DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/14/2024, 01/07/2025, and 05/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 07/25/2022, coinciding with the filing date of the People’s Republic of China application to which foreign priority was requested.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 13-14, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Takenaka does not disclose a landing time window. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and points to at least 0100, where Takenaka discloses a time of landing in the end of the floating period, which discloses the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language surrounding the landing time window.
Applicant finally contends that Takenaka does not disclose the contact force determination being performed between the ground and each of the at least two robotic legs. Examiner finds that Applicant is overstating the claimed language, and that this statement merely means that each leg of an at least two legged robot has a contact force determined, which is disclosed by the cited portions of Takenaka below. Even if this limitation did necessitate that each limb has to be in contact with the ground at the same time, which it does not, Takenaka would still disclose this because it does not only consider instances where the robot runs, and a walking gait includes simultaneous contact with each leg.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takenaka et al. (US20050051368, referred to as Takenaka).
Regarding claim 1: Takenaka discloses: A method for controlling a legged robot, the legged robot comprising a base and at least two robotic legs, each of the robotic legs comprising at least one joint, the method comprising: determining a first expected moving trajectory and ([0462] in the case where the mass of the legs is Sufficiently Smaller than the mass of the body, the body Vertical acceleration trajectory and the total center-of gravity vertical acceleration trajectory of robot are substantially the same or proportional to each other) a second expected moving trajectory ([0467] in the case where the free leg trajectory is brought into perturbation, the amount of perturbation should be reduced to approximately 0 by the time immediately before landing to avoid varying the landing position.) corresponding to the legged robot in response to the legged robot falling to contact a plane, the first expected moving trajectory indicating an expected moving trajectory of a center of mass of the legged robot, and the second expected moving trajectory indicating an expected moving trajectory of a foot end of each of the at least two robotic legs and the landing time window includes a starting moment when the leged robot contacts the plane and an ending moment when the legged robot stands stably on the plane; and ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2.) controlling, based on a dynamic model corresponding to the legged robot, the first expected moving trajectory, and the second expected moving trajectory, an action of each joint after the legged robot contacts the plane. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.) within the landing time window, including: determining a contact force between the plane and each of the at least two robotic legs within the landing time window based on the first expected moving trajectory; determining a motor torque provided by a joint motor associated with the each respective joint within the landing time window based on the contact force between the plane and each of the at least two robotic legs and the second expected moving trajectory; controlling an action of each joint of the at least two robotic legs based on the contact force between the plane and each of the at least two robotic legs and the motor torque provided by the joint motor associated with the each respective joint. ([0100] The six-axis force sensor 34 detects the presence of landing of the foot 22R (22L) of the leg 2, the floor reaction force (floor-contact load) applied to the leg 2, and the like. The six axis force sensor outputs, to the control unit 26, detection signals of three directional components Fx, Fy and Fz of the translation force of the floor reaction force and three directional components Mx, My and Mz of the moment thereof. In addition, the body 24 has an inclination sensor 36 for detecting the inclination (posture angle) of the body 24 with respect to the Z axis (vertical direction (direction of gravity)) and the angular velocity thereof, and the inclination sensor 36 outputs the detection signals to the control unit 26. In addition, although not shown in detail, each joint in the robot 1 has an electric motor 32 for driving it (see FIG. 3) and an encoder (rotary encoder) 33 (see FIG. 3) for detecting the rotation amount of the electric motor 32 (rotation angle of the joint). The encoder 33 outputs the detection signal to the control unit 26. [0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero.)
Regarding claim 2: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein the determining a first expected moving trajectory corresponding to the legged robot in response to the legged robot falling to contact a plane comprises: determining the first expected moving trajectory corresponding to the legged robot based on an approximate model corresponding to the legged robot in response to the legged robot falling to contact the plane, the legged robot being a single rigid body in the approximate model, and a resultant force of the at least two robotic legs forming upward thrust on the single rigid body during the contact between the legged robot and the plane. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 3: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 2,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein the first expected moving trajectory is used to enable combination values of the following to reach an extreme value: a fluctuation quantity of the center of mass of the legged robot, a total quantity of impact forces withstood by the legged robot, a squatting amount of the legged robot, and a sudden change amount of the impact forces withstood by the legged robot. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 4: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein the determining a second expected moving trajectory corresponding to the legged robot comprises: determining a contact position where a foot end of a single robotic leg contacts the plane at an instantaneous moment the single robotic leg contacts the plane, and using each contact position corresponding to each time step as an expected moving trajectory corresponding to the single robotic leg, each contact position remaining unchanged at each time step; determining a motion trajectory of a foot end of a remaining robotic leg based on the first expected moving trajectory, and using the motion trajectory as an expected moving trajectory corresponding to the remaining robotic leg, the remaining robotic leg referring to the robotic leg other than the single robotic leg in the at least two robotic legs; and determining the expected moving trajectory corresponding to the single robotic leg and the expected moving trajectory corresponding to the remaining robotic leg as the second expected moving trajectory corresponding to the legged robot. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 5: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 4,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein the controlling an action of each joint after the legged robot contacts the plane comprises: by controlling the action of each joint after the legged robot contacts the plane, controlling the single robotic leg of the legged robot to 19 the plane and maintaining the contact position unchanged, and controlling the remaining robotic leg to contact the plane in sequence and then maintaining the contact with the plane until the center of mass of the legged robot reaches an expected resting height. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 6: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein the first expected moving trajectory indicates that after the legged robot contacts the plane, the height of the center of mass of the legged robot gradually decreases and then gradually increases. ([0125] based on the next expected landing position and expected landing time of the foot 22, the Z-axis directional position of the foot 22 at the time when the foot 22 reaches the maximum height (vertical position) (referred to as a highest position, herein after) and the time required to reach the highest position are determined. Then, according to the highest position (which is equivalent to the specified value), the height of the Step input to the definite duration Settling filter is determined, and the time constant t is initialized. And then, the determined Step input is given to the definite duration Settling filter, and the foot position trajectory to the highest position in the Z axis direction is Successively generated. In this regard, the time constant t is Successively Set in a variable manner So as to decrease from the initial value to 0 by the time when the highest position is reached (this time being equivalent to the Specified time). Furthermore, when the generation of the trajectory to the highest position in the Z axis direction is completed, the time constant t is initialized, a Step input of the polarity opposite to that of the Step input having been used (more specifically, a step input of the opposite polarity having a height depending on the amount of variation in the Z axis direction from the highest position to the next expected landing position (this being equivalent to the Specified value)) is input to the definite duration Settling filter, and the foot position trajectory in the Z axis direction from the highest position to the expected landing position is Successively generated. In this regard, the time constant t is Successively Set in a variable manner So as to decrease from the initial value to 0 by)
Regarding claim 7: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein the controlling, based on a dynamic model corresponding to the legged robot, the first expected moving trajectory, and the second expected moving trajectory, an action of each joint after the legged robot contacts the plane comprises: determining a contact force between the plane and the legged robot at each time step based on the dynamic model corresponding to the legged robot, the contact force being used for controlling an actual trajectory of the center of mass of the legged robot to be consistent with the first expected moving trajectory; and determining, based on the dynamic model corresponding to the legged robot and each contact force, a motor torque provided by each joint motor at each time step, the motor torque being used for controlling a trajectory of the foot end of each of the at least tworobotic legs to be consistent with the second expected moving trajectory. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 8: Takenaka discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Takenaka further discloses: wherein before the response to the legged robot falling to contact the plane, the method further comprises: determining contact information based on current state information of the legged robot, the contact information indicating a contact state between the at least two robotic legs and the plane at a current moment; and determining, based on the contact information, that the legged robot falls to contact the plane. ([0136] When the floor reaction force's vertical component is 0, that is, in the floating period, the total center of gravity of the robot 1 performs a free-fall movement, and the an angular momentum variation about the total center of gravity is Zero. At this point, Since the moment of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force acting on the robot 1 is 0 at an arbitrary point on the floor, the desired ZMP is not Settled. That is, any point on the floor Satisfies the condition for ZMP that “a point of application where the horizontal component of the moment produced by the result ant force of gravity and the inertial force is 0'. In other words, even if the desired ZMP is set in an arbitrary point, the dynamical equilibrium condition that the horizontal component of the moment applied around the desired ZMP by the resultant force is 0. Therefore, the desired ZMP may be set discontinuously. For example, during the floating period, the desired ZMP may be set so as not to move from the desired ZMP position at the time when the leg takes off the floor (when the one-leg Supporting period ends) and to move discontinuously (in a step-like manner) to the desired ZMP position at the time of landing in the end of the floating period. However, in this embodiment, as shown in the upper part of FIG. 7, the X axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the toe of the foot 22 on the Supporting leg Side to the landing position of the heel of the foot 22 on the free leg side by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. Furthermore, as shown in the lower part of FIG. 7, the Y axis-directional position of the desired ZMP trajectory during the floating period is adapted to continuously shift from the Y axis-directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the Supporting leg 2 to the Y axis directional position of the center of the ankle joint of the free leg 2 by the time of the next landing of the free leg 2. That is, the desired ZMP trajectory is made continuous (substantially continuous) for the whole period of the gait. Further, as described later, the desired gait is generated (more specifically, the desired body position/posture trajectory is adjusted) in Such a manner that the moment (excluding the vertical component) of the resultant force of gravity and the inertial force about the desired ZMP becomes zero. [0160] In this regard, for the Sake of Simplicity of explanation, only the equation of motion in the Sagittal plane (the plane containing the back-and-forth axis (X axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is described, and the equation of motion in the lateral plane (the plane containing the Sideward axis (Y axis) and the vertical axis (Z axis)) is omitted. 0.161 For convenience of explanation, variables and parameters concerning the dynamics model are defined as follows. Each of the material particles 2m, 2m and 24m is a representative point of its corresponding part or a point geometrically uniquely determined from the position/posture of the part. For example, the position of the material particle 2m for the Supporting leg 2 is located above the representative point of the sole of the foot 22 of the leg 2 by a predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 9: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1, however further directed to “An electronic device for controlling a legged robot”, which is further disclosed by Takenaka: An electronic device for controlling a legged robot ([0103] A request concerning the gait of the robot 1, Such as a request to turn the robot 1 moving Straight ahead, can be entered to the control unit 26 as required by manipulating the joystick 44. In this case, requests that can be entered include those concerning the gait modes (Walking gait, running gait or the like) of the robot 1 in motion, the landing position/posture or landing time of a free leg, and command data for prescribing the landing position/posture and landing time (for example, the movement )
Regarding claim 10: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 12: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 13: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 14: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka et al. (US20050051368, referred to as Takenaka) in view of Perkins et al. (US9662791, referred to as Perkins).
Regarding claim 17: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 1 and 9, however further directed to “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer-executable program stored therein, the computer-executable program, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causing the electronic device to perform a method”, which is not explicitly disclosed by Takenaka
Takenaka does not disclose the following limitations, however Perkins, from an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer-executable program stored therein, the computer-executable program, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causing the electronic device to perform a method ([col. 2, lines 31-35] the present application discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, that when executed by a computing device to carry out functions.)
Takenaka and Perkins are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of fall procedures for walking robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the legged robot of Takenaka to enable the non-transitory computer readable storage medium taught in Perkins.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the falling method disclosed in Takenaka with the method applied to the non-transitory storage taught in Perkins.
Regarding claim 18: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 2 and 10.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 5 and 13.
Regarding claim 20: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 6 and 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ATTICUS A CAMERON whose telephone number is 703-756-4535. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658