DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Amendment and Remarks filed on 4/7/2026. This Action is made FINAL.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed “Makke fails to identically disclose "operate the golf cart according to a first mode that permits operation of the electric motor to drive a tractive element to transport the golf cart using power from the battery without restricting operation of the one or more of the electric components" or "responsive to receiving a user request at the user interface to transition the golf cart out of the first mode, transition the golf cart into a second mode in which (i) the battery is permitted to provide power to the electric motor to drive the tractive element to transport the golf cart and (ii) an amount of power discharged from the battery to at least one of the one or more electric components is limited such that either (a) the at least one of the one or more electric components is restricted from receiving power from the battery or (b) the battery discharges a lower amount of power than when the golf cart operates in the first mode," as recited in amended Claim 1” on 4/7/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14, and 16-17 under 35 U.S.C. & 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
As to point (A), upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fuchs (US20220123570A1).
(B) Applicant's arguments filed “Fuchs is cited for allegedly teaching various elements recited in dependent Claims 2-4, 7, 10-12, 15, and 18-20. However, Fuchs fails to cure the deficiencies of Makke with reference to "operate the golf cart according to a first mode that permits operation of the electric motor to drive a tractive element to transport the golf cart using power from the battery without restricting operation of the one or more of the electric components," responsive to receiving a user request at the user interface to transition the golf cart out of the first mode, transition the golf cart into a second mode in which (i) the battery is permitted to provide power to the electric motor to drive the tractive element to transport the golf cart and (ii) an amount of power discharged from the battery to at least one of the one or more electric components is limited such that either (a) the at least one of the one or more electric components is restricted from receiving power from the battery or (b) the battery discharges a lower amount of power than when the golf cart operates in the first mode," as recited in amended Claim 1 and similarly in amended Claims 9 and 17.” on 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Fuch fully disclosed the amended limitations in Fig. 33 and Para 195 “vehicle state manager 522 may configure vehicle 502 to balance functionality and state of charge. For example, vehicle 502 may have a minimum threshold below which a prime mover (e.g., prime mover 112 in FIGS. 1-4) is inoperable (e.g., the battery may not have enough current to crank an engine or to enable an electric motor to generate sufficient torque). Such operating modes may conserve the state of charge of the battery such that vehicle 502 does not reach the threshold or reaches the threshold more slowly. Such transition points may be vehicle-specific, based on battery capacity, and/or alternator capability, among other examples. It will be appreciated that the above operating modes and associated functionality are provided as examples and, in other examples, any of a variety of additional and/or alternative functionalities may be associated with such operating modes. As a further example, conservation need not be limited to state of charge and any of a variety of alternative or additional resources may be conserved according to aspects described herein. For example, full connectivity, limited connectivity, and no connectivity operating modes may be used according to a signal strength of connectivity circuit 512”. In particular, full connectivity, limited connectivity, and no connectivity operating modes would fully encompass the first mode and second mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makke (US20180086290A1) in view of Fuchs (US20220123570A1).
In regards to claim 1, Makke teaches A golf cart comprising:
a user interface(Makke: Para 25 “the power saving module 112 can receive a control input indicating user selection of one of the plurality of vehicle power modes from a key fob 114 (or key fob device) communicatively coupled to the vehicle system 100, a human-machine interface (HMI) 116 included in the vehicle system 100, a mobile device 118 communicatively coupled to the vehicle system 100, or other user interface of the vehicle system 100”);
an electric motor(Makke: Para 16 “The vehicle battery 104 can be used to power numerous components, controllers, modules, motors, actuators, sensors, lights, and other electronics from various vehicle systems and subsystems, including, for example, a body control module (BCM) 106 a, a powertrain control module (PCM) 106 b, a vehicle anti-theft system 106 c, a remote keyless system (RKS) 106 d, a telematics control unit (TCU) 106 e, and the other electronic control units (ECUs) included in the vehicle system 100”);
one or more electric components(Makke: Para 16 “The vehicle battery 104 can be used to power numerous components, controllers, modules, motors, actuators, sensors, lights, and other electronics from various vehicle systems and subsystems, including, for example, a body control module (BCM) 106 a, a powertrain control module (PCM) 106 b, a vehicle anti-theft system 106 c, a remote keyless system (RKS) 106 d, a telematics control unit (TCU) 106 e, and the other electronic control units (ECUs) included in the vehicle system 100”);
a battery configured to provide electrical power to the electric motor and the one or more electric components(Makke: Para 16 “The vehicle battery 104 can be used to power numerous components, controllers, modules, motors, actuators, sensors, lights, and other electronics from various vehicle systems and subsystems, including, for example, a body control module (BCM) 106 a, a powertrain control module (PCM) 106 b, a vehicle anti-theft system 106 c, a remote keyless system (RKS) 106 d, a telematics control unit (TCU) 106 e, and the other electronic control units (ECUs) included in the vehicle system 100”); and
processing circuitry (Makke: Para 33 “the power saving module 112 can include a processor 120 for controlling operation of the power distribution unit 102 and/or the power saving module 112. For example, the processor 120 can be configured to control the switching circuitry 110 coupled to the connection paths 108 in order to selectively disconnect certain electrical loads 106 from the vehicle battery 104 upon receiving a control input indicating user selection of a vehicle power mode”) configured to:
operate the golf cart according to a first mode(Makke: Para 38 “the I/O devices 126 can include a dedicated, user-selectable button or other input device (not shown) configured to de-activate a currently-active vehicle power mode and restore the vehicle settings to a normal power mode”)…;
responsive to receiving a user request at the user interface to transition the golf cart out of the first mode, transition the golf cart into a second mode (Makke: Para 25 “the power saving module 112 can receive a control input indicating user selection of one of the plurality of vehicle power modes from a key fob 114 (or key fob device) communicatively coupled to the vehicle system 100, a human-machine interface (HMI) 116 included in the vehicle system 100, a mobile device 118 communicatively coupled to the vehicle system 100, or other user interface of the vehicle system 100. For example, each vehicle power mode may be assigned a unique input sequence, and the power saving module 112 can identify the selected vehicle power mode based on the input sequence received from the key fob 114, the HMI 116, or the mobile device 118”) in which … an amount of power discharged from the battery to at least one of the one or more electric components is limited such that either (a) the at least one of the one or more electric components is restricted from receiving power from the battery or (b) the battery discharges a lower amount of power than when the golf cart operates in the first mode(Makke: Para 33 “the power saving module 112 can include a processor 120 for controlling operation of the power distribution unit 102 and/or the power saving module 112. For example, the processor 120 can be configured to control the switching circuitry 110 coupled to the connection paths 108 in order to selectively disconnect certain electrical loads 106 from the vehicle battery 104 upon receiving a control input indicating user selection of a vehicle power mode”; Para 35 “when executed by the processor 120, the software application 124 can cause the processor 120 to receive, via one or more input/output devices 126, a control input indicating user selection of a vehicle power mode, to identify the subset of electric loads 106 that should be disconnected from the vehicle battery 104 based on the selected vehicle power mode, and to disconnect the identified electric loads 106 from the vehicle battery 104 by turning off the switching circuitry 110 associated with each identified electric load 106”).
Yet Makke do not explicitly teach … a first mode that permits operation of the electric motor to drive a tractive element to transport the golf cart using power from the battery without restricting operation of the one or more of the electric components;
… a second mode in which (i) the battery is permitted to provide power to the electric motor to drive the tractive element to transport the golf cart and (ii) an amount of power discharged from the battery to at least one of the one or more electric components is limited such that either (a) the at least one of the one or more electric components is restricted from receiving power from the battery or (b) the battery discharges a lower amount of power than when the golf cart operates in the first mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fuchs teaches … a first mode that permits operation of the electric motor to drive a tractive element to transport the golf cart using power from the battery without restricting operation of the one or more of the electric components (Fuchs: Fig. 33; Para 60 “prime mover 112 is an electric motor and vehicle start system 114 is a switch system which electrically couples one or more batteries to the electric motor”; Para 195 “vehicle state manager 522 may configure vehicle 502 to balance functionality and state of charge. For example, vehicle 502 may have a minimum threshold below which a prime mover (e.g., prime mover 112 in FIGS. 1-4) is inoperable (e.g., the battery may not have enough current to crank an engine or to enable an electric motor to generate sufficient torque). Such operating modes may conserve the state of charge of the battery such that vehicle 502 does not reach the threshold or reaches the threshold more slowly. Such transition points may be vehicle-specific, based on battery capacity, and/or alternator capability, among other examples. It will be appreciated that the above operating modes and associated functionality are provided as examples and, in other examples, any of a variety of additional and/or alternative functionalities may be associated with such operating modes. As a further example, conservation need not be limited to state of charge and any of a variety of alternative or additional resources may be conserved according to aspects described herein. For example, full connectivity, limited connectivity, and no connectivity operating modes may be used according to a signal strength of connectivity circuit 512”; Para 137 “a battery voltage and/or SOC (from a battery SOC health module) are used to control connectivity circuit state. Referring to FIG. 33, three levels of connectivity of the connectivity circuit are illustrated based on a monitored battery voltage and/or SOC. Full Connectivity: cell modem of connectivity circuit is active and provides full connectivity to cloud and user. In this mode, the cell modem is active and able to be reached in an adhoc basis by remote devices. The vehicle will remain in full connectivity mode when the battery voltage, or battery SOC, is above a predefined setpoint for a predefined period of time. This is envisioned to cover the use-case where the user has plugged their vehicle into a battery tender or is otherwise being powered by the vehicles on-status. Low Power Connectivity: cell modem is generally off, but awaken periodically (once a day, twice a day, etc.) to provide a heart-beat or status update, and then defaulting back to an off state to save battery energy. The vehicle will transition from the full connectivity mode to low power connectivity mode when the battery voltage, or battery SOC reaches a second predefined threshold after a predefined time the connectivity circuit will move to a low power mode. The transition from the full connectivity to low power connectivity may include a notification to the user's app/web/cloud announcing this change. In embodiments, it is conceived that the low power connectivity mode may simply be used when a vehicle is turned off and not connected to a battery tender No Connectivity: the connectivity circuit is off, so as to not drain the battery further. After a lower, predefined voltage or SOC charge threshold after a predefined time, the device will move to no connectivity with an announcement to the user. The transitions between states (Full Connectivity, Low Power Connectivity, and No Connectivity) are not unidirectional, and the states (i.e. level of connectivity) could move back up if the battery voltage increases (such as when the user plugs the vehicle into a battery tender)”);
… a second mode in which (i) the battery is permitted to provide power to the electric motor to drive the tractive element to transport the golf cart and (ii) an amount of power discharged from the battery to at least one of the one or more electric components is limited such that either (a) the at least one of the one or more electric components is restricted from receiving power from the battery or (b) the battery discharges a lower amount of power than when the golf cart operates in the first mode(Fuchs: Fig. 33; Para 60 “prime mover 112 is an electric motor and vehicle start system 114 is a switch system which electrically couples one or more batteries to the electric motor”; Para 195 “vehicle state manager 522 may configure vehicle 502 to balance functionality and state of charge. For example, vehicle 502 may have a minimum threshold below which a prime mover (e.g., prime mover 112 in FIGS. 1-4) is inoperable (e.g., the battery may not have enough current to crank an engine or to enable an electric motor to generate sufficient torque). Such operating modes may conserve the state of charge of the battery such that vehicle 502 does not reach the threshold or reaches the threshold more slowly. Such transition points may be vehicle-specific, based on battery capacity, and/or alternator capability, among other examples. It will be appreciated that the above operating modes and associated functionality are provided as examples and, in other examples, any of a variety of additional and/or alternative functionalities may be associated with such operating modes. As a further example, conservation need not be limited to state of charge and any of a variety of alternative or additional resources may be conserved according to aspects described herein. For example, full connectivity, limited connectivity, and no connectivity operating modes may be used according to a signal strength of connectivity circuit 512”; Para 137 “a battery voltage and/or SOC (from a battery SOC health module) are used to control connectivity circuit state. Referring to FIG. 33, three levels of connectivity of the connectivity circuit are illustrated based on a monitored battery voltage and/or SOC. Full Connectivity: cell modem of connectivity circuit is active and provides full connectivity to cloud and user. In this mode, the cell modem is active and able to be reached in an adhoc basis by remote devices. The vehicle will remain in full connectivity mode when the battery voltage, or battery SOC, is above a predefined setpoint for a predefined period of time. This is envisioned to cover the use-case where the user has plugged their vehicle into a battery tender or is otherwise being powered by the vehicles on-status. Low Power Connectivity: cell modem is generally off, but awaken periodically (once a day, twice a day, etc.) to provide a heart-beat or status update, and then defaulting back to an off state to save battery energy. The vehicle will transition from the full connectivity mode to low power connectivity mode when the battery voltage, or battery SOC reaches a second predefined threshold after a predefined time the connectivity circuit will move to a low power mode. The transition from the full connectivity to low power connectivity may include a notification to the user's app/web/cloud announcing this change. In embodiments, it is conceived that the low power connectivity mode may simply be used when a vehicle is turned off and not connected to a battery tender. No Connectivity: the connectivity circuit is off, so as to not drain the battery further. After a lower, predefined voltage or SOC charge threshold after a predefined time, the device will move to no connectivity with an announcement to the user. The transitions between states (Full Connectivity, Low Power Connectivity, and No Connectivity) are not unidirectional, and the states (i.e. level of connectivity) could move back up if the battery voltage increases (such as when the user plugs the vehicle into a battery tender)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The golf cart of Makke with the feature of a first mode that permits operation of the electric motor to drive a tractive element to transport the golf cart using power from the battery without restricting operation of the one or more of the electric components and a second mode in which (i) the battery is permitted to provide power to the electric motor to drive the tractive element to transport the golf cart and (ii) an amount of power discharged from the battery to at least one of the one or more electric components is limited such that either (a) the at least one of the one or more electric components is restricted from receiving power from the battery or (b) the battery discharges a lower amount of power than when the golf cart operates in the first mode disclosed by Fuchs. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “reduce power consumption while improving the availability of a vehicle” (Fuchs: Para 378).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, and Fuchs further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: responsive to (a) not receiving the user request at the user interface to transition the golf cart out of the first mode and (b) an amount of elapsed time since previous operation of the golf cart reaching a threshold, transition the golf cart into the second mode (Fuchs: Para 261 “Intercept circuit 906 is connected to the ACCY and RUN connections from key switch connector 902 and is also connected to the ACCY and RUN connections to key switch harness 904. In some instances, intercept circuit 906 may pass through the ACCY and/or RUN signal from key switch connector 902 to key switch harness 904, thereby enabling expected behavior in a first operating mode. For example, when operator input is received via key switch connector 902 (thereby resulting in a signal via the ACCY and/or RUN connections), accessories of the vehicle may be enabled and the vehicle may be started. However, intercept circuit 906 may interrupt or otherwise disconnect such a signal provided by key switch connector 902 in a second operating mode, thereby affecting operation of the vehicle accordingly”; Para 381 “the controller is further configured to switch from the first operating mode to the second operating mode after a predetermined period of inactivity”); and
responsive to (a) not receiving the user request at the user interface to transition the golf cart out of the first mode and (b) the amount of elapsed time since previous operation of the golf cart being less than the threshold, maintain the golf cart in the first mode(Fuchs: Para 381 “the controller is further configured to switch from the first operating mode to the second operating mode after a predetermined period of inactivity”; i.e. before the predetermined period of inactivity the mode would be maintained in first operating mode).
The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Makke and Fuchs as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, and Fuchs further teaches wherein operating the golf cart according to the second mode includes permitting operation of the electric motor to drive the tractive element responsive to the control input (Fuchs: Para 198 “A warehouse operating mode may configure vehicle 502 to operate in a state of reduced functionality, for example where vehicle 502 can start and drive. Speed and/or energy output of a prime mover may be limited (e.g., below a predetermined RPM threshold or a predetermined torque threshold). In the warehouse operating mode, accessories (e.g., an IVI or media playback associated therewith) may be disabled. As another examples, one or more lights of vehicle 502 may be disabled or may operate at reduced brightness”)while either (a) limiting the at least one of the one or more electric components from receiving power from the battery or (b) only allowing the at least one of the one or more electric components to receive the lower amount of power from the battery(Fuchs: Para 198 “A warehouse operating mode may configure vehicle 502 to operate in a state of reduced functionality, for example where vehicle 502 can start and drive. Speed and/or energy output of a prime mover may be limited (e.g., below a predetermined RPM threshold or a predetermined torque threshold). In the warehouse operating mode, accessories (e.g., an IVI or media playback associated therewith) may be disabled. As another examples, one or more lights of vehicle 502 may be disabled or may operate at reduced brightness”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Makke and Fuchs as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, and Fuchs further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to prompt the user on the user interface to enter the second mode in response to detecting inactivity of the golf cart without requiring the user to navigate to a power saving selection interface with the user interface(Fuchs: Para 381 “the controller is further configured to switch from the first operating mode to the second operating mode after a predetermined period of inactivity”; Para 382 “switching from the first operating mode to the second operating mode comprises generating a timeout warning”; Para 264 “a warning may be generated prior to such actions by intercept circuit 906. For example, an indication may be provided via an operator interface of the vehicle (e.g., operator interface 150 in FIGS. 1-4 or operator interface 510 in FIG. 34). In some instances, an indication may be provided to an operator device (e.g., via a connectivity circuit). The indication may comprise a counter, after which the ACCY and/or RUN signals may be interrupted. Operator input may be received, such that an operator may override such behavior or provide an input to accelerate such behavior, among other examples”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Makke and Fuchs as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, Makke further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transition the golf cart out of the second mode and back into the first mode responsive to activity at the user interface or operation of the golf cart(Makke: Para 23 “when the user returns to the vehicle, the TCU 106 e can receive a key fob command or other user input for disabling the vehicle power mode and restoring vehicle settings”; Para 39 “If the currently-active vehicle power mode keeps the RKS 106 d and/or the TCU 106 e active enough to receive key fob inputs, the key fob 114 may be used to restore the vehicle to a normal power mode. For example, in some cases, entering, for a second time, the same input sequence used to activate the vehicle power mode may cause the processor 120 to de-activate the vehicle power mode. In other cases, a separate key fob input sequence may be assigned to deactivating the vehicle power mode”).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, Makke further teaches wherein the user interface includes a digital touch screen configured to obtain the user request responsive to a user touching the digital touch screen(Makke: Para 28 “the control input may be received from the HMI 116 upon user entry of an appropriate input sequence (e.g., via menu selection(s), vehicle settings selection(s), etc.) using one or more buttons, switches, keys, touchscreens, or other input devices (not shown) included in the HMI 116”).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, and Fuchs further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a credential from a user via the user interface or a biometric sensor(Fuchs: Para 166 “vehicle 100 may have a setting to prompt an operator for a passcode before operation of the vehicle or, as another example, before allowing access to higher power operation of the vehicle, among other examples.”); and
restrict transitioning out of the first mode and into the second mode until the credential is authenticated(Fuchs: Para 167 “an indication of the current lock/unlock status may be presented and an operator may enable, update, or disable a remote vehicle lock accordingly, for example to restrict an engine control module and/or other functionality of the vehicle”; i.e. a passcode is required (receive a credential from a user) to unlock the control to restrict an engine control module(restrict transitioning out of the first mode and into the second mode)). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Makke and Fuchs as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Makke and Fuchs teaches The golf cart of Claim 1, Makke further teaches wherein the user request is a first user request, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a second user request(Makke: Para 20 “the power saving module 112 can be configured to offer, for user selection, a plurality of power-saving modes to use in different stationary scenarios. For example, the plurality of modes can include a storage mode for when a vehicle is put away during a downtime period that could last for several months, multiple seasons, or even years (e.g., seasonal cars, vehicles stored at a second home, etc.), a vacation or trip mode for when the vehicle will not be used for several weeks to a month while the user is away on a trip, and a shipping mode for when the vehicle will be shipped from one location to another, locally, nationally, or internationally”); and
responsive to the second user request(Makke: Para 25 “the power saving module 112 can receive a control input indicating user selection of one of the plurality of vehicle power modes from a key fob 114 (or key fob device) communicatively coupled to the vehicle system 100, a human-machine interface (HMI) 116 included in the vehicle system 100, a mobile device 118 communicatively coupled to the vehicle system 100, or other user interface of the vehicle system 100. For example, each vehicle power mode may be assigned a unique input sequence, and the power saving module 112 can identify the selected vehicle power mode based on the input sequence received from the key fob 114, the HMI 116, or the mobile device 118”), transition the golf cart into a third mode where the electric motor is restricted from consuming power from the battery and at least one of the one or more electric components are allowed to consume power from the battery responsive to user commands to operate the one or more electric components(Makke: Para 24 “the set of specifications for each vehicle power mode may identify one or more electric loads 106 that are unique to that mode, as well as one or more electric loads 106 that are common to all modes. For example, for all vehicle power modes, the subset of electric loads 106 to be disconnected from the vehicle battery 104 may include the powertrain control module (PCM) 106 b, a navigation system (not shown), an entertainment system (not shown), a restraint control module (not shown), a tire pressure monitoring system (not shown), a vehicle camera system (not shown), or any other electric load 106 that will not be needed while the vehicle is stationary. As another example, for all vehicle power modes, the subset of electric loads 106 to keep connected to the vehicle battery 104 may include the anti-theft system 106 c, so that that engine immobilizer and other anti-theft devices can continue to keep the vehicle secure throughout the stationary period. However, for the vacation mode, the subset of electric loads 106 to remain connected may also include the remote keyless system (RKS) 106 d and/or the telematics control unit (TCU) 106 e, so that the vehicle owner can use a key fob associated with the vehicle to unlock or otherwise access the vehicle upon returning from vacation, whereas for the storage and shipping modes, the RKS 106 d and/or the TCU 106 e may be disabled or disconnected”; i.e. the vacation mode encompasses third mode).
As per claim 9, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 10, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 11, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 12, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 13, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 14, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 15, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 16, it recites A power control system for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 17, it recites A method of transitioning a vehicle between, and operating the vehicle according to, different modes of power consumption having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 18, it recites A method of transitioning a vehicle between, and operating the vehicle according to, different modes of power consumption having limitations similar to those of claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 19, it recites A method of transitioning a vehicle between, and operating the vehicle according to, different modes of power consumption having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 20, it recites A method of transitioning a vehicle between, and operating the vehicle according to, different modes of power consumption having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Komatsu (US20100145560A1) disclosed a hybrid vehicle includes a chargeable and dischargeable power storage device, an internal combustion engine, a power generation device, a charging device, an electric motor, a running mode control unit, and a running-mode-change request switch. The power generation device is configured to be capable of generating electric power using kinetic energy produced by the internal combustion engine to charge the power storage device. The charging device is configured to be capable of receiving a supply of electric power from a power source outside the vehicle to charge the power storage device. The electric motor receives a supply of electric power from the power storage device to produce driving force for the vehicle. The running mode control unit controls changing in a running mode including a first mode (EV priority mode) of running without maintaining a state quantity (SOC) indicative of a state of charge of the power storage device and a second mode (HV mode) of running with the state quantity (SOC) maintained at a predetermined target.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
4/23/26