Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, The term “high-nickel” in claim 10 line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-nickel” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) by Liu, US20240304864A1.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an additive for an electrolyte of a lithium-ion battery [0002], the additive comprising a structure of a following formula (1) (formula II)[0008]:
wherein R1, R2, and R3 are each independently a saturated or unsaturated hydrocarbon group, a cyano group, a pyridyl group, or an aryl group having 5-15 carbon atoms and being substituted by at least one fluorine atom [0008].
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the additive for an electrolyte of a lithium-ion battery according to claim 1, wherein R1, R2, and R3 are each independently, an alkynyl group, a cyano group, a pyridyl group [0008].
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the additive for an electrolyte of a lithium-ion battery according to claim 2, wherein the additive is at least one of a compound as follows (structures P7)[0026](fluorine-containing pyridine F2)[0023]:
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery, wherein the electrolyte comprises the additive for an electrolyte of a lithium-ion battery according to claim 1, an organic solvent, and a lithium salt [0028].
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery according to claim 6, wherein the organic solvent is selected from the group consisting of propylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, diethyl carbonate [0030][0033], and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery according to claim 4, wherein the lithium salt is selected from the group consisting of LiPF6, LiBF4, LiB(C6H5)4, LiCH3SO3, LiCF3SO3, LiN(SO2CF3)2, LiC(SO2CF3)3 and combinations thereof [0030].
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, a separator, the electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery according to claim 4 [0039].
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 9, wherein the positive electrode active material of the positive electrode sheet is a high-nickel positive electrode material [0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, US20240304864A1.
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery according to claim 4, wherein the amount of the additive is in a range of 0.5 parts by weight to 2 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the organic solvent and the lithium salt (0.05 – 1.5%). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, US20240304864A1 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Mizuno, US20240105996A1.
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery according to claim 4,
Liu does not teach wherein the organic solvent comprises a cyclic carbonate ester, a linear carbonate ester, or any combination thereof.
Mizuno teaches an electrolyte for a lithium-ion battery [0002] comprising and organic solvent wherein the organic solvent comprises a cyclic carbonate ester, a linear carbonate ester, or any combination thereof [0165]. Further, Mizuno teaches that the organic solvent dissolve electrolyte salt well and is electrochemically stable in a wide range. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the organic solvent of Mizuno into the battery of Liu to have a solvent which is stable that dissolves salt well.
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724