Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Nagler–Zampato combination does not teach the limitation "a wire connection end of the coil winding (1-6) is connected with a power transformation and storage module; relative rotational induction generation is achieved between the rotor component (2) and the coil winding (1-6) under the drive of water flow, and the generated electricity is delivered to the power transformation and storage module; and the power transformation and storage module is used to supply power to the electrically- controlled switching mechanism (3-1) to control the closing or opening degree of the switching actuator (3-7)." However, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the power transformation and storage module is used to supply power to the electrically- controlled switching mechanism to control the closing or opening degree of the switching actuator”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/03/2026. These drawings are acceptable. Applicant has modified the drawings to include the features: the coil winding, power transformation and storage module, switching actuator and the electrically-controlled switching mechanism. However, Applicant did not include the features: the feedback adjustment component, pressure sensor, primary control module, rotation speed measurer, rotation speed module and remote communication module. Although Applicant did not include the features: the feedback adjustment component, pressure sensor, primary control module, rotation speed measurer, rotation speed module and remote communication module, the objection regarding them is withdrawn. This is because the features: the feedback adjustment component, pressure sensor, primary control module, rotation speed measurer, rotation speed module and remote communication module were found in claims 2–3 and the amended claim 11 which have been withdrawn. As a result the objection to the drawings is withdrawn due to the amendment to the drawings and the cancellation of claims 2–3 and the amended claim 11.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn. Applicant has included reference numerals for the coil winding, power transformation and storage module, switching actuator and electrically-controlled switching mechanism. Applicant did not provide reference numerals for feedback adjustment component, pressure sensor, primary control module, rotation speed measurer, rotation speed module and remote communication module. However, the cancelation of claims 2–3 and the amended claim 11 which include the feedback adjustment component, pressure sensor, primary control module, rotation speed measurer, rotation speed module and remote communication module renders the objection regarding these components moot. Therefore, the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment to claim 1 and the cancelation of claims 2–3 overcome the 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagler (US PGPub 20080284174 A1) in view of Zampato et al. (WO 2021245592 A1).
Figure 1 - Nagler Annotated Fig. 22
Regarding Claim 1, Nagler discloses a micro-generation self-energized water transportation pipe adjustment valve device, comprising a tubular valve outer housing (Nagler Annotated Fig. 22) with both ends connected to a pipe (Fig. 22 and Para. 77, where the threads connect the tubular valve outer housing to piping), a valve component (554) fixedly mounted at one end inside the valve outer housing (Nagler Annotated Fig. 22), and a rotor component (20, where the rotor component is located within element 2 in Fig. 22) located at the other end inside the valve outer housing (Nagler Annotated Fig. 22); wherein a coil winding (14) is disposed on an inner side surface of an end of the valve outer housing (Nagler Annotated Fig. 22) cooperating with the rotor component (20), as seen in Fig. 6 which illustrates the rotor and the coil winding within the same housing of the generator 2; the rotor component (20) comprises a rotor housing (10a), permanent magnet groups (Para. 82, where element 20 can carry magnets) and rotor blades (322a/322b) spirally distributed on an inner sidewall of the rotor housing (10a); the rotor housing (10a) is coaxially and rotatably nested into the valve outer housing (Nagler Annotated Fig. 22); the valve component (554) comprises a switching actuator (Para. 105, where the switching actuator is the element that rotates the valve, e.g. an actuator stem or a valve stem) and an electrically-controlled switching mechanism (Para. 105, where the electrically-controlled switching mechanism is the element within 552 that causes the valve to change positions, e.g. motor); a wire connection end (50) of the coil winding (14) is connected with a power transformation and storage module (Paras. 23, 71, 94 and 105, where the power transformation and storage module is the part of element 552 that includes circuits and memory chips used to cause valve rotation based upon sensed and existing information) configured to store relative rotational induction generation between the rotor component (20) and the coil winding (14) under the drive of water flow (Paras. 95–96); and the electrically-controlled switching mechanism (Para. 105, where the electrically-controlled switching mechanism is the element within 552 that causes the valve to change positions) is also connected with the power transformation and storage module such that the electrically-controlled switching mechanism (Para. 105, where the electrically-controlled switching mechanism is the element within 552 that causes the valve to change positions) is powered by the power transformation and storage module (520) to control a closing or opening degree of the switching actuator (Para. 105, where the electrically-controlled switching mechanism is the element within 552 that causes the valve to change positions) but does not disclose the permanent magnet groups uniformly distributed outside the rotor housing.
Zampato teaches permanent magnet groups (6) uniformly distributed outside the rotor housing (3) as seen in Figs. 2 and 4 in order to prevent water from coming into contact with the magnets (Pg. 13, Lines 20–23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the permanent magnets of Nagler with a location outside of the rotor housing as taught by Zampato in order to prevent wear and tear on the magnets.
Per the Nagler–Zampato combination, Zampato’s support shank 11 corresponds to Nagler’s rotor housing 10a. Zampato’s the internal elements of support shank 11 replaces Nagler’s elements 20 and 30.
Regarding Claim 10, the Nagler–Zampato combination teaches an inlet end of the rotor housing (Zampato 3) is provided with a flow guide disk structure (Zampato 10a/10b) for uniformly directing the water flow to the position of the rotor blades (Zampato 7) on the inner sidewall (Zampato Fig. 4, where the inner sidewall is the inside wall off element 3, as described on Pg. 6, Lines 13–23) of the rotor housing (Zampato 3); the flow guide disk structure (Zampato 10a/10b) comprises a conical flow guide head (Zampato Fig. 3, where the flow guide head is the dome shaped portion of element 9) and water split blades (Zampato 8) uniformly distributed on an outer edge of the flow guide head (Zampato Fig. 3, where the flow guide head is the dome shaped portion of element 9); a pointed end of the flow guide head (Zampato Fig. 3, where the flow guide head is the dome shaped portion of element 9) faces toward the incoming water.
The recitation “for uniformly directing the water flow” is seen as intended use of the flow guide disc structure. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. (MPEP §2114.II).
Regarding Claim 11, the Nagler–Zampato combination teaches an electric control box (Nagler Fig. 20 where the electric control box are the walls surrounding element 552) is disposed at an outer side surface of the valve outer housing (Nagler Annotated Fig. 22), the primary control module and the power transformation and storage module is integrated into the electric control box (Nagler Fig. 20 where the electric control box are the walls surrounding element 552).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Angelisa L. Hicks/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753