DETAILED ACTION
Intended use
2. It is noted that the claims have “intended use” language such as “receptive of the inlet conduit” and “receptive of the outlet conduit” and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “into contract” in line 10 includes a drafting error. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “into contact”. Appropriate correction is required.
4. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “comprising one of a thermal interface material (TIM) layer and an adhesive layer” in lines 1-2 is improper alternative claiming. Alternative claiming may be set forth as "a material (or at least one material) selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is (or is at least one of) A, B, or C" see MPEP 2173.05(h). For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “comprising one of a thermal interface material (TIM) layer or an adhesive layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “into contract” in line 15 includes a drafting error. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “into contact”. Appropriate correction is required.
6. Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “comprising one of a thermal interface material (TIM) layer and an adhesive layer” in lines 1-2 is improper alternative claiming. Alternative claiming may be set forth as "a material (or at least one material) selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is (or is at least one of) A, B, or C" see MPEP 2173.05(h). For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “comprising one of a thermal interface material (TIM) layer or an adhesive layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campeau (US2018/0301774).
Regarding claim 1, Campeau discloses a battery assembly ([0011], Figs. 6-8) comprising: a housing including a battery cell support surface and a plurality of side walls that collectively define an interior zone(see battery 86 with housing 88 in Fig. 6, [0044] and battery 114 in Fig. 7); a plurality of battery cells arranged in the interior zone(power generating modules [0045]); a heat exchange member mounted to the housing(heat exchange bladder 116, Fig. 7, [0047]), the heat exchange member including a bottom plate(Fig. 7); and a cooling system arranged in the heat exchange member, the cooling system including an inflatable bladder arranged between the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate(see heat exchange bladder 116 in Fig. 7, [0021]), the inflatable bladder being selectively inflated with a cooling fluid to be brought into contact with the battery cell support surface([0034]).
Regarding claim 11, Campeau discloses a vehicle (110, Fig. 7) comprising: a body(Fig. 7); a plurality of wheels supporting the body(Fig. 7); an electric drive unit supported in the body(claim 28); and a battery assembly operatively connected to the electric drive unit(114, Fig. 7, claim 28), the battery assembly comprising: a housing including a battery cell support surface and a plurality of side walls that collectively define an interior zone (see battery 86 with housing 88 in Fig. 6, [0044] and battery 114 in Fig. 7); a plurality of battery cells arranged in the interior zone (power generating modules [0045]); a heat exchange member mounted to the housing (heat exchange bladder 116, Fig. 7, [0047]), the heat exchange member including a bottom plate (Fig. 7); and a cooling system arranged in the heat exchange member, the cooling system including an inflatable bladder arranged between the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate (see heat exchange bladder 116 in Fig. 7, [0021]), the inflatable bladder being selectively inflated with a cooling fluid to be brought into contact with the battery cell support surface ([0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 2, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campeau (US2018/0301774) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Volkmann (US2020/0328485).
Regarding claim 2, Campeau discloses the bladder 16 may be scaled by providing multiple modular bladders added in series (or parallel) in the fluid path 20 to offer additional cooling as needed based on calculated heat dissipation requirements([0028]) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of channels extending between the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate, wherein the inflatable bladder comprises a plurality of inflatable bladders, each of the plurality of inflatable bladders being arranged in a corresponding one of the plurality of channels.
Volkmann teaches a system and method for protecting a battery from thermal runaway and/or fire([0001]). Volkmann teaches the battery housing 102 has multiple inlets 108 and one outlet 110, six battery cells a, b, c, d, e, f positioned within the battery housing 102; and four inflators 202(Fig. 2, [0051]). Volkmann teaches the inflators are connected to the battery housing through four conduits 204 in order to provide quick and effective cooling to the battery cells in which abnormality occurred(Fig. 2, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery assembly of Campeau with a plurality of channels, wherein the inflatable bladder comprises a plurality of inflatable bladders, each of the plurality of inflatable bladders being arranged in a corresponding one of the plurality of channels as taught by Volkmann in order to provide quick and effective cooling to the battery cells in which abnormality occurred.
Regarding claim 8, modified Campeau discloses the battery cell support surface fluidically isolates the interior zone from the plurality of inflatable bladders (Campeau, see battery 114 and heat exchange bladder in Fig. 7, and Volkmann, see battery housing 102 and inflators 202 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Campeau discloses the bottom plate includes a non-planar surface having a plurality of projections, each of the plurality of projections extending towards corresponding ones of the plurality of channels(Campeau, see bladder 80 with external support surface 78 in Fig. 8).
13. Claim(s) 3, 4, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campeau (US2018/0301774), and further in view of Volkmann (US2020/0328485) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Wang et al. (US 9,312,571) as cited in IDS dated 5/22/25.
Regarding claim 3, modified Campeau does not explicitly disclose further comprising a cooling fluid supply system including an inlet manifold having an inlet conduit fluidically connected to each of the plurality of inflatable bladders and an outlet manifold having an outlet conduit fluidically connected to each of the plurality of inflatable bladders.
Wang teaches traction battery thermal plate with flexible bladder (title). Wang teaches inlet plenums, outlet plenums, and manifolds may also be arranged with the ports and the flexible bladder 190 to assist in obtaining a desired fluid flow therein(Col. 7, lines 61-64). Wang teaches while the inlet port 194 is shown in a central location of one of the side portions of the flexible bladder 190, it is contemplated that the inlet port 194 may be positioned in alternative locations (Col. 7, line 67 to Col. 8, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Campeau with a cooling fluid supply system including an inlet manifold and an outlet manifold as taught by Wang as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 4, modified Campeau discloses the heat exchange member includes a first edge, a second edge opposite the first edge, a first side edge, and a second side edge opposite the first side edge (Campeau, see left, right, front, rear sides of heat exchange bladder 116 in Fig. 7), a first stiffening member extends along the first edge, and a second stiffening member extends along the second edge(Campeau, see chassis 112 in Fig. 7), the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member being joined to the bottom plate (Campeau, Fig. 7) but does not explicitly disclose the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member being joined to the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Campeau with the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member being joined to the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate since the heat exchange bladder when relocated under the chassis can contact the battery cell support surface as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 10, modified Campeau discloses further comprising one of a thermal interface material (TIM) layer arranged between the plurality of battery cells and the battery cell support surface(Wang, Col. 5, lines 61-63).
14. Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campeau (US2018/0301774), and further in view of Volkmann (US2020/0328485), further in view of Wang et al. (US 9,312,571) as cited in IDS dated 5/22/25 as applied to claims 1-4 above, further in view of Bellenfant et al. (US 2023/0272983).
Regarding claim 5, modified Campeau does not explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of stiffening elements extending between and connected to the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member, each of the plurality of channels being defined by adjacent ones of the plurality of stiffening elements.
Bellenfant teaches a system 1 having a set of battery cells 2 to be cooled, for example rowed in one row or two or more rows, and a thermal regulation device 10 arranged to cool the battery cells 2(Figs. 1 & 2, [0046]). Bellenfant teaches the thermal regulation device 10 has a first external plate 11 and a second external plate 12, and also a central member (denoted with reference number 13 in FIGS. 1-3) disposed between the first and second external plates 11 and 12, this central member 13 comprising reliefs 14 arranged to form, with the external plates 11 and 12, two layers 15 and 16 of circulation channels for a heat-transfer fluid, these layers 15 and 16 being on either side of the central member 13, these two layers 15 and 16 having the same heat-transfer fluid circulation direction([0048]). Bellenfant teaches the heat exchanges between the thermal regulation device 10 and the battery cells 2 to be cooled, in particular when this direct contact is over a relatively large surface area, can be optimal([0050]). Bellenfant teaches the reliefs 14 on the central member 13 that form the channels 18 have ribs 20(Fig. 2, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Campeau with a plurality of stiffening elements extending between and connected to the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member, each of the plurality of channels being defined by adjacent ones of the plurality of stiffening elements as taught by Bellenfant as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 6, modified Campeau discloses select ones of the plurality of stiffening elements include a first recess that is receptive of the inlet conduit and a second recess that is receptive of the outlet conduit(Bellenfant, channels 18 in Fig. 2).
15. Claim(s) 12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campeau (US2018/0301774) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Volkmann (US2020/0328485).
Regarding claim 12, Campeau discloses the bladder 16 may be scaled by providing multiple modular bladders added in series (or parallel) in the fluid path 20 to offer additional cooling as needed based on calculated heat dissipation requirements([0028]) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of channels extending between the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate, wherein the inflatable bladder comprises a plurality of inflatable bladders, each of the plurality of inflatable bladders being arranged in a corresponding one of the plurality of channels.
Volkmann teaches a system and method for protecting a battery from thermal runaway and/or fire([0001]). Volkmann teaches the battery housing 102 has multiple inlets 108 and one outlet 110, six battery cells a, b, c, d, e, f positioned within the battery housing 102; and four inflators 202(Fig. 2, [0051]). Volkmann teaches the inflators are connected to the battery housing through four conduits 204 in order to provide quick and effective cooling to the battery cells in which abnormality occurred(Fig. 2, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery assembly of Campeau with a plurality of channels, wherein the inflatable bladder comprises a plurality of inflatable bladders, each of the plurality of inflatable bladders being arranged in a corresponding one of the plurality of channels as taught by Volkmann in order to provide quick and effective cooling to the battery cells in which abnormality occurred.
Regarding claim 18, modified Campeau discloses the battery cell support surface fluidically isolates the interior zone from the plurality of inflatable bladders (Campeau, see battery 114 and heat exchange bladder in Fig. 7, and Volkmann, see battery housing 102 and inflators 202 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, modified Campeau discloses the bottom plate includes a non-planar surface having a plurality of projections, each of the plurality of projections extending towards corresponding ones of the plurality of channels(Campeau, see bladder 80 with external support surface 78 in Fig. 8).
16. Claim(s) 13, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campeau (US2018/0301774), and further in view of Volkmann (US2020/0328485) as applied to claims 11 and 12 above, further in view of Wang et al. (US 9,312,571) as cited in IDS dated 5/22/25.
Regarding claim 13, modified Campeau does not explicitly disclose further comprising a cooling fluid supply system including an inlet manifold having an inlet conduit fluidically connected to each of the plurality of inflatable bladders and an outlet manifold having an outlet conduit fluidically connected to each of the plurality of inflatable bladders.
Wang teaches traction battery thermal plate with flexible bladder (title). Wang teaches inlet plenums, outlet plenums, and manifolds may also be arranged with the ports and the flexible bladder 190 to assist in obtaining a desired fluid flow therein(Col. 7, lines 61-64). Wang teaches while the inlet port 194 is shown in a central location of one of the side portions of the flexible bladder 190, it is contemplated that the inlet port 194 may be positioned in alternative locations (Col. 7, line 67 to Col. 8, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Campeau with a cooling fluid supply system including an inlet manifold and an outlet manifold as taught by Wang as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 14, modified Campeau discloses the heat exchange member includes a first edge, a second edge opposite the first edge, a first side edge, and a second side edge opposite the first side edge (Campeau, see left, right, front, rear sides of heat exchange bladder 116 in Fig. 7), a first stiffening member extends along the first edge, and a second stiffening member extends along the second edge(Campeau, see chassis 112 in Fig. 7), the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member being joined to the bottom plate (Campeau, Fig. 7) but does not explicitly disclose the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member being joined to the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Campeau with the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member being joined to the battery cell support surface and the bottom plate since the heat exchange bladder when relocated under the chassis can contact the battery cell support surface as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 20, modified Campeau discloses further comprising one of a thermal interface material (TIM) layer arranged between the plurality of battery cells and the battery cell support surface(Wang, Col. 5, lines 61-63).
17. Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campeau (US2018/0301774), and further in view of Volkmann (US2020/0328485), further in view of Wang et al. (US 9,312,571) as cited in IDS dated 5/22/25 as applied to claims 11-14 above, further in view of Bellenfant et al. (US 2023/0272983).
Regarding claim 15, modified Campeau does not explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of stiffening elements extending between and connected to the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member, each of the plurality of channels being defined by adjacent ones of the plurality of stiffening elements.
Bellenfant teaches a system 1 having a set of battery cells 2 to be cooled, for example rowed in one row or two or more rows, and a thermal regulation device 10 arranged to cool the battery cells 2(Figs. 1 & 2, [0046]). Bellenfant teaches the thermal regulation device 10 has a first external plate 11 and a second external plate 12, and also a central member (denoted with reference number 13 in FIGS. 1-3) disposed between the first and second external plates 11 and 12, this central member 13 comprising reliefs 14 arranged to form, with the external plates 11 and 12, two layers 15 and 16 of circulation channels for a heat-transfer fluid, these layers 15 and 16 being on either side of the central member 13, these two layers 15 and 16 having the same heat-transfer fluid circulation direction([0048]). Bellenfant teaches the heat exchanges between the thermal regulation device 10 and the battery cells 2 to be cooled, in particular when this direct contact is over a relatively large surface area, can be optimal([0050]). Bellenfant teaches the reliefs 14 on the central member 13 that form the channels 18 have ribs 20(Fig. 2, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Campeau with a plurality of stiffening elements extending between and connected to the first stiffening member and the second stiffening member, each of the plurality of channels being defined by adjacent ones of the plurality of stiffening elements as taught by Bellenfant as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 16, modified Campeau discloses select ones of the plurality of stiffening elements include a first recess that is receptive of the inlet conduit and a second recess that is receptive of the outlet conduit(Bellenfant, channels 18 in Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is each of the plurality of stiffening elements includes a vent passage, the battery cell support surface including a plurality of vent gas passages that fluidically connect the interior zone and the vent passage.
Bellenfant does not disclose, teach or render obvious each of the plurality of stiffening elements includes a vent passage, the battery cell support surface including a plurality of vent gas passages that fluidically connect the interior zone and the vent passage.
19. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is each of the plurality of stiffening elements includes a vent passage, the battery cell support surface including a plurality of vent gas passages that fluidically connect the interior zone and the vent passage.
Bellenfant does not disclose, teach or render obvious each of the plurality of stiffening elements includes a vent passage, the battery cell support surface including a plurality of vent gas passages that fluidically connect the interior zone and the vent passage.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724