DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the election filed on 11/5/25.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Species 7, figures 1A, 1B, 2C and 3-10 (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 11/5/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that
the subject matters of all Species are sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matters of any one Species would encompass a search for the subject matters of the remaining Species. Thus, it is respectfully submitted that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. See MPEP §803 stating that “‘[i]f the search and examination of all the claims in an application can be made without serious burden, the examiner must examine them on the merits, even though they include claims to independent or distinct inventions.” (emphasis added).
This is not found persuasive because at least the following reason(s) apply:
--the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
--the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or
--the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 9413221).
Regarding claim 1: Kim et al. disclose an apparatus (i.e. figure 6) comprising:
a pair of input terminals (i.e. terminals to 601), comprising a first input terminal and a second input terminal (i.e. first and second input terminals to 601);
a first inversion circuit (i.e. 630-1, 650-1, 661-1, 662-1, 663-1) connected to the first input terminal (i.e. first input to 601); and
a second inversion circuit (i.e. 630-3, 650-3, 661-3, 662-3, 663-3) connected to the second input terminal (i.e. second input to 601);
wherein:
the first inversion circuit (i.e. 630-1, 650-1, 661-1, 662-1, 663-1) comprises a first winding (i.e. winding of 650-1) wound around a common core (i.e. 655);
the second inversion circuit (i.e. 630-3, 650-3, 661-3, 662-3, 663-3) comprises a second winding (i.e. winding of 650-3) wound around the common core (i.e. 655);
the pair of input terminals (i.e. first and second input terminals to 601) are configured to receive a direct current (DC) input (i.e. from 607),
the DC input is divided into a first DC sub-input (i.e. input to 610-1) and a second DC sub-input (i.e. input to 610-3),
the first inversion circuit (i.e. 630-1, 650-1, 661-1, 662-1, 663-1) is configured to receive the first DC sub-input (i.e. input to 610-1), and
the second inversion circuit (i.e. winding of 650-3) is configured to receive the second DC sub-input (i.e. input to 610-3).
Regarding claim 12: (i.e. figure 6) wherein the first inversion circuit (i.e. 630-1, 650-1, 661-1, 662-1, 663-1) comprises a third winding wound (i.e. secondary winding of 650-1) around the common core (i.e. 655); and the second inversion circuit (i.e. 630-3, 650-3, 661-3, 662-3, 663-3) comprises a fourth winding wound (i.e. secondary winding of 650-3) around the common core (i.e. 655).
Regarding claim 16: (i.e. figure 6) wherein: the first inversion circuit comprises: a first switching circuit (i.e. 630-1), a transformer (i.e. 650-1), a first rectifier (i.e. 661-1), a first capacitor (i.e. 610-1), and a second switching circuit (i.e. 664-1); and the second inversion circuit comprises: a third switching circuit (i.e. 610-3), the transformer (i.e. 650-3), a second rectifier (i.e. 661-3), a second capacitor (i.e. 610-3), and a fourth switching circuit (i.e. 664-3).
Regarding claim 17: (i.e. figure 6) further comprising least one capacitor (i.e. 668) disposed between: a DC voltage source (i.e. from 607) and the first inversion circuit (i.e. 630-1, 650-1, 661-1, 662-1, 663-1), or the DC voltage source and the second inversion circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2-5, 9-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 9413221) in view of Jin et al. (US 11211897).
Regarding claim 2: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first DC sub-input and the second DC sub-input comprise a ripple current input at a higher frequency than a ripple current output of the first inversion circuit.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the first DC sub-input and the second DC sub-input comprise a ripple current input (i.e. corresponding to the switching frequency of bridge circuit 532 that operate at a higher frequency than the switching frequency of circuit 540) at a higher frequency than a ripple current output (i.e. corresponding to the switching frequency of bridge circuit 540 as the system frequency) of the first inversion circuit (i.e. Col. 9, lines 35-55 and Col. Col 14, lines 10-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 3: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first inversion circuit comprises a first switching circuit at the first input terminal of the first inversion circuit, and a second switching circuit at an output terminal of the first inversion circuit.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the first inversion circuit (i.e. 200a) comprises a first switching circuit (i.e. 532) at the first input terminal of the first inversion circuit (i.e. 200a), and a second switching circuit (i.e. 540) at an output terminal of the first inversion circuit (i.e. 200a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 4: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first switching circuit comprises a first H-bridge, and the second switching circuit comprises a second H-bridge.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) the first switching circuit (i.e. 532) comprises a first H-bridge, and the second switching circuit (i.e. 540) comprises a second H-bridge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 5: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first switching circuit is configured to operate at a greater frequency than the second switching circuit.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the first switching circuit (i.e. corresponding to the switching frequency of bridge circuit 532 that operate at a higher frequency than the switching frequency of circuit 540)I s configured to operate at a greater frequency than the second switching circuit (i.e. corresponding to the switching frequency of bridge circuit 540 as the system frequency) (i.e. Col. 9, lines 35-55 and Col. Col 14, lines 10-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 9: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the second inversion circuit comprises a third switching circuit at the second input terminal of the second inversion circuit, and a fourth switching circuit at an output terminal of the second inversion circuit.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the second inversion circuit comprises a third switching circuit (i.e. 532) at the second input terminal of the second inversion circuit (i.e. 200b), and a fourth switching circuit (i.e. 540) at an output terminal of the second inversion circuit (i.e. 200b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 10: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the third switching circuit comprises a third H-bridge, and the fourth switching circuit comprises a fourth H-bridge.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the first inversion circuit (i.e. 200a) comprises the third switching circuit (i.e. 532) comprises a third H-bridge, and the fourth switching circuit (i.e. 540) comprises a fourth H-bridge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 11: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the third switching circuit operates at a greater frequency than the second switching circuit.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the third switching circuit (i.e. corresponding to the switching frequency of bridge circuit 532 that operate at a higher frequency than the switching frequency of circuit 540) operates at a greater frequency than the second switching circuit (i.e. corresponding to the switching frequency of bridge circuit 540 as the system frequency) (i.e. Col. 9, lines 35-55 and Col. Col 14, lines 10-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
Regarding claim 18: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the second switching circuit of the first inversion circuit and the fourth switching circuit of the second inversion circuit each output an AC voltage.
Jin et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 1B: shows the first and second inversion circuit 200a, 200b and figure 4 shows detail circuit of 200a, 200b) comprising the first inversion circuit (i.e. 200a) comprises the second switching circuit of the first inversion circuit (i.e. 200a) and the fourth switching circuit of the second inversion circuit (i.e. 200b) each output an AC voltage (i.e. AC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Jin et al. that capable of performing power conversion with high voltage step-up and high efficiency.
8. Claim 190 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 9413221) in view of Jin et al. (US 11211897) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20200021113).
Regarding claim 19: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the second switching circuit of the first inversion circuit and the fourth switching circuit of the second inversion circuit are connected in series to provide an output of the apparatus.
Chen et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 5) the second switching circuit (i.e. 100) of the first inversion circuit and the fourth switching circuit (i.e. 150) of the second inversion circuit are connected in series to provide an output of the apparatus (i.e. ¶ 23 and 54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Chen et al. to provide stable AC to power-grid or load.
9. Claims 6-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 9413221) in view of Jones et al. (US 20110075454).
Regarding claim 6: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first winding and the second winding, each comprises a bifilar winding around the common core.
Jones et al. disclose a power supply comprising the first winding and the second winding, each comprises a bifilar winding (i.e. ¶ 104) around the common core (i.e. and claim 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with power supply as disclose by Jones et al. to have the effect of reducing leakage inductance.
Regarding claim 7: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first winding and the second winding, each comprises a bifilar winding around the common core.
Jones et al. disclose a power supply comprising the first winding and the second winding, each comprises a bifilar winding (i.e. ¶ 104) around a first leg of the common core (i.e. and claim 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with power supply as disclose by Jones et al. to have the effect of reducing leakage inductance.
Regarding claim 8: Kim and Jones et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first winding comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the first leg, and the second winding comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the first leg. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the first winding comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the first leg, and the second winding comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the first leg to increase the efficacies. Since, such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 13-14: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the third winding and the fourth winding, each comprises a bifilar winding around the common core.
Jones et al. disclose a power supply comprising the third winding and the fourth winding, each comprises a bifilar winding (i.e. ¶ 104) around the common core (i.e. and claim 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with power supply as disclose by Jones et al. to have the effect of reducing leakage inductance.
Regarding claim 15: Kim and Jones et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the third winding comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the second leg, and the fourth winding around the common core comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the second leg. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the third winding comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the second leg, and the fourth winding around the common core comprises 8 loops to 12 loops around the second leg. Since, such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
10. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 9413221) in view of Jin et al. (US 11211897) and further in view of Lai et al. (US 20090116266).
Regarding claim 20: Kim et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the second switching circuit of the first inversion circuit is configured to operate at a phase-difference of about 180° with respect to the fourth switching circuit of the second inversion circuit.
Lai et al. disclose a power supply (i.e. figures 7-9) comprising the second switching circuit of the first inversion circuit is configured to operate at a phase-difference of about 180° with respect to the fourth switching circuit of the second inversion circuit (i.e. ¶ 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Kim et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Lai et al. for increasing mutual inductance between phases without affecting the self-inductance, so as to reduce circulating current between phases.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838