DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed limitation “wherein the step of heating is further performed by a second inductive heating source arranged proximate the first side of the connector housing” of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regrading claim 1, this claim recites the term “a plurality of terminals”, in lines 1 and 2 of the claim and the later should be “the plurality of terminals” to avoid antecedence issues.
Further, this claim recites the term “a connector housing” and appears to be referring to the element, “a plug 140”, recited in the specification and the drawings. The applicant should use the same terminology of the specification in the claims to avoid ambiguity. Claims 2 – 16 inherit these objections by virtue of their dependency.
Regarding claim 8, this claim recites “…a plurality of third openings defined in the second side of the housing…” and the term “the housing” should be “the connector housing” to provide a proper antecedence to the term.
Regarding claim 9, this claim recites “…wherein at least one of one of solder balls or solder pads are formed on the exposed conductors of the FFC” and should be “…wherein at least solder balls or solder pads are formed on the exposed conductors of the FFC”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a stiffening element” in claim 2, wherein “element” the generic place holder is preceded by a functional word “stiffening” without sufficient recitation of what the “stiffening element” structurally entails.
Structural support for “stiffening element” can be found in the specification ¶ 0028 and FIGS. 4 and 5, wherein the stiffening element is described to be a platelike structure with guide protrusions and latching arms for positioning the conductors flat flexible cable close to the connector housing. Thus, “stiffening element” is interpreted to be a plate for holding and positioning the conductors of the flat flexible cable and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 9 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0067850 A1), hereinafter “Chen”, in view of Neuman (US 6,384,339 B1) and hereinafter “Neuman”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method of attaching a flat flexible cable (FFC) to a plurality of terminals (fixing a flat flexible cable (FFC) to a cable connector comprising a plurality of terminals using a fixing assembly, (see claim 24 and FIGS 1 – 19)) comprising:
arranging a plurality of terminals within a connector housing (arranging a plurality of terminals 16 within a cable connector shell 18, (0073, see claim 24 and FIGS.17 - 19)), each terminal defining a weld area adapted to be electrically connected to a conductor of the FFC (a conductor of the flexible cable 20 is directly soldered onto a terminal 16,wherein the flexible cable 20 has a plurality conductors and the terminal 16 has a plurality of terminals, (0073 – 0075 and FIGS 17 – 19));
positioning the FFC proximate the connector housing such that the weld area of each terminal is arranged directly adjacent a respective one of a plurality of exposed conductors of the FFC (the flexible cable 20 is secured to the cable connector 10 via a soldering portion 186 such that the conductors of the flexible cable 20 are adjacent to the terminals 16, (0073 and see FIG.17)); and
heating at least the weld area of each of the plurality of terminals for electrically connecting the plurality of conductors of the FFC to the plurality of terminals (heating the solder paved soldering portion 186 by hot-melt soldering to fix the flexible cable 20 to the cable connector 10, (0073, claim 24 and see FIGS 17 – 19)).
Chen does not teach that the soldering of the plurality terminals with the plurality of conductors of the flat flexible connector is with an inductive heating source.
However, Neuman that relates to electrically interconnecting contact elements on a rigid printed circuit board with a flat flexible cable (1:10 – 20), also teaches using inductive heating source 420 to solder terminal leads 110 to leads 112 of board 104 (4:33 – 43, 6:46 – 56,7:1 – 05, 7:46 – 43 and see FIG.4). Neuman further discusses that an advantage to this induction soldering method is that induction loop of the inductive heating source targets only controlled heating of the leads that fall under the induction loop, substantially reducing the amount of heat transferred to the substrate, preventing damage to the substrate (4:36 – 40 and 6:49 – 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the soldering the plurality terminals with the plurality of conductors of the flat flexible connector of Chen to use an inductive heating source to precisely apply a controlled heat targeted to solder areas, substantially reducing the amount of heat transferred to the substrate, preventing heating damage to the substrate during soldering as taught in Neuman.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of, prior to positioning the FFC proximate the connector housing, fitting a stiffening element to a side of the FFC opposite the plurality of exposed conductors (a compressor plate 60 is disposed on one side of the flexible cable 20 opposite the exposed conductors 200 for compressing the flexible cable 20 , before the flexible cable 20 is inserted into the cable connector 10, Chen(0067 and see FIG.8)).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising the step of, prior to step of heating, securing the stiffening element onto the connector housing such that the exposed conductors of the FFC are aligned with the weld areas of the terminals (securing the compressor with securing plate 60 onto the cable connector sell 18 to put the exposed conductors 200 of the flexible cable 20 are in close contact with the connecting portion 160 of terminal 16, Chen (0067 and see FIG.8)).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the connector housing includes: a plurality of first openings defined on a first side thereof and exposing the weld area of each of the terminals; and a plurality of second openings defined on a second side thereof and exposing an underside of each weld area (the cable connector sell 18 has a plurality of openings on the bottom side of the connector sell 18 exposing the terminals 16, please see Chen’s FIGS.3, 5a, 5b, 7a, 7b, 8 and 11 and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate having a corresponding plurality of openings on the top side of the cable connector sell 18 to expose and have access to the terminals on both sides).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the inductive heating source is arranged proximate the second side of the connector housing (the induction coil assembly 421 is arranged toward the heated bonding areas 422 such that it heats only the areas of the leads under coil, Neuman (7:35 – 42) thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate having the induction heat source proximate to a plurality of openings on the bottom side of the connector sell 18 exposing the terminals 16).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of one of solder balls or solder pads are formed on the exposed conductors of the FFC (the soldering of flexible cable 20 to the cable connector 10 involves paving a solder paste onto a plurality of conductors and soldering to a plurality of conductors the flexible cable 20 by melting the solder paste, Chen (0061 and 0073),
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Neuman teaches he method of claim 1, further comprising the step of, prior to the step of positioning the FFC, applying solder to the exposed conductors of the FFC (the leads 218 and 220 are covered with eutectic solder layers prior to inductive soldering, the ends of the conducting leads are precoated with solder pads prior to the inductive soldering step, Neuman(4:17 – 20 and 7:01 - 05).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the step of applying solder includes applying a single continuous layer of solder over the plurality of exposed conductors (the ends of the conducting leads are precoated in solder prior to the inductive soldering step and this is typically accomplished by conventional plating or melt solder formation, Neuman (4:17 – 20)).
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the step of heating is controlled such that the solder is pulled from between adjacent ones of the plurality of exposed conductors and the plurality of terminals (the induction soldering process involves controlling the induce eddy currents to be sufficient to generate enough heat within the copper conductor to melt the preapplied solder on the lead end, Neuman(4:33 – 63)).
Regarding claims 13 - 14, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the step of applying the single continuous layer of solder includes applying a solder foil across the plurality of exposed conductors (claim 13), applying a solder paste across the plurality of exposed conductors (claim 14), (the soldering method involves paving a solder paste and melting the solder paste on the plurality conductors, Chen (0061) or precoating a solder layer (foil) across the ends of conducting leads, Neuman (4: 17 – 20 and 4:55 – 59)).
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of blowing air onto at least one of the plurality of terminals or the connector housing (cooling water at 60-100 psi is pumped through the loop tubing to prevent overheating, Neuman (5:59 – 60)).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising the steps of: detecting a temperature of the weld area of at least one of the plurality of terminals; and controlling at least one of a duration, current, or frequency of operation of an induction coil of the inductive heating source (the radio frequency energy is used to induce enough eddy currents in the induction coil assembly, preferably selected to have a frequency that ranges from about 1 to 15 MHz, power output of about 1 to 3 kilowatts, creates a temperature in the solder mass of about 220-260° C., and the duration of application may be limited for a period of time of less than 5 seconds, Neuman (5:20 – 38)).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses a method of attaching a flat flexible cable (FFC) to a plurality of terminals of an electrical connector (fixing a flat flexible cable (FFC) to a cable connector comprising a plurality of terminals using a fixing assembly, (see claim 24 and FIGS 1 – 19)), comprising:
applying a solder across at least one of the plurality of terminals or a plurality of exposed conductors of the FFC (the soldering of flexible cable 20 to the cable connector 10 involves paving a solder paste onto a plurality of conductors to be soldered to the flexible cable, (0061 and 0073));
fitting a stiffening element onto the FFC (a compressor plate 60 is fitted on one side of the flexible cable 20 opposite the exposed conductors 200 for compressing the flexible cable 20, (0067 and see FIG.8));
fixing the stiffening element onto a housing of the electrical connector such that the plurality of exposed conductors of the FFC abut the plurality of terminals (inserting the compressor with securing plate 60 into the cable connector shell 18 to put the exposed conductors 200 of the flexible cable 20 are in close contact with the connecting portion 160 of terminal 16,(0067 and see FIG.8));
heating at least a portion of the plurality of terminals to electrically connect the plurality of exposed conductors of the FFC to the plurality of terminals via the solder (heating the solder paved soldering portion by hot-melt soldering to fix the flexible cable 20 to the cable connector 10, (0073, claim 24 and see FIGS 17 – 19)).
Chen does not teach that the soldering of the plurality terminals with the plurality of conductors of the flat flexible connector is with an inductive heating source.
However, Neuman that relates to electrically interconnecting contact elements on a rigid printed circuit board with a flat flexible cable (1:10 – 20), also teaches using inductive heating source 420 to solder terminal leads 110 to leads 112 of board 104 (4:33 – 43, 6:46 – 56,7:1 – 05, 7:46 – 43 and see FIG.4). Neuman further discusses that an advantage to this induction soldering method is that induction loop of the inductive heating source targets only controlled heating of the leads that fall under the induction loop, substantially reducing the amount of heat transferred to the substrate, preventing damage to the substrate (4:36 – 40 and 6:49 – 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the soldering the plurality terminals with the plurality of conductors of the flat flexible connector of Chen to use an inductive heating source to precisely apply a controlled heat targeted to solder areas, substantially reducing the amount of heat transferred to the substrate, preventing heating damage to the substrate during soldering as taught in Neuman.
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the connector housing includes: a plurality of first openings defined on a first side thereof and exposing a weld area of each of the plurality of terminals; and a plurality of second openings defined on a second side thereof and exposing an underside of each weld area (the cable connector sell 18 has a plurality of openings on the bottom side of the connector sell 18 exposing the terminals 16, please see Chen’s FIGS.3, 5a, 5b, 7a, 7b, 8 and 11 and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate having a corresponding plurality of openings on the top side of the cable connector sell 18 to expose and have access to the terminals on both sides).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Neuman teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the step of applying the solder includes applying a single continuous layer of solder over the plurality of terminals or the plurality of exposed conductors(the ends of the conducting leads are precoated in solder prior to the inductive soldering step and this is typically accomplished by conventional plating or melt solder formation, Neuman (4:17 – 20)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761