DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18 - 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/22/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1 - 17 in the reply filed on 04/22/2026 is acknowledged. Group 2, Claims 18 - 19 have been withdrawn. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden between Groups 1 and 2.
This is not found persuasive because the groupings are classified in distinct classes and would cause serious burden.
Further, Group 1 and Group 2 are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombination Group 2 has separate utility such as it does not require: “an extending direction of the first spacing and an extending direction of the second spacing are respectively perpendicular to a radial direction of the base,” “positioning slot comprises a pair of extension slots disposed on two sides of the positioning slot,” “knife unit comprises a pair of extension portions disposed on two sides of the knife unit, and the pair of extension portions correspond to the pair of extension slots, respectively,” “at least one guide rail, wherein the guide rail is correspondingly fixed on a guide rail bottom slot at a bottom of the positioning slot,” “knife unit further comprises a guide rail top slot configured to slide on the guide rail,” and “knife unit comprises a knife holder, a knife and a knife cover, and the knife is placed between the knife holder and the knife cover.”
The restriction is made FINAL.
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 8,192,112 Turcot et al. (‘Turcot hereafter), App 12/411686 Filed 03/26/2009
U.S. 2015/0113813 Jim Bagley (‘Bagley hereafter), App 14/062970 Filed 10/25/2013
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 19 are currently being examined.
Claims 18 - 19 have been withdrawn.
Claims have been canceled.
Claims 6 – 11 & 15 are objected to for allowable subject matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “pair of side protruding portions disposed on two sides of the knife unit,” as recited in Claim 12,
“a pair of holding parts are disposed adjacent to two sides of the positioning slot,” as recited in claims 13, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted elements of claim 12 are: the locations, connections and the structural elements associated with the “side protruding portions.”
The omitted elements of claim 13 are: the locations, connections and the structural elements associated with the “pair of holding parts.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 13, 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 8,192,112 Turcot et al. (‘Turcot hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: A cutter module (‘Turcot, Figs 1 & 2, #10 (rotary cutter head), shows a cutter assembly), comprising:
a cutter plate (‘Turcot, Figs 1 & 2, #12 (cylindrical body/ cutter plate)) having a base (‘Turcot, Figs 1 & 2 (below)) and at least one positioning slot on the base (‘Turcot, Fig 3, #14 (seats/ positioning slots)),
the positioning slot being disposed along an edge of the base and sandwiched between two adjacent side walls (‘Turcot, Fig 6A (below), show two adjacent side walls),
each of the side walls protruding from the base (‘Turcot, Fig 6A (below) shows each side wall perpendicularly protruding from the base),
wherein the positioning slot has a first spacing and a second spacing (S2) (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) “A” (first spacing) & “B” (second spacing)),
the second spacing is nearer to the edge of the base than the first spacing (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) shows “B” is exposed to the edge of the base and is not obstructed by having any negative angle surfaces as shown with spacing “A”. Spacing “A” is also shown to be behind #38 (front abutting surface) as further shown in Fig 3), and
the first spacing is larger than the second spacing (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) “A” (first spacing) & “B” (second spacing) shows “A” is larger than “B”); and
at least one knife unit correspondingly disposed in the at least one positioning slot (‘Turcot, Fig 3, #16 (cutting inserts) and (#18 (clamping unit) are parts of the system of a knife unit, the knife unit is shown to be with #14(seat)),
wherein the knife unit has a first width (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) knife unit nearest to “A”) and a second width (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) knife unit nearest to “B”), and the first width is larger than the second width (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below)).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein an extending direction of the first spacing and an extending direction of the second spacing are respectively perpendicular to a radial direction of the base (‘Turcot, Fig 3 (below), shows first and second spacings are perpendicular to the radial direction of the base).
Regarding Claim[s] 3, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the first width and the second width of the knife unit correspond to the first spacing and the second spacing of the positioning slot, respectively (‘Turcot, Figs 1 - 3, 6A & 6B (below)).
Regarding Claim[s] 4, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the positioning slot comprises a pair of extension slots disposed on two sides of the positioning slot (‘Turcot, Fig 2 (below) shows slots “C” & “D”. Slot “D” is the forward portion of a partial counter bore of #50 (threaded hole). Since the counter bore is not a full circle, it is a slot and not a hole).
Regarding Claim[s] 5, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: knife unit comprises a pair of extension portions disposed on two sides of the knife unit, and the pair of extension portions correspond to the pair of extension slots, respectively (‘Turcot, Figs 8A & 8B (below), show extension portions on two sides of knife unit “E” & “F” and correspond to slots #30 and #32 that are shown not to be round and therefore are slots).
Regarding Claim[s] 13, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein a pair of holding parts are disposed adjacent to two sides of the positioning slot , (‘Turcot, Fig 3 (below), #52 (rocking fingers)), and
a pair of positioning portions are disposed on the pair of holding parts and configured to assist positioning of the knife unit after the knife unit slides into the positioning slot (‘Turcot, Fig 3 (below), #46 (springs)).
Regarding Claim[s] 16, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including: first width of the knife unit is less than or equal to the first spacing of the positioning slot (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) knife unit nearest to “A” fits inside the slot and Fig 6B shows a space between the knife and the slot), and
the second width of the knife unit is less than or equal to the second spacing of the positioning slot (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below) knife unit nearest to “B” fits inside the slot and Fig 6B shows a space between the knife and the slot).
Regarding Claim[s] 17, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations including:
first width of the knife unit is larger than the second spacing of the positioning slot (‘Turcot, Fig 6B (below)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, and further in view of U.S. 8,192,112 Turcot et al. (‘Turcot hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2015/0113813 Jim Bagley (‘Bagley hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 14, ‘Turcot discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: wherein each of the at least one knife unit further comprises a pair of positioning marks disposed on two sides of the knife unit to assist positioning of the knife unit with the pair of positioning portions.
--- However, ‘Bagley does teach: Fig 1, #1 (cutter), #3 (cuter base), #39 (edge) Abst: A fabric circle cutter having a cutter base, a pivot pin assembly, and a blade assembly. The cutter base has a flat, smooth bottom surface with a turned up edge. The cutter base also has a raised base section which has a pivot point slide slot. The pivot pin assembly is slidably mounted on the raised base section and slidably mated with the pivot point slide slot which provides for selective positioning of the pivot pin assembly. The blade assembly has a rotary blade with a blade axis which is alined approximately horizontally with and approximately parallel to the center line of the pivot point slide.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Turcot with a means of positioning and positioning marks as taught by ‘Bagley in order to provide a way to position for the cuts (‘Turcot, Abst).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 6 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "one guide rail, wherein the guide rail is correspondingly fixed on a guide rail bottom slot at a bottom of the positioning slot.”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Turcot & ‘Bagley).
‘Turcot & ‘Bagley does not teach a guide rail, and does not teach a guide rail bottom slot. Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. Furthermore, Examiner finds no motivation found to modify the prior art to include the specific limitations of dependent claim 7. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 8 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "knife unit comprises a knife holder, a knife and a knife cover, and the knife is placed between the knife holder and the knife cover.”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Turcot & ‘Bagley).
‘Turcot & ‘Bagley does not teach a knife cover. Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. Furthermore, Examiner finds no motivation found to modify the prior art to include the specific limitations of dependent claims 9 & 15. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 10 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "positioning slot further comprises a pair of side concave slots disposed on two sides of the positioning slot, the positioning slot has a bottom gap near a bottom of the positioning slot and a top gap away from the bottom of the positioning slot, and the bottom gap of the positioning slot is larger than the top gap.”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Turcot & ‘Bagley).
‘Turcot & ‘Bagley does not teach a concave slot where the bottom gap of the positioning slot is larger than the top gap.
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. Furthermore, Examiner finds no motivation found to modify the prior art to include the specific limitations of dependent claim 11. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
[AltContent: textbox (Base)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
U.S. 8,192,112 Figure 1
[AltContent: textbox (Slot “D”)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Slot “C”)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Base)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
U.S. 8,192,112 Figure 2
U.S. 8,192,112 Figure 3
U.S. 8,192,112 Figures 4, 5A & 5B
[AltContent: textbox (Negative angle surface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“B”)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“A”)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
U.S. 8,192,112 Figures 6A & 6B
[AltContent: textbox (“F”)][AltContent: textbox (“E”)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
U.S. 8,192,112 Figures 8A & 8B
Conclusion
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
05/20/2026