circuit 33, (0032 and see FIG.3)), the overheat protector being configured as a temperature sensor (the temperature sensor 36 is configured to detect the temperature of the PTC heater 35, (0028 and see FIG.3)).
Kato further states that the PTC heater control device that improves the utilization rate of the circuit breaker by suppressing the inrush current, including the peak value, when the PTC heater is energized, (0004 – 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the control circuit board of Gao to include a control processor, an overheat protector, and a relay, the control processor being configured to process temperature data collected from the overheat protector, and control the electrical current supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements through the relay, the overheat protector being configured as a temperature sensor in order to improves the utilization rate of circuit breaker of the power supply due to inrush current and reduces the current rating of the electrical circuit as taught in Kato.
Regarding claim 6, Gao in view of Wan in further view of Kato teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 5, wherein the control module further comprises a power switch (relay drive circuit 33 to turn on/off the power supply 31, Kato (0025,0027 and see FIG.3)), wherein the relay is electrically connected between the overheat protector and the positive temperature coefficient heating elements (the relay circuit 34 is electrically connected to the temperature sensor 36 and the PTC heater 35 , see Kato’s FIG.3), wherein when the temperature of the positive temperature coefficient heating elements reaches a predetermined threshold, the relay is arranged to cut off electricity supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements as controlled by the control processor so as to prevent the positive temperature coefficient heating elements from being damaged by excessive high temperature (the CPU 32, via the relay drive circuit 33, turns the relay circuit 34 on and off, and switches the power supplied from the power supply circuit 31 to the PTC heater 35, which is composed of a first PTC heater 1 and a second PTC heater 2 based on the PTC heater reaching a preset temperature, Kato (0025, 0032 – 0033 and see FIG.3))
Regarding claim 7, Gao in view of Wan in further view of Kato teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 6, wherein the control circuit board has at least one connecting port for connecting to the connecting terminal of the heating assembly, the connecting terminal being welded to the connecting port so as to form secure connection between the heating assembly and the control circuit board without using an electrical wire (the positive and negative electrodes (terminals) of the heating element are welded to a busbar 5 and are directly electrically connected to annular openings (ports) of the controller inside the control box shell 8, Wan (0027, 0031, 0033, see FIG.1 and 3) and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the direct electrical connection of the terminals to the control board ports similarly be welded as they are welded to the busbars).
Regarding claim 9, Gao in view of Wan teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 8.
Gao in view of Wan does not explicitly teach that the control circuitry comprises a control processor, an overheat protector, and a relay, the control processor being configured to process temperature data collected from the overheat protector, and control the electrical current supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements through the relay, the overheat protector being configured as a temperature sensor.
However, Kato that relates to a control device for controlling a PTC heater (0001), also teaches the control circuitry (see FIG.3) comprises a control processor (Central Processing Unit (CPU) 32, (0023 and see FIG.3)), an overheat protector (a temperature sensor 36, (0023 and see FIG.3)), and a relay (a relay circuit 34, (0023 and see FIG.3)), the control processor being configured to process temperature data collected from the overheat protector (the CPU 32 is configured to process the temperature of the PTC heater detected by the temperature sensor 36, (0032 and FIG.3)), and control the electrical current supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements through the relay (the CPU 32 controls the current to supplied to the PTC heater via the relay drive circuit 33, (0032 and see FIG.3)), the overheat protector being configured as a temperature sensor (the temperature sensor 36 is configured to detect the temperature of the PTC heater 35, (0028 and see FIG.3)).
Kato further states that the PTC heater control device that improves the utilization rate of the circuit breaker by suppressing the inrush current, including the peak value, when the PTC heater is energized, (0004 – 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the control circuit board of Gao to include a control processor, an overheat protector, and a relay, the control processor being configured to process temperature data collected from the overheat protector, and control the electrical current supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements through the relay, the overheat protector being configured as a temperature sensor in order to improves the utilization rate of circuit breaker of the power supply due to inrush current and reduces the current rating of the electrical circuit as taught in Kato.
Regarding claim 10, Gao in view of Wan in further view of Kato teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 9, wherein the control module further comprises a power switch (relay drive circuit 33 to turn on/off the power supply 31, Kato (0025,0027 and see FIG.3), wherein the relay is electrically connected between the overheat protector and the positive temperature coefficient heating elements (the relay circuit 34 is electrically connected to the temperature sensor 36 and the PTC heater 35 , see Kato’s FIG.3), wherein when the temperature of the positive temperature coefficient heating elements reaches a predetermined threshold, the relay is arranged to cut off electricity supplied to the positive temperature coefficient heating elements as controlled by the control processor so as to prevent the positive temperature coefficient heating elements from being damaged by excessive high temperature (the CPU 32, via the relay drive circuit 33, turns the relay circuit 34 on and off, and switches the power supplied from the power supply circuit 31 to the PTC heater 35, which is composed of a first PTC heater 1 and a second PTC heater 2 based on the PTC heater reaching a preset temperature, Kato (0025, 0032 – 0033 and see FIG.3)).
Regarding claim 11, Gao in view of Wan in further view of Kato teaches the heating apparatus, as recited in claim 10, wherein the control circuit board has at least one connecting port for connecting to the connecting terminal of the heating assembly, the connecting terminal being welded to the connecting port so as to form secure connection between the heating assembly and the control circuit board without using an electrical wire the positive and negative electrodes (terminals) of the heating element are welded to a busbar 5 and are directly electrically connected to annular openings (ports) of the controller inside the control box shell 8, Wan (0027, 0031, 0033, see FIG.1 and 3) and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the direct electrical connection of the terminals to the control board ports similarly be welded as they are welded to the busbars).
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761