Claim Interpretation
Claims 25-27 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Support is provided in the form of circuitry (Page 16, paragraph 76 of Specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 106776028) in view of Phan (U.S. PGPUB 20250111573), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), and further in view of Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842).
With respect to claim 1, Gao et al. disclose an apparatus (paragraph 46, This implementation uses the system shown in Figure 2) comprising:
a memory configured to store a triangle mesh and a feature texture (paragraph 46, The host allocates memory/video memory space and loads the scene model into memory. Then, the CPU parses the scene model, breaking it down into triangular metadata, material data);
a graphics processing unit (GPU) coupled to the memory, the GPU configured to render an inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene based on the triangle mesh and the feature texture using a ray tracing (paragraph 46, The GPU stores the triangular metadata, material information, and light information in their respective global and constant memories. It also establishes a Kd-Tree with the bounding boxes of each scene model as leaf nodes and the entire 3D scene model as the root node. Finally, ray tracing is performed, paragraph 53, Step 4: Perform ray tracing on the GPU); and
a display unit coupled to the GPU, the display unit configured to display the inferred 3D scene (paragraph 54, The CPU reads the pixel information from the image buffer, displays it on the screen, and completes the rendering). However, Gao et al. do not expressly disclose a learned triangle mesh and a learned feature texture, and rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field with reduced dimensionality by converting a 3D scene volume representation into a two-dimensional (2D) surface geometry representation relative to an initial feature field neural network.
Phan, who also deals with rendering computer graphics, discloses using a learned triangle mesh and a learned feature texture (paragraph 24, a texture map machine learning model trained to generate 2D texture maps; and mesh machine learning model trained to generate 3D meshes).
Gao et al. and Phan are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of using a learned triangle mesh and a learned feature texture, as taught by Phan, to the Gao et al. system, because realistic facial models (including texture maps and meshes) and animations may be rapidly generated and optimized for a virtual character for use in electronic games (paragraph 5 of Phan), thus generate realistic images.
Duckworth et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method for rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field (paragraph 85, the parameters of the NeRF model can learn or encode a latent representation of geometry of a three-dimensional scene. It is to be understood that other machine-learned models, including machine-learned field models, can be used as a scene representation model 202).
Gao et al., Phan, and Duckworth et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field, as taught by Duckworth et al., to the Gao et al. as modified by Phan system, because the scene representation model 202 can include learnable parameters 204 that are adapted specifically to represent the particular scene of interest (depicted in image set 210), and the semantic segmentation model 206 can include learnable parameters 208 that are adapted to encode higher-level, global understandings of how to reason over a geometric representation (e.g., a density field) to obtain semantic features for performing semantic segmentation (paragraph 93 of Duckworth et al.).
Agustsson et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method wherein the latent representation comprises reduced dimensionality (paragraph 59, The encoded representation 506 (i.e., the quantized representation ^y) is a latent space representation of the source image 502. The encoder 504 maps the ambient space of the source image 502 from the m-dimensional space to a lower n-dimensional latent space, where n<=m, paragraph 60, The encoded representation 506 has a reduced dimensionality as compares to the source image. To illustrate, whereas the source image may be of size WxH pixels and includes three color channels resulting in a dimensionality of W*H*3, the encoded representation may have a dimensionality of W/16 * H/16 * 320, which is smaller in dimensionality than the source image).
Gao et al., Phan, Duckworth et al., and Agustsson et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the latent representation comprises reduced dimensionality, as taught by Agustsson et al., to the Gao et al. as modified by Phan and Duckworth et al. system for rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field with reduced dimensionality than an initial field neural network, because the generator 508 may generate the distortion-based reconstructed image 302A, which has a good PSNR (i.e., low MSE) of 28.1 dB (paragraph 63 of Agustsson et al.).
Nagano et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method for rendering by converting a 3D scene volume representation into a two-dimensional (2D) surface geometry representation relative to an initial feature field neural network (paragraph 60, the 3D representation 104 can be converted to a 2D image using a neural renderer 130, which may alternately be referred to as a volume renderer and that is shown in FIG. 1B, which may include a decoder (e.g., MLP network) with one or more fully connected layers trained to convert the 3D representation 104 to color and/or density information).
Gao et al., Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of rendering, by converting a 3D scene volume representation into a two-dimensional (2D) surface geometry representation relative to an initial feature field neural network, as taught by Nagano et al., to the Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., and Agustsson et al. system, because a 2D image can be rendered from an arbitrary viewpoint by concatenating pose information with the 3D representation 104, and then processing the concatenated information by the neural renderer 130 (paragraph 60 of Nagano et al.), thus generating a final output image.
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 106776028) in view of Phan (U.S. PGPUB 20250111573), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), and further in view of Ikeda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104844).
With respect to claim 2, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1. However, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. do not expressly disclose the GPU comprises a shader processor configured to process the learned triangle mesh and the learned feature texture.
Ikeda et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method wherein the GPU comprises a shader processor configured to process the learned triangle mesh and the learned feature texture (paragraph 35, The acceleration structure traversal stage may be implemented in software (e.g., as a shader program executing on the SIMD units 138), in hardware, or as a combination of hardware and software, paragraph 36, for triangles that are intersected by the ray, the ray tracing pipeline 300 triggers execution of an any hit shader 306 and/or an intersection shader 307 if those shaders are specified by the material of the intersected triangle).
Gao et al., Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the GPU comprises a shader processor configured to process the learned triangle mesh and the learned feature texture, as taught by Ikeda et al., to the Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. system, because much of the work involved in ray tracing is performed by programmable shader programs, executed on the SIMD units 138 in the compute units 132 (paragraph 33 of Ikeda et al.), thus distributing the work of ray tracing to multiple computing units.
With respect to claim 3, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the GPU further comprises a ray traversal unit configured to perform the ray tracing (Ikeda et al.: paragraph 34, traversal through the ray tracing pipeline 300 is performed partially or fully by the scheduler 136, either autonomously or under control of the processor 102, or partially or fully by a shader program (such as a BVH traversal shader program) executing on one or more of the SIMD units 138).
With respect to claim 4, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the ray tracing includes a determination of primary visibility (Gao et al.: paragraph 69, Step 4.2: Determine whether the current ray intersects with the bounding box of the Kd-Tree: If it intersects, perform an intersection test between the scene model inside the bounding box and the current ray, and proceed to step 4.3; otherwise, if the current ray does not intersect with the scene model inside the bounding box of the Kd-Tree, fill the image buffer area with the scene model as background information).
With respect to claim 5, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the ray tracing includes a bounding volume hierarchy (BVH) technique (Ikeda et al.: paragraph 40, For efficiency, the ray tracing test uses a representation of space referred to as a bounding volume hierarchy. This BVH is the “acceleration structure” referred to elsewhere herein). It would have been obvious for the ray tracing to include a bounding volume hierarchy because the BVH data structure allows the number of ray-triangle intersections (which are complex and thus expensive in terms of processing resources) to be reduced as compared with a scenario in which no such data structure were used and therefore all triangles in a scene would have to be tested against the ray (paragraph 41 of Ikeda et al.).
With respect to claim 6, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the shader processor is further configured to infer the inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene to output view-dependent colors (Ikeda et al.: paragraph 38, If the ray hits an object, that pixel is colored based on the closest hit shader 310. If the ray does not hit an object, the pixel is colored based on the miss shader 312. Multiple rays may be cast per pixel, with the final color of the pixel being determined by some combination of the colors determined for each of the rays of the pixel).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 106776028) in view of Phan (U.S. PGPUB 20250111573), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), Ikeda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104844), and further in view of Cole et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190147642).
With respect to claim 7, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 6. However, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. do not expressly disclose the shader processor is further configured to synthesize the inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene using a reduced neural network with the ray tracing.
Cole et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein the shader processor is further configured to synthesize the inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene using a reduced neural network with the ray tracing (paragraph 35, the 3D rendering engine 230 may utilize wireframe rendering, polygon-based rendering, scanline rendering, ray tracing, radiosity, or any other 3D rendering technique. In some implementations, the 3D rendering engine 230 may be a neural network, such that the 3D rendering engine 230 receives the estimated 3D shape and texture from the 3D estimator neural network 220 as input to the neural network, and generates multiple views of the estimated 3D shape and texture by processing this input through the layers of the neural network).
Gao et al., Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., and Cole et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the shader processor is further configured to synthesize the inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene using a reduced neural network with the ray tracing, as taught by Cole et al., to the Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. system, because use of a differentiable renderer may provide advantages in some implementations, by generating multiple renderings of a single 3D shape and texture with greater efficiency and simplicity (paragraph 34 of Cole et al.).
With respect to claim 8, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., and Cole et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the shader processor is further configured to backpropagate a plurality of two-dimensional (2D) images to the reduced neural network, an initial feature field neural network and an initial opacity field neural network to generate an updated learned triangle mesh and an updated learned feature texture and an updated reduced neural network (Cole et al.: paragraph 35, the 3D rendering engine 230 receives the estimated 3D shape and texture from the 3D estimator neural network 220 as input to the neural network, and generates multiple views of the estimated 3D shape and texture by processing this input through the layers of the neural network. Any other technique may be employed at the 3D rendering engine 230, so long as the 3D renderings output by the 3D rendering engine 230 can be back-propagated to the object recognition engine 210 for processing).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 106776028) in view of Phan (U.S. PGPUB 20250111573), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), Ikeda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104844), Cole et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190147642), and further in view of Sardari et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200312042).
With respect to claim 9, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., and Cole et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 8. However, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., and Cole et al. do not expressly disclose the shader processor is further configured to infer the updated reduced neural network using a forward propagation and with the ray tracing.
Sardari et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein the shader processor is further configured to infer the updated reduced neural network using a forward propagation and with the ray tracing (paragraph 73, The three dimensional reconstruction module 114 can perform ray tracing to generate shadows based on the light sources for the three dimensional representations of the objects and/or the features, paragraph 74, The discriminator 126 can be trained to determine whether the image looks like a real image or a fake image. For example, the discriminator 126 may forward propagate the two dimensional view through layers of a neural network trained to determine whether the image looks real and/or fake and output a binary determination of real and/or fake, or a probability that the image is real).
Gao et al., Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., Cole et al., and Sardari et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the shader processor is further configured to infer the updated reduced neural network using a forward propagation and with the ray tracing, as taught by Sardari et al., to the Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., and Cole et al. system, because the stored objects and/or features that was determined to appear “real” by the discriminator 126 and/or exceeded a certain threshold of comparison from the original image can be reused for similar objects and/or features in different locations (paragraph 78 of Sardari et al.), thus ensuring realistic looking images.
With respect to claim 10, Gao et al. as modified by Phan, Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Ikeda et al., Cole et al., and Sardari et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the shader processor is further configured to synthesize the inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene using the updated reduced neural network with the updated learned triangle mesh and the updated learned feature texture and with the ray tracing (Sardari et al.: paragraph 128, At block 316, the three dimensional reconstruction system can render a two dimensional view of the three dimensional scene, such as using standard 3D rendering techniques known in the art given the arranged 3D scene and custom object information described above).
Claim(s) 11-14, 22-25, 27-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman et al. (WO 2024025782) in view of Gao et al. (CN 106776028), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), and further in view of Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842).
With respect to claim 11, Hedman et al. disclose a method comprising:
using an initial mesh and an initial feature texture generated by an initial feature field neural network and an initial opacity field neural network with a plurality of two-dimensional (2D) images (paragraph 38, The computing system can process a plurality of positions associated with a learnable mesh model 204 with a feature field model 208 to generate feature data 212 and with an opacity field model 210 to generate opacity data 214, paragraph 45, the computing system can bake the feature data 212 and the opacity data 214 respectively output by the feature field model 208 and the opacity field model 210 into one or more texture images (not shown), for all positions (e.g., polygons) of the mesh model 204, the feature field model 208 and the opacity field model 210 can be evaluated and their respective outputs can be stored in the one or more texture images for use during later rendering); and
synthesizing an initial three-dimensional (3D) scene using an initial reduced neural network, the initial mesh and the initial feature texture (paragraph 48, a polygonal mesh whose texture maps store features and opacity. At rendering time, given a camera pose, some example implementations adopt a two-stage deferred rendering process, paragraph 49, Rendering Stage 1, paragraph 50, Rendering Stage 2). However, Hedman et al. do not expressly disclose using ray tracing and rendering a latent representation of a radiance field with a reduced dimensionality by converting a 3D scene volume representation into a two-dimensional (2D) surface geometry representation relative to an initial feature field neural network.
Gao et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose synthesizing an initial 3D scene using the initial mesh and initial feature texture using ray tracing (paragraph 46, The GPU stores the triangular metadata, material information, and light information in their respective global and constant memories. It also establishes a Kd-Tree with the bounding boxes of each scene model as leaf nodes and the entire 3D scene model as the root node. Finally, ray tracing is performed, paragraph 53, Step 4: Perform ray tracing on the GPU).
Hedman et al. and Gao et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of synthesizing an initial 3D scene using the initial mesh and initial feature texture using ray tracing, as taught by Gao et al., to the Hedman et al. system, because ray tracing is used to generate realistic 3D virtual scenes (paragraph 4 of Gao et al.), thus improving visual quality over other rendering methods.
Duckworth et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method for rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field (paragraph 85, the parameters of the NeRF model can learn or encode a latent representation of geometry of a three-dimensional scene. It is to be understood that other machine-learned models, including machine-learned field models, can be used as a scene representation model 202).
Hedman et al., Gao et al., and Duckworth et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field, as taught by Duckworth et al., to the Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al. system, because the scene representation model 202 can include learnable parameters 204 that are adapted specifically to represent the particular scene of interest (depicted in image set 210), and the semantic segmentation model 206 can include learnable parameters 208 that are adapted to encode higher-level, global understandings of how to reason over a geometric representation (e.g., a density field) to obtain semantic features for performing semantic segmentation (paragraph 93 of Duckworth et al.).
Agustsson et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method wherein the latent representation comprises reduced dimensionality than an initial field neural network (paragraph 59, The encoded representation 506 (i.e., the quantized representation ^y) is a latent space representation of the source image 502. The encoder 504 maps the ambient space of the source image 502 from the m-dimensional space to a lower n-dimensional latent space, where n<=m, paragraph 60, The encoded representation 506 has a reduced dimensionality as compares to the source image. To illustrate, whereas the source image may be of size WxH pixels and includes three color channels resulting in a dimensionality of W*H*3, the encoded representation may have a dimensionality of W/16 * H/16 * 320, which is smaller in dimensionality than the source image).
Hedman et al., Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the latent representation comprises reduced dimensionality than an initial field neural network, as taught by Agustsson et al., to the Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al. and Duckworth et al. system for rendering a scene based on a latent representation of a radiance field with reduced dimensionality than an initial field neural network, because the generator 508 may generate the distortion-based reconstructed image 302A, which has a good PSNR (i.e., low MSE) of 28.1 dB (paragraph 63 of Agustsson et al.).
Nagano et al., who also deal with rendering computer graphics, disclose a method for rendering by converting a 3D scene volume representation into a two-dimensional (2D) surface geometry representation relative to an initial feature field neural network (paragraph 60, the 3D representation 104 can be converted to a 2D image using a neural renderer 130, which may alternately be referred to as a volume renderer and that is shown in FIG. 1B, which may include a decoder (e.g., MLP network) with one or more fully connected layers trained to convert the 3D representation 104 to color and/or density information).
Hedman et al., Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of rendering, by converting a 3D scene volume representation into a two-dimensional (2D) surface geometry representation relative to an initial feature field neural network, as taught by Nagano et al., to the Hedman et al., Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al. system, because a 2D image can be rendered from an arbitrary viewpoint by concatenating pose information with the 3D representation 104, and then processing the concatenated information by the neural renderer 130 (paragraph 60 of Nagano et al.), thus generating a final output image.
With respect to claim 12, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the initial reduced neural network is a multilayer perceptron (MLP) neural network (Hedman et al.: paragraph 50, Rendering Stage 2 - some example implementations convert these features into a color image via a (neural) deferred renderer running in a fragment shader, e.g., a small MLP, which receives a feature vector and view direction and outputs a pixel color).
With respect to claim 13, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the initial mesh is a set of three-dimensional (3D) spatial samples which represents a geometric object (Hedman et al.: paragraph 61, Without loss of generality, some example implementations operate with respect to the polygonal mesh used in Synthetic 360° scenes).
With respect to claim 14, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the ray tracing includes a determination of primary visibility (Gao et al.: paragraph 69, Step 4.2: Determine whether the current ray intersects with the bounding box of the Kd-Tree: If it intersects, perform an intersection test between the scene model inside the bounding box and the current ray, and proceed to step 4.3; otherwise, if the current ray does not intersect with the scene model inside the bounding box of the Kd-Tree, fill the image buffer area with the scene model as background information).
With respect to claim 22, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the initial reduced neural network has a lower dimensionality than the initial feature field neural network and the initial opacity field neural network (Hedman et al.: paragraph 38, feature field model 208 and the opacity field model 210 can be neural radiance field models (e.g., implemented using relatively larger MLPs), paragraph 39, The computing system can process the feature data 212 and the camera pose 202 with a neural fragment shader (e.g., implemented using a relatively smaller MLP) to generate color data 220).
With respect to claim 23, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the method of claim 21, further comprising establishing the initial feature field neural network and the initial opacity field neural network (Hedman et al.: paragraph 38, The computing system can process a plurality of positions associated with a learnable mesh model 204 with a feature field model 208 to generate feature data 212 and with an opacity field model 210 to generate opacity data 214, feature field model and opacity field model established before use).
With respect to claim 24, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the method of claim 23, further comprising ingesting the plurality of two-dimensional (2D) images for machine learning (ML) training (Hedman et al.: paragraph 38, Specifically, a computing system can obtain a training image 206 that depicts a scene from a camera pose 202, paragraph 46, As another example, in some implementations, after the one or more training iterations, any portions (e.g., polygons) of the mesh model that are not-visible in any of the plurality of training images of the scene can be pruned).
With respect to claim 25, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose an apparatus (Hedman et al.: paragraph 79, Figure 3A depicts a block diagram of an example computing system 100 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure) comprising: means for executing (Hedman et al.: paragraph 81) the method of claim 11; see rationale for rejection of claim 11.
With respect to claim 27, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 26, further comprising: means for executing the method of claims 23-24; see rationale for rejection of claims 23-24.
With respect to claim 28, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, operable on a device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor (Hedman et al.: paragraph 81, The memory 114 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media), wherein the at least one processor is configured to implement a three-dimensional (3D) scene synthesis using a ray tracing, the computer executable code comprising the method of claim 11; see rationale for rejection of claim 11.
With respect to claim 30, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., and Nagano et al. disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 29, further comprising: instructions for causing the computer to execute the method of claims 23-24; see rationale for rejection of claims 23-24.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman et al. (WO 2024025782) in view of Gao et al. (CN 106776028), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), and further in view of Ikeda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104844).
With respect to claim 15, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the ray tracing includes a bounding volume hierarchy (BVH) technique (Ikeda et al.: paragraph 40, For efficiency, the ray tracing test uses a representation of space referred to as a bounding volume hierarchy. This BVH is the “acceleration structure” referred to elsewhere herein). It would have been obvious for the ray tracing to include a bounding volume hierarchy because the BVH data structure allows the number of ray-triangle intersections (which are complex and thus expensive in terms of processing resources) to be reduced as compared with a scenario in which no such data structure were used and therefore all triangles in a scene would have to be tested against the ray (paragraph 41 of Ikeda et al.).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman et al. (WO 2024025782) in view of Gao et al. (CN 106776028), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), and further in view of Sardari et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200312042).
With respect to claim 16, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Sardari et al. disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising using a forward propagation for synthesizing the initial three-dimensional (3D) scene (Sardari et al.: paragraph 73, The three dimensional reconstruction module 114 can perform ray tracing to generate shadows based on the light sources for the three dimensional representations of the objects and/or the features, paragraph 74, The discriminator 126 can be trained to determine whether the image looks like a real image or a fake image. For example, the discriminator 126 may forward propagate the two dimensional view through layers of a neural network trained to determine whether the image looks real and/or fake and output a binary determination of real and/or fake, or a probability that the image is real). it would have been obvious to apply the method of using a forward propagation for synthesizing the initial three-dimensional (3D) scene, because the stored objects and/or features that was determined to appear “real” by the discriminator 126 and/or exceeded a certain threshold of comparison from the original image can be reused for similar objects and/or features in different locations (paragraph 78 of Sardari et al.), thus ensuring realistic looking images.
Claim(s) 17-19, 21, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman et al. (WO 2024025782) in view of Gao et al. (CN 106776028), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), and further in view of Cole et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190147642).
With respect to claim 17, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Cole et al. disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising backpropagating the initial 3D scene to the initial reduced neural network, the initial feature field neural network and the initial opacity field neural network to create a trained reduced neural network using a forward propagation and with the ray tracing (Cole et al.: paragraph 35, the 3D rendering engine 230 receives the estimated 3D shape and texture from the 3D estimator neural network 220 as input to the neural network, and generates multiple views of the estimated 3D shape and texture by processing this input through the layers of the neural network. Any other technique may be employed at the 3D rendering engine 230, so long as the 3D renderings output by the 3D rendering engine 230 can be back-propagated to the object recognition engine 210 for processing). It would have been obvious to apply the method of backpropagating the initial 3D scene to the initial reduced neural network, the initial feature field neural network and the initial opacity field neural network to create a trained reduced neural network using a forward propagation and with the ray tracing, because use of a differentiable renderer may provide advantages in some implementations, by generating multiple renderings of a single 3D shape and texture with greater efficiency and simplicity (paragraph 34 of Cole et al.).
With respect to claim 18, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Cole et al. disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising synthesizing an inferred three-dimensional (3D) scene using an updated reduced neural network with an updated learned mesh and an updated learned feature texture and with the ray tracing (Cole et al.: paragraph 35, the 3D rendering engine 230 may utilize wireframe rendering, polygon-based rendering, scanline rendering, ray tracing, radiosity, or any other 3D rendering technique. In some implementations, the 3D rendering engine 230 may be a neural network, such that the 3D rendering engine 230 receives the estimated 3D shape and texture from the 3D estimator neural network 220 as input to the neural network, and generates multiple views of the estimated 3D shape and texture by processing this input through the layers of the neural network).
With respect to claim 19, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Cole et al. disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the ray tracing includes a determination of primary visibility (Gao et al.: paragraph 69, Step 4.2: Determine whether the current ray intersects with the bounding box of the Kd-Tree: If it intersects, perform an intersection test between the scene model inside the bounding box and the current ray, and proceed to step 4.3; otherwise, if the current ray does not intersect with the scene model inside the bounding box of the Kd-Tree, fill the image buffer area with the scene model as background information).
With respect to claim 21, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Cole et al. disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising outputting one or more view-dependent 3D scenes from an updated mesh and an updated feature texture (Cole et al.: paragraph 50, The 3D estimator neural network 220 may use the image feature vector as input and output an estimated 3D shape and texture corresponding to the object depicted in the synthetic image).
With respect to claim 26, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Cole et al disclose the apparatus of claim 25, further comprising: means executing the method of claims 17-18; see rationale for rejection of claims 17-18.
With respect to claim 29, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., and Cole et al. disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, further comprising: instructions for causing the computer execute the method of claims 17-18; see rationale for rejection of claims 17-18.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman et al. (WO 2024025782) in view of Gao et al. (CN 106776028), Duckworth et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240119697), Agustsson et al. (WO 2024129940), Nagano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104842), Cole et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190147642), and further in view of Ikeda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240104844).
With respect to claim 20, Hedman et al. as modified by Gao et al., Duckworth et al., Agustsson et al., Nagano et al., Cole et al., and Ikeda et al. disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the ray tracing includes a bounding volume hierarchy (BVH) technique (Ikeda et al.: paragraph 40, For efficiency, the ray tracing test uses a representation of space referred to as a bounding volume hierarchy. This BVH is the “acceleration structure” referred to elsewhere herein). It would have been obvious for the ray tracing to include a bounding volume hierarchy because the BVH data structure allows the number of ray-triangle intersections (which are complex and thus expensive in terms of processing resources) to be reduced as compared with a scenario in which no such data structure were used and therefore all triangles in a scene would have to be tested against the ray (paragraph 41 of Ikeda et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, 25, and 28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
9/9/26