DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, 15-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2023/047703.
WO 2023/047703 teaches a method and a composition as claimed.
As to claims 22-23:
WO 2023/047703 teaches a composition comprising a sublimable compound and a solvent in volume proportions 1:40.
WO 2023/047703 exemplify acetoxime as the sublimable compound.
WO 2023/047703 also teaches alcohols as solvents and exemplify IPA as the solvent.
The disclosed volume proportions of acetoxime and IPA are readable on the weight percentages recited by claim 21 since the density of IPA is 0.785 g/cm3 the density of acetoxime is 0.911 g/cm3.
See the attached translation of the document. Especially Description of the embodiments, Parts 1-2, 1-6, 1-7, 3 Figures 1, 3, 5-11, 13-21 and the related description.
As to claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, and 15:
As to claims 1, 16 and 21:
WO 2023/047703 teaches a method comprising:
a) applying a surface treatment composition to a substrate having a pattern disposed on a surface thereof, wherein the surface treatment composition comprises at least one sublimable compound and at least one solvent;
b) solidifying the surface treatment composition on the surface; and c) removing by sublimation the sublimable compound disposed on the surface.
See at least Description of the embodiments, Parts 1-2, 1-6, 1-7, 3 Figures 1, 3, 5-11, 13-21 and the related description.
The pattern and the repeating structures recited by claim 1 are shown at least on Figure 1.
Since WO 2023/047703 teaches a specific compound recited by the dependent claim 7 (acetoxime) the limitation of “the at least one sublimable compound is capable of forming a crystal having a crystal system that is not a cubic or tetragonal crystal system”, which is recited by claim 1, is met by the disclosure of WO 2023/047703.
As to claims 3-5 and 7:
WO 2023/047703 exemplifies the use of acetoxime as the sublimable compound, which is recited by claim 7.
The limitations directed to the properties of the sublimable compound recited by claims 3-5 are met but the disclosure of the claimed acetoxime.
As to claims 8, 10, 11:
WO 2023/047703 teaches the solvents as claimed (alcohols) and teach the claimed amounts of the sublimable compound and the solvent.
As to claim 15:
WO 2023/047703 teaches surfaces as claimed. WO 2023/047703 teaches the surfaces comprising SiO2, SiN, etc.
As to claim 16:
WO 2023/047703 teaches a specific compound recited by the claim (acetoxime).
As to claims 17-19:
WO 2023/047703 teaches the solvents as claimed (alcohols) and teach the claimed amounts of the sublimable compound and the solvent.
As to claim 20:
WO 2023/047703 teaches surfaces as claimed. WO 2023/047703 teaches the surfaces comprising SiO2, SiN, etc.
As to claim 21:
The pattern and the repeating structures recited by claim 21 are shown at least on Figure 1.
The limitations directed to the properties of the sublimable compound recited by claim 21 are met but the disclosure of the acetoxime, which is the sublimable compound used by the applicants.
See at least Description of the embodiments, Parts 1-2, 1-6, 1-7, 3 Figures 1, 3, 5-11, 13-21 and the related description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/047703.
WO 2023/047703, as applied above, teaches the claimed method except for the specific recitation of the square pattern on the surface.
However, WO 2023/047703 does not restrict application of the disclosed method for any specific type of the pattern.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to apply the method of WO 2023/047703 to any type of pattern requiring processing in order to apply a known process for its known purpose and to have the substrate with a pattern processed.
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/047703 in view of JP 2022-546328.
As to claim 2:
WO 2023/047703, as applied above, teaches the claimed method except for the specific recitation of the size of the pattern.
However, WO 2023/047703 does not restrict application of the disclosed method for any specific size of the pattern.
On the other side, JP 2022-546328 evidences that it was known to process substrates with patterns as claimed by the methods utilizing sublimable compounds and solvents. See at least Summary.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to apply the method of WO 2023/047703 to any type of pattern, including the patterns disclosed by JP 2022-546328, requiring processing in order to apply a known process for its known purpose and to have the substrate with a pattern processed.
As to claim 9:
WO 2023/047703, as applied above, teaches the claimed method except for the specific recitation of the solvent with a vapor pressure as claimed.
However, WO 2023/047703 does not restrict application of the disclosed method to any specific solvent.
On the other side, JP 2022-546328 evidences that it was known to process substrates with patterns by the methods utilizing sublimable compounds and solvents and exemplify utilizing solvents such as PGMEA, which has the claimed vapor pressure. See at least Summary, claims.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to use PGMEA, which has the claimed vapor pressure, in the method of WO 2023/047703 in order to apply a known chemical for its known purpose.
AS to claims 12-14:
WO 2023/047703, as applied above, teaches the claimed method except for the specific recitation of the use of the modification agents as claimed.
On the other side, JP 2022-546328 evidences that it was known to process substrates with patterns by the methods utilizing sublimable compounds and solvents and modifiers. JP 2022-546328 also teaches the use of the modifiers as claimed. See at least Summary, Table 2 and the description at [0027-38], claims.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to use modifiers in the method of WO 2023/047703 in order to obtain benefits disclosed by JP 2022-546328 and in order to use a known chemical for its known purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show the state of the art with respect to the compositions and methods for processing substrates with sublimable compounds.
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711