DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in reply to papers filed on 2025-12-08. Claims 1-19 are pending, following Applicant's addition of new claim 19. Claims 1, 7, 13, 19 is/are independent.
The objections to the title are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection(s) of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
With respect to claim(s) 1 (see page(s) 10-11 of Applicant’s Remarks), Applicant argues that the prior art of record (in particular, U.S. Publication 20210081117 to Liu et al. (hereinafter "Liu '117")) does not disclose “performing the write protection including setting data of the first region to a read-only mode when the access request is a DoS attack”. However, U.S. Publication 20230401321 to Moshe et al. (hereinafter "Moshe '321") discloses setting a read only mode on a storage region storing firmware in response to an attack [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0048, 0060-0062, 0031-0035]. As detailed in the rejection below, it would have been obvious to have modified Liu '117 to set a read only mode on a region as in Moshe '321. Accordingly, Applicant's argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the remaining claim(s) is/are based on Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and have been considered as detailed above.
Summary of Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
The following table summarizes the rejections set forth in detail below of the claims over the prior art.
Claim No.
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 in view of Lewis '222
1
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
2
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
3
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
4
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
5
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
6
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
7
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
8
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
9
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
10
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
11
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
12
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
13
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
14
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
15
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
16
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
17
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
18
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
19
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 20210081117 to Liu et al. (hereinafter "Liu '117") in view of U.S. Publication 20230401321 to Moshe et al. (hereinafter "Moshe '321"). Liu '117 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Moshe '321 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 1 (independent):
Liu '117 discloses a firmware protection method (protects firmware storage in response to DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047])
Liu '117 discloses monitoring an access request to a storage device and obtaining access request data, the storage device being configured to store firmware (according to protection policy 208, controller 202 monitors access requests to NVM 210 within BIOS/UEFI 108 [Liu '117 ¶ 0018-0019, 0015, Fig. 2])
Liu '117 discloses in response to the access request data, when determining that the access request is a denial-of-service (DOS) attack ("As the usage of the non-volatile memory 210 rises, the controller 202 may execute the executable code 206 in accordance with the memory protection policy 208 to prevent the DoS attack." [Liu '117 ¶ 0046, 0027, 009, 0020])
Liu '117 does not disclose performing write protection on a first region of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware, performing the write protection including setting data of the first region to a read-only mode when the access request is a DoS attack
However, Liu '117 discloses performing write protection on a first address of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware, performing the write protection including setting data of the first address to a read-only mode when the access request is a DoS attack (according to protection policy 208, controller 202 prevents selected write requests to NVM 210 within BIOS/UEFI 108 [Liu '117 ¶ 0045, 0031, 0021] and ensures continued function of BIOS/UEFI 108 by preserving space in NVM 210 [Liu '117 ¶ 0045, 0031])
Further:
Moshe '321 discloses performing write protection on a first region of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware, performing the write protection including setting data of the first region to a read-only mode when the access request is a attack (responsive to determination of level of threat, system sets individual storage devices into read only mode [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0062, 0048]; storage device are, e.g. partitions in non-volatile memory [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device 500 stores firmware 540 [Moshe '321 ¶ 0062])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Liu '117 with setting read-only mode on a particular divided storage region made of sectors as in Moshe '321 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
performing write protection on a first region of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware, performing the write protection including setting data of the first region to a read-only mode when the access request is a DoS attack
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because applying different security policies different memory regions responsive to an attack provides a quick and reliable way to secure memory that stores sensitive data, such as firmware. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Moshe '321 teaches [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0062, 0048] modifying a firmware protection method [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047] such as that of Liu '117 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Moshe '321 and Liu '117 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (read-only mode for a particular storage region of sectors [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0062, 0048, 0031-0035]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (firmware protection method [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (read-only mode for a particular storage region of sectors [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0062, 0048, 0031-0035]) to known devices and/or methods (firmware protection method [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (security method protects firmware from denial of service attacks [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047] by applying read-only mode to a particular storage region of sectors [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0062, 0048, 0031-0035]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 2 (dependent on claim 1):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Liu '117 does not disclose dividing a storage region of the storage device into the first region and a second region
However, Liu '117 discloses dividing a storage address of the storage device into the first address and a second address (stores firmware policies, variables, and code in various protected memory addresses [Liu '117 ¶ 0045])
Liu '117 discloses a portion of the first region is used to store the firmware (stores firmware policies, variables, and code in various protected memory regions [Liu '117 ¶ 0045])
Further:
Moshe '321 discloses dividing a storage region of the storage device into the first region and a second region (assigns sectors to storage devices [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device are, e.g. partitions in non-volatile memory [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device 500 stores firmware 540 [Moshe '321 ¶ 0062])
Moshe '321 discloses a portion of the first region is used to store the firmware (assigns sectors to storage devices [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device are, e.g. partitions in non-volatile memory [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device 500 stores firmware 540 [Moshe '321 ¶ 0062])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Liu '117 with setting read-only mode on a particular divided storage region made of sectors as in Moshe '321 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
dividing a storage region of the storage device into the first region and a second region
a portion of the first region is used to store the firmware
Per claim 3 (dependent on claim 2):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 2 above, incorporated herein by reference
Liu '117 does not disclose the second region includes a read-write region; dividing the storage region of the storage device into the first region and the second region includes assigning one or more sectors of the storage device to the first region and assigning one or more sectors of the storage device to the second region, wherein no sector is assigned to both the first region and the second region
Further:
Moshe '321 discloses the second region includes a read-write region; dividing the storage region of the storage device into the first region and the second region includes assigning one or more sectors of the storage device to the first region and assigning one or more sectors of the storage device to the second region, wherein no sector is assigned to both the first region and the second region (assigns sectors to storage devices [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device are, e.g. partitions in non-volatile memory [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device 500 stores firmware 540 [Moshe '321 ¶ 0062])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Liu '117 with setting read-only mode on a particular divided storage region made of sectors as in Moshe '321 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the second region includes a read-write region; dividing the storage region of the storage device into the first region and the second region includes assigning one or more sectors of the storage device to the first region and assigning one or more sectors of the storage device to the second region, wherein no sector is assigned to both the first region and the second region
Per claim 4 (dependent on claim 1):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Liu '117 discloses determining an access mode and an access count of the access request (multiple usage thresholds depending on write request category [Liu '117 ¶ 0023-0025, 0046])
Liu '117 discloses when the access mode is violated access and the access count is greater than a predetermined threshold, determining the access request is the DOS attack (usage threshold triggers protections [Liu '117 ¶ 0046, 0023-0025])
Per claim 5 (dependent on claim 4):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above, incorporated herein by reference
Liu '117 discloses in response to the access count being less than or equal to the predetermined threshold, determining that the DOS attack has stopped; and removing the write protection from the first region of the storage device (when usage is below threshold, allow write request [Liu '117 ¶ 0046, 0037])
Per claim 7 (independent):
Liu '117 discloses a controller comprising an attack protection assembly configured to (protects firmware storage in response to DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]; processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Liu '117 ¶ 0039-0040, 0032, 0011-0014, Fig. 4])
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 2 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 8 (dependent on claim 7):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 7 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 3 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 9 (dependent on claim 8):
Liu '117 in view of Chaiken '838 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 8 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 4 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 10 (dependent on claim 7):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 7 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 5 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 11 (dependent on claim 10):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 13 (independent):
Liu '117 discloses an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations (protects firmware storage in response to DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]; processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Liu '117 ¶ 0039-0040, 0032, 0011-0014, Fig. 4])
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 14 (dependent on claim 13):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 13 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 2 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 15 (dependent on claim 14):
Liu '117 in view of Chaiken '838 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 14 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 3 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 16 (dependent on claim 13):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 13 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 4 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 17 (dependent on claim 16):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 16 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 5 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 19 (independent):
Liu '117 discloses a firmware protection method (protects firmware storage in response to DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047])
Liu '117 discloses monitoring an access request to a storage device and obtaining access request data, the storage device being configured to store firmware (stores firmware policies, variables, and code in various protected memory addresses [Liu '117 ¶ 0045])
Liu '117 discloses determining an access mode and an access count of the access request (multiple usage thresholds depending on write request category [Liu '117 ¶ 0023-0025, 0046])
Liu '117 discloses when the access mode is violated access and the access count is greater than a predetermined threshold, determining the access request is a denial-of-service (DoS) attack, the access mode being violated access when an access type of the access mode is a write or erase access to data in a read-only mode (usage threshold triggers protections [Liu '117 ¶ 0046, 0023-0025]; protects firmware storage in response to DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047])
Liu '117 does not disclose in response to the access request data, when determining that the access request is the DoS attack, performing write protection on a first region of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware
However, Liu '117 discloses in response to the access request data, when determining that the access request is the DoS attack, performing write protection on a first address of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware (usage threshold triggers protections [Liu '117 ¶ 0046, 0023-0025]; protects firmware storage in response to DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047])
Further:
Moshe '321 discloses in response to the access request data, when determining that the access request is the attack, performing write protection on a first region of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware (responsive to determination of level of threat, system sets individual storage devices into read only mode [Moshe '321 ¶ 0095, 0074, 0013, 0062, 0048]; storage device are, e.g. partitions in non-volatile memory [Moshe '321 ¶ 0060-0062, 0031-0035]; storage device 500 stores firmware 540 [Moshe '321 ¶ 0062])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Liu '117 with setting read-only mode on a particular divided storage region made of sectors as in Moshe '321 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
in response to the access request data, when determining that the access request is the DoS attack, performing write protection on a first region of the storage device, maintaining the power supply to the storage device, and allowing the storage device to be accessible to the firmware
Claim(s) 6, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 in view of U.S. Publication 20220358222 to Lewis (hereinafter "Lewis '222"). Lewis '222 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 6 (dependent on claim 1):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Liu '117 does not disclose notifying the firmware that the storage device is under the DOS attack for the firmware to notify about an inspection method and/or a resolution method for the DOS attack
However, Liu '117 discloses notifying the firmware that the storage device is under the DOS attack (sends error message when usage is above threshold [Liu '117 ¶ 0038]; DoS attack [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0046-0047])
Further:
Lewis '222 discloses notifying the firmware that the storage device is under the attack for the firmware to notify about an inspection method and/or a resolution method for the attack (firmware event notification and resolution framework [Lewis '222 ¶ 0022, 0049, Fig. 3, Fig. 4])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Liu '117 with the firmware security event framework of Lewis '222 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
notifying the firmware that the storage device is under the DOS attack for the firmware to notify about an inspection method and/or a resolution method for the DOS attack
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because firmware security event framework is capable of mitigating an attack in response to a notification. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Lewis '222 teaches [Lewis '222 ¶ 0022, 0049, Fig. 3, Fig. 4] modifying a (firmware protection method [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]) such as that of Liu '117 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Lewis '222 and Liu '117 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (firmware security event framework [Lewis '222 ¶ 0022, 0049, Fig. 3, Fig. 4]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (firmware protection method [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (firmware security event framework [Lewis '222 ¶ 0022, 0049, Fig. 3, Fig. 4]) to known devices and/or methods (firmware protection method [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (security method protects firmware from denial of service attacks [Liu '117 ¶ 0020, 0047] by notifying firmware security event framework [Lewis '222 ¶ 0022, 0049, Fig. 3, Fig. 4]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 12 (dependent on claim 7):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 7 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 7 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 18 (dependent on claim 13):
Liu '117 in view of Moshe '321 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 13 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494