DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5, line 6, magnet sensor should be magnetic sensor. Claim 8, the plastic in the base claim refers to the material of the hollows core 510 or the shell, see [0017]. The two-part epoxy is not listed as a plastic for the shell, it is cited as filler material for the interior portion of the core, see [0025].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tattersfield (2019/0168081). Claim 5, Tattersfield discloses a golf ball comprising a core and a cover layer having an outer surface defining a plurality of dimples (102). The core comprises an electronic assembly and plastic [0072-0074]. The electronics assembly comprises a central processing unit (110) and a magnetometer (Note: all magnetometers are capable of detecting magnets) [0064]; and at least one mantle layer disposed between the spherical core and the cover layer (fig 1). Claim 6, the magnet sensor is a magnetometer [0064] (Note: all magnetometers are capable of detecting magnets). Claim 7, the magnet sensor is a Hall effect sensor configured to detect a magnet proximate to the Hall effect sensor [0064]. Claim 11, the electronics assembly comprises an accelerometer, a wireless antenna, and recharged wirelessly [0064-0065, 0119].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tattersfield (2019/0168081) in view of Jordan et al. (2004/0029651). Tattersfield does not disclose the plastics claimed by applicant. Jordan teaches ABS with fibers [0042]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the materials for enhanced durability.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tattersfield (2019/0168081) in view of Jordan et al. (2004/0029651). Tattersfield does not disclose the plastics claimed by applicant. Iwami teaches materials with a flexural stiffness from 400 to 5,000 MPa (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the materials for enhanced durability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
December 22, 2025