DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed March 20, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-7, 9 and 12-20 are pending. Claims 1-7, 9 and 12-20 stand rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bredeweg (US Pub 2020/0392740) in view of Shaw (US 11,492,808) and further in view of Stoeker (US Pub 2008/0141607).
In regard to Claim 1, Bredeweg discloses an exterior cladding panel (Fig 3) comprising: (a) a reveal surface (40) comprising a first end portion and a second end portion; (b) a first end connector (at 58) adjacent the first end portion of the reveal surface; and (c) a second end connector (at 62) adjacent the second end portion of the reveal surface, wherein: the first end connector is configured to be connected to a second end panel connector of a first panel of an adjoining first course to define a first space (Fig 12, E) between the reveal surface and a reveal surface of the first panel, the second end connector is configured to be connected to a first end panel connector of a second panel of an adjoining second course to define a second space between the reveal surface and a reveal surface of the second panel, and the first space and/or the second space are adjustable (the distance (E) at which the first and second panels are attached to the exterior of the building can be manually adjusted before attachment of the panels to the exterior of the building), and the second end connector comprises a second end trough (formed by 65, 62) that includes a second end trough rear wall (62), the second end trough rear wall comprising a connected end (at 64) and a free end (free end) (Fig 3).
Bredeweg does not disclose that the first end connector comprises a first groove and a second groove, each configured to mate with a first rib of the second end panel connector of the first panel, the second end connector comprises a second rib mating with a third and fourth groove of the second panel. Shaw teaches the obviousness of providing a first groove (Figs 3-5, 136) and a second groove (138) at the first end connector of an exterior cladding panel, each groove configured to mate with a first rib (170) of a second end panel connector of a second panel, and the second end connector comprising a second rib mating with a third and fourth groove of the second panel (Figs 3-5), the second rib being near the free end (Figs 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the first end connector of Bredeweg so it comprises a first groove and a second groove, each configured to mate with a first rib of the second end panel connector of the first panel as made obvious by Shaw to provide a predetermined spacing means between a first and a second panel during attachment of the cladding panels to a building.
In addition, Bredeweg does not disclose the free end extending forwardly from the connected end. Stoecker teaches a free end (24) extending forwardly from the connected end (Fig 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the free end as disclosed by Bredeweg to extend it forwardly from the connected end as taught by Stoecker, since as Stoecker states in paragraph 0032 it will provide a friction fit between panels, which is a more secure connection.
In regard to Claim 2, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first space is greater when the first groove is mated with the first rib than when the second groove is mated with the first rib (Figs 3-5).
In regard to Claim 3, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: and the second space is greater when the second rib is mated with the third groove than when the second rib is mated with the fourth groove (Figs 3-5).
In regard to Claim 4, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first groove and the second groove each extend continuously along the first end connector, and the second rib extends continuously along the second end connector (Fig 1).
In regard to Claim 5, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first groove and the second groove each extend continuously along the first end connector, but does not specifically disclose the second rib extends intermittently along the second end connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous rib as disclosed by Shaw by making it intermittent, in order to save material.
In regard to Claim 6, the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the second end connector is configured to be connected to the first end panel connector of the second panel by the second end trough fitting over a first end panel connector trough of the first end panel connector (Bredeweg, Fig 3), the first end panel connector trough comprising the third groove and the fourth groove (Shaw Gig 5, 136, 138).
In regard to Claim 7, the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the connected end of the second end trough rear wall contacts a fastening flange of the first end panel connector when the second end trough is fitted over the first end panel connector trough (Bredeweg, Fig 3) and the second rib is mated with the third groove or the fourth groove (Shaw Fig 5).
In regard to Claim 9, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first end connector further comprises a fifth groove (Fig 4, 134) configured to mate with the first rib of the second end panel connector of the first panel, and the first space is greater when the second groove is mated with the first rib than when the fifth groove is mated with the first rib (Fig 4).
In regard to Claim 12, the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, but does not specifically disclose a third rib. It would be obvious to modify the first end connector of the combination so that it comprises a third rib each configured to mate with the first groove of the second end panel connector of the first panel, and the first space is greater when the second rib is mated with the first groove than when the third rib is mated with the first groove since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would be motivated to add a second rib to provide more spacing options between the panels.
In regard to Claim 13, Bredeweg discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first end portion comprises an upper end portion of the reveal surface, the second end portion comprises a lower end portion of the reveal surface, the first space comprises a first vertical space, and the second space comprises a second vertical space (Fig 12, E).
In regard to Claim 14, Bredeweg discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first end portion comprises a right side portion of the reveal surface, the second end portion comprises a left side portion of the reveal surface, the first space comprises a first horizontal space, and the second space comprises a second horizontal space (Figs 1, 12).
In regard to Claim 15, Bredeweg does not disclose that the first end connector comprises a broad groove configured to mate with a rib of the second end panel connector of the first panel and the first space is adjustable by varying a position of the rib within the broad groove. Shaw discloses the obviousness of providing a groove (figs. 3-5, 136, it would be obvious to make the groove a broad groove since this merely involves increasing the size of an already disclosed element) at the first end connector of an exterior cladding panel, each groove configured to mate with a first rib (170) of a second end panel connector of a second panel, and the first space will be greater when by varying a position of the rib within the modified broad groove (figs. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the first end connector of Bredeweg so it comprises a broad groove, each configured to mate with a first rib of the second end panel connector of the first panel as made obvious by Shaw to provide a predetermined spacing means between a first and a second panel during attachment of the cladding panels to a building.
In regard to Claim 16, Bredeweg discloses an exterior cladding panel comprising: a reveal surface (40) comprising an upper end portion (at 58) and a lower end portion (at 62) (Fig 3); an upper connector adjacent the upper end portion of the reveal surface (Fig 3); and a lower connector adjacent the lower end portion of the reveal surface (Fig 3), wherein: the upper connector is configured to be connected to a lower panel connector of an upper panel of an adjoining upper course to define an upper vertical space between the reveal surface and a reveal surface of the upper panel (Fig 12), and the lower connector is configured to be connected to an upper panel connector of a lower panel of an adjoining lower course to define a lower vertical space between the reveal surface and a reveal surface of the lower panel (Fig 12), the lower connector comprises a lower trough (formed by 65, 62) that includes a lower trough rear wall (62), the lower trough rear wall comprising a connected end (at 64), a free end (free end) (Fig 3).
Bredeweg does not disclose that the upper connector comprises a first groove and a second groove, both the first groove and the second groove extending horizontally or the lower connector comprising a first rib, the first rib being near the free end and extending horizontally, wherein the first groove and the second groove each being configured to mate with a second rib of the lower panel connector, the second rib extending horizontally, the first rib being configured to mate with each of a third groove and a fourth groove of the upper panel connector, both the third groove and the fourth groove extending horizontally, the upper vertical space is greater when the first groove is mated with the second rib than when the second groove is mated with the second rib, and the lower vertical space is greater when the first rib is mated with the third groove than when the first rib is mated with the fourth groove.
Shaw discloses the obviousness of providing a first groove (Figs 3-5, 136) and a second groove (138) at the first end connector of an exterior cladding panel, each groove configured to mate with a first rib (170) of a second end panel connector of a second panel, and the first space is greater when the first groove is mated with the first rib than when the second groove is mated with the first rib (Figs 3-5), the first rib being near a free end (Fig 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the first end connector of Bredeweg so it comprises a first groove and a second groove, each configured to mate with a first rib of the second end panel connector of the first panel, and the first space is greater when the first groove is mated with the first rib than when the second groove is mated with the first rib as made obvious by Shaw to provide a predetermined spacing means between a first and a second panel during attachment of the cladding panels to a building.
In addition, Bredeweg does not disclose the free end extending forwardly from the connected end. Stoecker teaches a free end (24) extending forwardly from the connected end (Fig 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the free end as disclosed by Bredeweg to extend it forwardly from the connected end as taught by Stoecker, since as Stoecker states in paragraph 0032 it will provide a better friction fit between panels.
In regard to Claim 17, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the first groove and the second groove each extend continuously along the upper connector, and the first rib extends continuously along the lower connector (Fig 1).
In regard to Claim 18, the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the lower connector is configured to be connected to the upper panel connector of the lower panel by the lower trough fitting over an upper panel connector trough of the upper panel connector (Bredeweg, Fig 3), the upper panel connector trough comprising the third groove and the fourth groove (Shaw, Fig 5, 136, 138).
In regard to Claim 19, the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the connected end of the lower trough rear wall contacts a fastening flange of the upper panel connector when the lower trough is fitted over the upper panel connector trough (Bredeweg, Fig 3) and the first rib is mated with the third groove or the fourth groove (Shaw Fig 5).
In regard to Claim 20, Shaw in the combination discloses the cladding panel as described above, wherein: the upper connector further comprises a fifth groove (134) (Fig 5) configured to mate with the second rib, the fifth groove extending horizontally, and the upper vertical space is greater when the second groove is mated with the second rib than when the fifth groove is mated with the second rib (Figs 3-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner notes the rear wall was mis-identified in the previous office action as 65 of Bredeweg and has corrected the labeling in this office action to 62 which is attached at an upper end at 64 and has a free end on the bottom.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635