Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen (US 4,447,508).
Claim 1: Jensen teaches a battery 10 (col. 3, line 11) comprising a case 12 (col. 3, line 12) covered by a cover member 14 (col. 3, line 14); wherein the battery 10 contains active elements of battery 10 including a plurality of negative plates 32 and positive plates 34 (col. 3, lines 32-37) and a honeycomb structure 60 inside the case 12 covered by the cover member 14 (col. 4, line 8). Jensen teaches the honeycomb structure 60 is used to suppress flash or explosion in order to prevent explosion damage to the battery 10 (col. 4, lines 5-7). The battery 10 meets the claimed battery device; the case 12 along with the cover member 14 meets the claimed casing; the active elements of battery 10 including the plurality of negative plates 32 and positive plates 34 meet the claimed cell module; and the honeycomb structure 60 meets the claimed catalytic convertor.
Claim 2: Jensen teaches a honeycomb structure 60 inside the case 12 covered by the cover member 14 (col. 4, line 8), wherein the honeycomb structure 60 is used to suppress flash or explosion in order to prevent explosion damage to the battery 10 (col. 4, lines 5-7). The honeycomb structure 60 meets the claimed honeycomb pore structure.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen (US 4,447,508).
Claim 10: Jensen teaches a battery 10 (col. 3, line 11) comprising a case 12 (col. 3, line 12) covered by a cover member 14 (col. 3, line 14); wherein the battery 10 contains active elements of battery 10 including a plurality of negative plates 32 and positive plates 34 (col. 3, lines 32-37) and a honeycomb structure 60 inside the case 12 covered by the cover member 14 (col. 4, line 8). Jensen teaches the honeycomb structure 60 is used to suppress flash or explosion in order to prevent explosion damage to the battery 10 (col. 4, lines 5-7). The battery 10 meets the claimed battery device; the case 12 along with the cover member 14 meets the claimed casing; the active elements of battery 10 including the plurality of negative plates 32 and positive plates 34 meet the claimed cell module; and the honeycomb structure 60 meets the claimed catalytic convertor.
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U). Wu et al. (US 2025/0379332 A1) is used as an English translator for Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U).
Claim 1: Wu teaches a battery 100 comprising a box 10, a battery cell module 20 [0045] inside the box 10, and a treatment unit 32 between the box 10 and battery cell module 20 (Fig. 4, [0094] and [0095]), wherein the treatment unit 32 is configured to oxidize and reduce the combustibles in the emissions [0090]. The battery 100 meets the claimed battery device, box 10 meets the claimed casing, battery cell module 20 meets the claimed cell module and the treatment unit 32 meets the claimed catalytic converter.
Claim 3: Wu teaches the treatment unit 32 is configured to oxidize and reduce the combustibles in the emissions [0090]. The treatment unit 32 meets the claimed catalytic converter having a three-way catalytic catalyst.
Claim 5: Wu teaches the battery cell module 20 comprises lithium iron phosphate battery cell module [0102].
Claim 8: Wu teaches the treatment unit 32 is a closed ring structure forming a closed space surrounding the battery cell module 20 (Fig. 4 and [0099]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U). Wu et al. (US 2025/0379332 A1) is used as an English translator for Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U).
Claim 10: Wu teaches a battery 100 comprising a box 10, a battery cell module 20 [0045] inside the box 10, and a treatment unit 32 between the box 10 and battery cell module 20 (Fig. 4, [0094] and [0095]), wherein the treatment unit 32 is configured to oxidize and reduce the combustibles in the emissions [0090]. The battery 100 meets the claimed battery device, box 10 meets the claimed casing, battery cell module 20 meets the claimed cell module and the treatment unit 32 meets the claimed catalytic converter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 4,447,508) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maayan et al. (US 2020/0171431 A1).
Jensen teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 3: Jensen does not teach the honeycomb structure 60 comprises a binary catalytic catalyst or a three-way catalytic catalyst. However, Maayan teaches a catalytic convertor made of a ceramic layer that has a honeycomb-like microscopic structure covered by a metallic oxide, and further covered by a rhodium reducing catalyst, a palladium oxidizing catalyst and/or a platinum two-purpose catalyst [0072]. The catalytic converter of Maayan meets the claimed binary catalytic catalyst and three-way catalytic catalyst. Jensen and Maayan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the honeycomb type catalytic converter art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the catalytic converter of Maayan with the invention of Jensen, and the motivation would be, as Maayan suggested, to provide both oxidation and reduction [0072] so as to convert carbon monoxide into carbon dioxide, convert hydrocarbon into water and carbon dioxide, and convert toxic nitrogen oxide into nitrogen and oxygen.
Claim 4: The ceramic layer in Maayan meets the claimed ceramic and the rhodium, palladium and platinum of Maayan meet the claimed precious metal.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 4,447,508) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 2014/0295265 A1).
Jensen teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 5: Jensen teaches the battery 10 contains active elements of battery 10 including a plurality of negative plates 32 and positive plates 34 (col. 3, lines 32-37), but Jensen does not teach a specific type of battery or lithium battery. However, You teaches a lithium-rich electrode plate of the lithium-ion battery comprising a lithium iron phosphate or a lithium tri-element transition metal oxides [0024]. Jensen and You are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the battery art. It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the lithium-rich electrode plate of the lithium-ion battery comprising the lithium iron phosphate or the lithium tri-element transition metal oxides of You with the invention of Jensen, and the motivation for combining would be, as You suggested, to provide a battery with improved energy density and electrochemical performance (abstract).
Claim 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maayan et al. (US 2020/0171431 A1). Wu et al. (US 2025/0379332 A1) is used as an English translator for Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U).
Wu teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 2: Wu does not teach the structure of the treatment unit 32. However. Maayan teaches a catalytic converter having a honeycomb-like structure [0072]. Wu and Maayan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the catalytic converter art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the honeycomb-like catalytic converter of Maayan with the invention of Wu, and the motivation would be, as Maayan suggested, to increase the surface area of the treatment unite/catalytic converter [0072].
Claims 3 and 4: Wu teaches the treatment unit 32 comprising a porous structure with a catalyst [0092] but does not teach the porous structure is a ceramic material. However, Maayan teaches a catalytic convertor made of a ceramic layer {instant claim 4} that has a honeycomb-like microscopic structure covered by a metallic oxide, and further covered by a rhodium reducing catalyst, a palladium oxidizing catalyst and/or a platinum two-purpose catalyst {instant claims 3 and 4} [0072]. The catalytic converter of Maayan meets the claimed binary catalytic catalyst and three-way catalytic catalyst. Wu and Maayan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the honeycomb type catalytic converter art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the catalytic converter of Maayan with the invention of Wu, and the motivation would be, as Maayan suggested, to provide both oxidation and reduction [0072] so as to convert carbon monoxide into carbon dioxide, convert hydrocarbon into water and carbon dioxide, and convert toxic nitrogen oxide into nitrogen and oxygen.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above. Wu et al. (US 2025/0379332 A1) is used as an English translator for Wu et al. by (CN 219739171 U).
Wu teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 9: Wu does not teach the treatment unit 32 has no contact with the box 10. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to increase the size of the box 10, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Increasing the size of the box 10 would create gap between the box 10 and the treatment unit 32 which would result in no contact between the treatment unit 32 and the box 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Jensen, Maayan, You and Wu do not teach or suggest the claimed invention as recited in claims 6 and 7.
Pertinent Prior Arts
Wang et al. (US 2010/0140560 A1 and Naito et al. (US2009/0038300 A1).
Correspondence
BS
June 23, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785