DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/18/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement fails to show a material difference between inventions I and II. This is not found persuasive because the requirement set forth that different configurations of IDB and RCU can be used to perform the process and the specific integrated braking system can be operated in a materially different process. Note invention I defines the IDB and the RCU more specifically than the method of invention II. The method can be carried out by materially different IDB and RCU structures due to the broader descriptions in the method. And the structures of invention I can be operated in processes materially different from those of invention II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courth et al (US# 2025/0042381) in view of Zhang et al (US# 2024/0359669).
Courth discloses an integrated brake system comprising: a remote control utility 200 module fluidly connected to a wheel brake 8a-d coupled to a wheel; and an integrated dynamic brake 100 module fluidly connected to the RCU module and providing a transfer force to a fluid to be transferred to the wheel brake, and the IDB module comprising: a motor 5 providing the transfer force to the fluid. Courth et al further suggest and an IDB controller 101 electrically connected to the motor 5 to control the motor, and the RCU module comprising: an RCU controller 201 electrically connected to the motor 5 to control the motor based on an inoperable state of the IDB [0097]. Courth lack the specific disclosure of an IDB PCB and an RCU PCB, instead showing ECU’s 101/201. Zhang et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach the use of a PCB for a controller [0025]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use printed circuit boards for the ECU’s of Courth, such as taught by Zhang et al, as an obvious structure for implementing the ECU’s of Courth in a compact package.
Regarding claim 2, as modified, the IDB module comprises: an IDB flow 38/42 path fluidly connected to the motor 5 and through which the fluid flows; and an IDB valve 23 positioned in a part of the IDB flow path and electrically connected to the IDB PCB 101 and controlled by the IDB PCB, and wherein the RCU module comprises an RCU flow path fluidly 13 connected to the IDB flow path and the wheel brake and through which the fluid flows.
Regarding claim 3, the system comprising: a direct flow path 80 fluidly connected to another part 38 of the IDB flow path and the RCU flow path 13 to constitute a passage through which the fluid flows to the RCU flow path 13 via the other portion 38 of the IDB flow path.
Regarding claim 4, the IDB flow path comprises: a motor flow path 38 fluidly connected to the motor 5; a main transfer flow path fluidly connected to the motor flow path and having a part of the IDB valve 23 positioned thereon; and a sub transfer flow path fluidly connected to the main transfer flow path and the RCU flow path 13 and having another part 72 of the IDB valve positioned thereon.
Regarding claim 5, a direct flow path 80 is fluidly connected to the motor flow path 38, and wherein the RCU module comprises an RCU emergency flow path (path with valve 71) fluidly connected to the direct flow path.
Regarding claim 6, a direct flow path 38 is fluidly connecting the motor 5 and the RCU module 200, wherein the RCU module comprises: an RCU external flow path fluidly 14 connected to an IDB flow path 90 of the IDB module; an RCU internal flow path 13 fluidly connected to the RCU external flow path 14 and the wheel brake 8a, respectively; and an RCU emergency flow path 80 fluidly connected to the direct flow path.
Regarding claim 7, the RCU module comprises an RCU internal valve 6a disposed in the RCU internal flow path and configured to partially open and close the RCU internal flow path to form a hydraulic pressure that causes the fluid to flow.
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einig et al (US# 2023/0001908) in view of Zhang et al (US# 2024/0359669).
Einig et al disclose an integrated brake system comprising: a remote control utility 1/2 module fluidly connected to a wheel brake 102 coupled to a wheel; and an integrated dynamic brake 108 module fluidly connected to the RCU module and providing a transfer force to a fluid to be transferred to the wheel brake, and the IDB module comprising: a motor 108 providing the transfer force to the fluid. Einig et al further suggest and an IDB controller 114a electrically connected to the motor 146 to control the motor, and the RCU module comprising: an RCU controller 114b electrically connected to the motor 108 to control the motor based on an inoperable state of the IDB controller [0028]-[0029]. Einig lack the specific disclosure of an IDB PCB and an RCU PCB, instead showing ECU’s 114a/114b. Zhang et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach the use of a PCB for a controller [0025]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use printed circuit boards for the ECU’s of Einig et al, such as taught by Zhang et al, as an obvious structure for implementing the ECU’s of Einig et al in a compact package.
Regarding claim 2, as modified, the IDB module comprises: an IDB flow path fluidly connected to the motor 108 and through which the fluid flows; and an IDB valve 132 positioned in a part of the IDB flow path and electrically connected to the IDB PCB 114a and controlled by the IDB PCB, and wherein the RCU module comprises an RCU flow path (path with valve 136a) fluidly connected to the IDB flow path and the wheel brake 102a and through which the fluid flows.
Regarding claim 3, the system comprising: a direct flow path fluidly connected to another part of the IDB flow path and the RCU flow path to constitute a passage through which the fluid flows to the RCU flow path via the other portion of the IDB flow path.
Regarding claim 4, the IDB flow path comprises: a motor flow path fluidly connected to the motor 108; a main transfer flow path fluidly connected to the motor flow path and having a part of the IDB valve 132 positioned thereon; and a sub transfer flow path fluidly connected to the main transfer flow path and the RCU flow path and having another part 134 of the IDB valve positioned thereon.
Regarding claim 5, a direct flow path is fluidly connected to the motor flow path, and wherein the RCU module comprises an RCU emergency flow path fluidly connected to the direct flow path.
Regarding claim 6, a direct flow path is fluidly connecting the motor 108 and the RCU module 1/2, wherein the RCU module comprises: an RCU external flow path fluidly connected to an IDB flow path (via 140) of the IDB module; an RCU internal flow path fluidly connected to the RCU external flow path and the wheel brake 102a, respectively; and an RCU emergency flow path fluidly connected to the direct flow path.
Regarding claim 7, the RCU module comprises an RCU internal valve 136a disposed in the RCU internal flow path and configured to partially open and close the RCU internal flow path to form a hydraulic pressure that causes the fluid to flow.
Regarding claim 8, the IDB module comprises a brake 104 coupled to a pedal 122 and electrically connected to the IDB PCB [0028], and the IDB PCB computes a control signal for controlling the motor using a pressing signal generated by pressing the pedal [0026][0028].
Regarding claim 9, the brake comprises: a piston 120 coupled to the pedal 122; a cylinder 118 movably accommodating the piston and containing the fluid therein; and a brake flow path 128a/b fluidly connected to the cylinder 118 and the RCU module 1/2, respectively, to constitute a flow path through which the fluid flows to the RCU module.
Claims 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/185012 (also note US equiv. 2022/0176931) in view of Zhang et al (US# 2024/0359669).
WO ‘012 disclose an integrated brake system comprising: a remote control utility 272 module fluidly connected to a wheel brake 43 coupled to a wheel; and an integrated dynamic brake 20/100 module fluidly connected to the RCU module and providing a transfer force to a fluid to be transferred to the wheel brake, and the IDB module comprising: a motor 100 providing the transfer force to the fluid. WO ‘012 further suggest and an IDB controller 310 electrically connected to the motor 100 to control the motor, and the RCU module comprising: an RCU controller 320 electrically connected to the motor 100 to control the motor based on an inoperable state of the IDB controller (figure 8 and associated description). WO ‘012 lack the specific disclosure of an IDB PCB and an RCU PCB, instead showing ECU’s 310/320. Zhang et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach the use of a PCB for a controller [0025]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use printed circuit boards for the ECU’s of WO ‘012, such as taught by Zhang et al, as an obvious structure for implementing the ECU’s of WO ‘012 in a compact package.
Regarding claim 2, as modified, the IDB module comprises: an IDB flow path 211/214 fluidly connected to the motor 100 and through which the fluid flows; and an IDB valve 233 positioned in a part of the IDB flow path and electrically connected to the IDB PCB 310 and controlled by the IDB PCB, and wherein the RCU module comprises an RCU flow path 221 fluidly connected to the IDB flow path and the wheel brake 44 and through which the fluid flows.
Regarding claim 3, the system comprising: a direct flow path 212 fluidly connected to another part of the IDB flow path and the RCU flow path to constitute a passage through which the fluid flows to the RCU flow path via the other portion of the IDB flow path.
Regarding claim 4, the IDB flow path comprises: a motor flow path 211 fluidly connected to the motor 100; a main transfer flow path 216 fluidly connected to the motor flow path and having a part of the IDB valve 233 positioned thereon; and a sub transfer flow path 215 fluidly connected to the main transfer flow path and the RCU flow path and having another part 232 of the IDB valve positioned thereon.
Regarding claim 5, a direct flow path 212 is fluidly connected to the motor flow path 211, and wherein the RCU module comprises an RCU emergency flow path 219 fluidly connected to the direct flow path.
Regarding claim 6, a direct flow path 211 is fluidly connecting the motor 100 and the RCU module 272, wherein the RCU module comprises: an RCU external flow path 212 fluidly connected to an IDB flow path 213 of the IDB module; an RCU internal flow path 221 fluidly connected to the RCU external flow path 212 and the wheel brake 44, respectively; and an RCU emergency flow path 219 fluidly connected to the direct flow path 211.
Regarding claim 7, the RCU module comprises an RCU internal valve 291d disposed in the RCU internal flow path 221 and configured to partially open and close the RCU internal flow path to form a hydraulic pressure that causes the fluid to flow.
Regarding claim 8, the IDB module comprises a brake 20 coupled to a pedal 10 and electrically connected to the IDB PCB ([0081] of US 2022/0176931), and the IDB PCB computes a control signal for controlling the motor using a pressing signal generated by pressing the pedal [0081].
Regarding claim 9, the brake comprises: a piston 23 coupled to the pedal 10; a cylinder 20 movably accommodating the piston and containing the fluid therein; and a brake flow path 252 fluidly connected to the cylinder 20 and the RCU module 2722, respectively, to constitute a flow path through which the fluid flows to the RCU module.
Regarding claim 10, the brake comprises a brake valve 293d positioned on the brake flow path and configured to control a flow direction of the fluid such that the fluid flows only in the direction from the cylinder 20 toward the RCU module 272.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK