DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Estruch Tena et al. (US Pub. 2020/0193938 A1, hereinafter “Estruch”).
Claim 1: Estruch teaches An augmented reality (AR) head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 1-3, [0022], [0026], [0036], HMD 100) comprising:
a processor (“Estruch”, Fig. 1, [0027], a processor 140); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the AR head-wearable apparatus to perform operations (“Estruch”, Fig. 1, [0027], a memory 160) comprising:
receiving an indication of a position for a virtual screen (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, [0037]-[0039], [0045], receiving a trigger input from a user to initiate a virtual display. User interaction determining display behavior/placement);
receiving screen data for the virtual screen (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, receiving/displaying first and second content on virtual displays; [0037], content generation for virtual display);
determining a location in space based on the position (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, associating virtual display with physical display/environment (spatial relationship); [0045], position relative to environment/user context); and
causing the screen data to be displayed on a display of the AR head-wearable apparatus, wherein a position of the screen data on the display is based on the location and a position of the AR head-wearable apparatus screen (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, [0037]-[0039], [0045], [0051]-[0053], [0071], display of virtual content depends on spatial association and user/device view point).
Claim 2: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1, wherein the screen data is received from a computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, a computing device generates content and provides content to be displayed), and wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving input from a user of the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, receiving a trigger input from a user; [0045], user interaction with the HMD 100); determining the input indicates an operation intended for the computing device; and sending the input to the computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, input provided to computing device; [0045], the computing device receives and processes user input to control display operations).
Claim 3: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise: tracking hands, eyes, a voice, or a head of the user to determine the input from the user (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0034], [0037], [0039], [0044]).
Claim 4: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the operations further comprise: receiving input from a computing device; and
performing an action indicated by the input on the AR head-wearable apparatus user (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0034], [0037], [0039], [0044]-[0045]).
Claim 5: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 4 wherein the indication of the position is an offset from a screen of the computing device or a relative position from the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0037], [0053]).
Claim 6: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the operations further comprise:
adjusting the screen data in accordance with the location in space (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0053]).
Claim 7: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the location is a first location, and wherein the operations further comprise:
accessing a second location for a user interface item, the second location being different than a location of a computing device and the first location, wherein the screen data is received from the computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2-4, [0039]);
causing the user interface item to be displayed on a display of the AR head-wearable apparatus, wherein a position of the user interface item on the display is based on the second location and the position of the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2-4, [0039], [0071]).
determining the user indicated a user intent associated with the user interface item; and in response to determining that the user intent is intended for the computing device, sending the user intent to the computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2-4, Abstract, [0045]).
Claim 8: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a user intent is intended for the AR head-wearable apparatus; and
causing the user intent to be performed on the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2-4, Abstract, [0045], [0071]).
Claim 9: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving indications of a refresh rate for the virtual screen and a size of the virtual screen (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0022], [0025]).
Claim 10: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the screen data is received from a server computing and the screen data comprises video (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0025]).
Claim 11: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the display of the AR head-wearable apparatus comprises a first image display associated with a left side of the AR head-wearable and a second image display associated with a right side of the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0036], [0037]).
Claim 12: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 11 wherein the operations further comprise:
adjusting the screen data in accordance with the location in space for the first image display to generate first adjusted screen data (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0039], virtual displays associated with physical environment; [0071], rendering depends on viewpoint/device position);
adjusting the screen data in accordance with the location in space for the second image display to generate second adjusted screen data (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0037], [0053]); and
causing the first adjusted screen data to be displayed on the first image display and the second adjust screen data to be displayed on the second image display (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0037], [0053]).
Claim 13: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the screen data is received from a computing device, and the computing device is a smart phone or personal computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0025], [0040], [0069]).
Claim 14: Estruch teaches the AR head-wearable apparatus of claim 1 wherein the screen data is received from a computing device via a computer network or via a high-speed connection between the AR head-wearable apparatus and the computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0067]).
Claim 15: Claim 15 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for implementing the method steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16: Claim 16 is directed to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 for implementing the method steps of claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17: Estruch teaches A computing device (“Estruch”, Fig. 1, [0026]-[0027], a HMD 100) comprising:
a processor (“Estruch”, Fig. 1, [0027], a processor 140); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the computing device to perform operations (“Estruch”, Fig. 1, [0027], a memory 160) comprising:
sending an indication of a position for a virtual screen (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, [0037]-[0039], [0045], receiving a trigger input from a user to initiate a virtual display. User interaction determining display behavior/placement); and
sending screen data for the virtual screen to an augmented reality (AR) head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, [0037]-[0039], [0045], [0051]-[0053], [0071], computing device generates and provide display content to be rendered on AR/VR display device).
Claim 18: Estruch teaches the computing device of claim 17 wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a position of the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, [0045], [0071]);
determining a location in space based on the position and the position of the AR head-wearable apparatus; adjusting screen data based on the location; and sending the adjusted screen data to the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2&3, Abstract, [0037]-[0039], [0045], [0051]-[0053], [0071], display of virtual content depends on spatial association and user/device view point).
Claim 19: Estruch teaches the computing device of claim 17 wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a user intent of a user of the computing device from the AR head-wearable apparatus; and causing the user intent to be performed on computing device (“Estruch”, Figs. 2-4, Abstract, [0045], [0071]).
Claim 20: Estruch teaches the computing device of claim 19 wherein the operations further comprise:
determining the user intent is intended for the AR head-wearable apparatus; and
causing the user intent to be sent to the AR head-wearable apparatus (“Estruch”, Figs. 2-4, Abstract, [0045], [0071]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 11,842,454 A1 (Lin et al.) — Disclose system and method for an augmented reality experience via an artificial intelligence bot.
US Pub 2021/0256175 A1 (Bailey et al.) — Disclose system and method for sharing and synchronizing virtual content.
US Pub 2024/0187819 A1 (Drummond et al.) — Disclose augmented reality content items including user avatar to share location.
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Point of Contact
/PHUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174