DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to an amendment filed on 12/04/2025. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-6, 8-9, 13, 15-22, and 24-27 amended, claim 7 was cancelled and no new claims were added. Thus, claims 1-6 and 8-27 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 19, the limitation “an array of bladder assemblies having a centerline and arranged in first and second identical bladder array sections symmetrically positioned on opposite sides of the centerline from each other, the first and second identical bladder array sections in fluid communication with the source of pressurized air and arranged in a row and a plurality of pairs of laterally opposed corresponding columns positioned on opposite sides of the centerline, each column of the plurality of pairs of laterally opposed columns including a bladder assembly of the array of the bladder assemblies having a pair of stacked bladders including a first proximal user-facing bladder having a proximal side relative to a user and a distal side relative to the user and a second distal bladder stacked behind the distal side of the first proximal user-facing bladder” (lines 3-11) is not supported by the original disclosure and is therefore new matter. The original disclosure fails to disclose that the array of bladder assemblies having a centerline and arranged in first and second identical bladder array sections symmetrically positioned on opposite sides of the centerline from each other, the first and second identical bladder array sections in fluid communication with the source of pressurized air and arranged in a row and a plurality of pairs of laterally opposed corresponding columns positioned on opposite sides of the centerline, each column of the plurality of pairs of laterally opposed columns including a bladder assembly of the array of the bladder assemblies having a pair of stacked bladders including a first proximal user-facing bladder having a proximal side relative to a user and a distal side relative to the user and a second distal bladder stacked behind the distal side of the first proximal user-facing bladder.
In claim 19, the limitation “wherein each pair of laterally opposed columns of the first and second bladder array sections is configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair via a same supply line of a plurality of supply lines in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect column-by-column” (lines 13-18) is not supported by the original disclosure and is therefore, new matter. The original disclosure fails to disclose that each pair of laterally opposed columns of the first and second bladder array sections is configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair via a same supply line of a plurality of supply lines in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect column-by-column.
Any remaining claims are rejected for their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the limitation “wherein each pair of laterally opposed columns of the first and second bladder array sections is configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair via a same supply line of a plurality of supply lines in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect column-by-column” (lines 13-18) is unclear and confusing as to how to determine the metes and bounds of the limitation because the limitation “wherein each pair of laterally opposed columns of the first and second bladder array sections is configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair via a same supply line of a plurality of supply lines in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid” is contradicting with the limitation “in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect column-by-column”, how can each pair of the columns be configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair via a same supply line of a plurality of supply lines in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid” and to be in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect column-by-column.
Any remaining claims are rejected for their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Yu (2019/0075932) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yu (2019/0075932) in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a pneumatic massage system (entire system shown in fig. 7 comprising 11 of figs. 5-6, paragraphs 0078-0117, Yu discloses an air mattress that pneumatically inflate and deflate, the act of inflating and deflating would massage the user) comprising: at least one source of pressurized air (133, 13, 15, 1321, 14, figs. 7-8, paragraphs 0101, 0106 and 0117); and a bladder assembly (11R or 11L, which takes the form of 11, see fig. 5 for reference) in fluid communication with the at least one source of pressurized air, wherein the bladder assembly includes an array of bladders with each bladder in the array of bladders in communication with the at least one source of pressurized air, and wherein the array is arranged in a plurality of rows and columns of bladders (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, see bladders 110, paragraphs 0047-0083, see first-fifth columns and first-eight rows), wherein at least one row of the bladders in the plurality of rows of bladders (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, the plurality of rows of bladders include the first-eight rows) comprises a first pair of fluidly interconnected and laterally offset bladders each positioned on an internal column of a pair of laterally offset internal columns of the plurality of columns of bladders and configured to inflate and deflate together via the fluid interconnection between the first pair of laterally offset bladders (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, Yu discloses that all the bladders are connected to the source of pressurized air through 132 and 133, and further discloses first flow passage 141 and second flow passage 142 for connecting the plurality of bladders, see paragraphs 0074-0077, therefore, the bladders would inflate and deflate together, the internal columns are formed by the second and third columns), wherein the fluid interconnection between the first pair of laterally offset bladders extends between the pair of laterally offset internal columns (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5, the fluid interconnection between the first pair of laterally offset bladders extends between the pair of laterally offset internal columns (the second column and the third column), see flow passage 141 in paragraphs 0074-0077 for reference), and a second pair of fluidly interconnected and laterally offset bladders each positioned on an external column of a pair of laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns of bladders and configured to inflate and deflate together via the fluid interconnection between the second pair of laterally offset bladders, wherein the fluid interconnection between the second pair of laterally offset bladders extends between the pair of laterally offset external columns (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above with reference to fig. 6, and paragraphs 0048-0117, Yu discloses that the second pair of fluidly interconnected and laterally offset bladders each positioned on an external column of the pair of laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns of bladders and configured to deflate and inflate together via the fluid interconnection that is between the second pair of laterally offset bladders as disclosed by Yu, since all the bladders on the eight row are connected to one another, see “the air pocket module 100 includes a flow passage 140 communicating with the multiple air pockets 110” in paragraphs 0074-0077, see alternative first and second pair of bladders), and bladder regions (see region 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu).
However, if there is any doubt that Yu discloses a pneumatic massage system.
Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and regions of Yu to have a massaging mode as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Regarding claim 2, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the first pair of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders and the second pair of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders are configured to inflate and deflate independently of each other (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above and paragraphs 0049-0081 of Yu, Yu discloses that the first pair of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders and the second pair of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders are independent of one another, therefore, inflate and deflate independently of each other).
Regarding claim 4, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the first and second pairs of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders are fluidly connected to the at least one source of pressurized air (see figs. 5-9 with reference to the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above and paragraphs 0101-0110, 0113, and 0116-0117 of Yu).
Regarding claim 5, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the array of the bladders comprises a first bladder array section and a second bladder array section, each of the first and second bladder array sections comprising the pair of the laterally offset internal columns and the pair of the laterally offset external columns and two adjacent rows of bladders of the plurality of rows of the bladders (see fig. 7 and paragraphs 0106-0110, 11L is a first bladder array section and the 11R us a second bladder array section, which would each comprises their respective laterally offset internal columns and pair of laterally offset columns, the two adjacent rows can be interpreted as the seventh and eighth row).
Regarding claim 6, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the at least one source of pressurized air includes a first source of pressurized air, and wherein each bladder in each of the first and second bladder array sections is connected to the first source of pressurized air (see figs. 5-9 with reference to the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above and paragraphs 0101-0110, 0113, and 0116-0117 of Yu).
Regarding claim 8, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that each of the first and second bladder array sections comprises a third bladder positioned on a third column positioned between the pair of laterally offset internal columns and the pair of laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns of bladders in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, in each of 11R and 11L, there would be a third column comprising a third bladder), and wherein a first bladder in the first pair of laterally offset bladders positioned on one of the internal columns of the pair of laterally offset internal columns, a second bladder in the second pair of laterally offset bladders positioned on one of the external columns of the pair of laterally offset external columns, and the third bladder in each of the first and second bladder array sections are arranged in a circular pattern (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above and the annotated-Yu fig. 3 above, the third bladder also takes the form of 110 of Yu, and as shown, comprises a circular pattern, see paragraphs 0106-0110 of Yu).
Regarding claim 9, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the second bladder positioned on the one external column in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections is positioned adjacent the first bladder positioned on the one internal column in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections, and wherein the third bladder in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections is positioned adjacent the first bladder and the second bladder in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, as shown, each bladder array sections (11R and 11L) would have a first bladder, a second bladder and a third bladder, wherein the second bladder positioned on the one external column in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections is positioned adjacent the first bladder positioned on the one internal column in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections, and wherein the third bladder in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections is positioned adjacent the first bladder and the second bladder in each of the first and second bladder arrays sections, see paragraphs 0106-0110 of Yu).
Regarding claim 13, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the array of bladders comprises user-facing laterally offset bladders proximal to a user and further comprising a plurality of intensity bladders positioned behind the proximal user-facing laterally offset bladders and distal from a user (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, depending on where the user is placed relative to the bladders, bladders of the sixth row, seventh row and either row can be the user-facing laterally offset bladders proximal to a user and bladders of the first row, second row, third row, fourth row and fifth row can be a plurality of intensity bladders positioned behind the proximal user-facing laterally offset bladders and distal from a user).
Regarding claim 15, Yu discloses a pneumatic massage system (entire system shown in fig. 7 comprising 11 of figs. 5-6, paragraphs 0078-0117, Yu discloses an air mattress that pneumatically inflate and deflate, the act of inflating and deflating would massage the user) comprising: a source of pressurized air (133, 13, 15, 1321, 14, figs. 7-8, paragraphs 0101, 0106 and 0117); a plurality of bladder assemblies (11R and 11L, which takes the form of 11, see fig. 5 for reference) in fluid communication with the source of pressurized air (see figs. 6-9) and arranged in a plurality of rows and columns (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above, see bladders 110, paragraphs 0047-0083, see first-fifth columns and first-eight rows), wherein a first bladder assembly of the plurality of bladder assemblies includes a first pair of fluidly interconnected and laterally offset bladders each positioned in a first row of the plurality of rows on an internal column of a pair of laterally offset internal columns of the plurality of columns and configured for inflation and deflation together via the fluid interconnection between the first pair of bladders (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above, Yu discloses that all the bladders are connected to the source of pressurized air through 132 and 133, and further discloses first flow passage 141 and second flow passage 142 for connecting the plurality of bladders, see paragraphs 0074-0077, therefore, the bladders would inflate and deflate together, the internal columns are formed by the second and third columns), wherein the fluid interconnection (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above, the fluid interconnection between the first pair of laterally offset bladders extends between the pair of laterally offset internal columns (the second column and the third column), see flow passage 141 in paragraphs 0074-0077 for reference) between the first pair of laterally offset bladders extends between the pair of laterally offset internal columns (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above), and wherein a second bladder assembly of the plurality of bladder assemblies is positioned adjacent the first bladder assembly (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above), the second bladder assembly includes a second pair of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders each positioned in a second row (seventh row, see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above) of the plurality of the rows on an external column of a pair of laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns and configured to inflate and deflate together via the fluid interconnection between the second pair of laterally offset bladders, wherein the fluid interconnection between the second pair of laterally offset bladder extends between the pair of laterally offset external columns (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above with reference to fig. 6, and paragraphs 0048-0117, Yu discloses that the second pair of fluidly interconnected and laterally offset bladders each positioned on an external column of the pair of laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns of bladders and configured to deflate and inflate together via the fluid interconnection that is between the second pair of laterally offset bladders as disclosed by Yu, since all the bladders on the seventh row are connected to one another, see “the air pocket module 100 includes a flow passage 140 communicating with the multiple air pockets 110” in paragraphs 0074-0077), and bladder regions (see regions 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu).
However, if there is any doubt that Yu discloses a pneumatic massage system.
Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and regions of Yu to have a massaging mode as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Regarding claim 16, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the plurality of bladder assemblies is configured such that the first and second pairs of laterally offset bladders in adjacent rows of the plurality of rows are arranged in alternating pairs of laterally offset internal and laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above and paragraphs 0048-0117 of Yu, as shown, the first and second pairs of laterally offset bladders in adjacent rows of the plurality of rows are arranged in alternating pairs of laterally offset internal and laterally offset external columns of the plurality of columns).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) alternatively in view of Caminade (2009/0100605) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 3, Yu or the modified Yu discloses different bladder regions comprising adjacent bladders within different bladder regions (see region 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu), but fails to specifically disclose that the array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a row-by-row sequential bladder inflation and deflation.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a row-by-row sequential bladder inflation and deflation (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the different bladder regions of Yu or the modified Yu to have a massaging mode comprising a predefined sequence that includes a row-by-row sequential bladder inflation and deflation of the different bladder regions as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) alternatively in view of Caminade (2009/0100605) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 10, Yu or the modified Yu discloses different bladder regions comprising adjacent bladders (see region 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu), but fails to disclose that each of the first and second bladder array sections is configured to sequentially inflate and deflate adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder regions of Yu or the modified Yu to have a massaging mode comprising bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders of the different bladder regions in a predefined staggered sequence as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) alternatively in view of Caminade (2009/0100605) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 12, Yu or the modified Yu discloses different bladder regions comprising adjacent bladders (see region 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu), wherein each of the first and second bladder array sections (11R and 11L of Yu) is arranged in a generally linear pattern (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, as shown the bladders each array section is arranged linearly via rows and columns), but fails to disclose that each of the first and second bladder array sections is configured to sequentially inflate and deflate to produce a translating massage effect.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder regions of Yu or the modified Yu to have a massaging mode comprising bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders of the different bladder regions in a predefined staggered sequence as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
After the modification, one region would inflate before the other, forming a sequential inflating and deflating, therefore, would produce a translating massage effect (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) alternatively in view of Caminade (2009/0100605) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 14, Yu or the modified Yu discloses different bladder regions comprising adjacent bladders (see region 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu). Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the plurality of intensity bladders is arranged in a generally linear pattern (see the annotated-Yu fig. 5 above, the bladders are arranged in a generally linear pattern, columns and rows), but fails to disclose that the plurality of intensity bladders is configured to sequentially inflate and deflate to produce a translating massage effect.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder regions of Yu or the modified Yu to have a massaging mode comprising bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders of the different bladder regions in a predefined staggered sequence as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) alternatively in view of Caminade (2009/0100605) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 27, Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the at least one row of bladders in the plurality of rows of bladders comprises a third pair of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders (see the annotated-Yu redefined for claim 27 fig. 5 above, as shown, the third bladders are positioned on the region of 11-2 of Yu, see paragraphs 0027-0030 of Yu), and wherein the pneumatic massage system includes a module configured to direct air from the source of pressurized air to each of the first pair of laterally off set bladders (131 and 132 associated with 11-2, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 0025-0030 of Yu) and further discloses regions (11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, fig. 5 and paragraphs 0025-0030 of Yu), but fails to disclose that the second pair of laterally offset bladders, and the third pair of laterally offset bladders in a predefined sequence, the predefined sequence including inflating the first pair of laterally offset bladders inflating the second pair of laterally offset bladders while deflating the first pair of laterally offset bladders, and inflating the third pair of laterally offset bladders while deflating the second pair of laterally offset bladders.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder regions of Yu or the modified Yu to have a massaging mode comprising bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders of the different bladder regions as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) alternatively in view of Caminade (2009/0100605) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 17, Yu or the modified Yu discloses different bladder regions comprising adjacent bladders (see region 11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0087-0098 of Yu). Yu or the modified Yu discloses that the plurality of intensity bladders is arranged in a generally linear pattern (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above, the bladders are arranged in a generally linear pattern, columns and rows) and further discloses first and second pairs of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders (see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above, the second pair is redefined as the alterative second pair), but fails to disclose that the pneumatic massage system configured to sequentially inflate and deflate adjacent rows of the plurality of rows of the first and second pairs of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders, in a predefined staggered sequence to produce a vertically translating massage effect.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder regions of Yu or the modified Yu to have a massaging mode comprising bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders of the different bladder regions in a predefined staggered sequence as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
After the modification with Caminade, the modified Yu discloses that the pneumatic massage system configured to sequentially inflate and deflate adjacent rows of the plurality of rows of the first and second pairs of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders, in a predefined staggered sequence to produce a vertically translating massage effect depending on how the entire air mattress 10 of Yu in fig. 7 is being oriented.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Yu discloses that the plurality of bladder assemblies is configured to sequentially inflate and deflate adjacent rows of the plurality of rows of the first and second pairs of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders, in predefined staggered sequency to produce a horizontal translating massage effect (after the modification with Caminade, depending on how the plurality of bladder assemblies oriented relative to the user, the plurality of bladders would be configured to sequentially inflate and deflate adjacent rows of the plurality of rows of the first and second pairs of fluidly interconnected laterally offset bladders in predefined stagged sequence to produce a horizontally translating massage effect, see the annotated-Yu for claim 15 fig. 5 above).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2019/0075932) in view of Caminade (2009/0100605).
Regarding claim 19, Yu discloses a pneumatic massage system (entire system shown in fig. 7 comprising 11 of figs. 5-6, paragraphs 0078-0117, Yu discloses an air mattress that pneumatically inflate and deflate, the act of inflating and deflating would massage the user) comprising: a source of pressurized fluid (133, 13, 15, 1321, 14, figs. 7-8, paragraphs 0101, 0106 and 0117); and an array of bladder assemblies (11R or 11L, which takes the form of 11, see fig. 5 for reference) having a centerline and arranged in first and second identical bladder array sections symmetrically positioned on opposites sides of the centerline from each other, the first and second identical bladder array sections in fluid communication with the source of pressurized air and arranged in a row and a plurality of pairs of laterally opposed corresponding columns (see the annotated-Yu for claim 19 fig. 5 above, see bladders 110, paragraphs 0047-0083, see first-fifth columns and first-eight rows) positioned on opposite sides of the centerline (see the annotated-Yu for claim 19 fig. 5 above, see paragraphs 0081-0082, Yu discloses that module 100b is disposed in contact with the first air pocket module 100a such that the row arrangement thereof is symmetrical with the row arrangement of the first air pocket module 100a), each column of the plurality of pairs of laterally opposed columns including a bladder assembly of the array of bladder assemblies having a pair of stacked bladders including a first proximal user-facing bladder having a proximal side relative to a user and a distal side relative to the user and a second distal bladder stacked behind the distal side of the first proximal user-facing bladder, wherein the first proximal user-facing bladder and the second distal bladder of the pair of stacked bladders are configured to be inflated and deflated together (see the annotated-Yu for claim 19 fig. 5 above, Yu discloses that all the bladders are connected to the source of pressurized air through 132 and 133, and further discloses first flow passage 141 and second flow passage 142 for connecting the plurality of bladders, see paragraphs 0074-0077 and 0096-0100 and further shows that 11-4 are connected via one line 132 to inflate and deflate together, therefore, the bladders would inflate and deflate together), and that each pair of laterally opposed columns of the first and second bladders array sections is configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair via a same supply line of a plurality of supply lines in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid and further discloses a plurality of bladder regions (11-1, 11-2, 11-3 and 11-4, figs. 5-6)(see the annotated-Yu for claim 19 fig. 5 above with reference to fig. 6, and paragraphs 0048-0117, Yu discloses that each bladder regions 11-4, 11-3, 11-2 and 11-1 has one line 132 and are connected via 141/142, therefore, can inflate and deflate together), but fails to disclose that each pair of laterally opposed columns of the first and second bladders array sections is configured to inflate and deflate together as a pair in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect column by column.
However, Caminade teaches a pneumatic massage system comprising a massaging mode for providing a massaging effect to the user, an array of bladders is configured for bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders in a predefined staggered sequence (see paragraph 0121, Caminade discloses that each cell 1 of the mattress 11 in the alternating-pressure regulated support zone of the mattress 11 is successively and progressively deflated and then re-inflated, generating a kind of wave moving back and forth in the longitudinal direction of the mattress 11 and massaging the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder regions of Yu to have a massaging mode comprising bladder inflation and deflation in a predefined sequence that includes a sequentially inflating and deflating adjacent bladders of the different bladder regions in a predefined staggered sequence as taught by Caminade for the purpose of providing a massaging effect to the user, thereby, providing relaxation to the user (see paragraph 0121 of Caminade).
After the modification with Caminade, the modified Yu discloses a pneumatic massaging system that would inflate a region and then the next, since region 11-4 comprises column and then 11-1 also comprises column, there would be a sequentially inflating and deflating of columns in 11-4 and 11-1 after, to create a translating effect column by column).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Yu discloses that the first and second bladder array sections are separated and spaced apart from one another about the centerline to form a gap therebetween (see the annotated-Yu for claim 19 fig. 5 above, see paragraphs 0081-0082, Yu discloses that module 100b is disposed in contact with the first air pocket module 100a such that the row arrangement thereof is symmetrical with the row arrangement of the first air pocket module 100a, for claim 19, the first identical array section is defined as not including the portion of 100a that contacts 100b, but the lower boundary limit of the first section is defined as the bottom surface of bladders 110 of the fourth row and the second section is defined as not including the portion of 11b that contacts 100a, but the upper boundary limit of the second section is defined as the top surface of bladders 110 of the fifth row, therefore, the first and second bladder array sections are separate structure and formed by a gap, alternatively, the sections are redefined such that the first section includes first row, second row and third row, while the second bladder array section include sixth row, seventh row and eight row, therefore, there is a gap between the bladders 110 between the third row and the bladders of the sixth row).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Yu discloses that the first and second bladder array sections are configured to be inflated and deflated in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect toward and away from the gap (see the modification with Caminade the annotated-Yu for claim 19 above, after the modification 11-4 will be inflated, then 11-3, then 11-2 and then 11-1, therefore, the translating effect would be toward and away from the gap).
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Lem (2018/0104135) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lem (2018/0104135) in view of Prost (DE 10 2015 220 015).
Regarding claim 22, Lem discloses a pneumatic massage system (10, figs. 1-2) comprising: an array of bladder assemblies (see bladders 20 in figs. 1-3, paragraphs 0021-0033, the bladders can be defined as forming array of bladder assemblies, where each assembly is formed by each box, see the annotated-Lem fig. 3 for claims 22-26 above) fluidly connected to a source of pressurized fluid (pump 50, fig. 1B, paragraph 0022) and arranged in a plurality of rows and columns, each bladder assembly of the array of bladder assemblies including a pair of stacked bladders including a first proximal user-facing bladder having a proximal side relative to a user and a distal side relative to the user and a second distal bladder stacked behind the distal side of the first proximal user-facing bladder (each column of the array assembly would form a stacked bladders, the column on the right is the first user-facing bladder and on the right is the second bladder stacked behind the first user-facing bladder distal from the user, see the annotated-Lem fig. 3 for claims 22-26 above, depending on where the user is positioned, the first user-facing bladder (on the right) can be the proximal user-facing, while the second bladder on the left stacked behind the first user’s facing bladder is distal from the user), wherein the source of pressurized fluid includes a first valve module fluidly connected to each of the first proximal user-facing bladders to selectively inflate and deflate respective first user-facing proximal bladder and a second valve module fluidly connected to each of the second distal bladders of each pair of stacked bladders in each bladder assembly of the array of bladder assemblies to selectively inflate and deflate a respective second distal bladder (see respective valve for the respective bladder in paragraph 0022, the plurality of bladders 20 in 16b or 16a can be defined as first bladders and second bladders while their respective valves would form a first valve module and a second valve module, see paragraphs 0021-0033).
However, if there is any doubt that Lem discloses that each bladder assembly of the array of bladder assemblies including a pair of stacked bladders including a first user-facing bladder and a second bladder stacked behind the first user-facing bladder distal from a user.
However, Prost teaches that each of bladder assembly (entire bladder assembly shown in figs. 2A-2B) comprises a pair of fluidly interconnected bladders (first bladder is formed by BLK1 having F1 and F2 and the second bladder is formed by BLK2 having F3 and F4, figs. 2A-2B) and are configured to inflate and deflate together via a fluid interconnection (see channel section at VB1 and USK, figs. 2A-2B and 4, paragraphs 0029-0030 and 0034) between the pair of bladders (figs. 2A-2B and paragraphs 0028-0032 of the English translation, alternatively, the bladder assembly can be the assembly in fig. 4, where the first bladder is formed by BLK1 having F1 and F2 and the second bladder is formed by BLK2 having F3 and F4, see paragraphs 0034-0035), the bladder (BLK2, F3, F4) is the user-facing bladder and BLK1, F1, F2 is the second bladder behind the user-facing bladder.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each bladder of Lem to be the bladder assembly as taught by Prost for the purpose of providing an alternative bladder design that has a long life (see paragraphs 0028-0032 of Prost).
After the modification, each bladder of Lem would have a pair of fluidly interconnected bladders (BLK1,F1,F2 and BLK2,F3,F4 of Prost) as taught by Prost, therefore, each bladder (each of bladders 20 of Lem modified to have pair of interconnected bladders of Prost) would have a pair of stacked bladders, having a user facing bladder (BLK2, F3, F4 of Prost) for each bladder and the distal bladder behind the user facing bladder is the (BLK1, F1, F2 of Prost) of the respective each bladder.
Regarding claim 23, Lem or the modified Lem discloses that the array of bladder assemblies is configured to be inflated and deflated in a sequential pattern to create a translating effect (see paragraphs 0021-0033 of Lem, Lem discloses a plurality of bladders that can inflate and deflate to together (see paragraphs 0021 and 0024 of Lem) and that the bladders can follow a sequence drawn by the user, therefore, the plurality of bladders can be set to inflate and deflate sequentially in a predefined sequence that includes a translating effect).
Regarding claim 24, Lem or the modified Lem discloses that one of the first proximal user-facing bladders or one of the second distal bladders of each pair of stacked bladders in each bladder assembly of the array of bladder assemblies comprises a plurality of sections (see bladders 20, each bladder 20 of the first or second bladders of each pair of stacked bladders are three dimensional, therefore would comprise a plurality of sections, alternatively, the stacked bladders of Prost would also contains a plurality of sections).
Regarding claim 25, Lem or the modified discloses that the first proximal user-facing bladder and the second distal bladder of each pair of stacked bladders in each bladder assembly of the array of the bladder assemblies is configured to be inflated and deflated independently of each other (see bladders 20 being independent of one another, see paragraphs 0021-0033, see figs. 1-11 of Lem, alternatively, after the modification with Prost, each bladder would have the user-facing bladders and the second bladders, a first user’s facing bladder of a first bladder in each bladder assembly would inflate and deflate independently of the second bladder of a second bladder in each bladder assembly).
Regarding claim 26, Lem or the modified Lem discloses that the first proximal user-facing bladder and the second distal bladder of each pair of stacked bladders of each bladder assembly of the array of the bladder assemblies are formed independently of one another (see bladders 20 being independent of one another, see paragraphs 0021-0033, see figs. 1-11, alternatively, after the modification with Prost, the first user-facing bladder and the second bladder of each pair of stacked bladders are formed independently in that they have their own material such as F1/F2 and F3 and F4 of Prost).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is allowed over the prior art.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-21, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 22-26 has been addressed in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mackay (WO 0162201) is cited to show a pneumatic massage system.
Kuster (CH 707087) is cited to a circular bladder.
Higgins (4,982,466) is cited to show a body support system comprising a plurality of bladders.
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785