DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai (JP 2008071680 A) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation) in view of Chai (CN 211705372 U) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kanai teaches a treatment device using active oxygen (Fig. 5, device 1), the treatment device comprising:
an ultraviolet transmission member (Fig. 5, transmissive partition wall 26, page 8, para 1); and
a first chamber (Fig. 5, 16) and a second chamber (Fig. 5, chamber 2) adjacent to each other separated by the ultraviolet transmission member (Fig. 5, chambers separated by transmission member 23) , wherein
the first chamber is capable of accommodating a treatment target (Fig. 5, chamber accommodates treatment target 18),
the second chamber comprises an ultraviolet light source (Fig. 1, UV lamp 3),
the ultraviolet light source is capable of irradiating a surface of the treatment target, which is accommodated in the first chamber, with ultraviolet light (page 5, para 5), and
Kinai teaches wherein the ultraviolet light can generate ozone within the first chamber to sterilize the treatment target via the decomposition of oxygen molecules (page 5, para 5) and wherein the treatment target may be placed on a scissored support machine (Fig. 5, 19). However, Kinai does not teach wherein a distance between the ultraviolet transmission member and the surface of the treatment target can be adjusted to 10 mm or less.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with ensuring effective sterilization for treatment targets, despite their size, motivating one to turn towards Chai. Chai teaches an ultraviolet sterilization chamber comprising an ultraviolet lamp (Fig. 2, 8) and a lifting device (Fig. 2, plate 2 and cylinder 3) configured to hold a medical appliance, wherein the lifting device is configured to adjust the height of the lifting plate (page 4, para 1-4) to ensure the device is effectively exposed to ultraviolet light regardless of its size (page 3, para 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support machine as taught by Kinai to include the lifting device as taught by Chai because Chai teaches the lifting device to help ensure a target treatment object device effectively exposed to ultraviolet light regardless of its size (page 3, para 1-4). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Accordingly, Modified Kinai teaches wherein a distance between the ultraviolet transmission member and the surface of the treatment target can be adjusted (Chai, Fig. 2, height of lifting device 2 and 3 can be vertically adjusted, page 4, para 1-4). While Modified Kinai does not explicitly teach wherein the distance may be 10 mm or less, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the distance as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) that is dependent on the size of the treatment target. Because of this, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable (i.e. the optimal height to ensure effective sterilization of a target object) can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the ultraviolet transmission member and the surface of the treatment target to be 10 mm or less.
Modified Kinai does not teach wherein the first chamber comprises an ozone generator. One having ordinary skill would seek to supplement the amount of ozone within the first chamber in the event that the ultraviolet light does not produce an optimal amount for sterilization, motivating one to turn towards Chai.
Chai further teaches an ultraviolet lamp (Fig. 2, 8) configured to emit UV light and generate ozone to disinfect a medical device (page 4, para 1-4) within a chamber (Fig. 1, cavity 1), wherein the chamber can further comprise an ozone generating device to supplement the ozone concentration within the cavity and ensure an adequate concentration of ozone is present to sterilize the medical device (page 12, para 12; page 5, para 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first chamber as taught by Modified Kinai with the ozone generating device as taught by Chai because Chai teaches the ozone generating device to supplement an ozone concentration within a treatment chamber (page 12, para 12; page 5, para 1). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Kinai teaches the treatment device using active oxygen according to claim 1, wherein the distance between the ultraviolet transmission member and the surface of the treatment target accommodated in the first chamber is configured to be variable adjusted (Chai, Fig. 2, height of lifting device 2 and 3 can be vertically adjusted, page 4, para 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Kinai teaches the treatment device using active oxygen according to claim 1, wherein the first chamber is surrounded by a wall provided with the ultraviolet transmission member (Kinai, Fig. 5, first chamber 16 is surrounded by a wall provided with ultraviolet transmission member 26) and a wall separating the outside of the treatment device from the inside of the first chamber (Kinai, Fig. 5, wall 17).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Kinai teaches the treatment device using active oxygen according to claim 1, wherein the ultraviolet light emitted by the ultraviolet light source has a peak wavelength of 220 to 310 nm (Kinai, page 2, para 1).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Kinai teaches the treatment device using active oxygen according to claim 1 including an ultraviolet light (Kinai, page 5, para 5), but does not teach wherein the ultraviolet light on the surface of the treatment target has an illuminance of 2.5 μW/cm2 or more.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the irradiance of the ultraviolet light delivered to the treatment target as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) that is dependent on the wavelength and power of the light. Because of this, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the ultraviolet light as taught by Modified Kinai to deliver an illuminance of 2.5 μW/cm2 or more to the treatment target.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Kinai teaches the treatment device using active oxygen according to claim 1 including an ozone generating device (Chai, page 12, para 12; page 5, para 1), but does not teach wherein an amount of ozone generated in the ozone generator per unit time without irradiation of the ultraviolet light is 5 μg/min or more.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the rate of ozone generator by the ozone generator in the absence of the ultraviolet light as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) that is dependent on how much ozone needs to be supplemented to the treatment chamber (Chai, page 12, para 12; page 5, para 1).. Because of this, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the ultraviolet light as taught by Modified Kinai to generate ozone at a rate of 5 μg/min or more to supplement an effective amount of ozone to the treatment chamber.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai (JP 2008071680 A) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation) in view of Chai (CN 211705372 U) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Serizawa (JP 2016030008 A) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Kinai teaches the treatment device using active oxygen according to claim 3, but does not teach wherein the wall separating the outside of the treatment device from the inside of the first chamber is provided with means for controlling circulation of a gas between the outside of the treatment device and the inside of the first chamber.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with regulating the concentration of ozone within the treatment chamber, motivating one to turn towards Serizawa. Serizawa teaches a disinfection system comprising a processing chamber and ultraviolet device, where the ultraviolet device is configured to generate ozone within the chamber (page 2, para 2-5). Serizawa further teaches an exhaust means (Fig. 1, 42) connected to the inside of the processing chamber and an external environment of the chamber to regulate the amount of ozone within the chamber (page 2, para 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first chamber as taught by Modified Kinai with the exhaust means as taught by Serizawa because Serizawa teaches the exhaust means to regulate the amount of ozone contained within a treatment chamber (page 2, para 6-7). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799