CLAIMS 33-61 ARE PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION
Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed July 08, 2024 and Information Disclosure Statements filed January 23, 2024, May 08, 2025 and August 11, 2025 has been received and entered into the application. Accordingly, the application papers have been amended as directed by Applicant. Also, as reflected by the attached, completed copies of form PTO/SB/08, the cited references have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(A) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
Claims 33-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“The primary purpose of this requirement of definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent. A secondary purpose is to provide a clear measure of what applicants regard as the invention so that it can be determined whether the claimed invention meets all the criteria for patentability and whether the specification meets the criteria of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph with respect to the claimed invention.” (see MPEP 2173).
In the pharmaceutical art, compositions are defined by their physical characteristics, e.g., the composition form, the color, the density, the total weight or volume and/or the weight or volume of the ingredients therein. Applicant’s claims are not seen to define any particular dosage amount of the active agents contained in the composition or else define the composition by its form, ingredients and amounts thereof because rates of administration, i.e., mg/kg, are set forth rather than absolute amounts, i.e., dosages. Also, in the rate of administration expression “mg/kg”, the “kg” term references a component which is not defined in or else finds antecedent basis in the claim.
Therefore, the claims do not meet either the tenor or express requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, (b) or second paragraph and are being properly rejected.
(B) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d):
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In particular, claim 61 depends upon a claim defining a composition of matter but sets forth intended use elements directed to non-physical or otherwise tangible features which thus fail to further limit the composition defined by the claim on which claim 61 depends, i.e., claim 33.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2016/007538 A1 (Checcone et al., hereinafter “Checcone”, cited by Applicant), (01/14/2016).
Checcone discloses a method for preventing HSV (Herpes Simplex Virus) infection in
HSV seronegative subjects, comprising administering to a subject a first antiviral agent such
as valacyclovir, famciclovir, acyclovir or a salt or solvate thereof, or a combination thereof
(para. (0008)-[0009]).
In addition, the subject can be administered with a second antiviral agent such as an HIV
antiviral agent, for example tenofovir (para. [0010]).
Checcone further discloses that the invention can further comprise administration of
contraceptive such as estradiol (para. [0011]).
Moreover, Checcone discloses that the antiviral agents can suppress HSV in a
seropositive subject (para. [0018]). According to Checcone, therapeutically effective amount of the first antiviral agent is an amount useful for treatment of an outbreak of HSV in a seropositive
subject (para. [0019]).
The antiviral agents and the additional active agents are formulated as a pharmaceutical
composition with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, diluents, carriers
and/or adjuvants (para. [0194]).
The herpes virus treated in document D1 includes herpes simplex virus- 1, herpes simplex virus-2, varicella-zoster, Epstein-Barr (human herpes virus 4), cytomegalovirus (human
herpes virus 5), roseolovirus (human herpes virus 6 and 7), and Karposi's sarcoma-associated
herpes virus (human herpes virus 8) (para. [0073]).
In addition, Checcone discloses that the dosage of valacyclovir, or a salt or solvate
thereof, is 500 mg to 1500 mg, 1 time per day, 2 times per day, 3 times per day, 4 times per
day, or continuously (para. [0125]). The dosage of famciclovir is 200mg to 500mg twice per
day (para. [0156]). The dosage of acyclovir is 400 mg to 1600mg twice per day (para.[0154]).
document D1 further discloses that the antiviral agents can be administered prior to or after
the exposure of the seronegative subject to HSV in order to reduce the risk for HSV infection,
wherein the antiviral agent is administered in a very high dose ranging from 500 to 5000 mg
(para, [0008], [0011], [0180]).
It is noted that Applicant’s claims are not presently limited to any particular absolute amounts, but rather are dependent on a host that has not been claim specified. It is clear that if one were to consider a range of kg weights contemplated for a “subject” having “body weight”, (present claim terminology), one could immediately envision non-human animals or else human neonates having sub-kg body weights which would reasonably place the absolute dosage amounts in the claimed compositions in line with those dosage amounts set forth in Checcone, as outlined above.
Finally, Checcone further teaches that the antiviral agents can be administered as an oral tablet, oral capsule, or oral solution, or in a delivery device such as an injection device, intravaginal ring, transdermal patch, or a combination thereof (para. [0036]).
Double Patenting
Claims 33-61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 20 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,696,918, (cited by the Examiner).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the present claims do not specify absolute dosage amounts present in the composition, one could immediately envision a range of body weights for various types of subjects which would have the dosage amounts of the patented claim set clearly make obvious those of the present claims.
For the above reasons, the presently claimed subject matter is deemed properly rejected and none of the present claims are currently in condition for allowance.
/RAYMOND J HENLEY III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629 March 02, 2026