CTFR 18/420,367 CTFR 78941 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Afsahi et al. (US 2017/0250728) . Referring to Claim 13, Afsahi teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising: electrically shorting, via a first amplifier 301 (fig. 3), a primary winding 303 (fig. 3) of a transformer 302 (fig. 3) to a reference potential node during a receive mode (see paragraph 15 which shows the primary winding shorted when the switch is in receive mode), wherein a first terminal of a secondary winding 305 (fig. 3) of the transformer 302 (fig. 3) is coupled to an input of a second amplifier 307 (fig. 3), and wherein a second terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3) is coupled to an antenna 313 (fig. 3); and amplifying, via the second amplifier, a signal received from the antenna through the secondary winding of the transformer (see signal amplified through amplifier 307 from secondary winding 305 in fig. 3). Referring to Claim 14, Afsahi also teaches a first inductive element 309 (fig. 3) coupled between the first terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3) and the reference potential node (see node in fig. 3 where the element 321 is connected to ground). Referring to Claim 16, Afsahi also teaches coupling a voltage rail to a tap of the primary winding during a transmit mode (see 331 of fig. 3 which shows signal from voltage rail to the tap of the winding 303); and amplifying, via the first amplifier, a signal to be provided to the primary winding of the transformer for transmission during the transmit mode (see amplifier 301 in fig. 3 which amplifies the signal to winding 303 all the above further described in paragraph 50). Referring to Claim 17, Afsahi also teaches coupling the first terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3) to the reference potential node during a transmit mode (see node in fig. 3 where the element 321 is connected to ground). Referring to Claim 19, Afsahi also teaches the first amplifier comprising an input transistor including a gate coupled to an input node (see transistors 457 and 459 whose gates are coupled to input 463 in fig. 3) and a cascode transistor coupled in cascode between the input transistor and the primary winding (see transistors 447 and 453 coupled to transistors 457 and 459 and winding 403 in fig. 3); the input transistor and the cascode transistor are n-type field-effect transistors (NFETs) (see paragraph 38 which shows the use of FET transistors); and electrically shorting the primary winding of the transformer to the reference potential node comprises providing a supply voltage to gates of the input transistor and the cascode transistor (see PA 406 in fig. 4 which shows signals from winding 403 shorted to ground) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afsahi in view of Swanson (US 3,205,456) . Referring to Claim 1, Afsahi teaches a transceiver 300 (fig. 3), comprising: a transformer 304 (fig. 3) having a primary winding 303 (fig. 3) and a secondary winding 305 (fig. 3); a first amplifier 301 (fig. 3) having a first output coupled to the primary winding 303 (fig. 3); a second amplifier 307 (fig. 3) having an input coupled to a first terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3), wherein a second terminal of the secondary winding is coupled to an antenna port 313 (fig. 3) of the transceiver 300 (fig. 3); and a first inductive element 309 (fig. 3) coupled between the first terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3) and a reference potential node (see node in fig. 3 where the element 321 is connected to ground). Afsahi does not teach the first inductive element as a shunt inductive element. Swanson teaches the first inductive element as a shunt inductive element (see fig. 6 which shows one end of inductor L coupled to secondary winding Ls and amp input RL and the other end coupled to ground where claim 1 shows the inductor L as a shunt element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Swanson to the device of Afsahi in order to reduce use of unnecessary power. Referring to Claim 20, Afsahi teaches a wireless device 300 (fig. 3), comprising: an antenna 313 (fig. 3); a transformer 302 (fig. 3) having a primary winding 303 (fig. 3) and a secondary winding 305 (fig. 3); a first amplifier 301 (fig. 3) having an output coupled to the primary winding 303 (fig. 3); a second amplifier 307 (fig. 3) having an input coupled to a first terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3), wherein a second terminal of the secondary winding is coupled to the antenna 313 (fig. 3); and an inductive element 309 (fig. 3) coupled between the second terminal of the secondary winding 305 (fig. 3) and a reference potential node (see node in fig. 3 where the element 321 is connected to ground further noting that the inductor is between both terminals of the secondary winding and the ground element). Afsahi does not teach the first inductive element as a shunt inductive element. Swanson teaches the first inductive element as a shunt inductive element (see fig. 6 which shows one end of inductor L coupled to secondary winding Ls and amp input RL and the other end coupled to ground where claim 1 shows the inductor L as a shunt element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Swanson to the device of Afsahi in order to reduce use of unnecessary power. Referring to Claim 3, Afsahi also teaches a switch coupled between a voltage rail and a tap of the primary winding (see switch 317 in fig. 3 between voltage source and tap of winding 303). Referring to Claim 6, Afsahi also teaches the first output of the first amplifier coupled to the first terminal of the primary winding, and wherein the circuit amplifier comprises a second output coupled to a second terminal of the primary winding (see outputs of amplifier 301 in fig. 3 coupled to the terminals of the winding 303). Referring to Claim 7, Afsahi also teaches the first amplifier comprising an input transistor including a gate coupled to an input node of the transceiver (see transistors 457 and 459 whose gates are coupled to input 463 in fig. 3), and a cascode transistor coupled between the input transistor and the primary winding (see transistors 447 and 453 coupled to transistors 457 and 459 and winding 403 in fig. 3). Referring to Claim 9, Afsahi also teaches the input transistor and the cascode transistor are n-type field-effect transistors (NFETs) (see paragraph 38 which shows the use of FET transistors) and wherein gates of the input transistor and the cascode transistor are configured to be coupled to a voltage rail of the transceiver during a receive mode of the transceiver (see fig. 4 which shows transistors 447, 453, 457, and 459 connected to inputs to a voltage source 461 and 463). Referring to Claim 11, Afsahi also teaches the first amplifier configured to electrically short a first terminal and a second terminal of the primary winding to the reference potential node during a receive mode of the transceiver (see PA 406 in fig. 4 which shows signals from winding 403 shorted to ground). Referring to Claim 12, Afsahi also teaches the first amplifier comprising a power amplifier (PA), and wherein the second amplifier comprises a low-noise amplifier (LNA) (see paragraph 43 which shows 301 as the PA and 307 as the LNA) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 4, 5, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afsahi and Swanson and further in view of Qiu et al. (US 2025/0096745) . Referring to Claims 2 and 15, the combination of Afsahi and Swanson does not teach a capacitive element coupled in series with the first inductive element between the first terminal of the secondary winding and the reference potential node. Qiu teaches a capacitive element Cin (fig. 6) coupled in series with the first inductive element L3 (fig. 6) between the first terminal of the secondary winding L2 (fig. 6) and the reference potential node (see ground in 400 in fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Qiu to the modified device of Afsahi and Swanson in order to improve efficiency of the device by better regulating power. Referring to Claim 4, Qiu also teaches a switch SW1 (fig. 7) coupled between the first terminal of the secondary winding L2 (fig. 7) and the reference potential node (see ground on the other end of SW1 in fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Qiu to the modified device of Afsahi and Swanson in order to improve efficiency of the device by better regulating power. Referring to Claim 5, Qiu also teaches a second inductive element L4 (fig. 5) coupled between the first terminal of the secondary winding L2 (fig. 5) and the input of the second amplifier (see LNA of fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Qiu to the modified device of Afsahi and Swanson in order to improve efficiency of the device by better regulating power. Referring to Claim 10, Afsahi teaches a first switch coupled between a voltage rail and a tap of the primary winding and configured to be closed during a transmit mode of the transceiver and to be open during a receive mode of the transceiver (see switch 317 in fig. 3 between voltage source and tap of winding 303). Qiu teaches a second switch coupled between the first terminal of the secondary winding and the reference potential node and configured to be closed during the transmit mode of the transceiver and to be open during the receive mode of the transceiver (see switch SW1 coupled to winding 303 and the ground on the other end of SW1 in fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Qiu to the modified device of Afsahi and Swanson in order to improve efficiency of the device by better regulating power . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afsahi and Swanson and further in view of Feldman (US 9,882,601) . Referring to Claim 8, the combination of Afsahi and Swanson does not teach the input transistor and the cascode transistor configured to be turned on in saturation during a receive mode of the transceiver. Feldman teaches the input transistor and the cascode transistor configured to be turned on in saturation during a receive mode of the transceiver (see col. 3, lines 1-16 which shows the PA operating in saturation mode which implies the PA turned on in saturation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Feldman to the modified device of Afsahi and Swanson in order to reduce noise and interference during operation of the device. Referring to Claim 18, Feldman also teaches turning on in saturation a transistor of the first amplifier coupled between the primary winding and the reference potential node (see col. 3, lines 1-16 which shows the PA operating in saturation mode which implies the PA turned on in saturation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Feldman to the modified device of Afsahi and Swanson in order to reduce noise and interference during operation of the device . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 15, 18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argued that Afsahi does not teach “electrically shorting, via a first amplifier, a primary winding of a transformer to a reference potential node during a receive mode”. The open circuit of the primary winding in the receive mode that the applicant claims Afsahi teaches is only one embodiment of the device of Afsahi. The examiner pointed to paragraph 15 to more clearly show that in another embodiment, the primary winding is electrically shorted when in receive mode. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EUGENE YUN whose telephone number is (571)272-7860. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley Kim can be reached at 5712727867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EUGENE YUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/420,367 Page 10 Art Unit: 2648