Claim Interpretation
The claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification. Present claim 1 recites, “the dot does not include a crack having a length of 10 µm or more” This is supported in [0031] of the specification which states: the fact that no crack is formed can be checked by microscopic observation… In a case in which a crack is present, a length of the crack is measured. In this measurement, it is determined that a crack is not formed in a case in which there is no crack starting from the dot 104 and having a length of 10 microns or more, and it is determined that a crack is formed in a case in which there is a crack starting from the dot 104 and having a length of 10 microns or more.
This indicates a substrate with dot without cracks does sometimes exist. As long as the prior art does not indicate a crack having a length of 10 microns or more it is considered to meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (WO 2018150759) in view of Motoyuki (KR 20030023508) as cited in the machine translation herein and Katayama (WO 2016178344) as cited in the machine translation provided herein and further in view of Isshiki et al. (US 20190256410).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 8-9, Kobayashi discloses a glass substrate in which a dot (140) is formed on a region of a surface (see Fig 2-10) producing a marking,
Kobayashi indicates there is a risk of cracks but does not state a crack of 10 microns or more and no cracks are depicted in Fig 2-10, and in Table 1 Examples 1-4 it was found no cracks occurred,
Kobayashi discloses the marking made up of said dots with a diameter of 5-15 microns thus a smaller diameter than present claim 1.
In an analogous art of forming a marking (Fig 3), made up of dots (Page 1; paragraph 5) with a diameter of the dots being.05mm to .2 mm, thus 50-200 microns (Page 3; paragraph 2). It would be obvious to modify the diameter of the dots making up the marking in Kobayashi with those suggested by Katayama as motivated to provide good visibility of the marking (Page 3; paragraph 4)
Kobayashi is silent as to the retardation in the region in which the dot is formed is equal to or smaller than 50 nm.
Kobayashi states a dot 140 can be formed by irradiating the surface of a glass plate with a laser. The laser may be a pulsed laser or a continuous wave laser.
Analogous art Motoyuki of marking glass suggests using an ArF laser with a wavelength less than 360nm to yield a good internal marking with retardation less than 20nm such that there is no impairment to optical accuracy (at least abstract) and
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the dot of Kobayashi with a retardation of 20nm or less as motivated to provide good optical quality and visibility.
Kobayashi does not indicate the surface roughness of the bottom of the dot.
In an analogous art of modifying visibility of glass Iishiki discloses high antiglareness and high visibility can be attained at the same time because the arithmetic average surface roughness Sa of surface unevenness shapes is in a range of 0.06 to 0.143 μm. It would be obvious to modify the average surface area of the bottom of the dot to be within the surface roughness taught by Iishiki as motivated to achieve high visibility of the identifying dot of Kobayashi. A skilled artisan would be motivated to modify the sides of the dot impression of Kobayashi with this roughness as well with the expected result of increased visibility.
Where the average roughness is suggested to be 0.06 to 0.143 μm it would be expected that the maximum height of the surface roughness would also overlap this range.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi suggests a depth of the dot is 1-10 μm thus overlapping with the claimed range of claim 2. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi suggests the retardation in the region in which the dot or marking is formed is less than 20nm thus overlapping with claim 3 of equal to or larger than 5 nm and equal to or smaller than 50 nm.
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi discloses The glass plate prepared in step S110 is cut into a desired shape thus it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to prepare the glass substrate having a circular shape or a rectangular shape as motivated to prepare a desired shape product.
Regarding claim 7, the glass substrate of Kobayashi as disclosed in claim 1 is capable of the intended use for supporting a semiconductor device.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (WO 2018150759) in view of Motoyuki (KR 20030023508) as cited in the machine translation herein and Katayama (WO 2016178344) as cited in the machine translation provided herein and Isshiki et al. (US 20190256410) as applied above and further in view of Yuan (US 20200131080) .
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi suggests a silica glass but fails to discuss the bending strength.
Yuan discloses a glass suitable for use as substrate with a four-point bending strength of the glass substrate is equal to or larger than 110 MPa [0050].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kobayashi with a base glass taught by Motoyuki as motivated to provide increased surface strength [0050].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the dots of Kobayashi at any dimension from an end face as motivated to provide the desired marking.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741