DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dixon (20210145571).
With regards to claim 1, Dixon discloses a valve repair device for repairing a native valve of a patient (100, 200), the valve repair device comprising: a central component (212); a paddle (120, 122, 220, 222) coupled to the central component (FIG 13); a gripping member (3500, formed of 3510 and 3530; 4400 formed of 4410 and 4430; 5200 formed of 5210 and 5230; see [0248]); wherein the gripping member (3500, formed of 3510 and 3530; 4400 formed of 4410 and 4430; 5200 formed of 5210 and 5230) and the paddle (120, 122, 220, 222) are movable to form a capture region for capturing a leaflet of the native valve ([248], FIG 10); an indicator (3550, 4450, 5250) that is configured to move into the capture region when the gripping member is in a closed position, the paddle is in a closed position and the leaflet of the native valve is not disposed in the capture region (FIG 40); and wherein the indicator (3550, 4450, 5250) is configured to push against the central component and be pressed to a flattened condition when the gripping member is in the closed position, the paddle is in the closed position and the leaflet of the native valve is disposed in the capture region at least a minimum insertion depth (FIG 43).
With regards to claim 2, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 1, wherein the indicator (3550) is configured to pass through one or more of the paddle and the gripping member (FIG 40, passing through paddle 122 and fixed arms 3510 of gripping member).
With regards to claim 3, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 1 wherein the paddle (220, 222) includes an inner paddle portion (222) and an outer paddle portion (220), wherein at least a portion of the indicator is disposed between the inner paddle portion and the outer paddle portion when the gripping member is in the closed position, the paddle is in the closed position and the leaflet of the native valve is disposed in the capture region at the minimum insertion depth ([0240]).
With regards to claim 5, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 1, wherein the central component (212) comprises a spacer (210).
With regards to claim 6, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 1, wherein a fixed arm of the gripping member (5210, FIG 110) comprises a first beam (5210 on the right), a second beam (5210 on the left), and an engaging member between the first beam and the second beam (1031).
With regards to claim 7, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 6, further comprising an indicator marker ([0523]) attached to the indicator (5250).
With regards to claim 8, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 1, wherein the indicator (3550) is configured as an indicator arm comprises a fixed end and a moving end (see annotated FIG 42).
With regards to claim 10, Dixon discloses a valve repair system for repairing a native valve of a patient (102, 100, 200, [0050]), the valve repair system comprising: a delivery system (102); a valve repair device coupled to the delivery system (100, 200), the valve repair device comprising: a central component (212); a paddle (120, 122, 220, 222) coupled to the central component (FIG 13); a gripping member (3500, formed of 3510 and 3530; 4400 formed of 4410 and 4430; 5200 formed of 5210 and 5230; see [0248]); wherein the gripping member (3500, formed of 3510 and 3530; 4400 formed of 4410 and 4430; 5200 formed of 5210 and 5230) and the paddle (120, 122, 220, 222) are movable to form a capture region for capturing a leaflet of the native valve ([248], FIG 10); an indicator (3550, 4450, 5250) that is configured to move into the capture region when the gripping member is in a closed position, the paddle is in a closed position and the leaflet of the native valve is not disposed in the capture region (FIG 40); and wherein the indicator is configured to push against the central component and be pressed to a flattened condition when the gripping member is in the closed position, the paddle is in the closed position and the leaflet of the native valve is disposed in the capture region at least a minimum insertion depth (FIG 43).
With regards to claim 11, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 10 wherein the indicator (3550) is configured to pass through one or more of the paddle and the gripping member (FIG 40, passing through paddle 122 and fixed arms 3510 of gripping member).
With regards to claim 12, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 10 wherein the paddle (220, 222) includes an inner paddle portion (222) and an outer paddle portion (220), wherein at least a portion of the indicator is disposed between the inner paddle portion and the outer paddle portion when the gripping member is in the closed position, the paddle is in the closed position and the leaflet of the native valve is disposed in the capture region at the minimum insertion depth ([0240]).
With regards to claim 14, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 10, wherein the gripping member (4400) and the indicator (4450) are made from a single piece of flat material ([0277], “the clasp 4400 can be laser cut from a flat sheet or a tube of shape-memory alloy, such as Nitinol, and then shape-set into a desired shape”).
With regards to claim 15, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 10, wherein a fixed arm of the gripping member (5210, FIG 110) comprises a first beam (5210 on the right), a second beam (5210 on the left), and an engaging member between the first beam and the second beam (1031).
With regards to claim 16, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 15, further comprising an indicator marker ([0523]) attached to the indicator (5250).
With regards to claim 17, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 10, wherein the indicator (3550) is configured as an indicator arm comprises a fixed end and a moving end (see annotated FIG 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon (20210145571).
With regards to claim 4, Dixon discloses the valve repair device of claim 1, wherein the indicator (3550) comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material (radiopaque marker 2410 on indicator arm 3550 [0253]). Dixon fails to disclose that the gripping member comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material.
In an alternate embodiment, Dixon discloses that the gripping member (5200) comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material (radiopaque marker 1030 on gripping member [0313]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dixon’s valve repair device to include that the gripping member comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material, as taught by the alternative embodiment, in order to assist the user in determining whether the leaflet is properly positioned in the clasp/gripping member ([0313]).
With regards to claim 13, Dixon discloses the valve repair system of claim 10, wherein the indicator (3550) comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material (radiopaque marker 2410 on indicator arm 3550 [0253]). Dixon fails to disclose that the gripping member comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material.
In an alternate embodiment, Dixon discloses that the gripping member (5200) comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material (radiopaque marker 1030 on gripping member [0313]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dixon’s valve repair device to include that the gripping member comprises a marker comprising a radiopaque material, as taught by the alternative embodiment, in order to assist the user in determining whether the leaflet is properly positioned in the clasp/gripping member ([0313]).
Conclusion
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774