DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/10/25 with respect to the rejection of claim 19 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant asserts that Lee (US 2020/0137285) fails to teach a light source configured to illuminate the working surface with a first light intensity when the image quality is higher that a first image quality threshold, and the light source is configured to illuminate the working surface with a second light intensity when the image quality is lower that a second quality threshold. The Examiner disagrees because Lee teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 to change the resolution from a first resolution to a second resolution based on a value SQCNT being greater than a first threshold or less than a second threshold to change the amount of light emitted to the working surface per unit time T1 to be less than the amount of light emitted to the working surface when a lesser time T2 occurs which reduces the amount of light at the working surface. The Claims 1-18 are rejected under a new grounds of rejection based on Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0137285, hereinafter “Lee”). Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses an electric apparatus, comprising (Fig. 1, [0021] device 100 as a mouse): an image sensor, configured to sense a working surface which the electric apparatus is moved on and determine an image quality of the surface (Fig. 1, [0021-0025, 0027 and 0032], image sensor 12 includes a pixel array which senses a working surface S and which outputs an analog image frame F which the electronic device is moved on and provides the analog signals to an analog to digital converter ADC 14 to convert the image data into digital optical image signals and determine an image quality SQCNT of the surface); and a light source, configured to illuminate the working surface the working surface with a first light intensity when the image quality is higher than a first image quality threshold, the light source is configured to illuminate the working surface with a second light intensity when the image quality is lower than a second image quality threshold, wherein the first light intensity is lower than the second light intensity (Figs. 1, 4 and 5, [0027, 0030-0036, and 0046], light source 11 illuminates the working surface S with a first light intensity (Fig. 5, light emission T2 intensity) when the image quality SQCNT is higher than a first image quality threshold (N2 second resolution with SQCNT > TH1), the light source 11 is configured to illuminate the working surface S with a second light intensity (Fig. 5, light emission T1 intensity) when the image quality SQCNT is lower than a second image quality threshold (N1 first resolution with SQCNT < TH21), wherein the first light intensity T2 is lower (i.e., pulse is smaller in width) than the second light intensity T1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Leow (US 2021/0382565) and Liu et al. (US 2023/0291411, hereinafter “Liu”). Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an image sensing device, comprising (Fig. 1, [0021], image sensing device 100 as a mouse): a pixel array, configured to generate analog image sensing signals (Fig. 1, [0021-0025], image sensor 12 includes a pixel array which outputs an analog image frame F and provides the analog signals to an analog to digital converter ADC 14 to convert the image data into digital optical image signals); an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter), configured to transform the analog image sensing signals to digital optical image signals (Fig. 1, [0021-0025], image sensor 12 includes a pixel array which outputs an analog image frame F and provides the analog signals to an analog to digital converter ADC 14 to convert the image data into digital optical image signals); and an offset control circuit, configured to adjust an ADC offset of the ADC corresponding to an image quality and an average pixel value of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array (Figs. 1 and 5, [0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0036], offset control circuit or processor 15 is configured to adjust an analog to digital converter “ADC” offset of the ADC 14 corresponding to an image quality SQCNT between different conversion resolutions of N1 bits or N2 bits based on the image quality of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array by sending a control signal Sr to the ADC 14 and increasing the gain from G1 to G2).
Lee does not explicitly disclose an offset control circuit, configured to adjust an ADC offset of the ADC corresponding to an average pixel value of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array. Loew teaches to measure the surface quality (Psqual) as well as an average pixel value of a sensor array (Pavg) and a maximum pixel value of the sensor array (Pmax) to compare these values to thresholds to determine if the mouse is on a surface and the type of quality of surface ([0003, 0015, 0017-0020]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensing device of Lee to measure the surface quality (Psqual) as well as an average pixel value of a sensor array (Pavg) and a maximum pixel value of the sensor array (Pmax) to compare these values to thresholds, such as taught by Loew, for the purpose of detecting the quality of surface that the mouse is located on to have the ADC operating under a conversion resolution based on the surface quality. The modified image sensing device would have an offset control circuit, configured to adjust an ADC offset of the ADC corresponding to an average pixel value (Pavg) of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array. Lee as modified by Loew does not explicitly disclose wherein the ADC offset means a value that the ADC adds to a pixel value while transforming the analog image sensing signals to the digital image sensing signals. Liu teaches wherein the ADC offset means a value that the ADC adds to a pixel value while transforming the analog image sensing signals to the digital image sensing signals ([0081], adders used in offset code calculation circuits 516A, B perform ADC offset of Analog to Digital Conversion process and add a value to a pixel value when performing the conversion process to a digital image sensing signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensing device of Lee as modified by Loew to have wherein the ADC offset means a value that the ADC adds to a pixel value while transforming the analog image sensing signals to the digital image sensing signals, such as taught by Liu, for the purpose of improving the precision and/or accuracy of the conversion to digital image signals. Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the offset control circuit increases the ADC offset if the image quality is higher than a first image quality threshold and the average pixel value is lower than a first pixel value threshold (Lee, Figs. 4-5, [0031-0032, 0036], the offset control circuit or processor 15 increases the ADC offset (from first resolution to second resolution and gain G1 to gain G2) if the image quality is higher than a first image quality threshold (SQCNT > TH1) and the average pixel value is lower than a first pixel value threshold (Leow, [0015], average pixel value is less than PavgTH3 as a first pixel value threshold).
The motivation is the same as in claim 1. Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 2, further comprising: a light source, configured to emit light out of the image sensing device (Lee, Fig. 1, [0046], light source 11 emits light out of the image sensing device 100 to reflect light off working surface S); wherein a lighting time of the light source decreases corresponding to the increasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], lighting time or light on time of the light source 11 decreases from larger T1 time period to lower T2 time period when increasing DC offset at resolution N2).
Regarding claim 4, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 2, wherein the image quality decreases corresponding to the increasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], lower resolution to N2 results in image quality decreasing corresponding to the increasing of the ADC offset (gain increasing from G1 to G2).
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the offset control circuit decreases the ADC offset if the image quality is lower than a second image quality threshold and the average pixel value is higher than a second pixel value threshold (Lee, Figs. 4-5, [0031-0032, 0036], the offset control circuit or processor 15 decreases the ADC offset (from second resolution to first resolution and gain G2 to gain G1) if the image quality is lower than a second image quality threshold (SQCNT < TH2) and the average pixel value is higher than a second pixel value threshold (Leow, [0015], average pixel value is higher than PavgTH3 as a first pixel value threshold and Psqual is greater than PsqualTH2 threshold).
The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 5, further comprising: a light source, configured to emit light out of the image sensing device (Lee, Fig. 1, [0046], light source 11 emits light out of the image sensing device 100 to reflect light off working surface S); wherein a lighting time of the light source increases corresponding to the decreasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], lighting time or light on time of the light source 11 decreases from larger T1 time period to lower T2 time period when increasing DC offset at resolution N2).
Regarding claim 7, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 5, wherein the image quality increases corresponding to the decreasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], higher resolution to N1 results in image quality increasing corresponding to the decreasing of the ADC offset (gain decreasing from G2 to G1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the image sensing device is located on a working surface, and the image quality corresponds to a surface quality of the working surface (Lee, [0027, 0032], Fig. 1, image device 100 is located on work surface S, and image quality SQCNT corresponds to a surface quality of the work surface S).
Regarding claim 9, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the image sensing device is an optical mouse (Lee, [0021], optical mouse).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses an ADC control method, applied to an image sensing device comprising a pixel array and an ADC, comprising (Figs. 1 and 5, [0021, 0032, and 0036] image sensing device 100 as a mouse performs the ADC control method of adjusting resolution and gain of the analog digital converter ADC): (a) generating analog image sensing signals by the pixel array (Fig. 1, [0021-0025], image sensor 12 includes a pixel array which outputs an analog image frame F and provides the analog signals to an analog to digital converter ADC 14 to convert the image data into digital optical image signals); (b) transforming the analog image sensing signals to digital optical image signals by the ADC (Fig. 1, [0021-0025], image sensor 12 includes a pixel array which outputs an analog image frame F and provides the analog signals to an analog to digital converter ADC 14 to convert the image data into digital optical image signals); and (c) adjusting an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) offset of the ADC corresponding to an image quality of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array (Figs. 1 and 5, [0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0036], offset control circuit or processor 15 is configured to adjust an analog to digital converter “ADC” offset of the ADC 14 corresponding to an image quality SQCNT between different conversion resolutions of N1 bits or N2 bits based on the image quality of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array by sending a control signal Sr to the ADC 14 and increasing the gain from G1 to G2).
Lee does not explicitly disclose adjusting an ADC offset of the ADC corresponding to an average pixel value of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array. Loew teaches to measure the surface quality (Psqual) as well as an average pixel value of a sensor array (Pavg) and a maximum pixel value of the sensor array (Pmax) to compare these values to thresholds to determine if the mouse is on a surface and the type of quality of surface ([0003, 0015, 0017-0020]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to measure the surface quality (Psqual) as well as an average pixel value of a sensor array (Pavg) and a maximum pixel value of the sensor array (Pmax) to compare these values to thresholds, such as taught by Loew, for the purpose of detecting the quality of surface that the mouse is located on to have the ADC operating under a conversion resolution based on the surface quality. The modified method would have an offset control circuit, configured to adjust an ADC offset of the ADC corresponding to an average pixel value (Pavg) of at least one image which is generated from previous analog image sensing signals sensed by the pixel array.
Regarding claim 11, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 10, wherein the step (c) increases the ADC offset if the image quality is higher than a first image quality threshold and the average pixel value is lower than a first pixel value threshold (Lee, Figs. 4-5, [0031-0032, 0036], the offset control circuit or processor 15 increases the ADC offset (from first resolution to second resolution and gain G1 to gain G2) if the image quality is higher than a first image quality threshold (SQCNT > TH1) and the average pixel value is lower than a first pixel value threshold (Leow, [0015], average pixel value is less than PavgTH3 as a first pixel value threshold).
The motivation is the same as in claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 11, wherein the image sensing device comprises a light source configured to emit light out of the image sensing device (Lee, Fig. 1, [0046], light source 11 emits light out of the image sensing device 100 to reflect light off working surface S); wherein the ADC control method comprises: decreasing a lighting time of the light source corresponding to the increasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], lighting time or light on time of the light source 11 decreases from larger T1 time period to lower T2 time period when increasing DC offset at resolution N2).
Regarding claim 13, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 11, wherein the image quality decreases corresponding to the increasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], lower resolution to N2 results in image quality decreasing corresponding to the increasing of the ADC offset (gain increasing from G1 to G2).
Regarding claim 14, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 10, wherein the step (c) decreases the ADC offset if the image quality is lower than a second image quality threshold and the average pixel value is higher than a second pixel value threshold (Lee, Figs. 4-5, [0031-0032, 0036], the offset control circuit or processor 15 decreases the ADC offset (from second resolution to first resolution and gain G2 to gain G1) if the image quality is lower than a second image quality threshold (SQCNT < TH2) and the average pixel value is higher than a second pixel value threshold (Leow, [0015], average pixel value is higher than PavgTH3 as a first pixel value threshold and Psqual is greater than PsqualTH2 threshold).
The motivation is the same as in claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 14, further comprising: wherein the image sensing device comprises a light source configured to emit light out of the image sensing device (Lee, Fig. 1, [0046], light source 11 emits light out of the image sensing device 100 to reflect light off working surface S); wherein the ADC control method comprises: increasing a lighting time of the light source corresponding to the decreasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], lighting time or light on time of the light source 11 decreases from larger T1 time period to lower T2 time period when increasing DC offset at resolution N2).
Regarding claim 16, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 14, wherein the image quality increases corresponding to the decreasing of the ADC offset (Lee, Fig. 5, [0036], higher resolution to N1 results in image quality increasing corresponding to the decreasing of the ADC offset (gain decreasing from G2 to G1).
Regarding claim 17, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 10, wherein the image sensing device is located on a working surface, and the image quality corresponds to a surface quality of the working surface (Lee, [0027, 0032], Fig. 1, image device 100 is located on work surface S, and image quality SQCNT corresponds to a surface quality of the work surface S).
Regarding claim 18, Lee as modified by Leow and Liu discloses the ADC control method of claim 10, wherein the image sensing device is an optical mouse (Lee, [0021], optical mouse).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 8,519,958) teaches a light intensity controller (Fig. 1, element 1003) for a light source 1001 of an optical mouse (see col. 1, line 17 and lines 45-47)).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622