DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-5, 9-10 12-16, 18, 20, and 28 are Cancelled.
Claim 11 is amended.
Claims 29-41 are new.
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 17, 19, 21-27, and 29-41 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 35-36, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US PGPUB #2023/0328471) in view of Le Nerriec et al. (US PGPUB #2016/0212534).
Regarding Claim 11, Singh discloses a method comprising:
detecting one or more audio output devices comprising one or more mobile devices; (Singh Fig. 1: devices 107, 109);
determining, by a computing device, one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices (Singh ¶0057 discloses Figs. 6A-6C illustrate other manners in which a spatial audio processing system may use context to adjust spatial audio areas for audio sources. In this example, the spatial audio processing may account for ambient elements of the environment such as furniture and other objects that have an audio context. An audio context may, for example, include information about how audio is to be transmitted and received in a specified area. In one arrangement, seating furniture such as a couch or a table and chairs may have an audio context that limits audio generated within a specified area to that area. That is, the generated audio is not conveyed to audio recipients [e.g., other audio sources or audio sinks] outside of the specified area. The shape, dimension and location of the area may be predefined in association with the furniture or other ambient element);
determining dimensions of a space comprising the one or more audio output devices (Singh ¶0057 discloses Figs. 6A-6C illustrate other manners in which a spatial audio processing system may use context to adjust spatial audio areas for audio sources. In this example, the spatial audio processing may account for ambient elements of the environment such as furniture and other objects that have an audio context. An audio context may, for example, include information about how audio is to be transmitted and received in a specified area. In one arrangement, seating furniture such as a couch or a table and chairs may have an audio context that limits audio generated within a specified area to that area. That is, the generated audio is not conveyed to audio recipients [e.g., other audio sources or audio sinks] outside of the specified area. The shape, dimension and location of the area may be predefined in association with the furniture or other ambient element); and
generating, based on the one or more determined locations and the determined dimensions, an audio configuration (Singh ¶0057 discloses Figs. 6A-6C illustrate other manners in which a spatial audio processing system may use context to adjust spatial audio areas for audio sources. In this example, the spatial audio processing may account for ambient elements of the environment such as furniture and other objects that have an audio context. An audio context may, for example, include information about how audio is to be transmitted and received in a specified area. In one arrangement, seating furniture such as a couch or a table and chairs may have an audio context that limits audio generated within a specified area to that area. That is, the generated audio is not conveyed to audio recipients [e.g., other audio sources or audio sinks] outside of the specified area. The shape, dimension and location of the area may be predefined in association with the furniture or other ambient element) ;
based on detecting removal of at least one of the one or more audio output devices, reassigning an audio channel from the at least one of the one or more audio output devices that was removed to at least one of the one or more audio output devices that remain (Singh ¶0071 discloses upon detecting a participant leaving the meeting or discussion [e.g., participant 840 leaving area 810], a corresponding speaker [e.g., speaker 817] may be deactivated [i.e., removed], … spatial audio area 826 can be enlarged in response to deactivation of speaker 817 to ensure that participant 839 is able to clearly and fully hear the audio of presenter 804, Fig. 8B [Right hand figure]).
Singh may not explicitly disclose reassigning an audio channel from the at least one of the one or more audio output devices that was removed to at least one of the one or more audio output devices that remain.
However, Le Nerriec (title, abstract, figs. 1-11) teaches based on detecting removal of at least one of the one or more audio output devices, reassigning an audio channel from the at least one of the one or more audio output devices that was removed to at least one of the one or more audio output devices that remain (Le Nerriec claim 7 discloses wherein the dynamically changing comprises: detecting a removal or failure of one of the plurality of audio output devices; and reassigning at least one of the plurality of audio output devices to a different channel upon detecting the removal or failure of the one of the plurality of audio output devices. ¶0082 discloses when the audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, 500 are in use, an event or condition can be detected requiring a dynamic or on-the-fly change to the configuration of the audio output devices [630]. The occurrence of the condition or event can correspond to [among others], the condition or event can correspond to one of the existing audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200 being removed or taken down from the network 101 at 634 [fig. 6]. ¶0084 discloses in response to detecting the event or condition, the controller device 110, 300 and/or audio output device 120, 200, 500 that is the leader can respond by changing the channel configuration [640]. More specifically, in some implementations, the channel configuration can be changed by altering the various channel assignments at 642 to accommodate more or fewer audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, 500 [in the event that an audio output device is added or subtracted from the network 101]).
Singh and Le Nerriec are analogous art as they pertain to spatial audio mixing. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the detection of participant leaving meeting (as taught by Singh) to detect a participant leaving and reassigning one of plurality of audio output devices (as taught by Le Nerriec, claim 7) to control audio output devices based on a comparison of the acoustic identification signal from each of the multiple audio output devices (Le Nerriec, ¶0017).
Regarding Claim 35, Singh in view of Le Nerriec discloses the method of claim 11. But Singh may not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining a preferred spatial configuration for the one or more audio output devices relative to a display device, wherein the preferred spatial configuration comprises one or more preferred locations at which to place the one or more audio output devices; and generating a prompt comprising instructions to place the one or more audio output devices at the one or more preferred locations.
However, Le Nerriec (title, abstract, figs. 1-11) teaches determining a preferred spatial configuration for the one or more audio output devices relative to a display device (Le Nerriec fig. 4: display 430), wherein the preferred spatial configuration comprises one or more preferred locations at which to place the one or more audio output devices (Le Nerriec ¶0050 discloses for example, the user interface 310 can display a virtualized room or space within the dwelling, and provide features that enable the user to indicate, among other information, (i) a number of audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200 employed on the network 101, and (ii) a general location for a given audio output device 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, which can be labeled. ¶0051 discloses more generally, the response query 313 can prompt the user interface 310 to display content for enabling the user to define different rooms or spaces of the dwelling covered by the network 101); and
generating a prompt comprising instructions to place the one or more audio output devices at the one or more preferred locations (Le Nerriec ¶0067 discloses the user interface 431 can provide the user with prompts and other interfaces to facilitate the user in providing input information 301 about the audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200 that are in use on the network 101. In particular, the input information 301 received through the user interface 431 can include configuration input ["Config. Input"] 433, including (i) the group size information 309 [fig. 3], which identifies a number of audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200 on the network 101, (ii) device position information 311, including a location indication for one or more of the audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, and/or (iii) a selected or preferred layout. In one example, the mobile computing device 400 determines the channel configurations 453 based at least in part on a configuration input of the user. The configuration input can be determined through user interaction with the user interface 431 provided on the display 430).
Singh and Le Nerriec are analogous art as they pertain to spatial audio mixing. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the detection of participant leaving meeting (as taught by Singh) to detect a participant leaving and reassigning one of plurality of audio output devices (as taught by Le Nerriec, claim 7) to control audio output devices based on a comparison of the acoustic identification signal from each of the multiple audio output devices (Le Nerriec, ¶0017).
Regarding Claim 36, Singh in view of Le Nerriec discloses the method of claim 35. But Singh may not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the preferred spatial configuration is based on: the one or more locations of the audio output devices; and the dimensions of the space housing the one or more audio output devices.
However, Le Nerriec (title, abstract, figs. 1-11) teaches the one or more locations of the audio output devices (Le Nerriec ¶0050 discloses for example, the user interface 310 can display a virtualized room or space within the dwelling, and provide features that enable the user to indicate, among other information, (i) a number of audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200 employed on the network 101, and (ii) a general location for a given audio output device 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, which can be labeled); and
the dimensions of the space housing the one or more audio output devices (Le Nerriec ¶0051 discloses more generally, the response query 313 can prompt the user interface 310 to display content for enabling the user to define different rooms or spaces of the dwelling covered by the network 101. In some variations, the input information 301 can prompt the user into entering information corresponding to (i) group size information 309, corresponding to a number of audio output devices on the network 101, and (ii) device position information 311, which identifies a general or relative location of audio output devices 120, 122, 124, 126, 200 within the space of the network 101 [e.g., within the individual rooms]).
Singh and Le Nerriec are analogous art as they pertain to spatial audio mixing. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the detection of participant leaving meeting (as taught by Singh) to detect a participant leaving and reassigning one of plurality of audio output devices (as taught by Le Nerriec, claim 7) to control audio output devices based on a comparison of the acoustic identification signal from each of the multiple audio output devices (Le Nerriec, ¶0017).
Regarding Claim 39, Singh in view of Le Nerriec discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the determining the dimensions of the space comprises:
generating a plurality of sound signals (Singh ¶0074 discloses determining a location for each of a plurality of audio sources within a virtual environment; determining a plurality of audio groups for the plurality of audio sources based on the determined locations, the plurality of groups including: a first audio group including at least a first audio source of the plurality of audio sources); and
determining the dimensions of the space based on echolocation using the plurality of sound signals (Singh ¶0082 discloses determining a location of each of a plurality of audio sources within a virtual environment; determining at least one of a size and a shape of an object within the virtual environment; determining that the location of a first audio source corresponds to a location of the object).
Claims 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US #2023/0328471) in view of Le Nerriec et al. (US #2016/0212534) further in view of Lyren et al. (US #2021/0258712).
Regarding Claim 37, Singh in view of Le Nerriec discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the determining the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices comprises:
receiving the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices based on one or more the audio output devices scanning an identifier (Singh ¶0046 discloses Fig. 4 illustrates a process by which an audio source may perform spatial audio modification. In step 400, an audio source computing device [e.g., a user's computer or VR headset or the like and/or combinations thereof] may join a virtual environment by providing information about the audio source such as a name, identifier, user credentials, audio settings, video settings, and the like).
Singh in view of Le Nerriec may not explicitly disclose receiving the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices based on one or more the audio output devices scanning a quick response (QR) code displayed on a web page configured to send the one or more locations corresponding to the audio output devices to the computing device.
However, Lyren (title, abstract, figs. 1-17) teaches receiving the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices based on one or more the audio output devices scanning a quick response (QR) code displayed on a web page configured to send the one or more locations corresponding to the audio output devices to the computing device (Lyren ¶0221 discloses a PED [Portable Electronic Device] reads or communicates with an optical tag or quick response (QR) code that is located on or near the physical object. For example, the physical object includes a matrix barcode or two-dimensional bar code, and the PED includes a QR code scanner or other hardware and/or software that enables the PED to read the barcode or other type of code. ¶0369 discloses a physical object with a tag or identifier 1409 in communication over one or more networks 1410 [i.e., it can be a web page]. ¶0373 discloses physical objects with a tag or identifier 1409 includes a QR code [among other identifiers]).
Singh, Le Nerriec are analogous art as they pertain to spatial audio mixing. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Singh in view of Le Nerriec in light of the teachings of Lyren to read QR code scanner from a network (as taught by Lyren, ¶0369 and ¶0373) to associate each zone and each SLP with a meaning or designation and tag that is different than another zone or another SLP, e.g., sound localization zone (Lyren, ¶0348).
Regarding Claim 38, Singh in view of Le Nerriec discloses the method of claim 11, may not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices comprises: detecting ultrawideband radio signals emitted by the one or more audio output devices; and determining the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices based on the ultrawideband radio signals.
However, Lyren (title, abstract, figs. 1-17) teaches wherein the determining the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices comprises: detecting ultrawideband radio signals emitted by the one or more audio output devices; and determining the one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices based on the ultrawideband radio signals (Lyren ¶0225 discloses determining a distance to a transmission source based on a difference between transmitted and received signal strengths), and ultra-wideband [UWB] transmitters and receivers).
Singh, Le Nerriec are analogous art as they pertain to spatial audio mixing. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Singh in view of Le Nerriec in light of the teachings of Lyren to read QR code scanner from a network (as taught by Lyren, ¶0369 and ¶0373) to associate each zone and each SLP with a meaning or designation and tag that is different than another zone or another SLP, e.g., sound localization zone (Lyren, ¶0348).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 6-8, 17, 19, 21-27, 29-34, and 40-41 are allowed, after rejoinder of all withdrawn claims 1, 6-8, 17, and 19, MPEP §821.04.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art neither disclose nor sufficiently suggest the combination of features as claimed and arranged by applicant when read in light of the specification.
The closest prior art Singh (US PGPUB #2023/0328471) Le Nerriec et al. (US PGPUB #2016/0212534) further in view of Lyren et al. (US #2021/0258712), Hammer et al. (US PGPUB #2019/0200133) further in view of Rajapakse (US #2017/0127145), Gattis (US PGPUB #2017/0300289) and Prasso (US PGPUB #2020/0389754), Friant et al. (US PGPUB #2022/0321075), Nicol et al. (US PGPUB #2021/0204003), Jung et al. (US PGPUB #2021/0204003), and Ramalingham et al. (US PGPUB #2019/0110125) fails to teach a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, data indicating audio content, wherein the audio content comprises a plurality of audio channels;
determining audio capabilities of one or more audio output devices comprising one or more mobile devices;
determining one or more locations corresponding to the one or more audio output devices;
generating, based on the data indicating the audio content, the audio capabilities, and the one or more locations that were determined for the one or more audio output devices, audio data indicating a plurality of mixed audio channels corresponding to the one or more audio output devices; and
sending the audio data to the one or more audio output devices.
These limitations, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent Claims 1 and 17 are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/YOGESHKUMAR PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691