DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/24/26 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims filed 8/24/26 have been considered as follows.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-8,11,18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuo (US 20200081228).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo teaches (Fig. 1, Table 1) An optical imaging system comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (f1=3.47), a convex (1.5 radius) object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave (7 radius) image-side surface in the paraxial region thereof;
a second lens having negative refractive power (f2=-9.9);
a third lens having positive refractive power (f3=34);
a fourth lens having negative refractive power (f4=-14), a convex object-side surface (39 radius) in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface (7.6 radius) in the paraxial region thereof;
a fifth lens having positive refractive power (f5=3), a convex (7 radius) object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex (-2 radius) image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; and
a sixth lens having negative refractive power (f6=-2),
wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially arranged from an object side of the optical imaging system,
wherein the optical imaging system has a total of six lenses,
wherein 0.35<R1/f<0.40 (1.537/4.15), where R1 is a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens, and f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system,
wherein the third lens has a focal length with a largest absolute value (34) among the first to sixth lenses,
wherein at least one or more inflection points are formed on at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fourth lens (both),
wherein at least one or more inflection points are formed on at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fifth lens (object-side),
wherein at least one or more inflection points are formed on at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the sixth lens (both), and
wherein an absolute value of a radius (197) of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius (7) of curvature of the image-side surface of the first lens (Table 1), and
wherein -2.5 < f2/f < -2.0 (-9.93/4.15), where f2 is a focal length of the second lens.
Regarding claim 3, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein TTL/f<1.25 (1.17), where TTL is a distance on an optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens to an image capturing surface.
Regarding claim 4, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 3, wherein 0.15<BFL/f<0.25 (0.966/4.15), where BFL is a distance on the optical axis from an image-side surface of the sixth lens to the image capturing surface.
Regarding claim 5, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein f1/f<1.2 (3.47/4.15), where f1 is a focal length of the first lens.
Regarding claim 6, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein −0.5<f1/f2<0 (3.47/-9.93), where f1 is a focal length of the first lens.
Regarding claim 7, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein f3/f>6 (34/4.15), where f3 is a focal length of the third lens.
Regarding claim 8, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein −0.5<f2/f3<0 (-9.93/34), where f3 is a focal length of the third lens.
Regarding claim 11, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein TTL/(2*IMG HT)<0.69 (4.85/7.04=0.689), where TTL is a distance on an optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens to an image capturing surface, and IMG HT is half of a diagonal length of the image capturing surface.
Regarding claim 18, Kuo further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the first to sixth lenses are formed of plastic ([83-88], “plastic”).
Regarding claim 20, Kuo further teaches (Table 1) The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of each of the first to sixth lenses is aspherical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teraoka (US 20180120540).
Regarding claim 1, Teraoka teaches (Fig. 6, Tables 3-5) An optical imaging system comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power, a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in the paraxial region thereof;
a second lens having negative refractive power;
a third lens having positive refractive power;
a fourth lens having negative refractive power, a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in the paraxial region thereof;
a fifth lens having positive refractive power, a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; and
a sixth lens having negative refractive power,
wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially arranged from an object side of the optical imaging system,
wherein the optical imaging system has a total of six lenses,
wherein 0.35<R1/f<0.40 (1.55/3.94), where R1 is a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens, and f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system,
wherein the third lens has a focal length with a largest absolute value among the first to sixth lenses,
wherein at least one or more inflection points are formed on at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fourth lens (both),
wherein at least one or more inflection points are formed on at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the fifth lens (object-side),
wherein at least one or more inflection points are formed on at least one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the sixth lens (both), and
wherein an absolute value of a radius (5.57) of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius (5.25) of curvature of the image-side surface of the first lens (Table 3), and
wherein f2/f < -2.0 (-10.032/3.94=-2.546), where f2 is a focal length of the second lens.
Teraoka does not explicitly teach -2.5 < f2/f.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having -2.5 < f2/f would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Teraoka by having -2.5 < f2/f for the purposes of improving production.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Teraoka teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 1, and further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein 0.015<D1/f<0.025 (0.058/3.94=0.01472), where D1 is a distance on an optical axis between the image-side surface of the first lens and an object-side surface of the second lens.
Teraoka does not explicitly teach 0.015<D1/f.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having 0.015<D1/f would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teaching of Teraoka by having 0.015<D1/f for the purposes of improving production.
Regarding claim 10, Teraoka further teaches The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein Fno<1.85 (1.79), where Fno is an F number of the optical imaging system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234