DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Election/Restriction response filed on 12/17/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 16 and 20 are independent. Claims 11, 12, and 16-20 are withdrawn by applicant because applicant indicated claims 1-10 and 13-15 are readable on the elected species. Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn by the examiner for the reason(s) below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (claims 1-15 and 20) in the reply filed on 12/17/2025is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Applicant’s election of Species A (Figures 1-4) in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant identifies that claims 1-10 and 13-15 are readable on the elected species. The examiner disagrees that claims 9-12 are readable on the elected species because claim 9 is directed to the non-elected species, Species B (Figs. 7 and 9) and Species C (Fig. 8) by reciting “the plurality of locking barbs are angled in a direction away from the eyelet” because Species A (Figures 1-4) are directed to the locking ferrule having the plurality of locking barbs angled in a direction toward the eyelet. Claim 10 is withdrawn because it depends on claim 9.
Claims 9-12 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Therefore, claims 9-12 and 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. No.: 2019/0076141) in view of Bless (US Pub. No.: 2010/0249855).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a locking ferrule (200, Figs. 2C and 4A) for performing tissue repairs, comprising: a body (205, Fig. 4A) extending between a first end (the end at the bottom of Fig. 4A) and a second end (the end at the top of Fig. 4A) and including an outer diameter wall (outer diameter wall, Figs. 2C and 4A), an inner diameter wall (inner diameter wall, Figs. 2C and 4A), and a cannulation (passageway of 205, Fig. 4A) that is circumscribed by the inner diameter wall; and a plurality of locking barbs (210, Figs. 2C and 4C) extending into the cannulation and configured to lock a suture that is received through the cannulation relative to the body (Para. [0031]). However, Liu does not disclose an eyelet connected to the body near the first end or the second end.
Bless teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture / bone anchor), a locking ferrule (1, Figs. 6 and 7) comprising an eyelet (combination of rods 11 and ring 13, Fig. 6) connected to the body the second end of the body of the locking ferrule (Figs. 6 and 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking ferrule of Liu to include an eyelet connected to the body near the second end of the body of the locking ferrule as taught by Bless in order to obtain the advantage of providing a bearing for knotting of the suture to the locking ferrule (Bless, Paras. [0016] and [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Bless discloses that the eyelet is integrally formed with the body (Bless, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Bless discloses that the eyelet is connected to the second end (In the modified invention, the eyelet is connected to the second end because eyelet of Bless is located at the second end at which the suture is pulled, Bless, Fig. 6 and Liu, Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 6, Bless discloses that the eyelet includes a band (Bless, Fig. 6, combination of rods 11 and ring 13 forms the band) that connects to the second end and a suture passage that extends between the band and the second end.
Regarding claim 7, Bless discloses that the suture is looped around the band (Bless, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Bless discloses that the plurality of locking barbs are angled in a direction toward the eyelet (Liu, Fig. 4A and Bless, Fig. 6, the plurality of locking barbs are angled in a direction toward the eyelet because the eyelet is located at the second end at which the sutures are pulled)
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses that the plurality of locking barbs each protrude inwardly from the inner diameter wall (Liu, Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses that the plurality of locking barbs are arranged in at least a first row and a second row (Liu, Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses that a first portion of the plurality of locking barbs of the first row are staggered relative to a second portion of the plurality of locking barbs of the second row (Liu, Fig. 2C).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. No.: 2019/0076141) in view of Bless (US Pub. No.: 2010/0249855) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stone et al. (US Pat. No.: 5,824,011).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Bless discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as taught above. Liu in view of Bless further discloses that the body is comprised of a first material but fails to disclose the eyelet is comprised of a second material that is different from the first material.
Stone teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suture/bone anchor), an eyelet (16, Figs. 1 and 2; alternatively, 28, Fig. 6) of a locking anchor (12, Figs. 1 and 2 or Fig. 6) comprising a second material that can be either same or different from a first material of the body of the locking anchor (Abstract, Col. 4, line 63 – Col. 5, line 13, Col. 7, lines 18-21).
Before the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the locking ferrule of Liu in view of Bless to include that the eyelet is comprised of a second material that is different from the first material as taught by Stone to allow the different portions of the locking ferrule to be manufactured independently withing conventional methods as an alternative to integrally form the locking ferrule (Stone, Col. 4, line 63- Col. 5, line 7).
Regarding claim 4, Stone discloses that the second material includes suture (Stone, Col. 7, lines 18-21, suture structure 28.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100010538 A1 Juravic; Mark S. et al. discloses a tissue anchor comprising an eyelet formed at the proximal end.
US 20140379004 A1 RAYBIN; Samuel et al. discloses a ferrule device having arms inside the body the ferrule device for locking material through the ferrule device.
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771