This action is non-final due to new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/25/2026, with respect to Deng have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of He (Optics Letters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 claims a quarter-wave plate (QWP) between the MOE and optical system. However, Claim 11 already claims an MOE performing the function of a QWP (switching light between linear and circular polarization). Adding a QWP to the invention of Claim 1 would only switch the polarization back to what it was before entering the QWP. Thus, there is no reason to do so. In the specification, it appears this QWP is added when the MOE does not perform polarization (page 11-12) and only collimates light, but that is not what the claim recites, as Claim 4 is dependent on Claim 1, which states the MOE polarizes the light.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 12, 16, 17, and 19. rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1) in view of He (Optics Letters)
Claim 1: Avci teaches a ranging system, comprising:
a source of polarized light configured to generate an emitted light beam (Fig. 2, FMCW LiDAR PIC transmitting to PBS 204 to polarize light and Col 6, lines 25-30);
a metasurface optical element (MOE) positioned to receive the emitted light beam from the source of polarized light and configured to transform the emitted light beam from having linear polarization to having circular polarization of a first handedness (Fig. 2, polarization wave plate (i.e.: quarter wave plate) 209 and Col 6, lines 45-61);
an optical element positioned to receive the emitted light beam from the MOE and direct the emitted light beam toward a target (Fig. 2, scanner 210);
wherein the emitted light beam reflects off the target, and returns as a reflected light beam to be passed by the optical element back through the MOE as having circular polarization of a second handedness opposite to the first handedness (Col 6, lines 45-61);
wherein the MOE is positioned to receive the reflected light beam from the optical element and configured to transform the reflected light beam back to having the linear polarization (Col 6, line 62-Col 7, line 1);
a sensor configured to sense the reflected light beam (Fig. 2 - PWP 212 and Retro-reflector 213).
Avci does not teach an MOE, instead just teaching a polarization wave plate (Fig. 2, plate 209).
He teaches a metasurface quarter-wave-plate (PDF, abstract, Fig. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the metasurface QWP, as taught by He, in place of the polarization waveplate, as taught by Avci, because, as He teaches, metasurfaces allow for full range bifringence control and miniaturization (abstract).
Claim 2: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system of claim 1, wherein the optical element comprises a scanner positioned to receive the emitted light beam after transmission through the MOE and configured to direct the emitted light beam toward the target and scan the emitted light beam across the target in a scan pattern, and to de-scan the reflected light beam reflected back from the target before transmission through the MOE (Fig. 2, scanner 210 and Col 6, lines 45-67).
Claim 5: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system of claim 1, but not wherein the circular polarization of the first handedness is left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) and the circular polarization of the second handedness is right-hand circular polarization (RHCP).
However, Avci, as modified, teaches the opposite, where the circular polarization of the second handedness is left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) and the circular polarization of the first handedness is right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) (Fig. 2, optical beams 203 and 211).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to flip the handedness of each polarization in Avci, as modified, to reach the claimed invention because this is simply a reversal of parts as the two polarizations are reversed (See MPEP 2144.04.VI).
Claim 6: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system of claim 1, wherein the circular polarization of the second handedness is left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) and the circular polarization of the first handedness is right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) (Fig. 2, 3 optical beams 203 and 211).
Claims 11, 12, 16, and 17: As Claims 11, 12, 16, and 17 are method claims corresponding to Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6, see rejections above.
Claim 19: Avci, as modified, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the polarization of the transmitted and reflected light beams is orthogonal in the optical or electromagnetic sense to the polarization of the incident light beam (Fig. 2, light leaving FMCW LiDAR P-polarized and going into PWP 212 S-polarized).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1) in view of He (Optical Letters), further in view of Sparbert (US 20160223654 A1).
Claim 3: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system according to Claim 2. Avci, as modified, does not teach, but Sparbert does teach wherein the scanner comprises a micromirror ([0001] – micromirror scanner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the micromirror, as taught by Sparbet, in the system as taught by Avci, as modified, because micromirrors are well known in the art as a scanning method (See Sparbet [0003]).
Claim 13: Claim 13 is a method claim corresponding to Claim 3. Thus, see rejection above.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1) in view of He (Optical Letters), further in view of Uthoff (US 11567390 B1), further in view of Hoashi (US 20140078489 A1).
Claim 4: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system of Claim 1. Avci, as modified, does not teach further comprising a quarter-wave plate positioned between the MOE and the optical element.
Uthoff teaches wherein the MOE functions as a collimator (Col 6, lines 10-15).
As stated in the above 112(b) rejection, Claim 4 refers to an embodiment in the specification wherein the MOE is not a polarizer, and just a collimator. Thus, this is what will be rejected.
It would be obvious to use the MOE as a collimator as this allows the light to be further refined, and using an MOE allows for further tuning of the light (Uthoff Col 6, lines 10-15).
Avci, as modified, does not teach the MOE (here a collimator) between a quarter wave plate and optical element.
Hoashi teaches an optical radar in which light passes through a colimate lens (Fig. 1, lens 5), a polarizing beam splitter which converts the light to circularly polarized light (Fig. 1, beam splitter 9 and [0033]) and to a scanner (Fig. 1, scanner 12). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the order of these could be changed such that the light passes through the polarizing beam splitter before the collimator, and thus meet the claim limitation (See MPEP 2144.04.VI – rearrangement of parts).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the arrangement, as taught by Hoashi, in the system as taught by Avci, as modified, because different arrangements of such elements would be known in the art to yield predictable results.
Claim 15: Avci, as modified, teaches method of Claim 12. Avci, as modified, does not teach further comprising passing the emitted light beam through a quarter-wave plate positioned between the MOE and the optical element.
Uthoff teaches wherein the MOE functions as a collimator (Col 6, lines 10-15).
As stated in the above 112(b) rejection, Claim 4 refers to an embodiment in the specification wherein the MOE is not a polarizer, and just a collimator. Thus, this is what will be rejected.
It would be obvious to use the MOE as a collimator as this allows the light to be further refined, and using an MOE allows for further tuning of the light (Uthoff Col 6, lines 10-15).
Avci, as modified, does not teach the MOE (here a collimator) between a quarter wave plate and optical element.
Hoashi teaches an optical radar in which light passes through a colimate lens (Fig. 1, lens 5), a polarizing beam splitter which converts the light to circularly polarized light (Fig. 1, beam splitter 9 and [0033]) and to a scanner (Fig. 1, scanner 12). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the order of these could be changed such that the light passes through the polarizing beam splitter before the collimator, and thus meet the claim limitation (See MPEP 2144.04.VI – rearrangement of parts).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the arrangement, as taught by Hoashi, in the system as taught by Avci, as modified, because different arrangements of such elements would be known in the art to yield predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1) in view of He (Optical Letters), in view of Meyer (US 20230018486 A1).
Claim 7: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system of Claim 1. Avci, as modified, does not teach, but Meyer does teach, the source of polarized light comprises one or more VCSELs or Edge-Emitting Lasers (EELs) ([0019]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the VCSELs, as taught by Meyer, in the system as taught by Avci, as modified, because VCSELs are a well known component in the art, commercially available, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1), in view of He (Optical Letters), in view of Uthoff (US 11567390 B1).
Claim 8: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system according to Claim 1. Avci, as modified, does not teach, but Uthoff does teach, wherein the MOE also functions to collimate the emitted light beam (Col 6, lines 10-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the MOE as a collimator, as taught by Uthoff, in addition to the MOE as a polarizer, as taught by Avci, as modified, because, as Avci, as modified, teaches (Specifically Yadong), an MOE allows for polarization control and wavefront shaping (Yadong pg. 1) and collimating is a type of beam shaping that allows for better imaging.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1), in view of He (Optical Letters), in view of Abe (US 20200081097 A1).
Claim 9: Avci, as modified, teaches the ranging system according to Claim 1. Avci, as modified, does not teach, but Abe does teach wherein the sensor is a line sensor ([0063]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the line sensor, as taught by Abe, in the system as taught by Avci, as modified, since, as line sensors scan multiple pixels at once (in a line), this allows for faster scanning.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1), in view of He (Optical Letters), in view of Redman (US 3906499 A).
Claim 14: Avci, as modified, teaches the method of claim 12. Avci, as modified, does not teach, but Redman does teach wherein the scanning and de-scanning are performed using an acousto-optic modulator (Col 3, lines 9-12).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the acousto-optic modulator, as taught by Redman, in place of the scanner as taught by Avci, as modified, because, as Redman states, this is well known in the art (Redman Col 3, lines 9-12).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avci (US 11156715 B1), in view of He (Optical Letters), in view of Shalita (US 20240319326 A1).
Claim 18: Avci, as modified, teaches the method of claim 11. Avci, as modified, does not teach, but Shalita does teach, wherein the polarization of the transmitted and reflected light beams is diagonal ([0276]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the diagonal polarizations, as taught by Shalita, in the method as taught by Avci, as modified, because different linear polarizations would be well known in the art and would yield predictable results. Also, this partially falls under rearrangement of parts (See MPEP 2144.04.VI), as the polarization states are simply being rotated.
Conclusion
/CLARA G CHILTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/MARK HELLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645