NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, the hyphens “-” are making the claim language confusing. Please remove them wherever unnecessary.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by over Kane et al. (2012/0245878 Al, cited by the applicants, “Kane”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kane teaches a gas analyzer apparatus (fig.1-4; element 120) configured to detect the presence of one or more target gases [0005], the gas analyzer apparatus comprising: a first gas probe (fig.3; element 304/320) configured to measure one or more flue gases ([0038]; [0005]; [Claim 14]); a second gas probe (fig.3; element 304/322) configured to measure the presence of one or more refrigerant gas ([0038]; [0005]; Claim 14); a gas detection unit (element 120) which selectively communicates with the first and second gas probes to detect the presence of a target gas ([0031]: “Each of the sender units 204, as shown, receive sensor inputs 202 from sensors suitably applied to a system under test such as the system 100 in FIG.1, and communicate, preferably in real-time, the sensor input information to the main unit 120, which in tum preferably monitors in real-time and receives the transmitted sensor input information.”, [0022]: “The main unit 120 comprises: a handheld-sized instrument with means for receiving a plurality of ( ex.1 through n) inputs 122 via physically wired connections to sensors or sensor modules, via wireless communications with sensor or sender units or sensor modules, or via a combination of the two”; [0047] discloses “the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”, fig.5; step 514, Claim 19); wherein the gas detection unit comprises a housing (shown in fig.1-3) containing a power source [0047] and a user interface (fig.7; element 708), wherein the user interface is configured to allow a user to selectively operate, enable and disable the first and second gas probes [0056]; and wherein in use the first and second gas probes are powered by the same power source (implicitly taught in [0047]).
Regarding Claim 2, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the housing a ruggedised housing (implicitly taught in fig.1-3 as the housing is apparently strong).
Regarding Claim 3, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the user interface is situated on or in the housing ([0056] discloses that the user interface 708 is connected to main unit 120. Thus, it may be on the housing).
Regarding Claim 4, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1, wherein the user interface is configured to output a reading indicative of the detection of one or more target gases ([0043]; claim 14).
Regarding Claim 5, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the user interface comprises a display (fig.6; element 126) and a user interface input means (fig.6; element 122) ([0048]; [0050]; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 6, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 5 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the user interface input means comprises one or more of a touchscreen interface, alphanumeric keypad and/or buttons (implicitly taught in [0053]).
Regarding Claim 7, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the first gas probe is a flue gas probe (fig.4; element 441, [0043]; claim 14).
Regarding Claim 8, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 7 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the flue gas probe is configured to measure the presence of one or more of: oxygen, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, nitrogen monoxide, and hydrogen ([0005]; claim 14).
Regarding Claim 9, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the second gas probe is a refrigerant leak probe ([0004] discloses usage of leak detectors such as electronic leak detectors or ultrasonic-type leak detectors for detecting refrigerant leaks.).
Regarding Claim 12, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1 is taught by Kane.
Kane further teaches wherein the gas detection unit comprises a first port configured to interface with the first and/or second gas probes (shown in fig.3).
Regarding Claim 14, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1, wherein the gas detection unit comprises wireless communication means configured to enable the gas detection unit to communicate with the first and/or second gas probes [0031].
Regarding Claim 15, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 1, wherein the gas detection unit comprises communication means configured to enable the gas detection unit to communicate with an external computing device and/or the internet ([0031]; [0039]: “The wireless transceivers 306, 308 enable the main unit 120 to receive sensor information from the sender units 212, 214 wirelessly so that the main unit 120 may be located remotely from the compressor 102 and condenser 106 of the system under test 100.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Alfano et al. (US 2022/0099346 A1, “Alfano”).
Regarding Claim 10, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 9 is taught by Kane.
Kane does not teach that the refrigerant leak probe is a metal Oxide Semiconductor sensor-MOS sensor-or an Infrared sensor-IR sensors.
However, Alfano teaches the refrigerant leak probe is a metal Oxide Semiconductor sensor-MOS sensor-or an Infrared sensor-IR sensors ([0050]: “The refrigerant leak sensor 140 may be, for example, non-dispersive infrared (NDIR) refrigerant sensor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kane’s apparatus by incorporating Alfano’s sensor since usage of such refrigerant leak probe/sensor is well-known in the art which does not require leak detection and mitigation and this would provide an increased lifetime of the refrigerant leak sensor.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of McGeehin et al. (6,046,054, “McGeehin”).
Regarding Claim 11, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 9 is taught by Kane.
Kane does not teach that the refrigerant leak probe is configured to measure the presence of one or more fluorocarbon gases.
However, McGeehin teaches the refrigerant leak probe is configured to measure the presence of one or more fluorocarbon gases (col.9; lines 43-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kane’s apparatus by incorporating McGeehin’s sensor since usage of such refrigerant leak probe/sensor to measure such fluorocarbon gases is well-known in the art which shows particularly good baseline stability and discrimination against the effects of varying relative humidity.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Montena (US 2011/0237125 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, the gas analyzer apparatus of claim 12 is taught by Kane.
Kane does not teach that wherein the first port is a female port configured to interface with a male connector on the first and/or second gas probes.
However, Montena teaches the first port is a female port configured to interface with a male connector on the first and/or second gas probes [0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kane’s apparatus by incorporating Montena’s connections/connectors since usage of such connections/connectors is well-known in the art.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rossi et al. (US 2006/0259276 A1) teaches an apparatus and method for detecting faults and providing diagnostic information in a refrigeration system comprising a microprocessor, a means for inputting information to the microprocessor, a means for outputting information from the microprocessor, and five sensors [Abstract].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855