DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pivot point comprising a ball and socket joint of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 15-20 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 15-20 contain at least one of the phrases “is comprised of” or “comprised of”. These are grammatically improper. Consider ––comprises–– or ––comprising––. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: locking member in claims 5, 9, 12, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 only recites the additional limitation of “wherein the body is comprised of a handle”. Claim 1, from which claim 3 depends recites the limitation “a body comprised of a handle”. Consequently, claim 3 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King et al. (US PGPub 2004/0237228, "King").
1. King teaches a motorized cleaning brush device (10) comprising:
a body (combination of handle 16 and support member 14, see King fig. 1) comprising a handle (16);
a head (12) comprised of a bristle (cleaning member 102 may be bristled, see King fig. 4);
a motor (64, King [0029] and fig. 3));
a battery (28, King [0018] and fig. 1); and
a button (switch 42, King [0019] and fig. 9).
2. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 1, wherein the bristle is removable from the head (cleaning member 102 is connected to the shaft by a retention member 110. Separating the retention member from the shaft removes the cleaning member, see King fig. 3 and [0030]).
4. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a telescopic body (support 14 is telescopic, King [0021]).
5. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 4, wherein the telescopic body is comprised of a locking member (gripping members between sections 50 lock the relative position of the telescopic sections, see King fig. 4).
6. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 1, wherein the button activates the motor (switch 42 controls power to the motor, King [0019]).
7. King teaches a motorized cleaning brush device (10) comprising:
a hollow body (combination of handle 16 and support member 14 include hollow portion 66, see King fig. 3 and [0022]) comprising a handle (16);
a head (12) attached to the body via a pivot point (fork 68 acts as a pivot, King fig. 4 and [0023]), the head comprising a bristle (cleaning member 102 may be bristled, see King fig. 4) and a nozzle (nozzles 74,108);
a motor (64);
a pump (44, King [0020] and fig. 9);
a battery (28, King [0018] and fig. 1); and
a button (switch 42, King [0019] and fig. 9).
8. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, wherein the hollow body is comprised of a telescopic body (support 14 includes telescopic sections 50, King [0021]).
9. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 8, wherein the telescopic body is comprised of a first locking member that secures the telescopic body at a fixed length (gripping members between sections 50 lock the relative position of the telescopic sections, see King fig. 4).
10. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, wherein the pivot point is comprised of a hinge (pivot type hinge 68, King [0023]).
12. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, wherein the pivot point is comprised of a second locking member that locks the pivot point at an angle (68 includes a locking mechanism, King figs. 5-8 and [0023]-[0027]).
13. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, wherein the motor rotates the bristle (motor drives scrubbing device, King [0021]).
14. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, wherein the pump expels a liquid from within the hollow body and out of the nozzle (pump 44 controls fluid spray from 66, see King [0020]-[0022]).
15. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, wherein the head is comprised of a cleaning blade (periphery of cover element over 102 is capable of use as a cleaning blade, see King fig. 3).
Regarding claims 16 and 20,
16. King does not explicitly recite a method of using a motorized cleaning brush device.
However, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. MPEP § 2112.02. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
King teaches a motorized cleaning brush device (10) comprising: a hollow body configured to be filled with a liquid cleaning solution (combination of handle 16 and support member 14 include hollow portion 66, see King fig. 3 and [0022]) comprising a handle (16); a head (12) attached to the body via a pivot point (fork 68 acts as a pivot, King fig. 4 and [0023]), the head comprising a bristle (cleaning member 102 may be bristled, see King fig. 4) and a nozzle (nozzles 74,108); a motor (64); a pump (44, King [0020] and fig. 9); a battery (28, King [0018] and fig. 1); and a button controlling the motor (switch 42 controls power to the motor that drives the scrubbing device, King [0019]-[0021] and fig. 9), wherein the button activates the motor (switch 42 controls power to the motor, King [0019]), and further comprising an additional button (switch 46) that controls the distribution of cleaning solution (King [0031]).
Because the device of King would carry out the claimed steps of providing a motorized cleaning brush device comprised of a body comprised of a head comprised of a bristle, and a motor; filling the body with a liquid cleaning solution; pressing a button of the motorized cleaning brush device to expel the liquid cleaning solution out of a nozzle of the head; pressing the button to activate the motor to spin the bristle; and cleaning a surface via the bristles during its normal and usual operation, it anticipates the claimed process.
17. King teaches the method of using a motorized cleaning brush device of claim 16, wherein the motorized cleaning brush device comprises a cleaning blade (periphery of cover element over 102 is capable of use as a cleaning blade, see King fig. 3).
19. King teaches the method of using a motorized cleaning brush device of claim 17, further comprising a step of locking the body at a length via a locking member (one of ordinary skill would understand the members joining sections 50 of the telescopic handle 14 to lock the relative position of the telescopic sections, see King fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Maupin (US 4032239).
11. King teaches the motorized cleaning brush device of claim 7, but does not teach that the pivot point is comprised of a ball and socket joint.
However, Maupin teaches the use of a ball and socket joint as a pivot point in a cleaning device having a hollow handle through which fluid is distributed (Maupin 4:35-67 and fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used a ball and socket joint such as that taught by Maupin in the cleaning device of King, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one sort of known pivot joint for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Starr (US 3396417).
18. King teaches the method of using a motorized cleaning brush device of claim 17, but does not teach a step of using the cleaning blade to scrape the surface.
However, Starr teaches a method of using a motorized cleaning brush (Starr fig. 1) including a motor (50) configured to drive a brush head (20) including bristles (44) and a cleaning blade (squeegee 14), comprising a step of using the cleaning blade to scrape a surface being cleaned (Starr 3:23-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device and method of King according to the teachings of Starr such that the device included a flexible cleaning blade such as a squeegee and the method included a step of using the cleaning blade to scrape the surface, as doing so would reduce streaking when cleaning transparent or translucent surfaces such as a window (Starr 3:45-57).
Conclusion
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723