DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi et al. (JP 2021-161337) in view of Tachibana et al., “Cellulose acetate butyrate as multifunctional additive for poly(butylene succinate) by melt blending: Mechanical properties, biomass carbon ratio, and control of biodegradability,” Polymer Degradation and Stability, Vol. 95, Issue 8, August 2010, pp. 1406-1413. The citations below for Koyanagi et al. are taken from an English language machine translation provided by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1-3, Koyanagi et al. teaches a molding composition comprising from 10 to 60% by mass (¶39) of pulp fibers and from 40 to 90% by mass (¶46) of a biodegradable resin (¶13). The pulp fiber is preferably pulp derived from broadleaf trees (cellulose fiber) (¶27) and the biodegradable resin is preferably polybutylene succinate or polybutylene succinate/adipate (both of which are aliphatic polyesters) (¶43). The molding composition may contain 10% by mass or less of an optional component such as a plasticizer or a thermoplastic resin (¶47).
Koyanagi et al. does not teach that the composition comprises from 4 to 25% by mass of esterified cellulose. However, Tachibana et al. teaches a blend of polybutylene succinate and cellulose acetate butyrate (esterified cellulose) (Abstract), wherein it is taught that adding 10% by mass of cellulose acetate butyrate to polybutylene succinate increased the strain at break (ductility) and the tensile strength (overall strength) of the composition (Section 3.3). Adding a small amount of cellulose acetate butyrate to the polybutylene succinate acts as a plasticizer for the resin (Section 3.3). Koyanagi et al. and Tachibana et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as that of the instant invention, namely that of aliphatic polyester compositions used for molding articles. At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add 10% of cellulose acetate butyrate, as taught by Tachibana et al., to the composition, as taught by Koyanagi et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the ductility and the strength of the composition (Section 3.3).
Regarding claim 4, if the aliphatic polyester is present in 40% by mass (XP) and the esterified cellulose is present in 10% by mass (XE), the equation is met with XP/XE = 4.
Regarding claim 5, the alkylenedicarboxylic acids used to form polybutylene succinate and polybutylene succinate/adipate are succinic acid and adipic acid. Succinic acid has an alkylene group containing 2 carbon atoms and adipic acid has an alkylene group containing 4 carbon atoms. The alkylenediol used to form the polyester is 1,4-butanediol which has a carbon chain length of 4 carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 6, cellulose acetate butyrate has an average carbon chain length of alkyl groups of 2.0 to 2.2, and has a DS value of 1.5 to 2.0 (¶112 of instant specification).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/757,700 (“the reference application”) in view of Tachibana et al., “Cellulose acetate butyrate as multifunctional additive for poly(butylene succinate) by melt blending: Mechanical properties, biomass carbon ratio, and control of biodegradability,” Polymer Degradation and Stability, Vol. 95, Issue 8, August 2010, pp. 1406-1413.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, claim 1 of the reference application teaches a molding material comprising cellulose fibers and a resin, wherein the resin includes a saturated aliphatic polyester and a highly polar polyester. Claim 5 of the reference application teaches that when a content of the saturated aliphatic polyester is regarded as 100 parts by mass, a content of the highly polar polyester is 10 to 70 parts by mass and a content of the cellulose fibers is 110 to 570 parts by mass. These values can provide an amount of cellulose fibers in the composition of from 39 to 84% by weight (calculated by Examiner)1.
The reference application does not teach that the composition comprises from 4 to 25% by mass of esterified cellulose. However, Tachibana et al. teaches a blend of polybutylene succinate and cellulose acetate butyrate (esterified cellulose) (Abstract), wherein it is taught that adding 10% by mass of cellulose acetate butyrate to polybutylene succinate increased the strain at break (ductility) and the tensile strength (overall strength) of the composition (Section 3.3). Adding a small amount of cellulose acetate butyrate to the polybutylene succinate acts as a plasticizer for the resin (Section 3.3). The reference application and Tachibana et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as that of the instant invention, namely that of aliphatic polyester compositions used for molding articles. At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add 10% of cellulose acetate butyrate, as taught by Tachibana et al., to the composition, as taught by Koyanagi et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the ductility and the strength of the composition (Section 3.3).
Regarding claim 2, claim 5 of the reference application teaches that when a content of the saturated aliphatic polyester is regarded as 100 parts by mass, a content of the highly polar polyester is 10 to 70 parts by mass and a content of the cellulose fibers is 110 to 570 parts by mass. These values can provide an amount of the aliphatic polyester of from 14 to 45% by mass (calculated by Examiner)2.
Regarding claim 4, with the amount of the aliphatic polyester (XP) being from 14 to 45% by mass as set forth above, and the amount of the esterified cellulose (XE) being 10% by mass, also as set forth above, XP/XE is from 1.4 to 4.5, which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, claim 6 of the reference application teaches that the saturated aliphatic polyester includes, as raw material monomers, an alkylene dicarboxylic acid which as an alkylene group with 2 to 8 carbon atoms and an alkylene diol with has an alkylene group with 2 to 8 carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 6, cellulose acetate butyrate has an average carbon chain length of alkyl groups of 2.0 to 2.2, and has a DS value of 1.5 to 2.0 (¶112 of instant specification).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/ANGELA C SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767
1 100 parts aliphatic polyester, 70 parts highly polar polyester, and 110 parts cellulose fiber provides for 39% by mass of the cellulose fiber; 100 parts aliphatic polyester, 10 parts highly polar polyester, and 570 parts cellulose fiber provides for 84% by mass of the cellulose fiber.
2 100 parts aliphatic polyester, 70 parts highly polar polyester, and 570 parts cellulose fiber provides for 14% by mass of the aliphatic polyester; 100 parts aliphatic polyester, 10 parts highly polar polyester, and 110 parts cellulose fiber provides for 45% by mass of the aliphatic polyester.