DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on January 23, 2024
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GARG et al (US 2016/0277138 A1) in view of SUH et al. (US 2022/0321524 A1).
As per Claim 1 GARG teaches a device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor (Paragraph 0019 device generally includes a processor);
a clock (Paragraph 0005 a master clock); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising (Paragraph 0019 The network device also generally includes a memory coupled to the processor):
advertising a capability as a precision timing protocol (PTP) master clock through an Internet Protocol (IP) network, (Paragraph 0004, 0036, 0050, 0064 capability to synchronize to a master clock and act as a master clock to one or more slave clocks. For example, For example, in one implementation, the PTP node may receive announce messages from the current master PTP node and PTP may be implemented over various packet transports, for example, such as internet protocol (IP) version 4 (IPv4), IPv6, multi-protocol label switching (MPLS), etc.);
receiving a unicast signaling mechanism from a PTP client node in the network (Paragraph 0005, 0018, 0020 where the PTP node participates in an exchange of one or more messages with a current master node ); and sending clock messages to the PTP client node responsive to accepting the PTP client node (Paragraph 0020 For example, a PTP slave and PTP master may exchange various signaling messages (e.g., announce-request, announce-grant, sync-request, sync-grant, etc.) that may allow for a PTP session to be established between the PTP slave and master ).
However GARG does not explicitly disclose wherein the advertising includes an IP address of the device
Suh disclose wherein the advertising includes an IP address of the device (Paragraph 0006, 0035, 0071, 0103, 0177 a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device. The multicast responder 545 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the second external electronic device 340 in operation 411. The electronic device 320 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and in operation 411, may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the second external electronic. The communication module 190 may include a wireless communication module 192 (e.g., a cellular communication module, a short-range wireless communication module, or a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). For example, according to an embodiment, the module may be implemented in a form of an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GARG with the teachings of SUH in order to the make the system more efficient so transmitting a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device.. (see Suh Paragraph 0165).
As per Claim 2 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device further comprises a receiver configured to receive time information from a time source and wherein the operations further comprise synchronizing the clock to the time source (Paragraph 0005, 0018, 0020 For example, the PTP node may perform clock synchronization based on a timestamp received from a current master PTP node and also serves as a master node to at least one connected PTP node that performs clock synchronization based on a timestamp received from the PTP node. ).
As per Claim 3 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 2, receiver However GARG does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver is a Global Navigation Satellite Service.
Suh disclose wherein the receiver is a Global Navigation Satellite Service (Paragraph 0006, 0035, 0071, 0103, 0177 a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device. The multicast responder 545 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the second external electronic device 340 in operation 411. The electronic device 320 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and in operation 411, may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the second external electronic. The communication module 190 may include a wireless communication module 192 (e.g., a cellular communication module, a short-range wireless communication module, or a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). For example, according to an embodiment, the module may be implemented in a form of an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GARG with the teachings of SUH in order to the make the system more efficient so transmitting a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device.. (see Suh Paragraph 0165).
As per Claim 4 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the advertising is performed via an Interior Gateway Protocol (IGP) (Paragraph 0030 For example, as shown, the one or more protocols may include label distribution protocol (LDP), and one or more gateway protocols, such as interior gateway protocol (IGP) and labeled border gateway protocol (BGP). LDP, in general, may be used for the exchange of label mapping information (between the CSGs 212) associated with MPLS. IGP, in general, may be used for the exchange of routing information between the CSGs 212. Some examples of IGP protocols include Open Shortest Path First (OSPF). ).
As per Claim 5 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the IGP is an Intermediate System to Intermediate System (ISIS) (Paragraph 0026, 0030, For example, as shown, the one or more protocols may include label distribution protocol (LDP), and one or more gateway protocols, such as interior gateway protocol (IGP) and labeled border gateway protocol (BGP). LDP, in general, may be used for the exchange of label mapping information (between the CSGs 212) associated with MPLS. Each of these networks may include a plurality of intermediate network devices (e.g., switches, routers, etc.) that may be used for forwarding and routing traffic in and/or between the networks.).
As per Claim 6 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 5, However GARG does not explicitly disclose wherein the advertising uses a new link state protocol (LSP) data unit
Suh disclose wherein the advertising uses a new link state protocol (LSP) data unit (Paragraph 0006, 0035, 0071, 0103, 0177 a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device. The multicast responder 545 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the second external electronic device 340 in operation 411. The electronic device 320 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and in operation 411, may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the second external electronic. The communication module 190 may include a wireless communication module 192 (e.g., a cellular communication module, a short-range wireless communication module, or a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). For example, according to an embodiment, the module may be implemented in a form of an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GARG with the teachings of SUH in order to the make the system more efficient so transmitting a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device.. (see Suh Paragraph 0165).
As per Claim 7 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the IGP is an Open Shortest Path First (Paragraph 0030 For example, as shown, the one or more protocols may include label distribution protocol (LDP), and one or more gateway protocols, such as interior gateway protocol (IGP) and labeled border gateway protocol (BGP). LDP, in general, may be used for the exchange of label mapping information (between the CSGs 212) associated with MPLS. IGP, in general, may be used for the exchange of routing information between the CSGs 212. Some examples of IGP protocols include Open Shortest Path First (OSPF).
As per Claim 8 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 7, However GARG does not explicitly disclose wherein the advertising message uses an opaque Link State Advertisement (LSA)
Suh disclose wherein the advertising message uses an opaque Link State Advertisement (LSA) (Paragraph 0006, 0035, 0071, 0103, 0177 a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device. The multicast responder 545 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing the IP address to the second external electronic device 340 in operation 411. The electronic device 320 may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the first external electronic device 330, and in operation 411, may transmit a router advertisement including information for renewing an IP address to the second external electronic. The communication module 190 may include a wireless communication module 192 (e.g., a cellular communication module, a short-range wireless communication module, or a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). For example, according to an embodiment, the module may be implemented in a form of an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GARG with the teachings of SUH in order to the make the system more efficient so transmitting a router advertisement including information related to generation of the IP address to the external electronic device.. (see Suh Paragraph 0165).
As per Claim 9 GARG-SUH teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the advertising stays within an OSPF area of the device (Paragraph 0030 For example, as shown, the one or more protocols may include label distribution protocol (LDP), and one or more gateway protocols, such as interior gateway protocol (IGP) and labeled border gateway protocol (BGP). LDP, in general, may be used for the exchange of label mapping information (between the CSGs 212) associated with MPLS. IGP, in general, may be used for the exchange of routing information between the CSGs 212. Some examples of IGP protocols include Open Shortest Path First (OSPF).
Claims 10-20 are the device and apparatus claims corresponding to the device claims 1-9 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-9. Claims 10-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-9.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463