DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 8, 11 - 18, & 20 – 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 13, 14, 18, 21, & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2012/0302149 A1) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0387528 A1) and Clark (US 2020/0318584 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Zhu discloses: An electric vehicle comprising: (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0003 & 0012 an environmental control system for controlling the ventilation of a battery in a vehicle, which may include a hybrid electric vehicle [i.e. an electric vehicle])
an electric power supply; (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0012 wherein the system may be an environmental control system for a battery [i.e. electric power supply] disposed in a vehicle [i.e. the vehicle comprises an electric power supply])
a thermal transfer unit coupled to the electric power supply; (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0033 – 0035 wherein the environmental control system may include a duct system providing communication between an air intake and battery, including a fan and battery air conditioning system, such as an evaporator coil to cool the air [i.e. a thermal transfer unit coupled to the electric power supply])
a cover sensor configured to detect a cover disposed on the electric vehicle while being parked which impedes the thermal transfer unit; and (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0038 wherein position sensors may input information to the battery control module indicating the positions of the doors [i.e. covers, rendering the position sensors cover sensors] which inhibit movement of air between a vehicle air intake and battery as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0012 [i.e. the cover impedes the thermal transfer unit])
a controller, wherein when the cover is detected the controller is configured to (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0038 wherein a battery control module [i.e. a controller] receives inputs from a battery temperature sensor, as well as from position sensors indicating the positions of the doors [i.e. indications of the presence of a cover]. At least Paragraphs 0052, 0056, & 0058, as well as Figure 8 of Zhu, below, further teach wherein when the vehicle is in recirculation mode [i.e. when the cover is detected] the controller is configured to perform a series of temperature control logic steps)
(A) determine a power supply temperature of the electric power supply, (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0038 & 0041 wherein the battery control module may receive input from a battery temperature sensor indicating the current battery temperature [i.e. the power supply temperature of the electric power supply]. At least Paragraphs 0038, 0052, & 0058 of Zhu, as well as Figure 8 of Zhu, above, further disclose wherein the temperature is acquired in step 60 in response to the vehicle being in a recirculation mode [step 136], in which the doors [i.e. covers] are in their second, closed position [i.e. the power supply temperature is determined when the cover is detected to be present])
(B) compare the determined power supply temperature to a predetermined temperature threshold (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0054 wherein the temperature of the battery [i.e. the determined power supply temperature] is compared to a predetermined temperature [i.e. a temperature threshold] to determine if ventilation fresh air mode [i.e. a mitigating action as set forth below with respect to teaching references] should take place for the battery due to the temperature exceeding the predetermined temperature as disclosed in step 114 of Figure 8 of Zhu, above [i.e. an overheat condition is detected based on the comparison])
Zhu however appears to be silent regarding:
(C) transmit an advisory signal to a user that the cover should be removed when the power supply temperature exceeds the predetermined temperature threshold
(D) detect absence of a response from the user to the advisory signal, and (E) initiate one or more mitigating actions to reduce the power supply temperature,
the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a reverse direction.
However Thompson teaches wherein a vehicle operator may be prompted via an interface to mitigate an issue with a vehicle, including mitigating steps for an overheating condition of vehicle components.
(C) transmit an advisory signal to a user that the cover should be removed when the power supply temperature exceeds the predetermined temperature threshold (However Thompson teaches in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0120 wherein a vehicle operator may be prompted via a human machine interface such as a screen of a personal computing device with a message [i.e. transmit an advisory signal to a user], including one or more steps that a vehicle operator may take to mitigate an issue involving the DCAC converter of a vehicle, including the presence of an overheating condition [i.e. when the power supply temperature exceeds the predetermined temperature threshold]. At least Paragraphs 0228 – 0230 of Thompson further teach wherein the overheating condition may be mitigated through adjustment of a climate control system of the vehicle, with at least Paragraphs 0214, 0215, & 0223 of Thompson teaching wherein the adjustment may include the adjustment of position of climate control vents to direct air to pass through [i.e. the advisory signal to a user indicates that the cover should be removed])
(D) detect absence of a response from the user to the advisory signal, and (E) initiate one or more mitigating actions to reduce the power supply temperature, (However Thompson teaches in at least Paragraph 0120 wherein in response to a detected degradation in power output condition of a DCAC converter as set forth above, a vehicle operator may be prompted to transition modes of the converter, such as from a high-power operation mode to a lower power operation mode. At least Paragraphs 0121 & 0122 of Thompson further teaches wherein it is determined if a requested response from a user has been received within a threshold period of time. If a response is not received, the operation mode of the DCAC converter may be changed, including to lower power output or discontinue power output entirely, or as taught in at least Paragraphs 0228 – 0230 of Thompson, in the event of an overheating condition, adjusting a climate control system of the vehicle, with at least Paragraphs 0214, 0215, & 0223 of Thompson teaching wherein the adjustment may include the adjustment of position of climate control vents to direct air to pass through [i.e. initiate one or more mitigating actions to reduce the power supply temperature responsive to detecting an absence of a response from the user to the advisory signal])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the presentation of a prompt to a user, and the initiation of a mitigating action based on no response to the prompt being received from the user as taught by Thompson.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Thompson in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0120 – 0122, a user may be informed of conditions at the vehicle and possible mitigating actions for said conditions, with mitigating actions being performed automatically if a user does not take any action, improving the notification and mitigation of hazardous vehicle conditions.
However Clark teaches wherein a ventilation system may be configured to direct airflow in a reverse direction in response to the detection of debris obstructing the ventilation system when a detected temperature exceeds a threshold.
the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a reverse direction. (However Clark teaches in at least Paragraphs 0048 & 0049 wherein in response to a temperature of a vehicle component exceeding a predefined threshold, a sensor may be used to detect a degree of debris accumulation on an air intake screen [i.e. a cover disposed on the vehicle] and the accumulated debris may be addressed by the generation of reverse airflow if the thickness or density of the accumulated debris is above a defined threshold. This may include, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0030, 0036, & 0043 of Clark, wherein the reverse airflow runs counter to the airflow intake direction, such that the reverse airflow will detach and carry away debris previously attached to the vehicle, such that the cooling of the components is enhanced as taught in at least Paragraph 0036 of Clark [i.e. the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a reverse direction])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the mitigation of obstructed ventilation conditions by operating the fan in the reverse direction as taught by Clark.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Clark in at least Paragraphs 0036 & 0043, by activating reverse airflow, debris may be detached and cleared from the air intake of the vehicle, improving airflow through the ventilation system and improving the cooling of the vehicle system.
Regarding Claim 2:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the thermal transfer unit comprises a blower coupled to an air duct which directs an airflow outwardly from an exterior surface of the electric vehicle shrouded by the cover.
Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0033 – 0035 wherein the environmental control system may include a duct system [i.e. an air duct] providing communication between an air intake and battery, including a fan [i.e. a blower coupled to the air duct] and battery air conditioning system, such as an evaporator coil to cool the air [i.e. a thermal transfer unit coupled to the electric power supply]
Regarding Claim 4:
The electric vehicle of claim 2 wherein the thermal transfer unit further comprises a heat exchanger for actively altering a temperature of the airflow, and wherein the thermal transfer unit is comprised of at least one of an evaporative air cooler, heat pump, or coolant flow-based unit.
Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0035 & 0036 wherein the battery air conditioning system [i.e. thermal transfer unit] may include an evaporator coil disposed within the duct system to cool the air as it flows through said duct system [i.e. the thermal transfer unit further comprises an evaporative air cooler for actively altering a temperature of the airflow].
Regarding Claim 7:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the advisory signal comprises a wireless message delivered to a mobile device of the user.
Zhu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the advisory signal comprises a wireless message delivered to a mobile device of the user.
However Thompson teaches in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0120 wherein a vehicle operator may be prompted via a human machine interface such as a screen of a personal computing device with a message [i.e. transmit an advisory signal to a user], including one or more steps that a vehicle operator may take to mitigate an issue involving the DCAC converter of a vehicle. At least Paragraph 0178 of Thompson teaches wherein the personal computing device may be in an example, a smart phone, outside the vehicle while remaining communicatively coupled to it [i.e. the advisory signal comprises a wireless message delivered to a mobile device of the user].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the delivery of a message wirelessly to the mobile device of a user as taught by Thompson.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Thompson in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0178, a user remote from a vehicle may be informed of conditions at the vehicle and possible mitigating actions for said conditions, improving the notification of hazardous vehicle conditions to the user.
Regarding Claim 11:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the power supply temperature determined by the controller is an instantaneous temperature of the electric power supply.
Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0038 & 0041 wherein the battery control module may receive input from a battery temperature sensor indicating the current battery temperature [i.e. the power supply temperature is an instantaneous temperature of the electric power supply].
Regarding Claim 13:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the electric power supply comprises at least one of a battery pack, a voltage converter, and a voltage inverter.
Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0012 wherein the system may be an environmental control system for a battery [i.e. the electric power supply comprises a battery pack] disposed in a vehicle [i.e. the vehicle comprises the electric power supply].
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhu discloses: A method of controlling temperature of an electric power supply in an electric vehicle while parked, (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0003 & 0009 an environmental control method for controlling the ventilation of a battery in a vehicle, which may include a hybrid electric vehicle [i.e. an electric vehicle] in a park, neutral, or key-off mode as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0017 of Zhu)
wherein the electric vehicle includes a thermal transfer unit coupled to the electric power supply and (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0033 – 0035 wherein the environmental control system may include a duct system providing communication between an air intake and battery, including a fan and battery air conditioning system, such as an evaporator coil to cool the air [i.e. a thermal transfer unit coupled to the electric power supply])
a cover sensor configured to detect a cover disposed on the electric vehicle which impedes the thermal transfer unit, (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0038 wherein position sensors may input information to the battery control module indicating the positions of the doors [i.e. covers] which inhibits movement of air between a vehicle air intake and battery as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0012 [i.e. the cover impedes the thermal transfer unit])
the method comprising the step of: determining a power supply temperature of the electric power supply; (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraphs 0038 & 0041 wherein the battery control module may receive input from a battery temperature sensor indicating the current battery temperature [i.e. the power supply temperature of the electric power supply]. At least Paragraphs 0038, 0052, & 0058 of Zhu, as well as Figure 8 of Zhu, above, further disclose wherein the temperature is acquired in step 60 in response to the vehicle being in a recirculation mode [step 136], in which the doors [i.e. covers] are in their second, closed position [i.e. the power supply temperature is determined when the cover is detected to be present])
comparing the determined power supply temperature to a predetermined temperature threshold; (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0054 wherein the temperature of the battery [i.e. the determined power supply temperature] is compared to a predetermined temperature [i.e. a temperature threshold] to determine if ventilation should take place for the battery due to the temperature exceeding the predetermined temperature as disclosed in step 114 of Figure 8 of Zhu, above [i.e. an unfavorable condition is detected based on the comparison])
detecting presence of the cover impeding the thermal transfer unit; (Zhu discloses in at least Paragraph 0038 wherein a battery control module [i.e. a controller] receives inputs from a battery temperature sensor, as well as from position sensors indicating the positions of the doors [i.e. a detection of the presence of a cover impeding the thermal transfer unit]. At least Paragraphs 0052, 0056, & 0058, as well as Figure 8 of Zhu, above, further teach wherein when the vehicle is in recirculation mode [i.e. when the cover is detected] the controller is configured to perform a series of temperature control logic steps)
Zhu however appears to be silent regarding:
transmitting an advisory signal to a user that the cover should be removed when the power supply temperature exceeds the predetermined temperature threshold;
detecting absence of a response from the user to the advisory signal; and initiating one or more mitigating actions to reduce the power supply temperature,
the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a reverse direction.
However Thompson teaches wherein a vehicle operator may be prompted via an interface to mitigate an issue with a vehicle, including mitigating steps for an overheating condition of vehicle components.
transmitting an advisory signal to a user that the cover should be removed when the power supply temperature exceeds the predetermined temperature threshold (However Thompson teaches in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0120 wherein a vehicle operator may be prompted via a human machine interface such as a screen of a personal computing device with a message [i.e. transmit an advisory signal to a user], including one or more steps that a vehicle operator may take to mitigate an issue involving the DCAC converter of a vehicle, including the presence of an overheating condition [i.e. when the power supply temperature exceeds the predetermined temperature threshold]. At least Paragraphs 0228 – 0230 of Thompson further teach wherein the overheating condition may be mitigated through adjustment of a climate control system of the vehicle, with at least Paragraphs 0214, 0215, & 0223 of Thompson teaching wherein the adjustment may include the adjustment of position of climate control vents to direct air to pass through [i.e. the advisory signal to a user indicates that the cover should be removed])
detecting absence of a response from the user to the advisory signal; and initiating one or more mitigating actions to reduce the power supply temperature, (However Thompson teaches in at least Paragraph 0120 wherein in response to a detected degradation in power output condition of a DCAC converter as set forth above, a vehicle operator may be prompted to transition modes of the converter, such as from a high-power operation mode to a lower power operation mode. At least Paragraphs 0121 & 0122 of Thompson further teaches wherein it is determined if a requested response from a user has been received within a threshold period of time. If a response is not received, the operation mode of the DCAC converter may be changed, including to lower power output or discontinue power output entirely, or as taught in at least Paragraphs 0228 – 0230 of Thompson, adjusting a climate control system of the vehicle, with at least Paragraphs 0214, 0215, & 0223 of Thompson teaching wherein the adjustment may include the adjustment of position of climate control vents to direct air to pass through [i.e. initiate a mitigating action to reduce the power supply temperature responsive to detecting an absence of a response from the user to the advisory signal])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the presentation of a prompt to a user, and the initiation of a mitigating action based on no response to the prompt being received from the user as taught by Thompson.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Thompson in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0120 – 0122, a user may be informed of conditions at the vehicle and possible mitigating actions for said conditions, with mitigating actions being performed automatically if a user does not take any action, improving the notification and mitigation of hazardous vehicle conditions.
However Clark teaches wherein a ventilation system may be configured to direct airflow in a reverse direction in response to the detection of debris obstructing the ventilation system when a detected temperature exceeds a threshold.
the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a reverse direction. (However Clark teaches in at least Paragraphs 0048 & 0049 wherein in response to a temperature of a vehicle component exceeding a predefined threshold, a sensor may be used to detect a degree of debris accumulation on an air intake screen [i.e. a cover disposed on the vehicle] and the accumulated debris may be addressed by the generation of reverse airflow if the thickness or density of the accumulated debris is above a defined threshold. This may include, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0030, 0036, & 0043 of Clark, wherein the reverse airflow runs counter to the airflow intake direction, such that the reverse airflow will detach and carry away debris previously attached to the vehicle, such that the cooling of the components is enhanced as taught in at least Paragraph 0036 of Clark [i.e. the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a reverse direction])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the mitigation of obstructed ventilation conditions by operating the fan in the reverse direction as taught by Clark.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Clark in at least Paragraphs 0036 & 0043, by activating reverse airflow, debris may be detached and cleared from the air intake of the vehicle, improving airflow through the ventilation system and improving the cooling of the vehicle system.
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 14 wherein the advisory signal is comprised of at least one of a wireless message delivered to a mobile device of the user and an audible communication emitted by the electric vehicle.
Zhu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the advisory signal comprises a wireless message delivered to a mobile device of the user or an audible communication emitted by the electric vehicle.
However Thompson teaches in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0120 wherein a vehicle operator may be prompted via a human machine interface such as a screen of a personal computing device with a message [i.e. transmit an advisory signal to a user], including one or more steps that a vehicle operator may take to mitigate an issue involving the DCAC converter of a vehicle. At least Paragraph 0178 of Thompson teaches wherein the personal computing device may be in an example, a smart phone, outside the vehicle while remaining communicatively coupled to it [i.e. the advisory signal comprises a wireless message delivered to a mobile device of the user].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the delivery of a message wirelessly to the mobile device of a user as taught by Thompson.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Thompson in at least Paragraphs 0117 & 0178, a user remote from a vehicle may be informed of conditions at the vehicle and possible mitigating actions for said conditions, improving the notification of hazardous vehicle conditions to the user.
Regarding Claim 21:
The electric vehicle of claim 1, wherein the one or more mitigating actions comprising operating a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a manner to reposition the cover.
Zhu does not appear to specifically disclose a mitigating action including the operation of a fan within the thermal transfer unit in a manner to reposition the cover.
However Clark teaches in at least Paragraphs 0030, 0036, & 0043 of Clark wherein the reverse airflow used to mitigate temperature/debris conditions detected runs counter to the airflow intake direction, such that the reverse airflow will detach and carry away debris previously attached to the vehicle, such that the cooling of the components is enhanced as taught in at least Paragraph 0036 of Clark [i.e. the cover/debris is detached/repositioned away from the vehicle].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the detachment of debris obstructing airflow from the vehicle through reverse-running of the ventilation system fans as taught by Clark.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Clark in at least Paragraphs 0036 & 0043, by detaching and clearing from the air intake of the vehicle through reverse airflow, airflow through the ventilation system may be improved, improving the cooling of the vehicle system.
Regarding Claim 22:
The electric vehicle of claim 1, wherein the fan is operated in the reverse direction momentarily.
Zhu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the fan is operated in the reverse direction momentarily as the mitigating action.
However Clark teaches in at least Paragraphs 0050 – 0052 wherein upon activation of the reverse airflow, the reverse airflow may remain active for a specific duration, such as once every 90 seconds for burst durations of 5 – 10 seconds at a time [i.e. the fan is operated in the reverse direction momentarily].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Zhu by incorporating the mitigation of an overheating condition by momentarily operating the fan in a reverse direction as taught by Clark.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Clark in at least Paragraph 0052, longer bursts of intake may be required to cool the vehicle components, with only short forceful bursts being required to dislodge debris, improving the capability of the vehicle to dislodge airflow obstructions while maintaining internal cooling.
Claim(s) 3 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2012/0302149 A1) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0387528 A1) and Clark (US 2020/0318584 A1) as applied to claims 2 & 14 above, and further in view of Andre (DE 102016006542 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
The electric vehicle of claim 2 wherein the blower comprises a fan, a motor coupled to the fan, and a motor drive circuit coupled to the motor, wherein the cover sensor is comprised of a motor current sensor, and wherein the cover is detected when a current measured by the motor current sensor is greater than a predetermined current threshold.
The combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the blower is provided in the given arrangement, wherein the cover is detected by comparison of a current drawn by a blower to a predetermined threshold.
However Andre teaches in at least Paragraph 0058 & 0059 wherein a vehicle cooler may include a means for determining the required electrical energy for operating the blower [i.e. a current sensor, as the current draw is variable while the voltage required remains static]. Andre further teaches in at least Paragraph 0042 wherein the blower may comprise a fan coupled with an electric motor [i.e. the blower comprises a fan, a motor coupled to the fan, and a motor drive circuit coupled to the motor]. At least Paragraphs 0045 & 0059 of Andre teach wherein when the determined required energy for operating the blower arrangement exceeds a certain value [i.e. a current threshold], a blockage is determined to be present obstructing the radiator of the vehicle [i.e. a cover is detected when a current measured by the motor current sensor is greater than a predetermined current threshold].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the determination of blockage of the vehicle cooler intake based on blower energy usage as taught by Andre.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Andre in at least Paragraph 0008, a blockage of any form in the blower assembly may be reliably detected, improving the vehicle’s capability to detect and respond to determined coverings and blockages.
Regarding Claim 15:
The method of claim 14 wherein the thermal transfer unit comprises a fan, a motor coupled to the fan, and a motor drive circuit coupled to the motor, wherein the cover sensor is comprised of a motor current sensor, and wherein the step of detecting presence of the cover is comprised of detecting when a current measured by the motor current sensor is greater than a predetermined current threshold.
The combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the blower is provided in the given arrangement, wherein the cover is detected by comparison of a current drawn by a blower to a predetermined threshold.
However Andre teaches in at least Paragraph 0058 & 0059 wherein a vehicle cooler may include a means for determining the required electrical energy for operating the blower [i.e. a current sensor, as the current draw is variable while the voltage required remains static]. Andre further teaches in at least Paragraph 0042 wherein the blower may comprise a fan coupled with an electric motor [i.e. the blower comprises a fan, a motor coupled to the fan, and a motor drive circuit coupled to the motor]. At least Paragraphs 0045 & 0059 of Andre teach wherein when the determined required energy for operating the blower arrangement exceeds a certain value [i.e. a current threshold], a blockage is determined to be present obstructing the radiator of the vehicle [i.e. a cover is detected when a current measured by the motor current sensor is greater than a predetermined current threshold].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the determination of blockage of the vehicle cooler intake based on blower energy usage as taught by Andre.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Andre in at least Paragraph 0008, a blockage of any form in the blower assembly may be reliably detected, improving the vehicle’s capability to detect and respond to determined coverings and blockages.
Claim(s) 5 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2012/0302149 A1) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0387528 A1) and Clark (US 2020/0318584 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Dudar '2019 (US 2019/0272687 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the cover sensor comprises at least one camera responsive to placement of the cover over the electric vehicle.
The combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the cover sensor comprises at least one camera responsive to placement of the cover over the electric vehicle.
However Dudar ‘2019 teaches in at least Paragraph 0071 wherein a camera disposed facing the front of a vehicle may image the space in front of a vehicle to obtain a heat map to determine the state of the AGS (Active Grille Shutter) system [i.e. images are captured from at least one camera as a cover sensor]. At least Paragraphs 0099 & 0107 of Dudar ‘2019 further teach wherein the AGS system may be determined to be stuck in the closed position based on the lack of detection of a heat signature in the image [i.e. a cover of the grille shutter is determined based on analysis of the image from the camera].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the detection of AGS system status by images captured by a camera as taught by Dudar ‘2019.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Dudar ‘2019 in at least Paragraphs 0086, 0099, & 0100, the status of the AGS system may be determined when it is not operating in the required opening/closing manner based on heat signatures viewed in images, improving the determination of covering status of the vehicle air ducts.
Regarding Claim 16:
The method of claim 14 wherein the step of detecting presence of the cover is comprised of capturing images from at least one camera which are responsive to placement of the cover over the electric vehicle.
Zhu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the cover sensor comprises at least one camera responsive to placement of the cover over the electric vehicle.
However Dudar ‘2019 teaches in at least Paragraph 0071 wherein a camera disposed facing the front of a vehicle may image the space in front of a vehicle to obtain a heat map to determine the state of the AGS (Active Grille Shutter) system [i.e. images are captured from at least one camera as a cover sensor]. At least Paragraphs 0099 & 0107 of Dudar ‘2019 further teach wherein the AGS system may be determined to be stuck in the closed position based on the lack of detection of a heat signature in the image [i.e. a cover of the grille shutter is determined based on analysis of the image from the camera].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the detection of AGS system status by images captured by a camera as taught by Dudar ‘2019.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Dudar ‘2019 in at least Paragraphs 0086, 0099, & 0100, the status of the AGS system may be determined when it is not operating in the required opening/closing manner based on heat signatures viewed in images, improving the determination of covering status of the vehicle air ducts.
Claim(s) 6 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2012/0302149 A1) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0387528 A1) and Clark (US 2020/0318584 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Stephens (US 2021/0370753 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the cover sensor comprises a user input element configured for manual indication by a user installing the cover.
Zhu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the cover sensor comprises a user input element configured for manual indication by a user installing the cover.
However Stephens teaches in at least Paragraphs 0066 & 0067 wherein magnets may be provided to secure a cover to a vehicle, which may be activated via user activation [i.e. manual indication by a user] upon the extension of the cover, either automatically or manually as taught in at least Paragraph 0055. At least Paragraphs 0072 & 0073 of Stephens further teach wherein an alarm may be integrated with the electrical circuit that activates the magnets after the cover is deployed, the electromagnetic circuit including a component that detects when the cover is magnetically attached to the vehicle, or if the connection is severed [i.e. the sensor comprises a user input element manually indicating the installation/presence of the cover].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the user activation of a sensing element that indicates the presence or absence of a vehicle cover as taught by Stephens.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Stephens in at least Paragraphs 0072 & 0073, a user may determine if the presence of a covering over the vehicle should be sensed or not based on their manual input, improving the user interaction with automatic notification systems involving the vehicle covering.
Regarding Claim 17:
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 6, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2012/0302149 A1) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0387528 A1) and Clark (US 2020/0318584 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2021/0402849 A1).
Regarding Claim 8:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the advisory signal comprises an audible communication emitted by the electric vehicle.
The combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the advisory signal comprises an audible communication emitted by the electric vehicle.
However Choi teaches in at least Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 wherein the vehicle may warn of abnormalities of the battery to the inside or outside of the vehicle using an output device, configured to output an audible warning [i.e. an audible communication emitted by the electric vehicle]. At least Paragraphs 0018 & 0019 wherein the warning may be in response to a temperature abnormality detected in the battery of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the use of audio alerts of battery abnormality states from the vehicle as taught by Choi.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Choi in at least Paragraphs 0062 & 0063, warnings may be output directly from the vehicle to warn of risks associated with the current battery state, improving the safety of the vehicle and surrounding persons during abnormal battery state conditions.
Claim(s) 12 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2012/0302149 A1) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0387528 A1) and Clark (US 2020/0318584 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Zhu '341 (US 2024/0391341 A1).
Regarding Claim 12:
The electric vehicle of claim 1 wherein the power supply temperature determined by the controller is a predicted future temperature of the electric power supply during a current parking event of the electric vehicle.
The combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the power supply temperature determined by the controller is a predicted future temperature of the electric power supply during a current parking event of the electric vehicle.
However Zhu ‘341 teaches in at least Paragraphs 0029 & 0038 wherein a proactive charging control system predicts a future system state during vehicle parking, including a predicted future temperature of the battery system, based on monitored system characteristics and a model of the vehicle system [i.e. the power supply temperature determined by the controller is a predicted future temperature of the electric power supply during a current parking event of the electric vehicle]. At least Paragraph 0029 of Zhu ‘341 further teaches wherein based on the predicted battery temperature, heating and cooling are coordinated to maintain the battery system within a temperature window during vehicle parking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhu, Thompson, and Clark by incorporating the prediction of future battery temperature, and the control of heating/cooling based on such as taught by Zhu ‘341.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Zhu ‘341 in at least Paragraph 0029, the energy utilization efficiency of the battery may be improved by maintaining the battery within a specified temperature range based on predicting future battery states, improving the operation of the battery.
Regarding Claim 20:
Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 12, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Porras (US 9,827,846 B2): Porras recites a cooling system for a vehicle traction battery, including a radiator and grille shutter assembly. Based on sensed temperatures, including ambient air and coolant temperature, the ventilation fan and opening of the radiator are controlled.
MacFarlane (US 2015/0149043 A1): MacFarlane recites a system for adjusting vehicle grille shutters based on engine coolant temperature, including the comparison of the temperature to a threshold. Grille shutter position error may be taken into account and corrected for by recalibrating the grille shutter position based on the error.
Neely (US 2024/0109420 A1): Neeley recites an intelligent vehicle system for thermal event mitigation, including a disconnection of a vehicle battery from the vehicle electrical system upon determining that a temperature threshold has been exceeded.
Srivastava (US 2021/0291640 A1): Srivastava recites a smart grille shutter system, including the measurement of a temperature in the vehicle environment. Based on the sensed temperatures, the shutters of the ventilation system are configured to be controlled to open or close to obtain an optimal temperature in the vehicle compartment.
Gaither (US 10,913,360 B2): Gaither recites a method of repositioning a vehicle to achieve optimal solar exposure for a vehicle utilizing solar charging. A plurality of factors may be taken into account, including energy expenditure in travelling to a new location, travel time, and the like.
Dudar (US 2018/0224861 A1): Dudar recites a system for controlling an autonomous vehicle, including the monitoring of the temperature of a portion of the vehicle, such as a fuel temperature. In response to the temperature exceeding a threshold, shaded areas in the vicinity of the vehicle are identified, and the vehicle is autonomously navigated to one such location to reduce the temperature.
Breu (US 2015/0354847 A1): Breu recites a cooling unit for a vehicle, including the generation of a heat exchanger blockage warning when the current draw by a fan motor exceeds a predetermined value. Upon a blockage being detected, the fan may be reversed in order to attempt to clear the blockage.
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661