DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP 2015-185443 A, hereinafter Ueda, cited by applicant) in view of Kusakawa (JP 2013-171758 A, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Ueda teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (para. 10) comprising:
a positive electrode (para. 10):
a negative electrode (para. 10); and
a nonaqueous electrolyte (para. 10), wherein
the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material (para. 10),
the negative electrode active material includes first negative electrode active material particles each having an aspect ratio of 1 to 2 (para 38) and second negative electrode active material particles each having an aspect ratio exceeding 4 (para. 52),
a mass ratio between the first negative electrode active material particles and the second negative electrode active material particles is 5 : 95 to 90 : 10 (para. 115),
50% or more of the second negative electrode active material particles are aligned such that an angle between a plane direction of the negative electrode active material layer and a major axis of the second negative electrode active material particle is 30° or more,
the nonaqueous electrolyte contains a nonaqueous solvent and an electrolyte salt (para. 139), and
the nonaqueous solvent contains a carboxylate ester having 4 or less carbon atoms (methyl acetate, para. 139).
Regarding “50% or more of the second negative electrode active material particles are aligned such that an angle between a plane direction of the negative electrode active material layer and a major axis of the second negative electrode active material particle is 30° or more”: Ueda does not expressly disclose that limitation. However, the specification of the instant application discloses that an angle between a plane direction of the negative electrode active material layer and a major axis of the second negative electrode active material particle is result of a ratio of the first negative electrode active material particles and the second negative electrode active material particles (para. 46).
Since Ueda and the claimed battery employ substantially similar materials and amount, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (50% or more of the second negative electrode active material particles are aligned such that an angle between a plane direction of the negative electrode active material layer and a major axis of the second negative electrode active material particle is 30° or more) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Ueda. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Ueda fails to specifically teach that the nonaqueous solvent contains 1 to 30% by volume of a carboxylate ester having 4 or less carbon atoms.
The invention of Kusakawa encompasses nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery. Kusakawa teaches that the nonaqueous solvent contains 10 to 50% by volume of a carboxylate ester having 4 or less carbon atoms (para. 10 & 16).
In view of Kusakawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Ueda to have the nonaqueous solvent contains 10 to 50% by volume of a carboxylate ester having 4 or less carbon atoms; since Kusakawa teaches the advantage of doing it, which is to improve low temperature performance (para. 11).
Re Claim 2. The combination teaches an average aspect ratio of the first negative electrode active material particles is 1.0 to 2 (Ueda, para. 38), and an average aspect ratio of the second negative electrode active material particles is 4 to 20 (para. 52).
Re Claim 3. The combination teaches wherein the first negative electrode active material particles are spheroidized natural graphite particles (Ueda, para. 40), and the second negative electrode active material particles are scaly natural graphite particles (para. 45).
Re Claim 4. The combination teaches a mass ratio between the first negative electrode active material particles and the second negative electrode active material particles is 5 : 95 to 95 : 5 (Ueda, para. 115 & 116).
Re Claim 5. The combination teaches wherein the carboxylate ester is methyl acetate (Ueda, para. 139).
Re Claim 6. The combination teaches wherein the nonaqueous solvent contains 10% by volume to 50% by volume of the carboxylate ester (Kusakawa, para. 16).
Re Claim 7. The combination teaches wherein the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery is a battery of a vehicle driving power supply (Ueda, para. 149) for hybrid vehicles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5 and 6, regarding claim 1, applicant argued that the combination of two different active materials with different aspect ratios and the claimed mass ratio demonstrated unexpected results shown in Table 1.
The examiner disagrees with this because the results shown in Table 1 are not commensurate with the claimed limitations, as Tables 1 does not show any result for upper limit for the mass ratio. In addition, the mass ratio outside the claimed mass ratio (Examples 4 and 5) still show comparable results.
On pages 6-8, applicant argued that Ueda teaches away from the claimed invention because Tables 1 and 2 show the mass ratio outside of the claimed range.
The examiner is now relying on para. 115 of Ueda. Tables 1 and 2 are just preferred embodiments of Ueda.
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2123, I & II.
Applicant also argued that Ueda does not recognize a cut off of a 1.5 aspect ratio.
The examiner disagrees with this because Ueda teaches the ranges of aspect ratio which overlap with the claimed ranges. Applicant has not provided any evidence showing the criticality of aspect ratio of 1.5, as Table 1 only varies mass ratio.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
10/21/2026