DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application makes reference to or appears to claim subject matter disclosed in Application No. 63/481,208, filed January 24, 2023. If applicant desires to claim the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c) or 386(c), the instant application must contain, or be amended to contain, a specific reference to the prior-filed application in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78. If the application was filed before September 16, 2012, the specific reference must be included in the first sentence(s) of the specification following the title or in an application data sheet (ADS) in compliance with pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.76; if the application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the specific reference must be included in an ADS in compliance with 37 CFR 1.76. For benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c), the reference must include the relationship (i.e., continuation, divisional, or continuation-in-part) of the applications.
If the instant application is a utility or plant application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a), the specific reference must be submitted during the pendency of the application and within the later of four months from the actual filing date of the application or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior application. If the application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371, the specific reference must be submitted during the pendency of the application and within the later of four months from the date on which the national stage commenced under 35 U.S.C. 371(b) or (f), four months from the date of the initial submission under 35 U.S.C. 371 to enter the national stage, or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior application. See 37 CFR 1.78(a)(4) for benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78(d)(3) for benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). This time period is not extendable and a failure to submit the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and/or 120, where applicable, within this time period is considered a waiver of any benefit of such prior application(s) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), and 386(c). A benefit claim filed after the required time period may be accepted if it is accompanied by a grantable petition to accept an unintentionally delayed benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) (see 37 CFR 1.78(c)) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) (see 37 CFR 1.78(e)). The petition must be accompanied by (1) the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 120 or 119(e) and by 37 CFR 1.78 to the prior application (unless previously submitted), (2) the applicable petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (2), and (3) a statement that the entire delay between the date the benefit claim was due under 37 CFR 1.78 and the date the claim was filed was unintentional. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
If the reference to the prior application was previously submitted within the time period set forth in 37 CFR 1.78 but was not included in the location in the application required by the rule (e.g., if the reference was submitted in an oath or declaration or the application transmittal letter), and the information concerning the benefit claim was recognized by the Office as shown by its inclusion on the first filing receipt, the petition under 37 CFR 1.78 and the petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (2) are not required. Applicant is still required to submit the reference in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78 by filing an ADS in compliance with 37 CFR 1.76 with the reference (or, if the application was filed before September 16, 2012, by filing either an amendment to the first sentence(s) of the specification or an ADS in compliance with pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.76). See MPEP § 211.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 is redundant. The base claims limits the opening to the bottom of the club head.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Churchward (4,043,563). Claim 1, Churchward discloses a golf club head, comprising a main body defining an opening (23) formed on the bottom surface of the main body; and a slot assembly (21) configured to be received in and detachably couple to the opening (23), wherein the slot assembly (21) comprises a plurality of slots (20), and wherein each of the slots is configured to receive and detachably couple to a weight (22) (fig 3-4). Claim 2, further comprising a fastening mechanism (33) configured to fasten the slot assembly to the main body. Claim 3, the fastening mechanism is a screw (33). Claim 4, the plurality of slots (20) is configured to receive different sized weights (Note, the opening will receive various sizes). Claim 5, the plurality of slots (20) comprises at least a first slot having a first set of dimensions and a second slot having second set of dimensions (fig 4). Claim 7, the slots (20) are distributed along at least a toe end, a heel end, and a center of the main body (fig 3). Claim 9, Churchward discloses a golf club comprising a golf club head comprising a main body defining an opening (23) formed on a bottom surface of the main body; and a slot assembly (21) configured to be received in and detachably couple to the opening (23), wherein the slot assembly (21) comprises a plurality of slots (20), and wherein each of the slots is configured to receive and detachably couple to a weight (22) (fig 3-4). Claim 11, further comprising a fastening mechanism (33) configured to fasten the slot assembly to the main body. Claim 12, the fastening mechanism is a screw (33). Claim 13, the plurality of slots (20) is configured to receive different sized weights (Note, the opening will receive various sizes). Claim 14, the plurality of slots (20) comprises at least a first slot having a first set of dimensions and a second slot having second set of dimensions (fig 4). Claim 15, the opening is formed on a sole surface of the main body. Claim 16, the slots (20) are distributed along at least a toe end, a heel end, and a center of the main body (fig 3). Claim 18, Tunstall discloses a golf club head, comprising a main body defining an opening (23) formed on a bottom surface of the main body; and a slot assembly (21) configured to be received in and detachably couple to the opening (23), wherein the slot assembly (21) comprises a plurality of slots (20), and wherein each of the slots is configured to receive and detachably couple to a weight (22) (fig 3-4). Claim 19, the slots (20) are distributed along at least a toe end, a heel end, and a center of the main body (fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchward (4,043,563) in view of Tunstall (4,695,054). Churchward does not disclose a putter. Tunstall teaches weights added to a putter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the golf club type for the desired use while playing.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchward (4,043,563) in view of Seiden (4,733,868). Tunstall discloses a shaft, but dot does not disclose a telescoping shaft. Seiden teaches a golf club comprising a telescoping shaft (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the shaft for portability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
April 1, 2026