DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on April 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 have been amended. No claims are canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-30 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 17-18 and 30 being independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
--In claim 3, replace “one or more processors are” with “processing system is”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 17-20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0201789), hereinafter referred to as Ye.
Regarding claim 1, Ye discloses an user equipment (UE) (terminal device; See Fig. 6), comprising:
one or more antennas (communication interface; See Fig. 6, #602); and
a processing system that includes processor circuitry (processor; See Fig. 6, #601) and memory circuitry (memory; See Fig. 6, #603) that stores code for the processor circuitry, the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive, via a first cell, a narrowband (NB)-based (The communication system may include a network device and a terminal device. The communication system may be located in an NB-IoT network; See [0036]) radio resource control (RRC) message comprising an indication to redirect communications via the first cell to a second cell (UE establishes an RRC connection in a cell A and performs service processing. After service processing is completed, the cell A triggers a redirection procedure, an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC release message sent by the eNB; See [0038]); and
perform a reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication (The UE chooses, based on the redirection information, to camp on a cell B corresponding to the carrier frequency; See [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Ye further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein:
the NB-based RRC message comprises an NB-based RRC release message (an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE; See [0038]); and
the NB-based RRC release message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell (The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Ye discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 3) comprising:
receiving, via a first cell, a narrowband (NB)-based (The communication system may include a network device and a terminal device. The communication system may be located in an NB-IoT network; See [0036]) radio resource control (RRC) message comprising an indication to redirect communications via the first cell to a second cell (UE establishes an RRC connection in a cell A and performs service processing. After service processing is completed, the cell A triggers a redirection procedure, an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC release message sent by the eNB; See [0038]); and
performing a reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication (The UE chooses, based on the redirection information, to camp on a cell B corresponding to the carrier frequency; See [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Ye discloses a network entity (network device; See Fig. 7), comprising:
one or more antennas (communication interface; See Fig. 7, #702); and
a processing system that includes processor circuitry (processor; See Fig. 7, #701) and memory circuitry (memory; See Fig. 7, #703) that stores code for the processor circuitry, the processing system configured to cause the network entity to:
determine to redirect communications via a first cell to a second cell for a device (After service processing is completed, the cell A triggers a redirection procedure; See [0038]); and
send, to the device via the first cell, a narrowband (NB)-based (The communication system may include a network device and a terminal device. The communication system may be located in an NB-IoT network; See [0036]) radio resource control (RRC) message comprising an indication configured to trigger the device to perform a reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on the determination (an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC release message sent by the eNB. The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Ye further discloses the network entity of claim 18, wherein:
the NB-based RRC message comprises an NB-based RRC release message (an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE; See [0038]); and
the NB-based RRC release message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell (The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]).
Regarding claim 20, Ye further discloses the network entity of claim 19, wherein the IE comprises a carrier frequency (The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]), a cell identifier, satellite information, a master information block (MIB), one or more system information blocks (SIBs), or a combination thereof for each cell of one or more cells to which the communications can be redirected for the device.
Regarding claim 30, Ye discloses a method for wireless communications by a network entity (network device; See Fig. 7) comprising:
determining to redirect communications via a first cell to a second cell for a device (After service processing is completed, the cell A triggers a redirection procedure; See [0038]); and
sending, to the device via the first cell, a narrowband (NB)-based (The communication system may include a network device and a terminal device. The communication system may be located in an NB-IoT network; See [0036]) radio resource control (RRC) message comprising an indication configured to trigger the device to perform a reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on the determination (an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC release message sent by the eNB. The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Thangarasa et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0300655), hereinafter referred to as ‘655.
Regarding claim 3, Ye further the UE of claim 2, wherein:
the IE comprises a carrier frequency (The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]), a cell identifier, satellite information, a master information block (MIB), one or more system information blocks (SIBs), or a combination thereof for each cell of one or more cells to which the communications can be redirected but fails to teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to select the second cell for redirecting the communications from the one or more cells indicated by the IE, the second cell selected based at least in part on a dedicated carrier offset, timer information, a threshold value, or a combination thereof.
Thangarasa teaches wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to select the second cell for redirecting the communications from the one or more cells indicated by the IE, the second cell selected based at least in part on a dedicated carrier offset, timer information, a threshold value (the configuration further comprises at least one of: a source cell reference signal received power, RSRP, threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; a source cell reference signal received quality, RSRQ, threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; a target cell RSRP threshold; a target cell RSRQ threshold; or system information of the at least one cell; See [0140]), or a combination thereof.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to select the second cell for redirecting the communications from the one or more cells indicated by the IE, the second cell selected based at least in part on a dedicated carrier offset, timer information, a threshold value taught by Thangarasa in order to optimize handover.
Claims 6-7 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sha et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,546,961), hereinafter referred to as Sha.
Regarding claim 6, Ye teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the NB-comprises an NB-based RRC message (See [0036] and [008]) but fails to teach the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message; and the RRC reestablishment message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell.
Sha teaches the concept of wherein: the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message (the eNodeB sends a Msg4 (RRC connection establishment) message to the UE, where the RRC connection establishment message carries the RRC connection release control information. The Msg4 may be an RRC connection resume message, an RRC connection re-establishment message; See col.9, lines 18-20 and 37-39); and the RRC reestablishment message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell (The RRC connection release control information includes at least one of an RRC release mode indication, an extended wait timer, or carrier redirection information; See col. 9, lines 22-24).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message; and the RRC reestablishment message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell taught by Sha in order to remove dependence on post-release RRC messages.
Regarding claim 7, Ye still fails to teach the UE of claim 6, wherein processing system is configured to cause the UE to send, via the second cell, an NB-based RRC connection reestablishment complete message based at least on performing the reestablishment procedure.
Sha teaches the processing system is configured to cause the UE to send, via the second cell, an RRC connection reestablishment complete message based at least on performing the reestablishment procedure (the UE sends a Msg5 (RRC connection establishment completion) message to the eNodeB. Msg5 may be an RRC connection resume completion message, an RRC connection re-establishment completion message; See col. 9, lines 25-26 and 39-41).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein processing system is configured to cause the UE to send, via the second cell, an RRC connection reestablishment complete message based at least on performing the reestablishment procedure taught by Sha in order to remove dependence on post-release RRC messages.
Regarding claim 23, Ye teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein: the NB-comprises an NB-based RRC message (See [0036] and [008]) but fails to teach the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message; and the RRC reestablishment message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell.
Sha teaches the concept of wherein: the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message (the eNodeB sends a Msg4 (RRC connection establishment) message to the UE, where the RRC connection establishment message carries the RRC connection release control information. The Msg4 may be an RRC connection resume message, an RRC connection re-establishment message; See col.9, lines 18-20 and 37-39); and the RRC reestablishment message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell (The RRC connection release control information includes at least one of an RRC release mode indication, an extended wait timer, or carrier redirection information; See col. 9, lines 22-24).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message; and the RRC reestablishment message comprises an information element (IE) used to indicate redirection of the communications to the second cell taught by Sha in order to remove dependence on post-release RRC messages.
Regarding claim 24, Ye still fails to teach the network entity of claim 23, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to receive, from the device via the second cell, an NB-based RRC connection reestablishment complete message based at least on the device performing the reestablishment procedure after the NB-based RRC reestablishment message comprising the IE is sent to the device.
Sha teaches the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to receive, from the device via the second cell, an RRC connection reestablishment complete message based at least on the device performing the reestablishment procedure after the RRC reestablishment message comprising the IE is sent to the device (the UE sends a Msg5 (RRC connection establishment completion) message to the eNodeB. Msg5 may be an RRC connection resume completion message, an RRC connection re-establishment completion message; See col. 9, lines 25-26 and 39-41).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to receive, from the device via the second cell, an RRC connection reestablishment complete message based at least on the device performing the reestablishment procedure after the RRC reestablishment message comprising the IE is sent to the device taught by Sha in order to remove dependence on post-release RRC messages.
Claims 8 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Sha as applied to claims 6 and 23 above, and further in view of Thangarasa et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0070743), hereinafter referred to as ‘743.
Regarding claim 8, Ye in view of Sha fails to teach the UE of claim 6, wherein the NB-based RRC reestablishment message is received and the reestablishment procedure is triggered based at least in part on access stratum (AS) not being enabled for the communications via the first cell, a threshold to select the second cell being satisfied, or a combination thereof.
‘743 teaches wherein the NB-based RRC reestablishment message is received and the reestablishment procedure is triggered based at least in part on access stratum (AS) not being enabled for the communications via the first cell, a threshold to select the second cell being satisfied, or a combination thereof (the UE may perform measurements on neighbor cells operating on the serving carrier frequency and neighbor cells belonging to one or more non-serving carriers indicated in the obtained configuration information when one or more measurement criteria is met e.g. when the serving cell (cell1) signal measurement (e.g. SS-RSRP, SS-RSRQ etc.) falls below certain signal threshold. In another example, the UE may periodically perform measurements on neighbor cells belonging to one or more non-serving carriers associated with a priority level higher than the priority level of the serving carrier. The priority levels associated with different carrier frequencies are indicated in the configuration information transmitted to the UE by the network node e.g. serving cel; See [0127]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye in view of Sha to include wherein the NB-based RRC reestablishment message is received and the reestablishment procedure is triggered based at least in part on access stratum (AS) not being enabled for the communications via the first cell, a threshold to select the second cell being satisfied, or a combination thereof taught by ‘743 in order to configure the UE with CCA-aware cell-change parameters that control how long and how often the UE should keep trying a target cell.
Regarding claim 25, Ye in view of Sha fails to teach the network entity of claim 23, wherein the NB- based RRC reestablishment message comprising the IE is sent to trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure based at least in part on access stratum (AS) not being enabled for the communications for the device via the first cell, a threshold to select the second cell being satisfied, or a combination thereof.
‘743 teaches wherein the RRC reestablishment message comprising the IE is sent to trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure based at least in part on access stratum (AS) not being enabled for the communications for the device via the first cell, a threshold to select the second cell being satisfied, or a combination thereof (the UE may perform measurements on neighbor cells operating on the serving carrier frequency and neighbor cells belonging to one or more non-serving carriers indicated in the obtained configuration information when one or more measurement criteria is met e.g. when the serving cell (cell1) signal measurement (e.g. SS-RSRP, SS-RSRQ etc.) falls below certain signal threshold. In another example, the UE may periodically perform measurements on neighbor cells belonging to one or more non-serving carriers associated with a priority level higher than the priority level of the serving carrier. The priority levels associated with different carrier frequencies are indicated in the configuration information transmitted to the UE by the network node e.g. serving cel; See [0127]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye in view of Sha to include wherein the RRC reestablishment message comprising the IE is sent to trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure based at least in part on access stratum (AS) not being enabled for the communications for the device via the first cell, a threshold to select the second cell being satisfied, or a combination thereof taught by ‘743 in order to configure the UE with CCA-aware cell-change parameters that control how long and how often the UE should keep trying a target cell.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Shrestha et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0319929), hereinafter referred to as Shrestha.
Regarding claim 9, Ye fails to teach the UE of claim 6, wherein: the NB-based RRC reestablishment message also comprises a downlink Non-Access stratum (NAS) medium access control (MAC) IE and a dedicated radio resource configuration corresponding to the second cell; and the reestablishment procedure is performed to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on the dedicated radio resource configuration corresponding to the second cell.
Sha teaches the concept of wherein: the RRC message comprises an RRC reestablishment message comprising a dedicated radio resource configuration corresponding to the second cell (the eNodeB sends a Msg4 (RRC connection establishment) message to the UE, where the RRC connection establishment message carries the RRC connection release control information. The Msg4 may be an RRC connection resume message, an RRC connection re-establishment message. The RRC connection release control information includes at least one of an RRC release mode indication, an extended wait timer, or carrier redirection information; See col.9, lines 18-20, 22-24 and 37-39).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein: the NB-based RRC reestablishment message also comprises a dedicated radio resource configuration corresponding to the second cell; and the reestablishment procedure is performed to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on the dedicated radio resource configuration corresponding to the second cell taught by Sha in order to remove dependence on post-release RRC messages.
Ye in view of Sha still fails to teach of the RRC reestablishment message comprising a downlink NAS MAC IE.
Shrestha teaches wherein: the NB-based RRC reestablishment message also comprises a downlink Non-Access stratum (NAS) medium access control (MAC) IE (the RRC reestablishment message (e.g., Msg4) in downlink may also be extended to include DedicatedInfoNAS to carry any downlink NAS PDU.; See [0079]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein: the NB-based RRC reestablishment message also comprises a downlink Non-Access stratum (NAS) medium access control (MAC) IE taught by Shrestha in order to switching compatible with reestablishment while avoiding unnecessary data loss.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (Int. Pub. No. WO 2023/007020A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 10, Ye fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first cell, a configuration to ignore an access barring check for the second cell; and perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the configuration.
Wang teaches an apparatus configured to receive, via the first cell, a configuration to ignore an access barring check for the second cell (The IAB-MT ignores cell-barring or cell-reservation indications contained in cell system information broadcast, wherein the cell system information broadcast is interpreted as the received configuration; See page 42, lines 1-2) and perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the configuration (The IAB-MT only considers a cell as a candidate for cell selection if the cell system information broadcast indicates IAB support for the selected PLMN, suggesting that the procedure is based on the configuration received; See page 42, lines 3-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the first cell, a configuration to ignore an access barring check for the second cell; and perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the configuration taught by Wang in order to minimize delay during handover.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ‘743.
Regarding claim 11, Ye fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first cell, cell information for a dedicated redirection cell; and perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the cell information for the dedicated redirection cell, wherein the second cell comprises the dedicated redirection cell.
‘743 teaches wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first cell, cell information for a dedicated redirection cell (one or more configurations is received, wherein when there is only one received, that is interpreted as the dedicated; See [0126]); and perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the cell information for the dedicated redirection cell, wherein the second cell comprises the dedicated redirection cell (the UE performs or executes the cell change from cell1 to cell2 based on the obtained cell change configuration(s) and the measurement results; See [0130]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first cell, cell information for a dedicated redirection cell; and perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the cell information for the dedicated redirection cell, wherein the second cell comprises the dedicated redirection cell taught by ‘743 in order to configure the UE with CCA-aware cell-change parameters that control how long and how often the UE should keep trying a target cell.
Claims 12-13 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Sillanpaa et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0394683), hereinafter referred to as Sillanpaa.
Regarding claim 12, Ye fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: send, via the first cell, an ordered list of one or more cells neighboring the first cell, the one or more cells neighboring the first cell being ordered based at least in part on measurements performed on the one or more cells; and receive the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication to redirect the communications based at least in part on sending the ordered list.
Sillanpaa teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: send, via the first cell, an ordered list of one or more cells neighboring the first cell, the one or more cells neighboring the first cell being ordered based at least in part on measurements performed on the one or more cells (sending priority lists based on signal strength measurements; See [0037]); and receive the RRC message comprising the indication to redirect the communications based at least in part on sending the ordered list (triggering a redirect of the RRC connection; See [0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: send, via the first cell, an ordered list of one or more cells neighboring the first cell, the one or more cells neighboring the first cell being ordered based at least in part on measurements performed on the one or more cells; and receive the RRC message comprising the indication to redirect the communications based at least in part on sending the ordered list taught by Sillanpaa in order to minimize delay during handover.
Regarding claim 13, Ye fails to further teach the UE of claim 12, wherein the ordered list of the one or more cells neighboring the first cell is sent via an uplink transfer information message, an uplink dedicated control channel (DCCH) message, or an uplink MAC control element (CE).
Sillanpaa teaches the UE transmitting the lists, suggesting an uplink transfer information message (See [0037]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the ordered list of the one or more cells neighboring the first cell is sent via an uplink transfer information message, an uplink dedicated control channel (DCCH) message, or an uplink MAC control element (CE) taught by Sillanpaa in order to minimize delay during handover.
Regarding claim 26, Ye fails to teach the network entity of claim 18, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to: receive, from the device via the first cell, an ordered list of one or more cells neighboring the first cell, wherein the ordered list of the one or more cells neighboring the first cell comprises the second cell (sending priority lists based on signal strength measurements; See [0037]); and send the RRC message comprising the indication configured to trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the ordered list (triggering a redirect of the RRC connection; See [0035]).
Sillanpaa teaches one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the device via the first cell, an ordered list of one or more cells neighboring the first cell, wherein the ordered list of the one or more cells neighboring the first cell comprises the second cell; and send the RRC message comprising the indication configured to trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the ordered list.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the ordered list of the one or more cells neighboring the first cell is sent via an uplink transfer information message, an uplink dedicated control channel (DCCH) message, or an uplink MAC control element (CE) taught by Sillanpaa in order to minimize delay during handover.
Regarding claim 27, Ye fails to further teach the network entity of claim 26, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to prepare the second cell for the reestablishment procedure based at least in part on receiving the ordered list.
Sillanpaa teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to prepare the second cell for the reestablishment procedure based at least in part on receiving the ordered list (suggested by the device receiving the priorities in the list; See [0037]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to prepare the second cell for the reestablishment procedure based at least in part on receiving the ordered list taught by Sillanpaa in order to minimize delay during handover.
Claims 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0045341), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding claim 14, Ye fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is operating in a control plane Internet of Things (IoT) optimization mode.
Huang teaches wherein the UE is operating in a control plane Internet of Things (IoT) optimization mode (the NB-IoT data transmission method comprises: the control plane optimization mode and the user plane optimization mode. the terminal switches from the user plane optimization mode to the control plane optimization mode; See [0015] and [0141]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the UE is operating in a control plane Internet of Things (IoT) optimization mode taught by Huang in order to minimize overhead signaling.
Regarding claim 29, Ye further teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein: the apparatus network entity comprises a base station (The network device may be a base station; See [0036]) but fails to teach the device comprises a device operating in a control plane Internet of Things (IoT) optimization mode.
Huang teaches the device comprises a device operating in a control plane Internet of Things (IoT) optimization mode (the NB-IoT data transmission method comprises: the control plane optimization mode and the user plane optimization mode. the terminal switches from the user plane optimization mode to the control plane optimization mode; See [0015] and [0141]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include the device comprises a device operating in a control plane Internet of Things (IoT) optimization mode taught by Huang in order to minimize overhead signaling.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of You et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0203469), hereinafter referred to as You.
Regarding claim 21, Ye teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to: sending the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication via the first cell (an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC release message sent by the eNB. The RRC release message carries redirection information, and the redirection information includes a carrier frequency; See [0038]), but fails to teach the network entity to receive, from the device via the second cell, an NB-based RRC reestablishment request message.
You teaches wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to: receive, from the device via the second cell, an NB-based RRC reestablishment request message (the second network device receives an RRC re-establishment request message from a terminal device, where the RRC re-establishment request message includes an identifier of a first cell and an identifier of the terminal device in the first cell; obtains context information of the terminal device based on the identifier of the first cell and the identifier of the terminal device in the first cell; See [0037]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include the network entity to receive, from the device via the second cell, an NB-based RRC reestablishment request message taught by You in order to optimize handover.
Regarding claim 22, Ye fails to further teach the network entity of claim 21, wherein the RRC reestablishment request message comprises a redirect indication, a reestablishment cause IE comprising the redirect indication, a logical channel identifier (LCID) codepoint corresponding to the redirect indication, or a combination thereof.
You teaches a cause value indicating the redirect indication (the second network device may learn, based on the cause value carried in the RRC re-establishment request message, a reason why the terminal device initiates RRC re-establishment; See [0144]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the RRC reestablishment request message comprises a redirect indication, a reestablishment cause IE comprising the redirect indication taught by You in order to optimize handover.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Kazmi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0126569), hereinafter referred to as Kazmi.
Regarding claim 28, Ye fails to teach the network entity of claim 18, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to: trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on a load balancing demand, identifying a coverage area for the first cell is moving away from the device, receiving assistance information from the device, or a combination thereof.
Kazmi teaches wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to: trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on a load balancing demand
(When a neighbouring cell becomes stronger than serving cell or for load balancing on the serving cell, serving node can trigger the handover (HO) command; See [0138]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Ye to include wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to: trigger the device to perform the reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on a load balancing demand taught by Kazmi in order to minimize loss.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of Larsson et al. (U.S. PGPub 2012/0236707) teaches detecting a radio link failure and then requesting reestablishment of the radio link (See Fig. 5 and [0045]).
The prior art of Sedin et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0163763) teaches triggering radio link failure and performing a reestablishment procedure (See Fig. 2, #201-207).
Claims 4-5 appear to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: trigger a radio link failure (RLF) procedure for the communications via the first cell based at least in part on receiving the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication to redirect the communications; and send, via the second cell, an NB-based RRC reestablishment request message based at least in part on triggering the RLF procedure.
Claims 15-16 appear to be novel and inventive because prior art fails to show or teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus UE to: receive the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication to redirect the communications and a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) integrity protection parameter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, 17-18 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On pages 10-11 of the Applicants’ Response, Applicants state that Thangarasa et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0070743), hereinafter referred to as Thangarasa fails to teach receiving, via a first cell, a narrowband (NB)-based radio resource control (RRC) message comprising an indication to redirect communications via the first cell to a second cell.
Examiner has now introduced Ye et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0201789), hereinafter referred to as Ye, which teaches receiving, via a first cell, a narrowband (NB)-based (The communication system may include a network device and a terminal device. The communication system may be located in an NB-IoT network; See [0036]) radio resource control (RRC) message comprising an indication to redirect communications via the first cell to a second cell (UE establishes an RRC connection in a cell A and performs service processing. After service processing is completed, the cell A triggers a redirection procedure, an eNB sends an RRC release (release) message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC release message sent by the eNB; See [0038]); and performing a reestablishment procedure to redirect the communications to the second cell based at least in part on receiving the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication (The UE chooses, based on the redirection information, to camp on a cell B corresponding to the carrier frequency; See [0039]). Ye specifically teaches that the system may be located in an NB-IoT and thus the RRC would be an NB-RRC (See [0036]).
On pages 12-13 of the Applicants’ Response, Applicants state that Thangarasa in view of Yang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0021993), hereinafter referred to as Yang fails to teach receiving the NB-based RRC message comprising the indication to redirect the communications and a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) integrity protection parameter.
Upon further examination, Examiner agrees and has thus indicated claims 15-16 as allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 6/17/2026