DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 depends on claim 19, which recites a first antenna and a second antenna. Thus, claim 19 requires two distinct antenna. However, claim 20 recites the first antenna and the second antenna are the same antenna (i.e., single antenna). This limitation contradicts and negates the express requirement of the claim 19.
Therefore, the scope of claim 20 is inconsistent and unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Mostov (US 20140087673, hereinafter “Mostov”).
Regarding claim 11, Mostov discloses,
A method for wireless communication, comprising:
turning on (The power amplifier may also be turned on or off by an enable output from the transceiver. The enable line may have varying voltages to control gain or setting the power amplifier bias current [0069]…..Digital control logic functions to drive the PA bias control in accordance with the envelope level, enabling the appropriate PA transistors the output of which are combined via a multi-tap transformer [0082]-[0083]) a first transistor coupled between a supply node of a first transmitter circuit (the sub-amplifier circuit functions to amplify a differential RF input signal applied to the PA IN+ and PA IN- terminals. The circuit comprises a transistor current modulation topology to amplifier the RF input signal, Fig. 14 and [0104]-[0114]) and a voltage rail (Fig. 14 illustrate supply voltage VDD is coupled to transistors, 414, 418);
turning off (The power amplifier may also be turned on or off by an enable output from the transceiver. The enable line may have varying voltages to control gain or setting the power amplifier bias current [0069]…..Digital control logic functions to drive the PA bias control in accordance with the envelope level, enabling the appropriate PA transistors the output of which are combined via a multi-tap transformer [0082]-[0083]) a second transistor coupled between a supply node of a second transmitter circuit (the sub-amplifier circuit functions to amplify a differential RF input signal applied to the PA IN+ and PA IN- terminals. The circuit comprises a transistor current modulation topology to amplifier the RF input signal, Fig. 14 and [0104]-[0114]) and the voltage rail (Fig. 14 illustrate supply voltage VDD is coupled to transistors, 414, 418); and
generating, via the first transmitter circuit, a signal for transmission when the first transistor is turned on and the second transistor is turned off (The 2.4 GHz FEM circuit module 40 comprises a TX/RX switch 46, power amplifier circuit 42. The PA 42 functions to amplify the TX signal output of the baseband circuit for broadcast through the antenna…..the 5 GHz FEM circuit module 28 comprises a TX/RX switch 34, power amplifier circuit 30. The PA 30 functions to amplify the TX signal output of the baseband circuit for broadcast through the antenna, [0075]-[0077] ).
Regarding claim 12, Mostov discloses,
wherein the signal for transmission is generated via a first amplifier of the first transmitter circuit having outputs coupled to a primary winding of a transformer (Fig. 13A-13b, Fig. 14 and [0106]-[0113] describe RF transmitter circuitry including multiple amplifier circuits whose outputs are coupled to transformer primary windings, where differential amplifier outputs drive transformer windings), the supply node of the first transmitter circuit being coupled to a tap of the primary winding of the first transformer (Figs. 19A-19C and [0125]-[0128] describe a tap of the transformer primary winding is coupled to a supply voltage, where a center tap of the primary winding is connected to VDD).
Regarding claim 13, Mostov discloses,
wherein the transformer comprises a secondary winding coupled to an antenna for the transmission of the signal (The output signal is generated in the secondary winding and provides the RF output of the TX path circuit. Note that the impedance of each winding tap is adapted to be approximately 12.5 Ohm to yield a desired RF output impedance of approximately 50 Ohm, [0091]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 19, Mostov discloses,
A wireless device (Fig. 1 illustrate a block diagram of dual band multi-chip module), comprising:
a first antenna and a second antenna (The duplexer 52 functions to couple one or more antennas to the 2.4 and 5 GHz antenna ports, [0074]);
a 2 GHz WiFi transmitter circuit coupled to the first antenna (The duplexer 52 functions to couple one or more antennas to the 2.4 and 5 GHz antenna ports, [0074]);
a 5 GHz WiFi transmitter circuit coupled to the second antenna (The duplexer 52 functions to couple one or more antennas to the 2.4 and 5 GHz antenna ports, [0074]);
a first transistor coupled between a supply node of the 2 GHz WiFi transmitter circuit (the sub-amplifier circuit functions to amplify a differential RF input signal applied to the PA IN+ and PA IN- terminals. The circuit comprises a transistor current modulation topology to amplifier the RF input signal, Fig. 14 and [0104]-[0114]) and a voltage rail (Fig. 14 illustrate supply voltage VDD is coupled to transistors, 414, 418 and [0125]-[0127]); and
a second transistor coupled between a supply node of the 5 GHz WiFi transmitter circuit (the sub-amplifier circuit functions to amplify a differential RF input signal applied to the PA IN+ and PA IN- terminals. The circuit comprises a transistor current modulation topology to amplifier the RF input signal, Fig. 14 and [0104]-[0114]) and the voltage rail (Fig. 14 illustrate supply voltage VDD is coupled to transistors, 414, 418 and [0125]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 20, Mostov discloses,
wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are the same antenna (The duplexer 52 functions to couple one or more antennas to the 2.4 and 5 GHz antenna ports, [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostov (US 20140087673, hereinafter “Mostov”), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20160336983, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Mostov discloses,
An apparatus for wireless communication (A block diagram illustrating an example dual-band multi-chip front end module (FEM) constructed in accordance with the present invention is shown in FIG. 1. The dual band FEM module, generally referenced 10, comprises four modules including a duplexer 52, 2.4 GHz FEM circuit module 40, 5 GHz FEM circuit module 28, [0073]), comprising:
a first transmitter circuit including a first amplifier (the 2.4 GHz FEM circuit module 40 comprises a power amplifier circuit 42, [0075]);
a second transmitter circuit including a second amplifier (the 5 GHz FEM circuit module 28 comprises a power amplifier circuit 30, [0076]);
a first transistor (Fig. 14; 414, 418) coupled between a supply node of the first transmitter circuit (the sub-amplifier circuit functions to amplify a differential RF input signal applied to the PA IN+ and PA IN- terminals. The circuit comprises a transistor current modulation topology to amplifier the RF input signal, Fig. 14 and [0104]-[0114]) and a voltage rail (Fig. 14 illustrate supply voltage VDD is coupled to transistors, 414, 418);
a second transistor (Fig. 14:4 transistor 442) coupled between a supply node of the second transmitter circuit (the sub-amplifier circuit functions to amplify a differential RF input signal applied to the PA IN+ and PA IN- terminals. The circuit comprises a transistor current modulation topology to amplifier the RF input signal, Fig. 14 and [0104]-[0114]) and the voltage rail (Fig. 14 illustrate supply voltage VDD is coupled to transistor 420). However, Mostov does not disclose, a filter is coupled to gate of the transistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, a filter is coupled to a gate of the transistor (Fig. 4A illustrate notch filter 420 is coupled to the gate of the transistor 404). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mostov by specifically providing a filter is coupled to gate of the transistor, as taught by Wang for the purpose of improving the amplification of analog signals while suppressing amplification of unwanted signals, and thereby improving the performance of the communication device [0010].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Mostov discloses,
wherein: outputs of the first amplifier are coupled to a primary winding of a first transformer (Fig. 13A-13b, Fig. 14 and [0106]-[0113] describe RF transmitter circuitry including multiple amplifier circuits whose outputs are coupled to transformer primary windings, where differential amplifier outputs drive transformer windings), the supply node of the first transmitter circuit being coupled to a tap of the primary winding of the first transformer (Figs. 19A-19C and [0125]-[0128] describe a tap of the transformer primary winding is coupled to a supply voltage, where a center tap of the primary winding is connected to VDD); and outputs of the second amplifier are coupled to a primary winding of a second transformer (Fig. 13A-13b, Fig. 14 and [0106]-[0113] describe RF transmitter circuitry including multiple amplifier circuits whose outputs are coupled to transformer primary windings, where differential amplifier outputs drive transformer windings), the supply node of the second transmitter circuit being coupled to a tap of the primary winding of the second transformer (Figs. 19A-19C and [0125]-[0128] describe a tap of the transformer primary winding is coupled to a supply voltage, where a center tap of the primary winding is connected to VDD).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Mostov discloses,
wherein each of the first transformer and the second transformer comprises a secondary winding coupled to an antenna (Fig. 5, Fig. 8 and [0083], [0091], [0092] describe the secondary winding of the transformer structures are coupled to an RF output path leading to an antenna, where the transformer outputs are routed through a transmit/receive switch and matching network to an antenna).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1) in addition Wang discloses, wherein the filter comprises a notch filter (Fig. 4A illustrate notch filter 420 is coupled to the gate of the transistor 404).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1) in addition Wang discloses,
wherein the filter is configured to attenuate a harmonic signal from the first transmitter circuit (the capacitance of variable capacitor 422 is tuned such that the notch filter 420 attenuates frequencies of the input signal IN that fall within the LTE-L frequency band 314 (e.g., as denoted by the circled portion 510 of the frequency response 700), and the capacitance of variable capacitor 612 is tuned such that the second filter 613 attenuates frequencies of the input signal IN that fall within the second-order or higher harmonics frequency band 316 (e.g., as denoted by the circled portion 710 of the frequency response 700), [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however further Mostov discloses,
wherein the first transmitter circuit comprises a 2.4 GHz WiFi transmitter (2.4GHz front end circuit 40, Fig. 1) and the second transmitter circuit comprises a 5 GHz WiFi transmitter (5GHz Front end circuit 28, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9), however further Mostov discloses,
wherein the 2.4 GHz WiFi transmitter and the 5 GHz WiFi transmitter are configured to share a common antenna (The duplexer 52 functions to couple one or more antennas to the 2.4 and 5 GHz antenna ports, [0074]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostov, in view of Wang, and further in view of Ng et al. (US 20240305246, hereinafter “Ng”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Mostov and Wang does not disclose, wherein the second transmitter circuit comprises an amplifier having one or more switches coupled between the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a reference potential node.
In the same field of Ng discloses, wherein the second transmitter circuit comprises an amplifier having one or more switches coupled between the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a reference potential node (Fig. 3 and [0040]-[0044] teaches a switching amplifier circuit in which transistors operated as switches are coupled between supply power node 110 and a ground (reference potential) node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mostov and Wang by specifically providing wherein the second transmitter circuit comprises an amplifier having one or more switches coupled between the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a reference potential node, as taught by Ng for the purpose of reducing the losses associated with operating such devices or transistors in a linear mode of operation and resulting in high power efficiency [0019].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostov, in view of Wang, in view of Ng and further Sun et al. (US 20160080012, hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mostov, Wang and Ng discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), however the combination of Mostov, Wang and Ng does not disclose, wherein the one or more switches are configured to be closed during operation of the first transmitter circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Sun discloses wherein the one or more switches are configured to be closed during operation of the first transmitter circuit (FIG. 2A illustrates a transmission path 22 for the non-active band and a separate transmission path 23 for the active band. Both of these transmission paths can be included in RF signal paths. It will be understood that the active band and the non-active band can be switched during operation of an electronic device that includes the transmission paths 22 and 23, [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mostov, Wang and Ng by specifically providing wherein the one or more switches are configured to be closed during operation of the first transmitter circuit, as taught by Sun for the purpose of reducing or eliminating a resonance in any circuit in a non-active path that can experience coupling from an active path, such as an active band path [0058].
Claim 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostov and further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 14, Mostov discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however Mostov does not disclose, attenuating, via a filter, a signal at a gate of the second transistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, attenuating, via a filter, a signal at a gate of the second transistor (Fig. 4A illustrate notch filter 420 is coupled to the gate of the transistor 404. (the capacitance of variable capacitor 422 is tuned such that the notch filter 420 attenuates frequencies of the input signal IN, [0057])). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mostov by specifically providing attenuating, via a filter, a signal at a gate of the second transistor, as taught by Wang for the purpose of improving the amplification of analog signals while suppressing amplification of unwanted signals, and thereby improving the performance of the communication device [0010].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14) in addition Wang discloses, wherein the filter comprises a notch filter (Fig. 4A illustrate notch filter 420 is coupled to the gate of the transistor 404).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mostov and Wang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14) in addition Wang discloses, wherein the signal at the gate of the second transistor comprises a harmonic signal from the first transmitter circuit (the capacitance of variable capacitor 422 is tuned such that the notch filter 420 attenuates frequencies of the input signal IN that fall within the LTE-L frequency band 314 (e.g., as denoted by the circled portion 510 of the frequency response 700), and the capacitance of variable capacitor 612 is tuned such that the second filter 613 attenuates frequencies of the input signal IN that fall within the second-order or higher harmonics frequency band 316 (e.g., as denoted by the circled portion 710 of the frequency response 700), [0057]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostov, and further in view of Sun.
Regarding claim 17, Mostov discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however Mostov does not disclose, closing one or more switches of an amplifier of the second transmitter circuit, wherein the one or more switches are coupled between the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a reference potential node, and wherein the signal is generated for transmission when the one or more switches are closed.
In the same field of endeavor, Sun discloses closing one or more switches of an amplifier of the second transmitter circuit, wherein the one or more switches are coupled between the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a reference potential node, and wherein the signal is generated for transmission when the one or more switches are closed (FIG. 2A illustrates a transmission path 22 for the non-active band and a separate transmission path 23 for the active band. Both of these transmission paths can be included in RF signal paths. It will be understood that the active band and the non-active band can be switched during operation of an electronic device that includes the transmission paths 22 and 23, [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mostov by specifically providing closing one or more switches of an amplifier of the second transmitter circuit, wherein the one or more switches are coupled between the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a reference potential node, and wherein the signal is generated for transmission when the one or more switches are closed, as taught by Sun for the purpose of reducing or eliminating a resonance in any circuit in a non-active path that can experience coupling from an active path, such as an active band path [0058].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Mostov and Wang, whether taken alone or in combination, does not teach nor fairly suggest:
“wherein: the first transistor comprises a drain coupled to the supply node of the first transmitter circuit and a source coupled to the voltage rail; and the second transistor comprises a drain coupled to the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a source coupled to the voltage rail”, in combination with the other limitation in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Mostov and Wang, whether taken alone or in combination, does not teach nor fairly suggest:
“wherein: the first transistor comprises a drain coupled to the supply node of the first transmitter circuit and a source coupled to the voltage rail; and the second transistor comprises a drain coupled to the supply node of the second transmitter circuit and a source coupled to the voltage rail”, in combination with the other limitation in claim 11.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 12126310: An electronic device may include wireless circuitry with a processor, a transceiver, an antenna, and a front-end module coupled between the transceiver and the antenna. Radio-frequency power amplifier circuitry may include an amplifier, an input transformer for coupling radio-frequency input signals to the amplifier, an active inductor load coupled to the input transformer, and a second order intermodulation generation circuit configured to generate and inject a second order intermodulation product into the input transformer.
US 20230421122: The amplifier has an input transformer coupled to a gate terminal of an input transistor. An intermodulation generation circuit outputs an inter-modulated signal to the input transformer. The input transformer comprises a primary coil with two terminals to receive a differential radio-frequency signal and a secondary coil with a terminal coupled to the gate terminal of the input transistor. An active inductor load circuit is coupled to center tap of the secondary coil. A bias voltage generator (90) generates adjustable bias voltage.
US 20230238881: The amplifier (100) has a set of transistors including a first transistor and a second transistor. A transformer (110) includes a set of primary windings and a secondary winding. The set of primary windings includes a first primary winding and a second primary winding. The first primary winding is coupled with the first transistor between a first voltage rail and a second voltage rail in a series manner. The second primary winding coupled with the second transistor between the first voltage rail and the second voltage rail in a series manner.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641