DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to the Remarks filed December 5, 2026. After a review of the claimed limitations in the claims, the indicated allowability of claims 1-17 is withdrawn and the following rejections are deemed appropriated. This Office action is made none-final.
The rejection of claims 18-20 under 35 USC 102 (a) (1) is hereby remained. The rejection is reiterated bellow for applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al., US 2019/0102088.
As per claim 18:
Fang teaches a method [see para. 0078] comprising: writing first data in a first pass [i.e., initial writing. This is because the data must be written prior to be read. Official Notice is hereby taken]; reading the first data using second data [i.e., the second read operation for reading the data using the correspondent memory address(es). Official Notice is hereby taken]; and after reading the first data, writing the first data in a second pass [i.e., the rewrite operation of the read out data after the error correction is passed].
As per claim 19:
Fang also teach the further claimed limitation of "wherein the send data is composite
data" [this is because the address is composed of row and column addresses as well-
known. Official Notice is hereby taken].
As per claim 20:
Fang also teaches the further claimed limitation of "wherein the data is written to a
storage media in the first and second passes [i.e., the original write and the rewrite
operations]
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,275,515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims [cited as line numbers in the parentheses] teach the instant claims as follows:
As per claim 1:
The patent claim 1 teaches a system comprising: at least one storage media [line 2]; and at least one processing device configured to: write first data to the storage media [lines 6-10; data is written into each of the plane of the storage media] ; generate second data using the first data [lines 11-12; composite data is generated using data from each plane]; and
use the second data to read the first data [lines 19-20, read data for each plane using the second data derived from the composite data].
The patent claim 1 teaches each and every claimed limitations of the instant claim 1. The instant claim 1, therefore, is anticipated by the patent claim 1.
For claims 2-20:
The further claimed limitations in claims 2-20 can also be found in the patent claims 2-20.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,886,718. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims [cited as line numbers in the parentheses] teach the instant claims as follows:
As per claim 1:
The patent claim 1 teaches a system comprising: at least one storage media [line 2]; and at least one processing device configured to: write first data to the storage media [lines 3-5; data is written into the storage media] ; generate second data using the first data [line 6; composite data is generated using the data]; and
use the second data to read the first data [line 7, read the data using the composite data].
The patent claim 1 teaches each and every claimed limitations of the instant claim 1. The instant claim 1, therefore, is anticipated by the patent claim 1.
For claims 2-20:
The further claimed limitations in claims 2-20 can also be found in the patent claims 2-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per claim 1:
The claim recites “generate” second data using first data” step , as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a “processing device configured to..” nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being calculated mathematically. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because; in particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a “storage media”, “processing device”, “write” step and “read” step. The “storage media” and “processing device” are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Additionally, the “write” step and “read” step amount to no more than mere data gathering and output which is insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because; as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a “memory device” and “processing device” are generic computer components recited at a high level of generality amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, the “read” step is “receiving or transmitting data over a network” which the courts have found to be a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). Lastly, the “writing” step is “storing and retrieving information in memory” which the courts have found to be a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)). The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 10:
The claim recites “generate” step , as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a “controller configured to..” nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being calculated mathematically. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because; in particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a “storage media”, “controller”, and “read” step. The “storage media” and “controller” are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Additionally, the “read” step amount to no more than mere data gathering and output which is insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because; as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a “memory device” and “controller” are generic computer components recited at a high level of generality amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, the “read” step is “receiving or transmitting data over a network” which the courts have found to be a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 18:
The claim recites “reading” step and “writing” steps, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process. Nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human using pen and paper. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
For claims 2-9, 11-17 and 19-20:
The further claimed limitations appear to only further define certain characteristics of the generic computer components, which limits the claims to a certain field of use and technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h). Therefore, without a good reason otherwise, the dependent claims are also be rejected under 101.
Response to Arguments
With regard to claims 18-20, applicant basically described the disclosed invention and argued that, in claim 18, the prior art fail to disclose or teaches a memory subsystem configured to write data to memory using descrambled data [see the remarks, page 2]. However, the argument is not supported by the claim. There is no descrambled composite data recited in the claim. The claimed “second data” clearly is not descrambled composite data,
Conclusion
/HIEP T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137