DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 14-18, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2016/0093814).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang et al discloses an organometallic complex with the formula ([0053]):
M(L1)n1(L2)n2,
where ligand L1 is ([0012] – Formula 2A):
.
Specific examples of this ligand include ([0123] and Page 16 – Formula 2-61):
,
where Z1a is a C6 aryl group ([0125] and [0019]); Z2 is hydrogen ([0019]); and Z1b can be an C1-60 alkyl ([0019]). As an example of the alkyl group, attention is directed to the following compound (Page 47 – Compound 159):
.
Additionally, the reference discloses that the alkyl can be substituted with a C1-60 alkyls ([0024]-[0025]), i.e. the substituent above can be substituted with a tert-butyl group (Page 37 – 94) to obtain the substituent:
.
From the discussion above, the reference discloses recited ligand L1 with the formula:
,
where Y1 to Y11 are C; Rc and Rb are hydrogen. Ra corresponds to recited Formula I:
,
where R1 and R5 are H; R2 and R3 are C1 alkyls, and R4 is tert-butyl, i.e. an alkyl having a tertiary carbon atom.
Given that the reference discloses a phosphorescent emitter utilized in organic light emitting devices, it is clear that the disclosed compound is capable of functioning as a phosphorescent emitter in an organic light emitting device at room temperature as recited present claim.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the reference discloses a phosphorescent emitter utilized in organic light emitting devices, it is clear that the disclosed compound is capable of emitting light from a triplet excited state to a group singlet state at room temperature as recited in the present claim.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that in the formula M(L1)n1(L2)n2 is Ir (Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R1 is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R2 an R3 are C1 alkyls; and R4 is tert-butyl.
Regarding claim 7, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that in the formula M(L1)n1(L2)n2, where n1 and n2 are independently 1 or 2, where n1+n2 is two (2) or three (3) ([0022]). Ligand L2 is ([0012] – Formula 2B):
.
A specific example of this ligand is ([0137] – Formula 2B-1):
,
where R1 to R3 are C1-10 alkyl groups ([0016]-[0017]); and R12 is C2-20 alkyl group ([0097]-0098]).
Accordingly, the reference discloses a compound with the formula:
M(L1)x(L2)y(L3)a,
where x is 1 to 2; y is 2 or 1; and z is zero (0).
Ligand L2 corresponds to:
,
where Y1 to Y8 are C; Ra is a di-substitution representing silyl and an alkyl; and Rb is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 8, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound with the formula Ir(L1)2(L2).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound where ligand L1 corresponds to LAtype17:
,
where R2 is hydrogen; R1 corresponds to R represented by Formula I of the claims; and G is an aromatic ring.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses R corresponding to RA1:
.
Regarding claim 19, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the reference discloses a compound, it is clear that the reference discloses a formulation as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 14, Hwang et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer, i.e. an organic layer, disposed between the anode and cathode ([0167] and [0172]-[0173]. The light emitting layer comprises an organometallic complex with the formula:
M(L1)n1(L2)n2,
where ligand L1 is ([0012] – Formula 2A):
.
Specific examples of this ligand include ([0123] and Page 16 – Formula 2-61):
,
where Z1a is a C6 aryl group ([0125] and [0019]); Z2 is hydrogen ([0019]); and Z1b can be an C1-60 alkyl ([0019]). As an example of the alkyl group, attention is directed to the following compound (Page 47 – Compound 159):
.
Additionally, the reference discloses that the alkyl can be substituted with a C1-60 alkyls.([0024]-[0025]), i.e. the substituent above can be substituted with a tert-butyl group (Page 37 – 94) to obtain the substituent:
.
From the discussion above, the reference discloses recited ligand L1 with the formula:
,
where Y1 to Y11 are C; Rc and Rb are hydrogen. Ra corresponds to recited Formula I:
,
where R1 and R5 are H; R2 and R3 are C1 alkyls, and R4 is tert-butyl, i.e. an alkyl having a tertiary carbon atom.
Given that the reference discloses a phosphorescent emitter utilized in organic light emitting devices, it is clear that the disclosed compound is capable of functioning as a phosphorescent emitter in an organic light emitting device at room temperature as recited present claim.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the organic layer is a light emitting layer. Additionally, the compound is a dopant and emitting blue, green or greenish blue light ([0031] and [0161]). It is clear that the compound disclosed by the reference is an emissive dopant as recited by the present claims.
Regarding claim 16, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the light emitting layer comprises a host compound such as 4,4-‘bis(N-carbazolyl)-1,1’-biphenyl (CBP), i.e. a host compound comprising a carbazole moiety ([0209][0210]),
Regarding claim 18, Hwang et al discloses an organic light emitting device, i.e. a consumer product, comprising an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer, i.e. an organic layer, disposed between the anode and cathode ([0167] and [0172]-[0173]. The light emitting layer comprises an organometallic complex with the formula:
M(L1)n1(L2)n2,
where ligand L1 is ([0012] – Formula 2A):
.
Specific examples of this ligand include ([0123] and Page 16 – Formula 2-61):
,
where Z1a is a C6 aryl group ([0125] and [0019]); Z2 is hydrogen ([0019]); and Z1b can be an C1-60 alkyl ([0019]). As an example of the alkyl group, attention is directed to the following compound (Page 47 – Compound 159):
.
Additionally, the reference discloses that the alkyl can be substituted with a C1-60 alkyls.([0024]-[0025]), i.e. the substituent above can be substituted with a tert-butyl group (Page 37 – 94) to obtain the substituent:
.
From the discussion above, the reference discloses recited ligand L1 with the formula:
,
where Y1 to Y11 are C; Rc and Rb are hydrogen. Ra corresponds to recited Formula I:
,
where R1 and R5 are H; R2 and R3 are C1 alkyls, and R4 is tert-butyl, i.e. an alkyl having a tertiary carbon atom.
Given that the reference discloses a phosphorescent emitter utilized in organic light emitting devices, it is clear that the disclosed compound is capable of functioning as a phosphorescent emitter in an organic light emitting device at room temperature as recited present claim.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2016/0093814) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-10, 15-16 and 18-19 above, and in view of Ma et al (US 2010/0237334).
The discussion with respect to Hwang et al as set forth in Paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses that the emitter layer comprises a matrix material, the reference does not disclose the particular hosts recited in the present claims.
Ma et al discloses an OLED comprising an anode, cathode, and an organic light emitting layer between the anode and cathode (Abstract and [0098]). The light emitting layer comprises a triphenylene compound (Abstract and [0045] – Compound 1’), e.g.
.
The reference discloses that triphenylene containing benzothiophenes are excellent host materials for OLEDs ([0104]).
Given that both Takizawa et al and Ma et al are drawn to organic electroluminescent devices comprising an emitter layer formed from a host and a dopant, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the triphenylene host as taught by Ma et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize such hosts in the device disclosed by Takizawa et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2016/0093814) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-10, 15-16 and 18-19 above, and in view of Lewis (see pages of Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary attached to previous Office Action)
The discussion with respect to Hwang et al as set forth in Paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. The reference does not explicitly disclose that the compound is a monomer. However, as evidenced by Lewis a monomer is a molecule or compound usually containing compound of relatively low molecular weight and simple structure that is capable of conversion to polymers with itself or other similar molecules or compounds. In light of the definition in Lewis of the term “monomer”, it is the Examiner’s position that compound disclosed by Hwang et al is a monomer capable of being converted to a polymer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
If rewritten as indicated above claims 11-13 would be allowable over the “closest” prior art Takizawa et al (US 2012/0153816), Stoessel et al (US 2013/0112920), and Hwang et al (US 2016/0093814) for the reasons set forth below.
Takizawa et al discloses the following organometallic complex (Page 31 – Compound 27):
.
This organometallic complex comprises the substituent
,
which corresponds to Formula I of the claims:
,
where R1 and R5 are H; R2 is an alkyl; R3 and R4 are C2 alkyls that join to form a ring. However, the reference does not disclose or suggest the organometallic comprising the substituent RA1 to RA79 as required by claim 11.
Stoessel et al discloses the following organometallic complex (Page 34 – Compound 39):
,
as well as substituents with the formula:
.
However, the reference does not disclose the organometallic complexes as required by claim 11.
Hwang et al discloses organometallic compound where the ligands necessarily comprise a silyl moiety. However, none of the compounds recited in claim 11 comprise silyl moieties. Given that the reference discloses organometallic compounds outside the scope of the present claims, the reference does not disclose or suggest the organometallic compounds recited in claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Furthermore, in light of the claim amendments the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786