DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/23/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim et al 2022/0020987.
As to claims 1-2, 7-9, 13-14:
Kim et al disclose a multilayer electrode 1000 for a secondary battery including an electrode current collector 100, a first mixture layer 200 including an active material, a binder and a carbon-based conductive material, the first mixture layer being formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector; and a second mixture layer 300 disposed on the first mixture layer and including an active material, a binder and a carbon-based conductive material; and a third mixture layer 400 disposed on the second mixture layer and including an active material, a binder and a carbon-based conductive material (Abstract; 0031-0037; 0058-0066; see CLAIMS 1-5; see EXAMPLES 1-2; see Figure 1). Kim et al disclose the resistance gradient so that the resistance decreases from the first mixture layer to the third mixture layer (Abstract; 0047; see EXAMPLES 1-2). Kim et al teach the method of manufacturing the disclosed multilayer electrode (0046).
Figure 1, infra, illustrates the multilayer electrode:
As to claim 3:
Kim et al disclose the active material comprising at least a metal-based material (0042).
As to claim 5:
Kim et al disclose the following binder materials (0045):
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a detailed search for the prior art failed to reveal or fairly suggest what is instantly claimed, in particular: the battery electrode comprising all of the claimed components/elements satisfying the specific structural and material relationship as recited in dependent claims 4, 6 and 10, respectively.
Claims 4, 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that claims 11-12 are also allowable by virtue of their dependency upon dependent claim 10.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752