DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 28th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 8-10, and 16 remain pending in the application. Applicants’ amendments to the Claims have overcome 112(f) and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 3rd, 2014.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 8-10, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process for determining the oxygen saturation of the object) without significantly more.
Step 1:
The claimed invention of claims 1-2, 8-10, and 16 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a system and a method for determining oxygen saturation of the object.
Step 2A, Prong One:
Regarding claim 1-2, 8-10, and 16, the recited steps are directed to mental process and mathematical calculation, i.e., concepts that can be performed in a human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)). The courts have found that concepts performed in a human mind falls within the judicial exceptions, often labelled as “abstract ideas”.
Specifically, the following limitations recite mental process and/or mathematical concepts;
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “determine a first statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of first light absorbances by an average of the plurality of first light absorbances.” (mathematical calculation).
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “determine a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances” (mathematical calculation),
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “determine a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances.” (mathematical calculation),
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “determine oxygen saturation of the object to be measured based on a ratio between the first statistical index and the second statistical index, in accordance with an equation K1- K2*[a1/a2] where K1 and K2 are constants, a1 is the first statistical index, and a2 is the second statistical index” (mathematical calculation),
Regarding claim 2, the limitations of “determine a pulse rate of the object to be measured from a time interval of a change in the first light absorbance.” (mental process: observation, evaluation),
Regarding 9, the limitations of “determining a first statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of first light absorbances by an average of the plurality of first light absorbances, and a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances” (mathematical calculation), and
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of “determining oxygen saturation of the object to be measured according to a ratio between the first statistical index and the second statistical index, in accordance with an equation K1-K2*[a1/a2], where K1 and K2 are constants, a1 is the first statistical index, and a2 is the second statistical index” (mathematical calculation).
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of “determining a pulse rate of the object to be measured from a time interval of a change in the first light absorbance.” (mental process: observation, evaluation),
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of “the K1 is 110 and the K2 is 25.” (mathematical calculation)
Furthermore, the “determine” step reasonably encompasses a user manually calculating and combining those oxygen saturation values mentally or using pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claims, including dependent claims, are analyzed as a whole to determine whether additional limitations are recited such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “a first light emitter configured to radiate first emission light of a first wavelength toward an object to be measured;” are mere insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “a second light emitter configured to radiate second emission light of a second wavelength toward the object to be measured a first image sensor configured to receive first reflected light of the first wavelength reflected from the object to be measured a second image sensor configured to receive second reflected light of the second wavelength reflected from the object to be measured,;” are mere insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, the first image sensor and the second image sensor are each positioned at a distance from, and out of contact with” amounts to light emitters and sensors for insignificant extra solution activity (pre-data gathering).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “one or more processors and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors” amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on generic computer components.
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “detect, overtime, first light absorbance based on the first reflected light received by the first image sensor and second light absorbance based on the second reflected light received by the second image sensor;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element of “wherein the first wavelength is 660 nm and the second wavelength is 940 nm” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “a first light emitter, a second light emitter, a first image sensor, a second image sensor, and one or more processors, wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, the first image sensor and the second image sensor are each positioned at a distance from, and out of contact with, an object to be measured” amounts to mere insignificant extra-solution activity (pre-data gathering).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “radiating, by the first light emitter, first emission light of a first wavelength toward the object to be measured, and radiating, by the second light emitter, second emission light of a second wavelength toward the object to be measured” amounts to mere insignificant extra-solution activity (pre-data gathering).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “receiving, by the first image sensor, first reflected light of the first wavelength reflected from the object to be measured, and receiving, by the second image sensor, second reflected light of the second wavelength reflected from the object to be measured;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “detecting, by the one or more processors and over time, first light absorbance based on the first reflected light received by the first image sensor and second light absorbance based on the second reflected light received by the second image sensor” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Note: regarding the underlined limitations (aforementioned in Step 2A, Prong One), the applicant’s specification does not sufficiently describe a concrete technological improvement attributable to the claimed “determining oxygen saturation”.
Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception. Regarding Claims 1-2, 8-10, and 16, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims 1-2, 8-10, and 16 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements, including “first light emitter”, “second light emitter”, “first image sensor”, and “second image sensors” are recited at a high level of generality and used for extra-solution activity, such as data gathering to perform the abstract idea as well as part of generic measuring equipment. The additional elements, including “one or more processor” and “memory” are recited at a high level of generality and are used for part of generic computer equipment used to perform extra-solution data delivery computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). Therefore, these elements do not provide an inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newberry in view of Tucker (US 20190374140 A1).
Regarding claim 1.
Newberry teaches An apparatus (Abstract; Paragraph 0022) comprising:
a first light emitter configured to radiate first emission light of a first wavelength toward an object to be measured; a second light emitter configured to radiate second emission light of a second wavelength toward the object (Paragraph 0062: “The PPG circuit 110 includes a light source 210 configured to emit a plurality of wavelengths of light across various spectrums. The plurality of LEDs 212a-n are configured to emit light in one or more spectrums, including infrared (IR) light, ultraviolet (UV) light, near IR light or visible light, in response to driver circuit 218.”, and Fig. 2 illustrates multiple LED and photodetector configuration),
to be measured a first image sensor (camera 250) configured to receive first reflected light of the first wavelength reflected from the object to be measured (Paragraph 0064: “The PPG circuit 110 further includes one or more photodetector circuits 230 a-n. The photodetector circuits 230 may be implemented as part of a camera 250. For example, a first photodetector circuit 230 may be configured to detect visible light and the second photodetector circuit 230 may be configured to detect IR light.”),
wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, and the first image sensor are each positioned at a distance from, and out of contact with, the object to be measured (Paragraph 0062: “The PPG circuit 110 includes a light source 210 configured to emit a plurality of wavelengths of light across various spectrums. The plurality of LEDs 212a-n are configured to emit light in one or more spectrums, including infrared (IR) light, ultraviolet (UV) light, near IR light or visible light, in response to driver circuit 218.”, Paragraph 0205: “The small change in subsurface reflectance results in very small change in light intensity recorded using a camera placed at a distance.”, Paragraph 0219: “FIG. 19 illustrates a schematic block diagram of an embodiment of a camera 1900 for non-contact PPG imaging”, and Fig.2 illustrates multiple LEDs, multiple photo detectors, and a camera);
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Paragraph 0059: “The biosensor 100 may include one or more processing circuits 102 communicatively coupled to a memory device 104”):
detect, overtime, first light absorbance based on the first reflected light received by the first image sensor (Paragraph 0215: “FIG. 18 illustrates a logical flow diagram of an embodiment of a method 1800 for detection of a substance in blood flow using a non-contact PPG camera. A plurality of frames is obtained, and the intensity of light reflected from a plurality of ROIs of a body is determined for a set of frames at 1802. A time series of the intensity of light is determined.”, Paragraph 0062: “”, Paragraph 0129: “These two light sources may illuminate the sample for a first period of time,” and Fig. 2 illustrates multiple LEDs, multiple photo detectors, and a camera);
While Newberry teaches multiple photodetectors they are part of a single camera (Paragraph 0064) and thus Newberry does not explicitly teach to be measured a second image sensor configured to receive second reflected light of the second wavelength reflected from the object to be measured,
Newberry does not teach the second image sensor;
detect, overtime, second light absorbance based on the second reflected light received by the second image sensor;
determine a first statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of first light absorbances by an average of the plurality of first light absorbances; determine a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances; and
determine oxygen saturation of the object to be measured based on a ratio between the first statistical index and the second statistical index, in accordance with an equation K1- K2*[a1/a2] where K1 and K2 are constants, a1 is the first statistical index, and a2 is the second statistical index.
Tucker teaches a first light emitter configured to radiate first emission light of a first wavelength toward an object to be measured; a second light emitter configured to radiate second emission light of a second wavelength toward the object to be measured (Paragraph 0051: “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, the system 100 includes at least two light sources, first 130 and second 131 light sources, respectively,”, “the first light source 130 delivers visible light and the second light source 131 delivers NIR light”, and Figures 1A-B illustrate two separate light sources (130,131));
a first image sensor configured to receive first reflected light of the first wavelength reflected from the object to be measured a second image sensor configured to receive second reflected light of the second wavelength reflected from the object to be measured (Paragraph 0051: “the camera may be a multi-sensor camera, rather than a single camera with one sensor chip. The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range. As illustrated in FIG. 1C, in embodiments having a multi-sensor camera 110′, the camera may have a plurality of spaced apart sensors S1 through SN.”, and Fig. 1C illustrates multiple space-apart image sensors (S1, S2, …, SN)),
wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, the first image sensor and the second image sensor are each positioned at a distance from, and out of contact with, the object to be measured (Paragraph 0051: “the camera may be a multi-sensor camera, rather than a single camera with one sensor chip. The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range. As illustrated in FIG. 1C, in embodiments having a multi-sensor camera 110′, the camera may have a plurality of spaced apart sensors S1 through SN.”, “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, the system 100 includes at least two light sources, first 130 and second 131 light sources, respectively,”, and Fig. 1C illustrates multiple space-apart light sources (130,131) and sensors (S1,S2,…,SN) for non-contact approach.);
detect, overtime, first light absorbance based on the first reflected light received by the first image sensor and second light absorbance based on the second reflected light received by the second image sensor (Paragraph 0006: “the absorbance of these wavelengths is dependent upon the concentration of oxygenated hemoglobin and deoxygenated hemoglobin in the blood. These may be additional light sources or include the first and/or second light sources. These absorbance data are captured in conjunction with the first and second light sources”, Paragraph 0051: “The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range”, and Fig.1C light illustrates emission/detection with multiple space-apart light sources (130,131) and sensors (S1,S2,…,SN) for non-contact approach.);
determine a first statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of first light absorbances by an average of the plurality of first light absorbances;determine a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances (Paragraph 0114: “standard deviation (STD) and mean of the image data are used for the RR value equation shown below. The standard deviation (STD) and mean values used are two-dimensional arrays to represent the STD and mean of the image set, while conventional methods discussed above rely on one-dimensional values of an intensity signal.”, and Equation 15:
R
R
i
m
a
g
e
=
R
λ
1
R
λ
1
=
S
T
D
λ
1
M
e
a
n
λ
1
S
T
D
λ
2
M
e
a
n
λ
2
); and
determine oxygen saturation of the object to be measured based on a ratio between the first statistical index and the second statistical index, in accordance with an equation K1- K2*[a1/a2] where K1 and K2 are constants, a1 is the first statistical index, and a2 is the second statistical index (Paragraph 0110: “blood ; and Hb is the concentration of hemoglobin in blood . As illustrated in Eqn . ( 12 ) below ,
SpO2 is linearly related to the RR signal by the Beer Lambert law ”, and Equation 12:
S
p
O
2
=
m
∙
R
R
+
b
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the noncontact PPG measurement device of Newberry with multispectral imaging arrangement and statistical processing as taught by Tucker because incorporating separate wavelength-specific image sensors and calculating a ratio of normalized signal and variations at different wavelengths would have facilitated the determination of oxygen saturation using multispectral optical measurements (Newberry, Paragraphs 0062-0066, 0215, 0219-0220; Tucker, Paragraphs 0055-0056; Fig. 1C, Equations 12, 15).
Regarding claim 2 (amended), Newberry in view of Tucker teaches the apparatus of claim 1(See rejection of claim 1 above),
Newberry teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine a pulse rate of the object to be measured from a time interval of a change in the first light absorbance (Paragraph 0095: “The spectral responses are obtained around the plurality of wavelengths, including at least a first wavelength and a second wavelength at 502. The spectral responses may be measured over a predetermined period (such as 300 usec.) or at least over 2-3 cardiac cycles. This measurement process is repeated continuously, e.g., pulsing the light at 10-100 Hz and obtaining spectral responses over a desired measurement period, e.g. from 1-2 seconds to 1-2 minutes or from 2-3 hours to continuously over days or weeks.”, Paragraph 0207: “To estimate the pulse rate, the frequency spectrum of the PPG signal is obtained using a FFT algorithm over a predetermined period (hamming window). The pulse rate is estimated as the frequency that corresponds to the highest power in the estimated frequency spectrum. The frequency spectrum may be averaged or added over 5-10 second windows. “, Paragraph 0214: “Since PPG waveforms for a subject may vary over time, the stored PPG waveform and its characteristics for a user may need to be updated periodically.”, Paragraph 0215: “The PPG signal is derived from the time series of the intensity of light at a first wavelength and a second wavelength at 1804”).
Regarding claim 8 (original), Newberry in view of Tucker teaches the apparatus of claim 1(See rejection of claim 1 above),
Newberry teaches wherein the first wavelength is 660 nm and the second wavelength is 940 nm (Paragraphs 0017: “The subject's skin at a ‘measurement location’ is illuminated with two distinct wavelengths of light and the relative absorbance at each of the wavelengths is determined. For example, a wavelength in the visible red spectrum (for example, at 660 nm) has an extinction coefficient of hemoglobin that exceeds the extinction coefficient of oxihemoglobin. At a wavelength in the near infrared spectrum (for example, at 940 nm), the extinction coefficient of oxihemoglobin exceeds the extinction coefficient of hemoglobin.”, and Paragraph 0139: “the R values for 660 nm/940 nm 1606 are shown over a time period of about 4 seconds.”).
Regarding claim 9(amended).
Newberry teaches A method performed by an apparatus (abstract; Paragraph 0022) comprising:
a first light emitter, a second light emitter, a first image sensor, and one or more processors (Paragraph 0059: “The biosensor 100 may include one or more processing circuits 102 communicatively coupled to a memory device 104”, Paragraph 0062: “The PPG circuit 110 includes a light source 210 configured to emit a plurality of wavelengths of light across various spectrums. The plurality of LEDs 212a-n are configured to emit light in one or more spectrums, including infrared (IR) light, ultraviolet (UV) light, near IR light or visible light, in response to driver circuit 218.”, Paragraph 0219: “FIG. 19 illustrates a schematic block diagram of an embodiment of a camera 1900 for non-contact PPG imaging”, and Fig. 2 illustrates multiple LED and photodetector configuration),
wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, and the first image sensor are each positioned at a distance from, and out of contact with, an object to be measured, the method comprising (Paragraph 0059: “The biosensor 100 may include one or more processing circuits 102 communicatively coupled to a memory device 104 “, Paragraph 0062: “The PPG circuit 110 includes a light source 210 configured to emit a plurality of wavelengths of light across various spectrums. The plurality of LEDs 212a-n are configured to emit light in one or more spectrums, including infrared (IR) light, ultraviolet (UV) light, near IR light or visible light, in response to driver circuit 218.”, Paragraph 0205: “The small change in subsurface reflectance results in very small change in light intensity recorded using a camera placed at a distance.”, Paragraph 0219: “FIG. 19 illustrates a schematic block diagram of an embodiment of a camera 1900 for non-contact PPG imaging”, and Fig. 2 illustrates multiple LEDs and multiple photo detectors.):
radiating, by the first light emitter, first emission light of a first wavelength toward the object to be measured, and radiating, by the second light emitter, second emission light of a second wavelength toward the object to be measured (Paragraph 0062: “The PPG circuit 110 includes a light source 210 configured to emit a plurality of wavelengths of light across various spectrums. The plurality of LEDs 212a-n are configured to emit light in one or more spectrums, including infrared (IR) light, ultraviolet (UV) light, near IR light or visible light, in response to driver circuit 218.”, and Fig. 2 illustrates multiple LEDs and multiple photo detectors.);
receiving, by the first image sensor, first reflected light of the first wavelength reflected from the object to be measured, and (Paragraph 0023: “a first PPG signal is obtained from light at a first wavelength reflected from or transmitted through skin tissue of a patient and a second PPG signal is obtained from light at a second wavelength reflected from or transmitted through skin tissue of the patient, wherein the first wavelength is between 380 nm and 410 nm and wherein the second wavelength is equal to or greater than 660 nm”, and Paragraph 0064: “The PPG circuit 110 further includes one or more photodetector circuits 230 a-n. The photodetector circuits 230 may be implemented as part of a camera 250. For example, a first photodetector circuit 230 may be configured to detect visible light and the second photodetector circuit 230 may be configured to detect IR light.”);
detecting, by the one or more processors and over time, first light absorbance based on the first reflected light received by the first image sensor (Paragraph 0023: “a first PPG signal is obtained from light at a first wavelength reflected from or transmitted through skin tissue of a patient and a second PPG signal is obtained from light at a second wavelength reflected from or transmitted through skin tissue of the patient, wherein the first wavelength is between 380 nm and 410 nm and wherein the second wavelength is equal to or greater than 660 nm”, Paragraph 0017: “Pulse oximeters detect oxygen saturation of hemoglobin by using, e.g., spectrophotometry to determine spectral bsorbencies”, Paragraph 0064: “The PPG circuit 110 further includes one or more photodetector circuits 230 a-n. The photodetector circuits 230 may be implemented as part of a camera 250. For example, a first photodetector circuit 230 may be configured to detect visible light and the second photodetector circuit 230 may be configured to detect IR light.”, and Paragraph 0084: “The biosensor 100 detects the light (reflected from the skin or transmitted through the skin)”) and.
Newberry does not teach a second image sensor.
second light absorbance based on the second reflected light received by the second image sensor;
determining, by the one or more processors, a first statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of first light absorbances by an average of the plurality of first light absorbances, and a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances; and
determining, by the one or more processors, oxygen saturation of the object to be measured according to a ratio between the first statistical index and the second statistical index, in accordance with an equation K1-K2*[a1/a2], where K1 and K2 are constants, a1 is the first statistical index, and a2 is the second statistical index.
Tucker teaches a first light emitter, a second light emitter, a first image sensor, a second image sensor, and one or more processors, wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, the first image sensor and the second image sensor are each positioned at a distance from, and out of contact with, an object to be measured, the method comprising (Paragraph 0049: “These settings include direct illumination and imaging of tissues, but where access to the imaged Field of View (FOV) is accomplished through different approaches. These approaches may include, for example, direct contact or non-contact with tissues”, Paragraph 0051: “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, the system 100 includes at least two light sources, first 130 and second 131 light sources, respectively,”, “the first light source 130 delivers visible light and the second light source 131 delivers NIR light”, “the camera may be a multi-sensor camera, rather than a single camera with one sensor chip. The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range. As illustrated in FIG. 1C, in embodiments having a multi-sensor camera 110′, the camera may have a plurality of spaced apart sensors S1 through SN.”, “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, the system 100 includes at least two light sources, first 130 and second 131 light sources, respectively,”, and Figs. 1A-B illustrate two separate light sources (130,131), Fig.1C illustrates multiple space-apart light sources (130,131) and sensors (S1,S2,…,SN) for non-contact approach.):
receiving, by the first image sensor, first reflected light of the first wavelength reflected from the object to be measured, and receiving, by the second image sensor, second reflected light of the second wavelength reflected from the object to be measured (Paragraph 0051: “the camera may be a multi-sensor camera, rather than a single camera with one sensor chip. The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range. As illustrated in FIG. 1C, in embodiments having a multi-sensor camera 110′, the camera may have a plurality of spaced apart sensors S1 through SN.”, and Fig.1C illustrates multiple space-apart image sensors (S1, S2, …, SN), “The reflections 140, 141, 142 off the sample 160 are captured by a camera 110, which may be, for example, a split-image or multi-sensor camera in some embodiments. In particular, in some embodiments the camera may be a multi-sensor camera, rather than a single camera with one sensor chip. The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range”).
detecting, by the one or more processors and over time, first light absorbance based on the first reflected light received by the first image sensor and second light absorbance for based on the second reflected light received by the second image sensor (Paragraph 0006: “These may be additional light sources or include the first and/or second light sources. These absorbance data are captured in conjunction with the first and second light sources”, Paragraph 0049: “These settings include direct illumination and imaging of tissues, but where access to the imaged Field of View (FOV) is accomplished through different approaches. These approaches may include, for example, direct contact or non-contact with tissues”, Paragraph 0051: “the camera may be a multi-sensor camera, rather than a single camera with one sensor chip. The multi-sensor camera has multiple sensors and each sensor may be configured to image one wavelength or wavelength range. As illustrated in FIG. 1C, in embodiments having a multi-sensor camera 110′, the camera may have a plurality of spaced apart sensors S1 through SN.”, “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, the system 100 includes at least two light sources, first 130 and second 131 light sources, respectively,”, Fig.1C illustrates multiple space-apart light sources (130,131) and sensors (S1,S2,…,SN) for non-contact approach.).
determining, by the one or more processors, a first statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of first light absorbances by an average of the plurality of first light absorbances, and a second statistical index by dividing a standard deviation of a plurality of second light absorbances by an average of the plurality of second light absorbances (Paragraph 0114: “standard deviation (STD) and mean of the image data are used for the RR value equation shown below. The standard deviation (STD) and mean values used are two-dimensional arrays to represent the STD and mean of the image set, while conventional methods discussed above rely on one-dimensional values of an intensity signal.”, and Equation 15:
R
R
i
m
a
g
e
=
R
λ
1
R
λ
1
=
S
T
D
λ
1
M
e
a
n
λ
1
S
T
D
λ
2
M
e
a
n
λ
2
); and
determining, by the one or more processors, oxygen saturation of the object to be measured according to a ratio between the first statistical index and the second statistical index, in accordance with an equation K1-K2*[a1/a2], where K1 and K2 are constants, a1 is the first statistical index, and a2 is the second statistical index (Paragraph 0110: “blood ; and Hb is the concentration of hemoglobin in blood . As illustrated in Eqn. (12) below, SpO2 is linearly related to the RR signal by the Beer Lambert law ”, and Equation 12:
S
p
O
2
=
m
∙
R
R
+
b
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the noncontact PPG measurement device of Newberry with multispectral imaging arrangement and statistical processing as taught by Tucker because incorporating separate wavelength-specific image sensors and calculating a ratio of normalized signal and variations at different wavelengths would have facilitated the determination of oxygen saturation using multispectral optical measurements (Newberry, Paragraphs 0062-0066, 0215, 0219-0220; Tucker, Paragraphs 0055-0056; Fig. 1C, Equations 12, 15).
Regarding claim 10 (original), Newberry in view of Tucker teaches the apparatus of claim 9(See rejection of claim 9 above),
Newberry teaches further comprising determining a pulse rate of the object to be measured from a time interval of a change in the first light absorbance (Paragraph 0095: “The spectral responses are obtained around the plurality of wavelengths, including at least a first wavelength and a second wavelength at 502. The spectral responses may be measured over a predetermined period (such as 300 usec.) or at least over 2-3 cardiac cycles. This measurement process is repeated continuously, e.g., pulsing the light at 10-100 Hz and obtaining spectral responses over a desired measurement period, e.g. from 1-2 seconds to 1-2 minutes or from 2-3 hours to continuously over days or weeks.”, Paragraph 0207: “To estimate the pulse rate, the frequency spectrum of the PPG signal is obtained using a FFT algorithm over a predetermined period (hamming window). The pulse rate is estimated as the frequency that corresponds to the highest power in the estimated frequency spectrum. The frequency spectrum may be averaged or added over 5-10 second windows. “, Paragraph 0214: “Since PPG waveforms for a subject may vary over time, the stored PPG waveform and its characteristics for a user may need to be updated periodically.”, Paragraph 0215: “The PPG signal is derived from the time series of the intensity of light at a first wavelength and a second wavelength at 1804”).
Regarding claim 16 (amended), Newberry in view of Tucker teaches the apparatus of claim 9(See rejection of claim 9 above),
Newberry does not teach wherein the K1 is 110 and the K2 is 25
Tucker teaches variables K1 and K2 (Paragraph 0110: “where m is the correlation coefficient between the RR signal intensity”; Eq (12), SpO2 = m*RR +b).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Newberry with Tucker to have K1 be 110 and K2 be 25 because the constants are calibration parameters used to determine oxygen saturation (Tucker, Eq (12), SpO2 = m*RR +b). The applicant’s specification (Paragraph 0068) states that “K1 and K2 are proportional constants and may be set to 110 and 25, respectively, without being limited thereto”. There may be no evidence of record establishing that the particular values of 110 and 25 are critical or produce unexpected results. Accordingly, selecting the calibration constant to have K1 =100 and K2=25 would have been an obvious matter of design choice withing the ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Response to argument regarding 101 rejections:
On pages 7-9 of applicant’s response, applicant argues that the amended claims integrate the mathematical concepts into a practical application by providing a technical improvement through noncontact optical measurements.
MPEP §2106.04(d)(1) states that the claims must reflect the technical improvement described in the specification. (Examiner notes non-contact pulse oximeters are known in the art as evidenced by the prior art listed on the PTO-892s and IDSs and further evidenced by Applicant's response stating they are existing technologies (Bottom of Page 7 of Applicant's Remarks filed 08/28/2026). Furthermore, the claims do not reflect the alleged improvement in measurement accuracy.
Applicant argues the radiating, receiving, and detecting steps are not merely insignificant extra-solution data gathering activities but part of the claimed optical/particular physical measurement. MPEP §2106.05(g) discusses insignificant extra-solution activity, including mere data gathering. The recited light emitters and image sensors perform optical data gathering using conventional components, analogous to the activities discussed in Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); and vi. Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis).It is clear this is merely extra-solution data gathering being performed with conventional components.
Regarding the argument concerning statical calculation calculations on Page 8 of Applicant’s remarks: MPEP §2106.05(h) discusses insignificant extra-solution activity, including mere data gathering. A data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (limiting use of abstract idea to the Internet); Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (limiting use of abstract idea to use with XML tags)." Thus, it is clear that the type of data gathered does not integrate the claimed invention into a practical application.
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the mathematical concepts into a practical application under step 2A, Prong Two, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C §101 is maintained.
Response to argument regarding 103 rejections:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to light emitter/image sensor position and non-contact configuration, on page 12, applicant argues that the combination of Newberry and De Haan fails to disclose the claimed arrangement which renders “positioned at a distance from and out of contact with the object to be measured”. MPEP §2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification during examination. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims do not require a particular numerical distance.
As stated in the previous office action, Newberry discloses a camera positioned at a distance from the measured body part (Paragraph 0205), including light emitters and an image sensor for noncontact PPG imaging (Paragraph 0208-0209, 0219-0220). Furthermore, Tucker discloses separate wavelength-specific image sensors (Paragraph 0055-0056, Fig. 1C). Therefore, Newberry in view of Tucker discloses the claimed noncontact arrangement, and applicant’s argument are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MORGAN SANGJO SHIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791