DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6-15 have been amended. The status of claim 1-20 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Sadeghi fails to disclose or suggest “the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path on a multi-path channel; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna” recited in each of independent claims.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because the recited claim limitations have been pulled from the dependent claims and the aforementioned claim elements were recited in alternative language. To address the added claim limitations, the Examiner has made a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10, 12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghi et al (US 2020/0359248 A1, IDS) in view of MERLIN et al (US 2022/0329330 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi et al (US 2020/0359248 A1, IDS) discloses a method for measuring a sensing signal (see, sensing measurements by one or more STAs designated as the sensing receivers, section 0021-0022), comprising: sending (see, the STA 104 as the operating sensing initiator, sends a request to the AP STA 102 to initiate sensing service, section 0027), by a terminal (see, STA 104 that sends the request to AP STA 102, section 0027), comprising: obtaining (see, the AP STA finds STAs that are available, generates measurement report based on sensing request sent by the STA1 104, section 0026), by a first network device (see, the AP STA 102, based on request, triggers the transmission of trigger frame in relation to sensor measurements, section 0026-0027), a sensing signal sent by a terminal (see, the AP STA 102, based on request, triggers the transmission of trigger frame in relation to sensor measurements, section 0026-0027); and obtaining, by the first network device based on the sensing signal a measurement result (see, the measurement report frames may comprise indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by the STAs, section 0024, 0027) corresponding to a first measurement amount (see, determining of sensing measurements from the UL sending packet, receiving of measurement reports from the STAS designated as sensing receivers, the measurement report include indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by STAs section 0023-0024); wherein the first measurement amount is a measurement amount related to the sensing signal (section 0023-0024-the measurement report is based on measurement from the UL sensing packets).
Sadeghi ‘248 discloses all the claim limitations in the above rejection but fails to disclose: the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path on a multi-path channel; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
However, MERLIN et al (US 2022/0329330 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path (see, CSI with respect to angle of arrival and timer flight for direct signal paths, section 0076-0077) on a multi-path channel (see, using RF signals to determine characteristics (RSSI/CSI) received the sending devices (e.g., access points and/or wireless devices), section 0089, noted: CSI/CSI in relation to sensing measurement of two paths, section 0109-0110); a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna (see, angle of arrival of Rx between individual elements of a receive antenna array, section 0066, 0089); or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the sensing method and apparatus for determining of RF sensing coverage based on estimated measurement of angle of arrival, phase difference between antenna elements or arrays as taught by MERLIN ‘330 into the WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 by encapsulating the angle of arrival and the phase difference between the antenna panels into a measurement frame. The motivation would have been to provide real time feedback that improves the deployment of radio frequency sensing devices (section 0033).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before the obtaining the sensing signal sent by the terminal, the method further comprises: sending, by the first network device, first indication information to a second network device and/or the terminal; wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement (see, see, when the AP STA 102 operates as the sensing initiator, sends a trigger frame to trigger the STAs to regularly/periodically transmit UL sensing packets to the SP STA 102, section 0023), first configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the first network device, and recommended configuration information of the first network device; or, wherein after the obtaining, based on the sensing signal, the measurement result corresponding to the first measurement amount, the method further comprises: obtaining a sensing result fed back by a second network device or the terminal based on first indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, first configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the first network device, and recommended configuration information of the first network device; the sensing result is a sensing result obtained by the second network device or the terminal based on the measurement result of the first network device.
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein after the sending the first indication information to the second network device and/or the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving a first sensing requirement response message (see, sensing response as agreement to participate in sensing session, section 0031-0032) or a second sensing requirement response message that is sent by the terminal (see, the STAs send UL sensing packets with respect to sensing measurements, section 0021-0023); and sending the first sensing requirement response message or the second sensing requirement response message to the second network device; wherein the first sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal agrees to participate in a sensing service, and the second sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal refuses to participate in a sensing service.
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the first network device, the first measurement amount sent by a second network device or the terminal (see, each measurement events of sensing session , section 0031-0032, noted: sensor measurements that were measured by other non-STAs, section 0023-0028); or determining the first measurement amount based on a sensing requirement; or, wherein after the obtaining, based on the sensing signal, a measurement result corresponding to a first measurement amount, the method further comprises: sending the measurement result to the second network device or the terminal; or, wherein after the obtaining, based on the sensing signal, a measurement result corresponding to a first measurement amount, the method further comprises: determining a sensing result based on the measurement result; and sending the sensing result to the second network device or the terminal (see, the measurement report frames may comprise indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by the STAs, section 0024, 0027); or, wherein the first measurement amount further comprises at least one of the following: a channel matrix H; received signal strength indication (RSSI); reference signal received power (RSRP); channel state information (CSI); Doppler spread; Doppler frequency shift; a feature difference between an in phase signal and a quadrature signal; and angle-related information.
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi ‘248 discloses a method for measuring a sensing signal (see, sensing measurements by one or more STAs designated as the sensing receivers, section 0021-0022), comprising: sending, by a terminal (see, the wireless device as an AP STA 102 as the sensing initiator, transmits a trigger frame or sensing packets to the STAs that have been designated as sensing receivers, section 0023-0024), a sensing signal to a first network device (see, DL sensing packet to STA 1, then the STAT transmits UL sensing packets to the AP STA 102, section 0022-0024), wherein the sensing signal is used for obtaining a measurement result (see, the measurement report frames may comprise indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by the STAs, section 0024, 0027) corresponding to a first measurement amount (see, determining of sensing measurements from the UL sending packet, receiving of measurement reports from the STAS designated as sensing receivers, the measurement report include indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by STAs section 0023-0024);, the first measurement amount is a measurement amount related to the sensing signal (section 0023-0024-the measurement report is based on measurement from the UL sensing packets), and the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path on a multi-path channel; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
Sadeghi ‘248 discloses all the claim limitations in the above rejection but fails to disclose: the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path on a multi-path channel; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
However, MERLIN et al (US 2022/0329330 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path (see, CSI with respect to angle of arrival and timer flight for direct signal paths, section 0076-0077) on a multi-path channel (see, using RF signals to determine characteristics (RSSI/CSI) received the sending devices (e.g., access points and/or wireless devices), section 0089, noted: CSI/CSI in relation to sensing measurement of two paths, section 0109-0110); a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna (see, angle of arrival of Rx between individual elements of a receive antenna array, section 0066, 0089); or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the sensing method and apparatus for determining of RF sensing coverage based on estimated measurement of angle of arrival, phase difference between antenna elements or arrays as taught by MERLIN ‘330 into the WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 by encapsulating the angle of arrival and the phase difference between the antenna panels into a measurement frame. The motivation would have been to provide real time feedback that improves the deployment of radio frequency sensing devices (section 0033).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, the first measurement amount sent by the first network device or a second network device (see, the measurement report frame may comprise indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by the STAs, section 0024, 0027); or determining the first measurement amount based on a sensing requirement ; or, wherein after the sending a sensing signal to a first network device, the method further comprises: obtaining the measurement result sent by the first network device, wherein the measurement result is a measurement result that is corresponding to the first measurement amount and that is obtained by the first network device based on the sensing signal (noted: the measurements are determined based on the sensing signal, section 0023-0028), and determining a sensing result based on the measurement result, or sending the measurement result to a second network device; wherein after the determining the sensing result based on the measurement result, the method further comprises: sending the sensing result to the first network device or the second network device.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi et al (US 2020/0359248 A1) discloses a method for measuring a sensing signal (see, sensing measurements from UL sensing packets, section 0023), comprising: sending (see, AP station 102 sending a trigger frame for transmission following downlink sensing packet, section 0024), by a second network device (see, the AP STA 102 which encodes and sends the trigger frame for transmission to the STAs, section 0023), second indication information to a first network device and/or a terminal (see, the trigger frame which trigger the STAs to periodically transmit UL packets to the AP STA 102, section 0023), wherein the second indication information is used to instruct the terminal to send a sensing signal (see, the STAs send UL sending packets upon reception of the encoded trigger frame, section 0023-0024), and/or the second indication information is used to instruct the first network device to receive a sensing signal and obtain (noted: the trigger frame 806 triggers the STAs to regularly/periodically transmit UL sensing packets to the AP STA 102, section 0023), based on the sensing signal (see, determining of sensing measurements from the UL sending packet, receiving of measurement reports from the STAS designates as sensing receivers, section 0024), a measurement result corresponding to a first measurement amount (see, the measurement report frames may comprise indicators of the sensing measurements that measured by the STAs, section 0024, 0027); wherein the first measurement amount is a measurement amount related to the sensing signal (section 0023-0024-the measurement report is based on measurement from the UL sensing packets).
Sadeghi ‘248 discloses all the claim limitations in the above rejection but fails to disclose: the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path on a multi-path channel; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
However, MERLIN et al (US 2022/0329330 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the first measurement amount comprises at least one of the following: at least one of power, delay or angle information of each path (see, CSI with respect to angle of arrival and timer flight for direct signal paths, section 0076-0077) on a multi-path channel (see, using RF signals to determine characteristics (RSSI/CSI) received the sending devices (e.g., access points and/or wireless devices), section 0089, noted: CSI/CSI in relation to sensing measurement of two paths, section 0109-0110); a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna (see, angle of arrival of Rx between individual elements of a receive antenna array, section 0066, 0089); or a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the sensing method and apparatus for determining of RF sensing coverage based on estimated measurement of angle of arrival, phase difference between antenna elements or arrays as taught by MERLIN ‘330 into the WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 by encapsulating the angle of arrival and the phase difference between the antenna panels into a measurement frame. The motivation would have been to provide real time feedback that improves the deployment of radio frequency sensing devices (section 0033).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein after the sending second indication information to the first network device and/or the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving first sensing requirement response information or a second sensing requirement response message that is sent by the terminal or the first network device; wherein the first sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal agrees to participate in a sensing service, and the second sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal refuses to participate in a sensing service (see, sensing response as agreement to participate in sensing session, section 0031-0032); or, wherein the method further comprises: determining the first measurement amount based on a sensing requirement; and sending the first measurement amount to the first network device or the terminal.
Regarding claim 16, Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a measurement result sent by the first network device or the terminal (noted: the initiating STA whether the AP STA and the other STAs as sensing transmitter/receiver, receives the measurements generated by the sensing receivers, section 0021-0027); and determining a sensing result based on the measurement result; wherein the method further comprises: sending the sensing result to the first network device or the terminal (see, sensing measurements from the UL sensing packets sent in a measurement report, that is provided to the sensing initiator, section 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 17, Sadeghi ‘248 discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a sensing result sent by the first network device or the terminal (see, sensing measurements that include CSI, section 0021-0023) wherein the sensing result is obtained based on the measurement result (see, sensing measurements from the UL sensing packets sent in a measurement report, section 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 18, Sadeghi ‘248 discloses a network device (fig. 14, wireless communication device 1400, the device can bet an access point (AP), non-AP STA, devices participated in the WLAN sensing, section 0035-0037) wherein the network device is a first network device and comprises a processor (fig. 14, the wireless communication device includes one or more processors configured with instructions stored on computer-readable storage device, section 0040-0042), a memory (fig. 14, memory 1408 coupled to a processing circuitry 1406, section 0035-0040), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can run on the processor (see, the stored instructions on the computer-readable storage device that is executed by the processing circuitry, 0040-0042), and when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (see, the stored instructions on the computer-readable storage device that is executed by the processing circuitry, 0040-0042),, steps of the method for measuring a sensing signal according to claim 1 are implemented (see, STA performs sensing measurements based on the UL sensing packets, section 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 19, Sadeghi ‘248 discloses a terminal (fig. 14, the communication device as STA, section 0035-0037), comprising a processor (fig. 14, the wireless communication device includes one or more processors configured with instructions stored on computer-readable storage device, section 0040-0042), a memory (fig. 14, memory 1408 coupled to a processing circuitry 1406, section 0035-0040), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can run on the processor a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can run on the processor (fig. 14, the memory includes a computer-readable storage device that is read by the processor, section 0037), wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (see, the stored instructions on the computer-readable storage device that is executed by the processing circuitry, 0040-0042), steps of the method for measuring a sensing signal according to claim 7 are implemented (see, sensing measurements from UL sensing packets, section 0023).
Regarding claim 20, Sadeghi ‘248 discloses a network device (fig. 14, wireless communication device configurable for WALN sensing, section), wherein the network device is a second network device and comprises a processor (fig. 14, the wireless communication device includes one or more processors configured with instructions stored on computer-readable storage device, section 0040-0042), a memory (fig. 14, memory 1408 coupled to a processing circuitry 1406, section 0035-0040), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can run on the processor (fig. 14, the memory includes a computer-readable storage device that is read by the processor, section 0037), and when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (see, the stored instructions on the computer-readable storage device that is executed by the processing circuitry, 0040-0042), steps of the method for measuring a sensing signal according to claim 12 are implemented (see, sensing measurements from UL sensing packets, section 0023).
Claims 3, 5, 8-9, 11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghi et al (US 2020/0359248 A1) in view of MERLIN et al (US 2022/0329330 A1) as applied claims 1, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of DU et al (US 2024/0155702 A1, Foreign Priority: 14, 2021).
The combination of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘330 substantially discloses all the claim limitations above but fails to explicitly disclose:
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining the sensing signal sent by the terminal comprises: determining configuration information of the sensing signal; and receiving the sensing signal based on the configuration information; wherein the determining configuration information of the sensing signal comprises: receiving second indication information sent by a second network device and/or third indication information sent by the terminal; and determining configuration information of the sensing signal based on the second indication information and/or the third indication information; wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, second configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the second network device, and recommended configuration information of the second network device; and the third indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, third configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the terminal, and recommended configuration information of the terminal; wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the first network device; the second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the second network device; and the third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the terminal; wherein the first network device determines the first configuration information by using at least one of the following: the sensing requirement; the capability information of the second network device; the recommended configuration information of the second network device; the capability information of the terminal; and the recommended configuration information of the terminal.
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 3, wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: a waveform of the sensing signal; a subcarrier spacing of the sensing signal; a guard interval of the sensing signal; bandwidth of the sensing signal; burst duration of the sensing signal; a time domain interval of the sensing signal; transmit signal power of the sensing signal; a signal format of the sensing signal; a signal direction of the sensing signal; a time resource of the sensing signal; a frequency resource of the sensing signal; and a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship of the sensing signal.
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 7, wherein the sending the sensing signal to the first network device comprises: determining configuration information of the sensing signal; and sending the sensing signal to the first network device based on the configuration information; wherein the determining configuration information of the sensing signal comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the first network device and/or second indication information sent by a second network device; and determining the configuration information of the sensing signal based on the first indication information and/or the second indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, first configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the first network device, and recommended configuration information of the first network device; and the second indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, second configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the second network device, and recommended configuration information of the second network device; wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the first network device; second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the second network device; and third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the terminal; wherein the terminal determines the third configuration information by using at least one of the following: a sensing requirement; capability information of the first network device; recommended configuration information of the first network device; capability information of the second network device; and recommended configuration information of the second network device.
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 8, wherein after the receiving the first indication information sent by the first network device and/or second indication information sent by the second network device, the method further comprises: sending first sensing requirement response information to the first network device or the second network device in a case that it is determined, based on the first indication information and/or the second indication information, to participate in a sensing service, wherein the first sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal agrees to participate in the sensing service; or sending second sensing requirement response information to the first network device or the second network device in a case that it is determined, based on the first indication information and/or the second indication information, not to participate in a sensing service, wherein the second sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal refuses to participate in the sensing service.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 7, wherein before the sending the sensing signal to the first network device, the method further comprises: sending third indication information to the first network device and/or a second network device, wherein the third indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, third configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the terminal, and recommended configuration information of the terminal.
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 12, wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, second configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the second network device, and recommended configuration information of the second network device; or, wherein before the sending the second indication information to the first network device and/or a terminal, the method further comprises: receiving target indication information, wherein the target indication information comprises at least one of first indication information sent by the first network device, third indication information sent by the terminal, and fourth indication information sent by an application server; and determining configuration information of the sensing signal based on the target indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, first configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the first network device, and recommended configuration information of the first network device; the third indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, third configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the terminal, and recommended configuration information of the terminal; and the fourth indication information comprises a sensing requirement.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 13, wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: the first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the first network device; the second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the second network device; and the third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the terminal; wherein the second network device determines the second configuration information by using at least one of the following: a sensing requirement; capability information of the terminal; recommended configuration information of the terminal; recommended configuration information of the first network device; and capability information of the first network device.
However, DU ‘702 from a similar field of endeavor (see, sensing session establishment by an AP wherein the AP sends a trigger frames, section 0406-0407) discloses: Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining the sensing signal sent by the terminal (see, the sensing initiator sends a sensing signal, the responder, obtains a sensing measurement results and reported the sensing result to the sensing initiator/transmitter, section 0115) comprises: determining configuration information of the sensing signal (see, the sensing receiver/AP as the receiving/sensing of a sensing signal, extracts information such as arrive time, angle of the sensing signal, section 0123, 0126-0128) ; and receiving the sensing signal based on the configuration information (see, the configuration content is used in the sensing session, section 0148); wherein the determining configuration information of the sensing signal comprises: receiving second indication information sent by a second network device and/or third indication information sent by the terminal (section 0148-0149-the configuration information is shared by a plurality of STAs); and determining configuration information of the sensing signal based on the second indication information and/or the third indication information; wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, second configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the second network device, and recommended configuration information of the second network device; and the third indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, third configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the terminal, and recommended configuration information of the terminal; wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: the first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the first network device; the second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the second network device; and the third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the terminal; wherein the first network device determines the first configuration information by using at least one of the following: the sensing requirement; the capability information of the second network device; the recommended configuration information of the second network device; the capability information of the terminal; and the recommended configuration information of the terminal.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 3, wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: a waveform of the sensing signal; a subcarrier spacing of the sensing signal; a guard interval of the sensing signal; bandwidth of the sensing signal; burst duration of the sensing signal; a time domain interval of the sensing signal (see, the sensing receiver/AP as the receiving/sensing of a sensing signal, extracts information such as arrive time, angle of the sensing signal, section 0123, 0126-0128); transmit signal power of the sensing signal; a signal format of the sensing signal; a signal direction of the sensing signal; a time resource of the sensing signal; a frequency resource of the sensing signal; and a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship of the sensing signal.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 7, wherein the sending the sensing signal to the first network device (see, the sensing initiator sends a sensing signal, the responder, obtains a sensing measurement results and reported the sensing result to the sensing initiator/transmitter, section 0115) comprises: determining configuration information of the sensing signal (see, the sensing receiver/AP as the receiving/sensing of a sensing signal, extracts information such as arrive time, angle of the sensing signal, section 0123, 0126-0128); and sending the sensing signal to the first network device based on the configuration information (section 0148-0149-the configuration information is shared by a plurality of STAs);; wherein the determining configuration information of the sensing signal comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the first network device and/or second indication information sent by a second network device; and determining the configuration information of the sensing signal based on the first indication information and/or the second indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, first configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the first network device, and recommended configuration information of the first network device; and the second indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, second configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the second network device, and recommended configuration information of the second network device; wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the first network device; second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the second network device; and third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the terminal; wherein the terminal determines the third configuration information by using at least one of the following: a sensing requirement; capability information of the first network device; recommended configuration information of the first network device; capability information of the second network device; and recommended configuration information of the second network device.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 8, wherein after the receiving the first indication information sent by the first network device and/or second indication information sent by the second network device (see, second frame, third frame that are transmitted by the AP to STAs to participate in the sensing session 0236-040) , the method further comprises: sending first sensing requirement response information to the first network device or the second network device in a case that it is determined, based on the first indication information and/or the second indication information, to participate in a sensing service (noted: the responding STAS sends sensing frames in response as an acceptance, section 0236-0242), wherein the first sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal agrees to participate in the sensing service; or sending second sensing requirement response information to the first network device or the second network device in a case that it is determined, based on the first indication information and/or the second indication information, not to participate in a sensing service, wherein the second sensing requirement response information is used to indicate that the terminal refuses to participate in the sensing service.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 7, wherein before the sending the sensing signal to the first network device, the method further comprises: sending third indication information to the first network device and/or a second network device (see, the AP received sensing requirement information from an initiator STA, section 0032, 0049), wherein the third indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement (see, sensing requirement information, section 0032), third configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the terminal, and recommended configuration information of the terminal.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 12, wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement (see, sensing requirement information sent to the AP, section 0032, 0049), second configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the second network device (see, the sensing request field includes a sensing capability, section 0245-0246), and recommended configuration information of the second network device (see, the sensing responder based on the sensing requirement, initiates the session to obtains a measurement result and reports the measurement result to the sensing initiator, section 0115); or, wherein before the sending second indication information to the first network device and/or the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving target indication information, wherein the target indication information comprises at least one of first indication information sent by the first network device, third indication information sent by the terminal, and fourth indication information sent by an application server; and determining configuration information of the sensing signal based on the target indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, first configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the first network device, and recommended configuration information of the first network device; the third indication information comprises at least one of a sensing requirement, third configuration information of the sensing signal, capability information of the terminal, and recommended configuration information of the terminal; and the fourth indication information comprises a sensing requirement.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 13, wherein the configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of the following: the first configuration information (see, the sensing receiver/AP as the receiving/sensing of a sensing signal, extracts information such as arrive time, angle of the sensing signal, section 0123, 0126-0128), wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the first network device (see, the sensing receiver/AP as the receiving/sensing of a sensing signal, extracts information such as arrive time, angle of the sensing signal, section 0123, 0126-0128); the second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the second network device; and the third configuration information, wherein the third configuration information is configuration information of the sensing signal that is determined by the terminal; wherein the second network device determines the second configuration information by using at least one of the following: a sensing requirement; capability information of the terminal; recommended configuration information of the terminal; recommended configuration information of the first network device; and capability information of the first network device.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement sensing measurement, channel estuation method and apparatus as taught by DU ‘702 into the combined WLAN sensing frame exchange method and device using an encoded trigger frame to trigger the periodic transmission of UL packets of Sadeghi ‘248 and MERLIN ‘332. The motivation would have been to provide sensing measurement that meets a sensing measurement requirement as suggested in section 0005.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473