DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendment filed on 07/03/2026. Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending. Claims 1, 24, and 25 are independent. Claims 9-12 and 16-20 are withdrawn. Claims 16-20 are canceled.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation ‘the suture passage through which the suture is loaded prior to passing through the cannulation.” As disclosed in the specification, the suture is different part than the locking ferrule. The limitation, ‘the suture passage through which the suture is loaded prior to passing through the cannulation,” positively recites the suture to be part of the locking ferule and is therefore considered as new matter. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted to be “the suture passage through which the suture can be loaded prior to passing through the cannulation.”
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recite the limitation “the suture is looped around the band and then through the cannulation.” The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim is describing a physical structure or a chronological sequence of events. If the limitation is referring to a chronological sequence of events, then the limitation is a method which is in a different statutory class than the apparatus.
The art rejection(s) below is/are made as best understood by the examiner because of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. No.: 2019/0076141) in view of Bless (US Pub. No.: 2010/0249855) as evidenced by House et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0310031).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a locking ferrule (200, Figs. 2C and 4A) for performing tissue repairs, comprising: a body (205, Fig. 4A) extending between a first end (the end at the bottom of Fig. 4A) and a second end (the end at the top of Fig. 4A) and including an outer diameter wall (outer diameter wall, Figs. 2C and 4A), an inner diameter wall (inner diameter wall, Figs. 2C and 4A), and a cannulation (passageway of 205, Fig. 4A) that is circumscribed by the inner diameter wall; and a plurality of locking barbs (210, Figs. 2C and 4C) extending into the cannulation and configured to lock a suture that is received through the cannulation relative to the body (Para. [0031]). However, Liu does not disclose an eyelet connected to the body near the first end or the second end.
Bless teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture / bone anchor), a locking ferrule (1, Figs. 6 and 7) comprising an eyelet (combination of rods 11 and ring 13, Fig. 6) connected to the body near the second end of the body of the locking ferrule (Figs. 6 and 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking ferrule of Liu to include an eyelet connected to the body near the second end of the body of the locking ferrule as taught by Bless in order to obtain the advantage of providing a bearing for knotting of the suture to the locking ferrule (Bless, Paras. [0016] and [0044]-[0045]). As evidenced by House, the end(s) of the suture is/are still loose after using the locking ferrule. House specifically provides the evidence that a tie member (28, Fig. 2) would help securing the ends of a suture even though the suture is adjustable locked by the locking barbs. This allows the end of the suture to be tied-off rather than allowing the end to be looser requiring the clinician to cut the loose end (House, Para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Bless discloses that the eyelet is integrally formed with the body (Bless, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Bless discloses that the eyelet is connected to the second end (In the modified invention, the eyelet is connected to the second end because eyelet of Bless is located at the second end at which the suture is pulled, Bless, Fig. 6 and Liu, Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 6, Bless discloses that the eyelet includes a band (Bless, Fig. 6, combination of rods 11 and ring 13 forms the band) that connects to the second end and a suture passage that extends between the band and the second end.
Regarding claim 7, Bless discloses that the suture is looped around the band (Bless, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Bless discloses that the plurality of locking barbs are angled in a direction toward the eyelet (Liu, Fig. 4A and Bless, Fig. 6, the plurality of locking barbs are angled in a direction toward the eyelet because the eyelet is located at the second end at which the sutures are pulled)
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses that the plurality of locking barbs each protrude inwardly from the inner diameter wall (Liu, Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses that the plurality of locking barbs are arranged in at least a first row and a second row (Liu, Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses that a first portion of the plurality of locking barbs of the first row are staggered relative to a second portion of the plurality of locking barbs of the second row (Liu, Fig. 2C).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. No.: 2019/0076141) in view of Bless (US Pub. No.: 2010/0249855) as evidenced by House et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0310031) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stone et al. (US Pat. No.: 5,824,011).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Bless discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as taught above. Liu in view of Bless further discloses that the body is comprised of a first material but fails to disclose the eyelet is comprised of a second material that is different from the first material.
Stone teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture/bone anchor), an eyelet (16, Figs. 1 and 2; alternatively, 28, Fig. 6) of a locking anchor (12, Figs. 1 and 2 or Fig. 6) comprising a second material that can be either same or different from a first material of the body of the locking anchor (Abstract, Col. 4, line 63 – Col. 5, line 13, Col. 7, lines 18-21).
Before the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking ferrule of Liu in view of Bless to include that the eyelet is comprised of a second material that is different from the first material as taught by Stone to allow the different portions of the locking ferrule to be manufactured independently withing conventional methods as an alternative to integrally form the locking ferrule (Stone, Col. 4, line 63- Col. 5, line 7).
Regarding claim 4, Stone discloses that the second material includes suture (Stone, Col. 7, lines 18-21, suture structure 28.).
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. No.: 2019/0076141) in view of Bless (US Pub. No.: 2010/0249855) as evidenced by House et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0310031) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of House et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0310031).
Regarding claims 21-23, Liu in view of Bless discloses all the limitations as taught above. Bless further discloses that the eyelet includes a band that connects to the first end or the second end at two spaced-apart connection points (combination of rods 11 and ring 13 forms the band, Fig. 6 and see Figure below) to define a suture passage between the band and the first end or the second end (see Figure below); wherein the band and the suture passage are both located entirely outside of the cannulation (see Figure below). However, neither Liu nor Bless discloses that the eyelet arches outwardly away from the second end.
House teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture anchor), an eyelet (28, Fig. 2) arches outwardly away from the body of a locking ferrule (20, Fig. 2) to define a suture passage.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the eyelet of the invention of Liu view of Bless to arch outwardly away from the body as taught by House, such as the end of the body/cannulation, in order to facilitate the suture to loop through the eyelet. In the modified device, a suture is fully capable to be loaded prior to passing through cannulation.
Claim(s) 24 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over House et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0310031) in view of Bless (US Pub. No.: 2010/0249855).
Regarding claim 24, House discloses a locking ferrule (20, Fig. 2) for performing tissue repairs, comprising: a body (body of 20, Fig. 2) extending between a first end (end of the left side of Fig. 2) and a second end (end on the right side of Fig. 2) and including an outer diameter wall (Fig. 2), an inner diameter wall (Fig. 2), and a cannulation (23, Fig. 2) that is surrounded by the inner diameter wall; an eyelet connected to the body (28, Fig. 2), the eyelet including a band (band 28, Fig. 2) that connects to body at two spaced-apart connection points and arches outwardly away from body (Fig. 2) to define a suture passage (Para. [0054]), the suture passage being capable to receive a suture looped around the band (suture makes a knot with a suture looped around the band, Para. [0054]); and a plurality of locking barbs (24, Fig. 2) extending into the cannulation and configured to lock the suture that is received through the cannulation relative to the body. However, House does not disclose that the eyelet including the band is connected near the second end such that it forms a suture passage between the band and the second end.
Bless teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture anchor), an eyelet (combination of rods 11 and ring 13, Fig. 6) including a band (combination of rods 11 and ring 13, Fig. 6) connected to second end of the body (see Figure below) such that it forms a suture passage between the band and the second end.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the location of the eyelet to be at the second end a taught by Bless require a smaller amount of suture and/or facilitating the surgical procedure since it does not require the suture to loop to the side of the body of the locking ferrule.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 13-15 filed 07/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Liu describes using the knotting tube to omit the need for a knot to be tied to lock the suture against the surgical site (Para. [0029]). However, Liu does not exclude the loose ends of the suture to be knotted and does not address the problem of the loose ends of the suture after locking the suture with the knotting tube. Bless teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture / bone anchor), a locking ferrule (1, Figs. 6 and 7) comprising an eyelet (combination of rods 11 and ring 13, Fig. 6) connected to the body the second end of the body of the locking ferrule (Figs. 6 and 2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking ferrule of Liu to include an eyelet connected to the body near the second end of the body of the locking ferrule as taught by Bless in order to obtain the advantage of providing a bearing for knotting of the suture to the locking ferrule (Bless, Paras. [0016] and [0044]-[0045]). As evidenced by House, the end(s) of the suture is/are still loose after using the locking ferrule. House specifically provides the evidence that a tie member (28, Fig. 2) would help securing the ends of a suture even though the suture is adjustable locked by the locking barbs. This allows the end of the suture to be tied-off rather than allowing the end to be looser requiring the clinician to cut the loose end (House, Para. [0012]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-25 have been considered but are moot in in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771